Volvo S60 Polestar – 508 hp, 0-100 km/h in 3.9s!

Polestar, Volvo’s official motorsport and performance partner has released the S60 Polestar, probably the maddest Volvo in existence today. Why? Well, this S60 sprints from 0 to 100 km/h in just 3.9 seconds, and has a top speed of over 300 km/h!

Volvo’s T6 inline-six engine has been boosted to make 508 hp and 575 Nm of torque, with a 7,100 rpm redline. Besides a Garret 3171 turbo, Polestar added modified cylinder heads and combustion chambers, modified inlet manifold and air intake, plus specially manufactured conrods. A Ferrita 3.5-inch stainless steel exhaust system does its part.

The driver swaps gears via a reinforced M66C close ratio six-speed manual gearbox. Like a tag team, the Haldex E-LSD and Haldex Gen4 XWD system ensures maximum traction.

Compared to the standard car, Polestar’s S60 has a chassis lowered by 30 mm, while track width has been increased by 20 mm in front and 40 mm at the rear. Öhlins three-way shock absorbers and reinforced anti-roll bars at both ends aid handling. Polestar also modified the car’s control arms with uniballs front and rear and reinforced bushings in the sub-frame and control arms.

The 1,640 kg car is stopped by Brembo six-piston calipers with 380 mm ventilated discs up front and Polestar-Volvo calipers with 302 mm ventilated discs at the back. The 19-inch wheels are matched with 265/30 tyres.

Polestar says that the main focus here was to combine a “comfortable genuine Volvo driving experience” with a high level of power and handling.

“To me the Volvo S60 is a very well sorted car from start. In our concept car we have developed chassis, engine and transmission just like we want it, and the result is a huge leap forward in terms of handling and performance. It is, by far, the most impressive street Volvo I’ve ever driven. But I must also say that the genuine Volvo feeling is still there,” commented Robert Dahlgren, Volvo Polestar racing driver.

This is the first S60 Polestar built for a specific client. A small series of Polestar modified S60s may be built pending market response. Read more about the S60 you can buy here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ayyam on Jun 18, 2012 at 2:47 pm

:O BADASS

• Yie-T5 on Jun 18, 2012 at 2:48 pm

I feel good!! hehehe

• Yawser………baaadddd baddd…..boyyy……..

• chuakz on Jun 18, 2012 at 3:06 pm

god damn it looks amazing!

• Saab 93 - Hirsch Tuned on Jun 18, 2012 at 3:53 pm

tis setup on new V60 will be awesome !!!

able to give a tough fight on Audi A4 RS4

• yo saab whatever ur nick named..this car is way betterthan S4 or RS4 man…

• the gonz legacy on Nov 24, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Dude this s60 polestar beast machine already raped m3 and rs4 in track..there no need another version of v60 to settle it down.

• but it looks so tame~

• ahmadfaris93 on Jun 18, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Yes, Volvo. Now, we are talking about badass !

• BabyBlue on Jun 18, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Specific client? Baby blue colour scheme? Could it be?

• flat_tire on Jun 18, 2012 at 6:19 pm

whenever i think of the name Volvo.. it reminded me of the time when Guru Besar and Pengetua that used to drive ’em to school.. well, this was back in the days anyway.. these days.. probably Benz and BMWs.. dunno.. maybe..

• armandd on Jun 18, 2012 at 6:27 pm

haha, take that M3 and C63 AMG!

• Masked Ryder on Jun 18, 2012 at 7:31 pm

sounds like P0rnstar to me :P

• WhiteFox on Jun 18, 2012 at 8:18 pm

this definitely not an uncle car anymore ><

CAn tapau a lot of car out thre already

• Gavin on Jun 18, 2012 at 9:27 pm

I’m throwing money at the screen but nothing is happening

• Anon Kneemas on Jun 18, 2012 at 9:51 pm

I like how Volvo has ‘adopted’ tuner Polestar as their AMG/M division. They should just absorb them and engineer models holistically off the production line. My only gripe is that ‘Polestar’ sounds like a) a stripper name or b) a pair of cheap tennis shows :)

• Papa smurf going to love this for sure..

• holy S**t ! jaw dropped

• kington on Jun 19, 2012 at 12:24 am

This should take off where the old S60R left.

Hope it doesn’t understeer that much.

Still, the current S60 T6 is a lovely sedan-cum-GT.

• BanyakMasyukWang on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:20 am

Yes absolutely maddest!… and ‘comfortably’ faster than F10 M5. Mad…

• AhBeng on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:56 am

naughty volvo gets naughtier

• The Moose is back!

• The Enthusiast on Jun 20, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Very limited run means very premium pricing. It’s no supercar but it sure exudes as one.

• luqman on Nov 12, 2013 at 10:41 am

How much RM ..? because i like it!! time to change my m5 v10 to Volvo S60 Polestar.. please reply

• Should have a paddle shift gearbox instead of manual gearbox.

• Simonkweh on Jun 11, 2014 at 12:04 am

Where volvos60 polestar Malaysia showroom?