Peugeot 508 relaunched, now with five variants including HDi diesel and SW wagon – from RM159k

Nasim introduced four new Peugeot 508 variants this evening at the Subang Skypark. The aviation themed launch saw the unveiling of diesel-powered Peugeots for the first time in Malaysia by Nasim, as well as the debut of the wagon bodied 508 SW.

The new variants are 508 Standard, 508 SW, 508 GT and 508 SW GT. The existing 508, launched back in October 2011, is now called 508 Premium, slotting in between the Standard and GT in the sedan range.

Nasim elected to bring in the diesel cars in GT spec, and both HDi powered 508s are range toppers. The modern 2.2 litre HDi FAP diesel engine produces 204 hp at 3,500 rpm and 450 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. That means we can expect very strong pulling power and good flexibility, as well as a 0-100 km/h time of 8.4 seconds. Top speed is limited to 235 km/h.

Choosing an oil burner means one has fuel economy in mind, and the 508 needs just 5.7 litres of diesel per 100 km in the EU combined cycle, or 5.9 litres per 100 km in the SW. Like the petrol 508, a six-speed torque converter automatic gearbox with steering paddles does transmission duties.

GT spec means that the HDi cars roll on multi-spoke 19-inch alloys and 235/40 Continental tyres. The sportier suspension setup is also exclusive – GT-spec 508s have double wishbone front suspension with drop-link hub carriers, while non-GT cars make do with MacPherson struts. Rear multi-links are standard across the range. GT cars also get bigger 340 mm disc brakes at the front.

Let’s talk about the SW. This sleekly shaped wagon shares the same 2,817 mm wheelbase as the sedan, but is 21 mm longer overall. All of that extra length is in the rear overhang. The SW’s load height is also 88 mm lower than the sedan’s 699 mm, making it easier to lift cargo in. The tailgate is closes at a touch of a button.

Boot volume stands at 660 litres (up to window height), which is 115 litres more than the sedan. Maximum boot space with the rear seats folded down (measured up to the roof) is 1,865 litres, or 284 litres more than the sedan. Both the SW and SW GT come with a full length panoramic glass roof.

The petrol engine for the entire range is a familiar one, the 156 THP unit with 156 hp and 240 Nm at 1,400 rpm. This twin-scroll turbo 1.6L engine pushes the big Peugeot from 0-100 km/h in 9.2 seconds, before a limited 220 km/h top speed is reached.

From the outside, the Standard can be recognised from its 17-inch star spoke rims, an inch smaller than the Premium’s hoop spoke design wheels.

The entry-level 508 gets bi-xenon headlamps (auto leveling, with washers), LED DRLs, front and rear parking sensors, auto headlamps/wipers, eight-way electric front seats, USB/Bluetooth stereo and steering controls/paddles. Also standard are six airbags, Hill Start Assist, ESP, ABS, EBD and Brake Assist.

The Premium adds on Smart Beam (auto high beam whenever possible), Available Space Measurement parking aid, keyless entry with push start, four-zone air con, premium leather seats, colour head up display (HUD) and a 10-speaker JBL sound system with 500W subwoofer. The Premium also gets a colour LCD in the instrument panel and an electric parking brake.

The GT-spec further adds on Cohiba Nappa brown leather upholstery and memory + massage for the driver’s electric seat.

The 508 sedan range starts at RM155,888 for the Standard, rising to RM169,888 for the Premium (no change from 2011 price) and RM199,888 for the diesel-powered GT. On the SW side, the petrol version will cost you RM179,888 while the range-topping diesel SW GT is priced at RM209,888. All figures are OTR including insurance.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• overpriced junk, big risk they will discontinue or offer massive discounts later for these ” cool cars”…look what happened to Naza Suria…only Naza gets richer and smiling all the way to the bank

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • tunguuu on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:07 pm

damn man. r u that shallow? this is what a china made car? and damn this is business. so UMW Toyota is not smiling to the bank with their malaysian made camry and yet still so expensive?

• racotua on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:27 pm

i’m tempted to write expletives about your post but i will refrain in the interest of other kids reading this blog as well. you need to WAKE UP! these days they have stopped that altogether and do keep yourself updated with latest info to avoid making silly remarks that hold no water.

