DRIVEN: Peugeot 408 Turbo and 408 2.0

Say hello to the latest Pug in the pride, the 408. Designed exclusively for emerging markets like China and ours, this C-segment sedan will never see the light of day in Europe.

Here, it’s aimed at filling the void left by the 407, and though the replacement for the 407 is the 508, the latter does shift the presentation up price-wise. Which is where the 408 comes in – at RM125,888 for the Turbo and RM109,888 for the 2.0, things are kept along the pricing lines of the 407, and in the case of the normally-aspirated 2.0 version, it’s an even more cost effective offering.

Anthony and I took both the Turbo and 2.0 out for a run last week, and the short of it is that while they are cut from the same cloth, both cars are actually very different character-wise. Read on to find out what we think about the newest Pug.

Full story after the jump.

We’ve covered details about the car with our launch story from last month, but here’s a recap. Draped in Peugeot’s latest signature grille, which has been nipped and tucked to make it smaller than the outgoing models, the car features redesigned headlamps and bonnet combo to help it look sleeker, with a dash of athleticism to boot. The rear is reminiscent of its bigger sibling, the 508, but admittedly it is quite plain to look at.

The Turbo comes with a 225/45 R17 Continental Sport Contact 3 wrapped around eight-spoke 17-inch ‘Melbourne’ alloy wheels, which are sportier than the five-spoke ‘Rinjani’ wheels and 215/50 series Continental Max Contact MC5s worn by the NA.

Since this is a Peugeot, you’d expect it to have a lot of kit in its class, and it does. Essentially, the 408 Turbo and the non-turbo are one and the same. As mentioned earlier, both have the same exterior lines and share the same interior decorator, with only the choice of material inside offering differentiation.

Equipment levels are also similar; you can find the same entertainment system, climate control and safety features in both cars. Being the more expensive version, naturally the Turbo has better specification.

The Turbo has premium leather seats, leather wrapped steering wheel with aluminium inserts, auto dimming rear view mirror, aluminium pedals and a rear centre armrest with two cup-holders. As for safety, the car gets driver and front passenger airbags, front and rear curtain airbags, electronic stability program (ESP) and anti-skid regulation (ASR).

As for the 2.0, the seats are wrapped in fabric, the steering wheel loses the aluminium inserts, and aside from the above kit unique to the Turbo, there’s also less flash in the overall trim garnish.

In terms of space, there’s plenty at the back. There’s good legroom despite the driver’s seat is aligned with the B-pillar. The boot’s 562 litres of space gives you the option to put two children at the back or a golf bag horizontally. Side pockets inside the cargo hold also make it easier to put away smaller items.

Now, let’s talk numbers. For the Turbo, the engine is a 1.6 litre twin scroll turbo high pressure (THP) with direct petrol injection and VVT. On paper, the Prince engine produces 163 hp at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm of torque at 1,400 rpm. The engine consumes 8.2 l/100km, measured on an EU combined drive cycle and emits 190 g/km of CO2. It meets Euro 5 regulations, just in case you want to know.

An AT6 six-speed automatic gearbox is partnered with the engine to transfer power into the front wheels. The turbocharged sedan goes from 0-100 km/h in 9.2 seconds and is capable of speeds of up to 215 km/h, a speed that is limited by the ECU.

Meanwhile, the 408 2.0 is powered by the EW10A+ normally-aspirated four-cylinder 2.0 litre unit, which is good for 145 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. It’s paired with an AT8 four-speed auto adaptive gearbox, which features a new torque converter as part of its revision. Performance-wise, the 2.0 litre has a 195 km/h top speed and a 0-100 km/h time of 12.5 seconds.

As far as kit goes, the Pug is value for money, especially the Turbo – the car with almost the same spec in the same segment is the Volkswagen Jetta, which is priced just shy of RM150,000. Of course, nothing like driving it to get the lowdown, so here it is.

Chris’ take on the twosome:

First notes on the Turbo, which I spent most of the time in. Truth be told, this car does not feel quick off the line. The first two gears slush around before locking in the third – or around 60 km/h – before it starts to build serious momentum. You can imagine this as a Saturn V taking off; there’s a lot of noise and the lift-off is labourious. Then, once it starts to break off from gravity, it shoots to the beyond like a rocket that it is.

The turbocharged car feels a little like that as well. Once past 60 km/h on the speedo, you’ll quickly find yourself in a region that pooh-poohs the national speed tolerance. And there’s enough fire left in the Pug to put behind the car in front of you, proof that the 408 works better in the mid-ranges.

The steering feels meaty and confident at high speeds, no doubt tightened by the electro-hydraulic steering. In fact, it is not just at high speeds that the steering feels loaded. Fire up the engine and you’ll find higher levels of resistance from the steering; it just wants the wheels pointed north. Which of course requires effort, whether you’re navigating through the parking lot or a series of B-road curves.

