BMW 1 Series M Coupe: only 3 for Malaysia, RM509k

The start of the BMW M Track Experience Asia 2012 event at the Sepang International Circuit today also saw the launch of the BMW 1 Series M Coupe. The machine promises to be special, and not just from a performance point of view – there are only three units up for grabs here, and we hear that one has already been snapped up.

The fastest 1er is powered by the N54 3.0 litre inline-six, with 340 hp and 450 Nm on call, mated to a six -speed manual gearbox. Performance figures for the 1,495 kg mule with a kick include a 0-100 km/h time of 4.9 seconds, and it gets to an electronically-limited 250 km/h. The M Coupe sits on 19-inch wheels as seen on the M3 Competition Package and M3 GTS, wrapped with 245/35 front and 265/35 rear tyres.

Kit includes lots of bulging bits, and mechanically, there’s a M differential lock and DSC, which includes ABS, DBC, CBC and anti-slip control in its arsenal. Not that it’s all work and no play with this one – on the mod con front, there’s navigation, infotainment and communications through ConnectedDrive, all paraded through an 8.8-inch display.

The interior boasts sports seats wrapped in Boston leather, replete with orange contrast stitching on the black seat and headrest surfaces, and to remind you of what you’re in, there’s a M steering wheel and the usual host of M logos; it’s even embossed on the headrest front. All this uniqueness will cost RM508,800, on-the-road, without insurance. Considering that it’s only a trio on call, it will be unique.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Spear on Jun 19, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Over 500K for this ugly car? I will rather get a 2 year old GTR..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Alpha on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:08 pm

If you have millions in your account,you won’t mind paying 500k for exclusivity,bro.Different people,different shoes.

• JackW on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:28 am

I don’t see any exclusivity in this car at all. If you tell people this car cost over RM500K, how many will believe? If you drive this car around, I don’t think anyone will turn their head and look at it. Let’s face it, they know it can’t sell and that’s why they only bring in 3. Even that 3 units will be hard to sell! That 1 unit sold? Most likely to their business partner or ppl within the group..

• bro, its the comfort, fast, elegant, responsive than the tune car with loud and big exhaust boy like you… by the way its BMW~

• 500k can get a recond R8 and yet have money to spare for some tasty modifications. All these will get you 10x even more look than a normal BMW 1 series coupe.

• pfttt on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:35 pm

n u cant even to afford viva 850..just big talking only

• Spear on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:15 pm

@Alpha – Millions in the account is nothing these days. I won’t sacrifice more than 1/2 million for this car. If I have tens of million, there are plenty above 1 million cars to choose, why would I buy this car? That’s why it’s only 3.
        @pfttt – ya ya, I can only afford a second hand motorcycle..

• Lim Kopi on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:42 am

People …

Only 3 pathetic units for Malaysia?

U see how small and irrelevant our market is in the global scene ??

Still want Proton to be around ??

• kuriang on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:40 pm

me too..

• Dude, you’re missing the point.

Its RM500k for a 3.0 litre inline-six that produces 340hp mated to a six -speed manual gearbox. Don’t forget the power-to-weight and top speed as well.

This thing’s a mini rocket! And of course, its German engineered.

• 340hp is no big deal and for over RM500K? and for this ugly car? If you want that kind of power, there are plenty in the market with a fraction of the price. A remapped and few mod GTI can produce that kind of power for RM210K. Even better, a Mazda MPS as I read in UK can easily reach 360hp for just RM170K. And undoubtedly MPS clearly looks far better than this car.

• Yes, you could mod a GTI. But it’s a Volkswagen. Not a BMW. Maybe to you they are on the same level, but reality check: They aren’t. It’s a BMW bro. A limited one at that.

And you’re not seriously comparing a BMW to a Mazda are you?

• Just because it’s a BMW does not mean it has to be good and beautiful. This is how you look at it. Limited? Yes, please limit this ugly car please.

Again for you just because the name BMW means has to be something else. Just google and see how many German editors are comparing a Mazda with their very own products. A Mazda 6 was compared with an Audi A4. Even the German are treating Mazda with much respect and you here just worship a BMW as if they are untouchable. For you it’s like saying no matter what shit Brad Pitt comes out, it will definitely smells good..

• Alpha on Jun 20, 2012 at 2:19 am

That’s to you,bro.I wouldn’t mind paying 1/2 mil for exclusivity if I have those millions in my account.You know,someone with that kind of cash would probably already have those 1 mil+ cars in their garage.

They just need something lower profile for them to enjoy their Sunday drive and you know,a pocket rocket that’s made for the fun to drive factor.I can’t think of any other pocket rockets that cost more than this available in Malaysia.Cheers.

• Ok well maybe u think that BMW ‘ Taxi in Europe ‘is super premium like Bentley so cannot compared to VW or Mazda but not everyone can accept such an expensive but very ugly car like this ! RM 500k for the brand? i can buy a 50k BMW in secondhand shops !