• downsys on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Comparing this to the Naza Suria? Are you out of your mind?

• Lim Kopi on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Ok Bob, while I only agree with you on the Overpriced part, as much as I dislike Pugs, this range of diesel variants are the least JUNKS of pugs…

BTW, isn’t this the coolest car launch we’ve seen so far in Msia?? I mean with those airstewardess and the cool private jet etc! :)

• I think Audi A4 Avant is better but anyway Camry is the most fugly thing i have ever seen in my life !

• Rachel on Jun 18, 2012 at 10:53 pm

RM210k,BO LUI!!!

• RedBeanBun on Jun 18, 2012 at 10:53 pm

i want to this 508 vs Camry result..

• no need to compare, this one wins hands down with everything, but loses with its perceived reliability issues and dealership

• David D on Jun 19, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Bro, i don’t think Naza’s targetting really high sales. it was said in the Star that they are only expecting sales of 150-200 cars a month, possibly only 15% of sales going to the SW variants.

• theanswer on Jun 19, 2012 at 1:12 pm

definitely camry will win in terms of sales. even without vsa, ppl still buy camry.

• David D on Jun 19, 2012 at 4:28 pm

True that. Malaysians being Malaysians, the less-informed will just walk to a Camry and die-die nak beli, even if the car is a huge step backwards in many, many areas. Heck, i hate to say this, as much as people say Peugeot lacks aftersales expertise, i forsee the Camry ACTUALLY losing a few buyers who could be attracted to the 508 Standard, which offers more for just an extra 5k. Safety, solid-ness, looks, space, plus much, much improved reliability, should sell exactly how they want it to be.

• laluan sehala on Jun 19, 2012 at 8:27 pm

you’re asking a question where you yourself know the answer.

• Alpha on Jun 18, 2012 at 10:57 pm

Memory + massage seats in 200k price range??Whoa,Peugeot/Naza is something else!!

The rear of the SW reminds me of somewhat a bulkier,taller Panamera.

• tishaban on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:01 pm

It’s not the prettiest car around but from some angles from the front the 508 GT looks like an Aston Martin.

Good specs especially on the diesel GT.

• Trumph on Jun 19, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Looks good, price good but when it comes to after sales, be prepared to face their service nightmare or pray hard that nothing will go wrong with your car. Lost count of how many visits to their service center and they even lost my car key! Speaking from my true experience!

• hanifhamzah on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:02 pm

cool SW

• YES YES finally a car manufacturer decided to re-introduce the station wagon variant to the Malaysian market! Bold yet wise move I would say.

Hopefully the station wagon variant will sell like hot cakes and other car manufacturers like VW, Audi, BMW and Merc shall bring in their station wagon variant as well!

• Kia and German on Jun 19, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Yup the BMW 5-er Touring,Audi A6 Avant,VW Passat Estate and Mercedes E-Class Estate should bring in to Malaysia!!

• kadajawi on Jun 20, 2012 at 4:54 am

They are probably too busy selling them in Europe. More than 50% of all new cars registered in Germany are Diesel, and around 80% or so of all Passat are station wagons (it’s pretty much the same for most other D segment and above cars, if they are offered as station wagon (7 series and S class for example aren’t)).

Ps: Passat Variant and E class T model.

• Hmm… not sure if a wagon is a wise choice in Malaysia…

• Saab 93 - Hirsch Tuned on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:50 am

can oways define as “mpv” and it will be accepted

• kadajawi on Jun 20, 2012 at 4:54 am

But most of them don’t have a 3rd row, so not really MPV…

• TIGER on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:08 pm

really awesome GT DIESEL, how is the service intervals 10k or 5K(which i dnt think so)

• These is niceeeee.. One day..

• 450Nm of torque, camry not even got chance to smell smoke…haha….

Volkwagen does’t have the range that have similar Nm in Malaysia, for e.g. Passat R line RM370K also 350Nm only, diesel is the way to go for power at low price which is common in Europe even BMW is getting diesel for 3 series.

• kadajawi on Jun 20, 2012 at 4:57 am

More than 50% of all new cars sold in Germany are diesel. Almost all cars, including small ones (think smart fortwo) are also offered as diesel, but usually people tend to buy small cars as petrol, while the big ones are usually diesel.

