Toyota debuts concept at 2012 Tokyo Toy Show

Unless the world’s smartest boffins perfect human miniaturisation, it is very unlikely these cars from Toyota will be made. Simple reason: they’re toys.

Toyota has decided to display its latest family-oriented concept vehicle at the 2012 International Tokyo Toy Show. This Toy-ota is called the ‘Camette’ and there are no plans to put this car into production although it is here to promote cars to a future generation of potential drivers.

Should human miniaturisation be perfected, the minute humans can easily customise the vehicle by swapping body panels for panels of other colours or design. So there is no need to drive the ‘same’ car all the time.

There’s also an educational component here. Toyota imagines the simple body structure and components can be used to make familiar the workings of motor vehicles to parents and children.

Three can sit inside in a triangular ‘1+2’ configuration, which Toyota says would create an intimate family driving space while maximising communication. Children can drive this car too, where legal (where is this place?)

While the adult is seated in the right rear seat to assist with steering and braking, the child is able to get into the driver’s seat and operate the car. The pedals and seats are fully adjustable that allows for the child to get into a good driving position. Yes, Toyota’s vision of the future involves plenty of eyebrow raising suggestions. Not a bad thing.

Toyota, at the Toy Show, will display two versions of the Camette – ‘Sora’ and ‘Daichi’.

And speaking of toy cars, remember the Toyota 86 contest we ran a few weeks ago? Well, we have the winners and we’re now finalising the prizes. We will be announcing both when we’ve ironed everything out. Yes, the prize is that awesome.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:02 am

The beige calored unit remind me of those WW2 militaty vehicle.

• Yes, it looks like the ‘Kubelwagen’ which were used by Rommel in Africa.

• akula on Jun 15, 2012 at 10:44 am

Children can drive this car too, where legal (where is this place?)

at kidzania

• maggimee on Jun 15, 2012 at 11:11 am

really Moving Backwards

• armandd on Jun 15, 2012 at 3:24 pm

No, this is the future of lightweight car. Car nowadays are getting heavier and bigger for no obvious reason. This car should be fun to drive. Welcome to the future.

• alamak on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:03 pm

is this a Golf car?

• Jonathan Lee on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Aren’t these full-sized concepts?

http://blog.toyota.co.uk/family-focused-toyota-camatte-concept-car-unveiled-at-tokyo-toy-show-video

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jun 15, 2012 at 5:10 pm

By golly it is! Thanks for the info. The press release did not spell out the exact size and I assumes it’s small since it’s a toy show. So this is a big toy then.

• linear_system on Jun 15, 2012 at 4:50 pm

wowwww…toyota….geniussss…..even crap design like this we call it geniussss coz it is from toyota…

• Anon Kneemas on Jun 15, 2012 at 9:40 pm

The first one looks like a stripped down version of the Figaro. Looking at it, I’m not sure why but I want one really bad!

• Works on Jun 15, 2012 at 9:41 pm

the car reminds me the car built by gordon murray which is T27 car..i can toyota follow some of his idea

• Jonathan Lee on Jun 16, 2012 at 12:34 pm

It does remind me of the Gordon Murray T cars. They both have cockpits that open upwards, they both have the same seat layout and both makers suggest easy customisation of the body panels. I wonder if Toyota have signed an agreement with Murray regarding the iStream process…

• vios_fan on Jun 16, 2012 at 7:58 am

so this is vios replacement model? wow so cute i want one!

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 16, 2012 at 5:27 pm

even if its for kids toyota could have designed something that looks better. just look at those fugly rims and headlamps. they are really moving backwards! back to 1940!!!