• Is too expensive for this car ! the Mercedes new A class 2012 is cooler and much better looking than this car !

• 7 years later. This car is one of the most iconic hot hatches in history. Besides the unfavorable outlook, the beauty lies within. Value holds stronger than any GTR or any BMW from this era.

• 3 BMW 1M is surprisingly little for this country. I blame it on how late BMW Malaysia decide to launch it here that’s why could not bring anymore.

Seriously, i already can spot 5 BMW 1M in a day when I was in Singapore!

• arden on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Come on Ben, how can you compare Malaysia with Singapore? We are 3rd world country.

• Josh Ling on Jun 19, 2012 at 6:45 pm

it depends on BMW’s priorities as well, bro. if malaysian market is as big as 20% of the overall sales of BMW cars in the world, i believe we would have gotten it way earlier, and with a larger quantity as well. when you have something limited in numbers, you can’t just give to anyone.

• Henry Ford the XII on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:21 pm

That just means that we Malaysians have better taste than Singaporeans.. hehehehe

• JeremyNg on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:08 pm

The car that J.Clarkson love it so much !!! He unofficially name this car as car of the year 2011

• i see imbalance proportion of the body. i know it’s a coupe, but…it’s not pretty!

• Brian on Jun 20, 2012 at 6:49 am

That’s what Jeremy Clarkson like it! Not pretty but perfection is there

• Yep agree RM500k for an ugly and small car…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:47 pm

Looks like the BMW staff in the pictures don’t seem very excited about selling an ugly coupe for over half a mil bucks either, don’t blame them…

• Already seen one in Johor Bahru with the same colour as above. Plate JXX 11. I am guessing AP.

• Niadruob Ynohtna on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:57 pm

You’ve gotta be kidding rite? Ugly? It’s absolutely gorgeous! Price is a tad too high though. In the 300K range more like it.

• budu power on Jun 19, 2012 at 6:00 pm

bmw – big money waste or banyak makan wang

• mystvearn on Jun 19, 2012 at 6:00 pm

I thought this car was launched 2 years ago??

• rm509k???? that’s almost as expensive as a number plate oh!

but yeah if you can afford this, dont go fill it up with subsidised petrol pls.

• Silver on Jun 19, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Totally agree , the proportion. Of the car doesn’t really scream out beauty .. Both the x1and the 1series has some serious design flaws

• BMW z4 engine

• Merc=Real Euro on Jun 19, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Imagine after spending half million ringgit on this Fugly car …Banyak Masuk Workshop….

How is that for punishment…

• TROLL on Jun 19, 2012 at 7:32 pm

mehhh… WWW1 lagi mahal….

• ayyam on Jun 19, 2012 at 7:41 pm

OMG so many haters!! get out

• If you see it from another perspective, this is the cheapest car(not including 2nd hand or recond) in Malaysia that can get you a true BMW M car experience.

• merce on Jun 19, 2012 at 10:02 pm

I still can’t decide who is uglier, the car or the men standing by it.

• Don’t need to decide, just go and look at the mirror and you will find the most uglier thing.

• take Subaru Wrx Sti 257k better :D

• I appreciate the simplicity of the interior. While it may not look great, I guess people who buy this car won’t really mind. I would agree that it is pricey though as I expected it to be around RM400k.

• carnoisseur on Jun 19, 2012 at 10:11 pm

If you know BMW’s from the past ,this aint a beauty at all …for one to say this is gorgeous please check your eyes and refer to the REAL bmw’s of the past, now they were beautiful

• I wouldn’t call it pretty, but I saw a Singapore-registered 1M once, complete with Akrapovic exhaust..gave me a hard on.

• Anon Kneemas on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:34 am

Expensive but at least Malaysians can still buy a brand new one. Limited run means its sold out in other markets. This is sure to be a collectible just like the 2002tii or even turbo.

• A fine built rocket by BMW! Not exactly ugly (coupe looks better than the hatch IMO). But over RM500k for this?? Hmmm… How about 2012 Nissan GT-R or unreg E92 M3 or C63 AMG?. But this has cheaper road tax in m’sia. (will potential owners even bother about that?) :)

• Mienzz92 on Jun 20, 2012 at 2:50 am

Bayar mahal,engine memang power but ECU already set speed limited to 250KM/H only..agree for safety reason and prolong engine life but the owner can not feel the full power potential of this engine on the road

• shawal the airhead.. on Jun 20, 2012 at 7:03 am

If exclusivity matter(since got only 3) then do a bidding la…sure price can go to 1 mill..

• 300k go for volvo s60 T6 310hp… hi performance t6 engine , with highest safety feuture with extra comfort for 4 person inside =)

• Keith on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:07 am

Not worth the premium over the 135i. Almost the same car with a few more go fast bits and a slightly bulgier body. Exclusivity? Yes. 30% more than a 135i for that? Not.