The 3 series has been a diesel forever, but also their 6 series should be available as a diesel, AND there are M Power diesels now too (think M3, M5, …).

• yanes on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:34 pm

not joining le mans. launch 5 variants. like a peugeot! :)

• shawal on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:37 pm

nasim…. mahal la nasim….
    508 SW ….hmmm…..

• Jeff Lim on Jun 18, 2012 at 11:42 pm

The 2.2 Diesel has 204hp and a WHOOPING 450Nm torque at lowly 2000rpm. This one sure got “G-force”. RM200k for sedan… Closest competitor is Mondeo 2.0 ECOBOOST+ is RM6k less.

• wow 450Nm torque! if gonna get a honda accord, might as well top up a lil bit more and get this beast! sexy beast!

• theanswer on Jun 19, 2012 at 12:14 am

even the 1.6thp on par with accord. hahahaha.

• waterman on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:02 am

but top up a little more can get A4… i know it’s not apple to apple comparison but… AUDI vs Peugeot… what says u?? for spec of course peugeot win. but again audi wor….

• UMW and TC can balik kampung lorr for bringing crap models at insanely high price with the lowest technology..kudos naza

• abijam on Jun 19, 2012 at 12:22 am

oh my god. Diesel peugeot is here. so… it is sign of coming hybrid4 diesel?
    i wonder. is it worth it to lose those spec between variant & premum. 10k make that much diffrences? better take the premium. for upgrading the speaker only, it may cost maybe 3k more. hm…

• Shhh..i heard we can expect vpower diesel from shell 2H 2012.

• kadajawi on Jun 20, 2012 at 5:00 am

I think the auto highbeam that avoids blinding others is the coolest feature. But other than that the standard should be enough for anyone (hell, most Malaysians get the Camry if they get D segment, and compared to that one the 508 looks like a Maybach next to a Kancil). I’m surprised though that they didn’t remove the airbags etc. for the lowest spec. Good that they don’t.

• Interior looks gorgeous!

• division93 on Jun 19, 2012 at 12:43 am

you cant imagine how happy i am.eventhough i cant afford one of these,the 508 GT spec sure is delicious.FINALLY!! we get what the europeans are getting.proper diesel sedans.dont get me wrong,Rm200K for a Peugeot is alot.but double wishbone front suspension,proper 2.2 diesel engine plus improved exterior and interior from the newer generation Peugeots,definitely cant complain bout dat.

plus if we keep on continuing our typical malaysian mentality of saying turbo cars are high maintanance,Peugeots have bad resale values,think again.cars are bought to be driven and enjoyed.not about how much can i get 10 years from now when i sell it.

i hope my statement doesnt step on anybody’s toes.just dont like people bashing on something good like this.

• Nice looking but like all peugeots, there are problematic…can google and read current 308 owners frustration with their car plus naza after sales..yup camry look less nicer but it wont b problematic..

• Baba O'Reilly on Jun 19, 2012 at 6:31 am

I beg to differ. Even Toyota, BMW and Mercedes-Benz have aftersales issues. Which cars do not?

• You should go to peugeot forums and read for yourself, warning lights go safe mode for no reasons, gbox, cylinder head, maf sensor, crank pos sensor…all sorts of probs..take a month to even claim a single sensor. I have owned zx16 and peug306 and almost bought the 308 as i assumed the irritating gremlins have gone..but they are still same unfotunately..me no salesman

• underskinned on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:54 am

As much as I want to think that this 508 is a cool car and worth your money, I can’t ignore the reliability issues and the resale values. I mean, a 2010 308T is currently valued at only RM80k.

• anti-first on Jun 19, 2012 at 10:42 am

Please note that the above comment was brought to you by obviously, another competitor salesman; spiced with the usual dose of lousy grammar as well as repetitive and misleading information right after a Peugeot launch.

Sadly, he/she works tirelessly to sell a boring and non-competitive product/brand which has nothing to offer other than endless face-lifts and increased prices to the public at the moment.

