New iBoost app gives you that “blow off valve” you always wanted, but not the speed!

Of all the apps you could buy to use with your car on the iOS App Store, this one really takes the cake as the most “nothing better to do” app of all!

Bonobo Labs’ iBoost app uses the phone’s accelerometer sensors to detect the acceleration and gearshift actions of your car, as acceleration would typically be interrupted when you lift off the throttle to shift gears – and uses the sensor data to reproduce the sound of a blow off valve! You can even select what model of blow off valve you would like the app to emulate.

New iBoost app gives you that “blow off valve” you always wanted, but not the speed!

Remember there was a point in time where people were really crazy about electronic sounds that emulate blow off valves – this was back in the days (early 2000s?) where RON97 was still the main fuel that people purchased and still cheap.

It wasn’t rare to see Wiralutions, Satrialutions and Putralutions around and people who couldn’t afford the engine transplants envied the additional soundtrack that these boosted cars brought to their owners ears.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• vios_power on Jun 15, 2012 at 3:02 am

this is a MUST for owners of other NA engine cars who jelly turbocharged preve!

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 15, 2012 at 7:52 am

While us car guys are trying to get our modded rides to look as indescript as possible to not attract unwanted attention, we have all these add on for show and no go.

I used to insist that my BOV is vented back into the intake for quietness and drivability…

I must be doing it all wrong all this time……

(that said, it does sound pretty nice though…but nothing beats the real thing)

• ca18det on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:01 am

macam bawa GRT… speechless

• albag on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:16 am

ah bengs have no choice but to switch to ipong now… juz coz of this app :D

• Plain bs and sh.. Just like those cars that have loud exhaust but couldn’t even out accelerate a gal in a standard myvi. :P

• venven81 on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:41 am

totally agree with you there mate! such a lame apps for no purpose and for those who install it, *sigh…

• antaras on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:41 am

dude… There are plenty of useless and meaningless apps in the market now. Just have a sense of humor. ok? LOL

• benzema on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:35 am

LOL! pussy apps.

• ABTguy on Jun 15, 2012 at 9:04 am

wow, interesting ! Downloading now :-)

• seriousdude on Jun 15, 2012 at 9:18 am

blow off valve sound from that tiny iphone? or from car speaker?

so the poor fella had to wind down his window everytime he wants to show off that sound ^^

• beatnik on Jun 15, 2012 at 9:23 am

Definitely for shiok sendiri drivers!

• even the real turbo cars are (almost) all for faggots who only think that straight line acceleration is the main definition of performance. and this app? oh God why.

• alamak on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:05 pm

haha im think a same comment as i see this article.

• got Android ver? if yes then dl to those Android-power Clarion stereo. Even more real.

• Sniper on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:23 am

Fake climax !!!

• so basically, the purpose of this app is to make the driver look good lah?

• Misai on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:10 am

Hey… i am really interested on this apps. As currently Apps store r selling at USD0.99. But i am not sure whether it will works on my Nissan Teana 2.5 CVT gearbox, as the CVT gearbox are progressively changing the transmission speed.
    R there anyone tried before?
    :) Thanks

• Misai on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:19 am

Hahaha anyway i cant wait anymore longer & i’d downloaded it :)

• vezeroth on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:28 am

So does it work?

• driver on Jun 15, 2012 at 7:04 pm

i think the app uses the accelerometer sensor to determine the shift made by the driver.. but in CVT, u don’t have that impulse.
        so does it work?

• sf2934 on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:43 pm

go fu*k urself

• First, you need to change your gearbox to a conventional, DSG or Skyactiv. Then install this IPhone app and voila!

• Derahman on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:39 am

preve and bold got turbo but no BOV, guess can use this lah .. ahhahaha and i notice there’s an android version too

• Hey misai , I m one of the Nissan teana 2.5 owner and I will try out once I got the app ! And do u face any problem with ur car so far , such as car jerking or suspension problem ? Thanks

• kadal on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:58 pm

cool… i want one for my ex5..

• AhBeng on Jun 15, 2012 at 3:51 pm

wah i like this! im gonna plug in to my aux audio output and roll down my window! PssssT! makes my car sound sibeh fast lor.

(ps. got “jet” mode ah?)

• Courage on Jun 15, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Can’t help but to notice your phone holder. Mind sharing where i can get one. Appreciate it.

Sorry going out of topic.

• Bongcs on Jun 15, 2012 at 6:17 pm

wait…wait…i can do that with my mouth !

• danedz on Jun 15, 2012 at 8:31 pm

This apps could boost out yer car 20hp more after you install it..heh!heh!

• That is a pretty freakin cool app

• marcus on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:40 pm

definitely the most pointless app i have seen.

• shawal on Jun 17, 2012 at 10:08 am

sounds like a tyre puncture

• ah lian on Jun 18, 2012 at 10:40 am

i guess ah bengs wont know about this app coz they dont read paultan or even news.

• wow! i want one!

• This is brilliant device. It cut cost and process of impressing people. No need to bolt on turbo, no need to buy the expensive evo12, no need to risk life by driving fast. Just flash the sound, people will give some respect to the car and the driver. wow!

• 430barbeque on Aug 12, 2013 at 12:42 pm

I want to use this app in my Ferrari, but my car got no stereo… :(