However, in Malaysia you already pay $450k for a 135i, so the relatively small premium to get a 1M is probably worth it..

• AlexLHthis on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:31 am

Haters jelous ….. Bcuz they can’t drive manual

• hantu on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:47 am

What? 509k for N54 3.0 litre inline-six, with 340 hp and 450 Nm on call, mated to a six -speed manual gearbox?

If I got that amount of money, I will go for R35 anytime…

• TurboMan!!! on Jun 21, 2012 at 6:46 am

Obviously you don’t know what a BMW is all about. Its not just about luxury.

R35 is faster no doubt, but the fun factor is just not there.

And comparing R35 to this is a moot point, as R35 is faster than even a porsche 911 turbo. So does it mean the 911 turbo is not a good car?

• Kenny T on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:18 am

To all the naysayers saying they won’t buy one. Chances are you won’t.

Malaysia gets 3 out of the limited run. Actually this car is no longer in production and is destined to be a classic among car enthusiasts. Exclusivity is guaranteed. In the world of million dollar bank accounts, would the buyer profile buy a Grand Seiko? Expensive but ubiquitous brand? Or a Patek Philippe for its exclusivity? In terms of pure time keeping, the Seiko will probably keep time a tad more accurately, but that’s beside the point. It’s the wonderful mastery of the horological art and finesse. What the GT-R gives you is a sense of technological wonder, the BMW feels more organic and is more entertaining to drive.

Anyway, if milking specs and dreaming that the GT-R or the Mitsubishi Evo X/whatever is better bang for your buck, then look elsewhere. You’re probably missing the point of this car entirely.

This legendary BMW 1 Series M Coupe is destined to be in the history books as one of the wildest, most entertaining, sublime handling, well balanced every day car, that is based on a mass production model. Reminescent of the E30 BMW. Some people will get ‘it’. Some people ‘won’t.

Btw, in UK (I didn’t use RM because Malaysia prices are so wildly random) the GT-R costs 70,000 pounds while the BMW 1 Series M is 40,000 pounds. Very different price bracket. Next to the GT-R, the Audi R8 will look like a bargain for a little bit more. So you see, if we keep comparing these machines to irrelevant cars of different appeal, it will never end.

• And there is this baby in Msia, asking more than double in other markets.

• d most ugly BM that i ever seen!

• A concern Malaysian on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Maybe WWW# will end up on this car..Or all 3 cars end up in WWW#’s owners porch.. We will never know!!!

• M-Power on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:33 pm

I would think going for the M3 is a much wiser choice.

• amuse on Jun 20, 2012 at 2:30 pm

that 2 guy look like some one pisses them off. or maybe their wife just dump them..

• EVO mag reckons its a better driver machine than its bigger brother, M3. (An issue in 2011)
    I am surprised that is being offered in Msia at all.

• To those ppl who keep bashing this gorgeous beast. Chances are u guys wont even have the chance to buy it. Not even GTR or anything close to it. U bashers just love to bash.. Bashed proton n now bmw.. Lol.. Get a life mates.

• And the most funny thing is majority of these bashers and haters are VW fanboys. Yeah may try to bash other to make themself look good, what a loser.

• matlimmutu on Jun 20, 2012 at 6:09 pm

what??? over rm500k??? design is so bad, ugly car.

• cuckoo107 on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:13 pm

Believe you me there are quiet a number of cronies more than willing to get one of these for the spoilt brats to flaunt.

• Jim Toncet on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:14 am

Production only 100 units and that’s it….

• I loves all the BMW model, but so not this one.

• hek eleh on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:06 pm

this one is gonna be a legendary car.
    3 unit only maa. dont care lah mahal or whatsoever.
    if money is not the problem, just buy and go ride around all the basher over here.

-.-

• WanFath on Sep 29, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Terpulang pada individu yang melihat nya.. ada yang cakap cantik, ada yang cakap tak cantik, ikut selera masing-masing..

• org top gear on Jan 03, 2013 at 1:42 am

ohh.. sbenarnya kereta ni special.. mmg2 special.. sebab.. dari segi power.. kereta 370z fair lady pun kalah.. z4 pn kena.. dalam rancangan top gear korea.. masa terpantas kedua d pegang oleh m1 bmw selepas m3.. m1 d korea cuma ada 50 kereta shj smpai d sana.. dan ramai yg sanggup nak bayar lebih untuk dptkan kereta ni di sana.. mmg sgt2 berbaloi. tp itulah.. cuma tak banyak yg di keluarkan.. kalau keluar banyak .. mungkin harga akan banyak bezanya dari sekrang… huhu..

• Wan Ridz Lam on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:51 am

Salam overseas. Alhamdulillah, I live in Australia, pre-owned BMW Series 1 Coupe, about 60,000km on the odometer, selling around Au $30k only.Reduce the tax please, the current system favours only the very rich.