:)

• ILovePeugeot on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:38 am

totally agreed…. peug is a damn nice car… with perfect handling… however naza is killing the brand in malaysia… recommended engine oil is running on total…. overhere they are using petronas “symtium”…. gosh! bad oil with a lot of carbon deposit! it will end up screw up your car… car price is impressive! with loads of feature! and torque of coz! but the part will kill you slowly, till the point whereby u cant afford to owe the car anymore. 5 yrs warranty is impressive… read the warranty carefully, a lot of the parts were not cover under the warranty…. if you are buying the car make sure u know what you are getting into… car depreciation is another issue. 308 turbo brand new 120k, 09 going for 6xk! almost 1/2 the price… people is willing to sell the brilliant car at this redicilous price, i guess there must be a reason… find out ourself… well all i can say is good luck!!!

• IhateNaza on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:40 am

Ha ha… Good luck folks. I am getting de pollution issue, fast wear out brake rotor and pad, short battery life, jerky clutch( my friend was lucky on this he got a new gear box replaced) I try but they claim “is like that 1”. Selling the damn car. Still owe bank money: -( but better then kena potong from naza!

• theanswer on Jun 19, 2012 at 1:16 pm

agree. but how long are going to become “katak bawah tempurung?”. just buy and accept those 170k camry that only came with 4 airbags and without vsa/tc system? even the cheapest spec aurion/camry (in aus) get 6 airbags.

• Yes, thanks peugeot for having the guts to bring in the estate aka station wagon.we malaysians have been deprived of good estates for a long time…practical people will choose the estate over the sedan anytime and i believe there are many of them here..and 450nm is just wow!

Come on VW..bring in your Passat estate…BMW..your F10 and F30 tourings and Audi..your A4 avant!

• kadajawi on Jun 20, 2012 at 5:03 am

Plus the estates are usually much better looking than the sedans.

• But merc e class estate cannot la..thats a proper kereta mayat!

• robby on Jun 19, 2012 at 2:13 am

i would love to buy a stationwagon in Malaysia. driving Passat SW in UK & love the functionality + space.

• Really well equipped cars by Peugeot even the entry level 508 out-spec many of its Japanese rivals. Also reasonably priced cars by Nasim. But then horror comes when after sales maintenance and reliability issues. Only buy if you are prepared to face the potential headaches ahead. :)

• mystvearn on Jun 19, 2012 at 3:07 am

Very nice interior. Nice front end, but I cannot get pass the rear lights. Abit weird looking.

Danny Tan,
    1. How come one version got conventional hand brake, the other got lever style hand brake?
    2. Also, was the handbrake position meant to be at the front passenger side? Seems slightly weird for handbrake to be that far

• Paul Tan on Jun 19, 2012 at 3:10 am

The lowest priced version uses a normal handbrake, the rest has electronic brake. It’s on the left cos the car was designed as a left hand drive.

• mystvearn on Jun 19, 2012 at 4:43 am

So they forgot to change the handbrake then

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jun 19, 2012 at 10:00 am

Another silly cost cutting left hand drive car which never care about right hand drive market.
        Since WHO already confirm diesel fume cause cancer, with our dirty euro 2 diesel, make sure one don’t stand behind this car :)

• RedBeanBun on Jun 19, 2012 at 7:59 am

say NO to AP king..

• 508 Premium Owner on Jun 19, 2012 at 8:04 am

Paul, did Nasim mentioned about pre installed GPS for all these models ? We (existing 508 owners) been waiting for it (as you promised) for quite some time.

P/S to all Nasim staff .. Please do something and update us .. TQ !

• just ask Nassim to provide malfreemap or malsingmap the map compiler and you get new free map every week.

• nothng to do with the map. the hardware by peugeot cannot read malsing or malfree. must wait for navteq (peugeot’s official map partner) to come up with it. why not you guys write to navteq instead?

• Rulered on Jun 19, 2012 at 8:05 am

I hope the govt decides to introduce better quality diesel here as I hate to see black smokes coming out of a 200k car.

• kadajawi on Jun 20, 2012 at 5:06 am

There are filters to prevent black smoke and other bad emissions. There are a few diesel driving around here, but you won’t notice them because no black smoke and no typical diesel noise. Only those old lorries, yes, they are very dirty and should be removed from our roads.

• ramun on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:15 pm

hahaha. From which century you coming from Rulered? I am lauging reading your comment. hahaha!

• any interior photos for GT version. would like to see the brown leather. is it the same as volkswagen’s brown leather?

• great range of cars…its about time Peugeot introduced diesel and perfect with the GT series offering 450Nm. Decent pricing for the specs offered. I mean what else can you get.

• Manfurb on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:05 am

Canteeeeek…..tp sgt mahal…..sukaaaaaa….tp tarakmampu……sexyyyyyyyyy……tp dpt tngok dari jauh sajeeeee……boleh beli rmh teres sebijik woooooooo…….beli preve aje la nmpknya

• theanswer on Jun 19, 2012 at 1:20 pm

where do u live bro? in kl, klang valley it’s a dream to get a 200k terrace house. cheapest u cant get in town 30-40km from kl is 300k. ;)

• ayamxxx on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:08 am

wah my dream car. Pitty to those Camry and accord owner, pay a lot of money, but not have many features like this car

• cokelatpanda on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:12 am

Diesel sudah, SW sudah. Manual?

• taxing on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:17 am

now its seems new diesel is coming to Msia..euro4 disel…easily can do 1200km per tank..superb PUG
    Hope to see smaller 308 with HDi engine…then price will be affordable

• not a car enthusiast on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:23 am

I just got my 508 last Wed (not even 1 week ago). Luckily Nassim did not change the 508 premium price and spec. Otherwise I would have cursed Nassim high and low!

Btw, no words on local gps map Danny? The car comes with GPS but dormant since there’s no local map available.

• Saab 93 - Hirsch Tuned on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:46 am

air-jet used as background of these model?

Saab heritage is now GONE

• lowpro on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:57 am

saab heritage gone? nolah just because peugeot used a plane for the background doesn’t mean saab’s imagery or trademark is dead. they have NEVS that just bought them. just wait a bit more and you should see what NEV’s plans are for the iconic swedish brand.

apologies for digressing.

• as usual some very nice photos from danny tan ;-)
    HDi “FAP” diesel engine?….. hope it comes with the ladies in the photos :-D

• albag on Jun 19, 2012 at 10:10 am

somehow i feel the wagon is more sexy than the sedan… i love the curve… those who buy caldinas have to think that this is another better choice!

• zerouzer on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:34 am

is it front wheel drive?

• 19″….thats overkill. Should have maintain it at 18″ and provided a OEM body kit instead.

• I love the wagon!

• jflee169 on Jun 19, 2012 at 12:55 pm

It is great the full range of 508 are introduced with an attractive price. However, more important is the after sales service i.e. competency of the Authorised SC, spare parts availability, speedy claim approval etc in tandem with the increased product line-up. There can be more and more new models coming out, but insufficient SC and technical staff is an reverse reaction to Peugeot in Malaysia.

• b sensible on Jun 19, 2012 at 2:16 pm

is the engine of diesel variant noisier than the petrol one?

• Saab 93 - Hirsch Tuned on Jun 19, 2012 at 2:53 pm

u gotta live with d “noise” from Diesel. in return, u get that bloody 450Nm torque

• Whoa! on Jun 19, 2012 at 3:24 pm

wow petite Deborah Priya Henry…always look innocent and pretty…

• kipas kia on Jun 19, 2012 at 3:47 pm

exterior = preve win
    interior = pug 508 win

• beginning to see preve on d road, looks un attractive and dated somehow

• wuttaheck on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:36 pm

508 SW GT Diesel is definitely my new used car in 3 years time…hehehe

• hotdwira on Jun 19, 2012 at 7:11 pm

well i like Pugs all the while

Talk about suspension, my old ’91 Accord already has double wishbone and multi-link at rear. So the handling is way better than Macpherson

• johnson on Jun 19, 2012 at 7:43 pm

508 stardard cbu?

• Danny, nice coverage/write up, thanks. Need to amend the title – prices start from 155k, not 159k, as the former already include insurance :)

• Danny, any idea if the models are sold as CBU or CKD (aka SKD for Naza)? When I checked the Naza-Pug Website, the “new” price list does not have a figure for “Inspection Fee”, and only CKD is exempted. The old price list has the $150 fee there. Total still the same as the approved selling price has been adjusted.

• mizzuddin on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:59 pm

the question is, what has Nasim “foreseen” by introducing the HDi FAP?

what will soon enough to be overhauled in the NAP..? any tips?

• the wagon look so sexay!

• Gavin on Jun 19, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Peugeot’s diesel engines are superb having driven the base model 308 diesel once before, I can only imagine how good this 2.2 will be. Plant your foot and watch the jaws drop

• Gavin on Jun 19, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Plus massive massive kudos to nasim for positioning the diesel as range toppers like they do in Europe instead of a certain German manufacturer

• johnson on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:18 pm

508 premium is nice**** waiting it next week coming ^

• teelim on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Nice car! Really happy to know that more manufacturers are bringing in diesels. Especially the interesting ones.

However, I think the price is abit on the pricey side. I would think that RM180k-190k would be a more reasonable price for the 508GT… oh well…

• slick shifts on Sep 02, 2012 at 7:23 pm

let’s hope they continue with turbodiesels for the 308, 408 and the ’00’ models as well. the fuel consumption of these diesels are good.

• Folks: When Shell v-power diesel will be unveil? How much per liter?I guess Naza must anticipated the availability of the 50ppm diesel standard otherwise they won’t launched these 508. While 30,000 premium is justified BUT market will wait until the availability and how government going to decide the Euro4 diesel.

EGovernment can put RM3 Euro4 diesel but must lower the car price to be fair of the less subsidize fuel

• Oooooo … love the 508GT specs! Good reviews online too. Nappa leather is great, but would prefer black to brown colour for easy maintenance. 19″ rims look grand, but lesser rubber for bumps and potholes. I may be inclined to book one :)

Very well done, Nasim, for bringing in these new models!

• intermilan on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:21 pm

For me, the GT pricing is rather expensive. At RM 199,888 OTR, its exactly RM30,000 more than 508 Premium.

RM30,000 more for extra 44bhp, extra 210Nm and just a couple of minor exterior / interior / creature comfort treats is definitely not value for money.

Primarily, what it does is just alienating a lot of potential buyers. PSA Peugeot Citroen is in big trouble now and in the future (due to the Euro economic crisis) and yet they still asking such a premium over their product.

There are better, more rewarding ways to make the brand “premium” other than pricing it products at a “premium”.

In my opinion, it should be at most RM15,000 more that the 508 Premium, making the price at RM184,888 OTR.

But lets not forget that even the 508 Premium is slightly overpriced to begin with.

Of course, comparing the 508 price with the new Camry, the 508 doesn’t seems to be overpriced as I’ve pictured. Its due to the simple fact that Camry is way way overpriced beyond acceptable justification.

Lastly, congratulations to Nasim for bringing in the diesels and SW. Hope they will sell well.

• interconnect on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:28 pm

i think the price gap is OK. there is a similiar price gap between a 2.0 and a 2.5 camry. plus, i suspect some of the price increase is due to tax, as the 1.6 has a lower tax rate since it is under 2.0 litre displacement while the GT is 2.2 litre.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 20, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Just for your opinion, there is a total redesign of the suspension supporting the DIesel GT models that itself would have cost at least another RM 15000 more. Naza seldom needs to justify its pricing as it almost always gets it just right. and on this ocassion i agree with them again by pricing the GT sedan a wee bit below RM200k

• retro on Jun 20, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Lots of changes and engineering that many do not think about. Those are the key bits that cause the differences in price.

• The Enthusiast on Jun 20, 2012 at 2:05 pm

The handbrake for the petrol car is on the wrong side. And there’s too many buttons on the steering wheel, albeit F1 cars have more. A solid car but its quirky ergonomics do not work.

• Remco on Jun 20, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Excellent additions to the range (diesel engines and SW model). I wonder whether or not they got the satnav working for SE Asia already or that it is still sitting there with European maps…

• Sam Loo on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Saw one unit 508 and Camry XV50 (both WWX AAAA and white colour) at Gardens Zone B Carpark today.

So many comments about the new Camry being fugly and all, but parked next to each other, the Camry stands out, way way out

• My RCZ handbrake also on the passenger side. Initially I thought is bad, but in reality, no problem using at all. If your hand can reach the gear knob, there is no reason why you can’t reach the handbrake.

• I hate ppl come to new car launching site and boast about how poor they are and bashing this and that.. try to read car journal from overseas, ppl are more cvilised and only visit the post they like or their favorite brand. not like Malaysian come here and post what overprice junk, what better buy other brand, or even bring in proton.. c.mon guys. be more matured.

• Don’t talk bout bringing the SW and GT first la, Malaysian mindset I think Naza’s CEO is still young boy that’s why. Small problem cannot settle wanna bring in car. Where’s the MAP? What the hell for bringing in a whatever HD display with NO MAP? Don’t get the 508, not worth your money, it’s like buying a crippled car! No map and the salesman actually give you false hope bout the map, purchased it, then later he called up to argue that it isn’t his fault, he only say maybe in 3 months it would come in. Where the hell he get the 3 months from? God?

• You think? and Naza CEO young boy? not that I’m on his side but you should re-think that the younger generation has more ideas and they know what the market wants comparing to those old blokes in the Japanese car makes that they think the market is still like them that will go for brand instead of features and specifications. The MAP is probably the least of priority when comes to a serious car buyer, you’re probably shallow if you think the rest like airbags, dynamic headlights, cruise control, vehicle stability and so forth is not important but MAP is important?

• slick shifts on Sep 02, 2012 at 7:21 pm

seriously, get a life. u regret buying a car just because of a map? buy something else then. it is not a deal breaker.

• Mp_drucker on Sep 16, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Peugeot 508 really an eye catching car. Considering getting one after much consideration given to Camry, Accord, Teana for months. Still remember the ultra comfy 405 that I owned until 2005 before changing to the Japanese till now. Thinking of changing back to continental car. Japanese can’t beat them in terms of suspension and seat comfy especially Peugeot 405, 406, 508.

• Mp_drucker on Sep 16, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Considering either 508 Turbo S or 508 Premium, any advice?

• get the s man, no manual hand brakes, full leather seats,18″ alloys, i like it over S, but GT is the real beast man, haha

• Rahul on Sep 17, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Latest update. Got a sms from peugeot yesterday. Confirming Peugeot will `NOT’ bring in the Malaysian map for GPS. It is final decision. For those who are considering the 508, kindly take this into account. Don’t buy it then only ask for it later. Whatever the salesmen promises, remember they are just salesman meeting their quota. They will lie to get things done.

• if they were so confidently touting it earlier, don’t you think they were also very convinced that it could have been a possibility for their customers? maybe they were lied to as well? unless there is proof, you will never know.

• Chong Z on Sep 22, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Those whom have owned a 3008, how much did you have to spend on maintenance after the 2nd service interval of 20,0000 km? Personally, believe that 1st two service is about RM500 – but after that? Considering a 508 ST , but need to inquire on the longer term maintenance. Thanks

• Then, better not. Better you get something comfortable for your pocket.

• kenny_lim on Sep 25, 2012 at 6:37 pm

naza cars…..forget it la. had bad experience with the after sales for my kia. then my sis bought their peugeot….worksmanship is bad. spring poking out from the seat and so on….give up on all cars distributed by naza……..honestly, nice car marred by useless ppl

• tsunami on Nov 08, 2012 at 11:34 am

Beauty (508GT) and the beast (NAZA SC),

• Jeejad Sharan on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:52 pm

I just received my 508 a month ago,but the plastic used to cover the bottom of the car happened to dislodge when i was driving pass through a pothole while its raining heavily.an annoying noisy sound was heard because of that.i just realized it when all the people around were looking at my car when i was driving.so i stopped n parked the car just then i knew that the plastic cover dislodged already.imagine the car been on the road for just a month but sadly causing such problem.my myvi n kancil have been used for years but never once hv caused problem like that.

• Since 508 is in the market now for long, why the navigation is still not installed. Can anyone answer me this question?? A small car like MyVi has it.

• I have 308. It is a very nice car and I dont have any problems. I enjoy driving it. nice grip on the road, design and equipment is better than a corolla and price is 15k less. One problem. The first battery became dead in 10 months, the second died in 12 months. This battery issue is quite cumbersome.

• Agree with Khan and mine have no problem at all on the battery issue. love the pug

• Get to drive the GT, i like the how the engine roar, the acceleration is exceptional, for 200k for me is worth every penny, planning to get one, but need to do more study on the after sales service though