Without a shadow of doubt, the car is stable. In the front, you’ll find MacPherson-type struts and an anti-roll bar. Peugeot has made the rear slightly more complex with its ‘deformable U-shaped cross member located by two arms and a hollow anti-roll bar’. Together, they give the car a firmness that you won’t normally find in C-segment cars, but in sports and performance cars.

So, you’ll feel the road connecting with your backside and in some cases, your spine. Nevertheless, the springs and dampers filter a lot of the other small inconsistencies of the road, letting you know only the big ones. Like the pothole that I could have avoided, if I put more angle into the steering.

Through fast sweeping bends, the 408 roots itself to the tarmac gathering every piece of grip it can find to keep you on the black. Even through a worrying series of tight corners, the Pug heroically tracks through all like an out of control mine cart, sometimes just missing the apex by inches. In spite of its tall-ish design, it never really rolls and pitches too much.

Clearly, this car is aimed at the more performance-minded driver. Peugeot has already souped up the engine, steering and suspension system that gives the 408 Turbo a little more punch over its same-class competitors. Mix in the fact that it gives more kit than the rest and you have a car that is certainly a bargain.

As for the normally-aspirated 408, if the Turbo is Mr Hyde, then the 2.0 would be Dr Jekyll. While both these cars ride on the same platform, have the same shape and share the same interior, they’re really two different cars.

Jumping in from the turbo, the first thing I noticed is the steering. The grip is skinnier than the turbo car and there are no chrome inserts on the thumb grip. It also feels light, compliant and desensitised, so you can manoeuvre through parking lots without breaking a sweat.

Power needs to be coaxed out of the NA car and selecting the gears manually will not help much, because it will self-shift when it reaches its threshold. This car will teach you patience, especially when there’s a hill to climb. I did not take it on a long and straight road, so I don’t know if it cruises well.

The chassis is also dialled to a more comfortable setting. Yes, there is a bit of roll to deal with. Then again, this is a different car. So, if you’re looking for an athletic 408, take the Turbo, because the 2.0 is meant for a relaxed, laidback drive.

Anthony’s view on the duality:

Usually, there’s not that dramatic a differentiation with variants, but here’s a bit of an exception, with the two cars offering enough variation that it feels like two sets of people worked on them.

If it’s pace you’re after, the Turbo, as expected, gets the vote. It’s certainly brisk enough, once you get past the initial lag off the mark, and the car actually handles quite well when pushed, with far better grip values than I expected there to be.

The steering is heavy though, and not particularly pleasant at low speed in terms of manoeuvrability, especially doing three pointers. Its weighting becomes even more noticeable when you come in from the 2.0, which sits at the other end of the spectrum.

Actually, I ended up liking the easier presentation offered by the 2.0’s steering (as well as its ergonomics – the inserts on the Turbo’s wheel may look spiffier, but to the touch I liked the conventional feel of leather better). There’s no real feel and the weight is threadbare, for want of a better word, which means that every nudge feels like it’d unsettle the car.

Once you stop attempting to be ham-fisted with it though, pushing the car through measured input – and trust beyond what it’s telling you – reveals that the NA’s handling is pretty neat and tidy. Granted, the Turbo’s overall presentation is inherently tauter, but the 2.0 offers plenty of mechanical grip, as the return trip from photography on the Karak highway showed.

Pacy even, the 2.0, though only if you don’t ask too much of it – its lack of puff shows up when attempting hilly terrain (cue Genting) at speed; the lump is happy when humming, but trim speed off for corners and the impetus to regain propulsion becomes a slow-moving affair. Still, there’s little to complain about in urban surroundings.

No surprises from the NA’s four-speeder, even with the revisions – it’s a tireless worker and the spread covers movement well enough, albeit tinged with a discernible transmission whine off-throttle. Still, as the 308 Turbo showed when it first arrived with a four and then moved on to a six-speed unit, there’s no denying the improved scope and transition aspects of the extra ratios. Which is why the Turbo, equipped with the six-speeder, feels silkier in movement, and not just as a result of its perkier mill.

Points for overall comfort; I preferred the softer ride of the 2.0 (surely a sign of age!), and while Pug seats and I haven’t always agreed on how we should do the cha-cha, there was less of an issue than before here. Good support levels too at the front, the firmness carrying over to the rear bench. Meanwhile, boot space is impressive, with ample depth, as I found out when I had to stretch in to retrieve my set of keys that had fallen out of the bag.

In all, it’s an able offering, the 408. Not the flashiest thing around, but stoic definitely has its moments. On paper, the Turbo offers plenty of value, but I quite liked the straight-up, no frills presentation the 2.0 had, surprisingly over that of its turbo sibling – while a bit rough around the edges (mostly from the workings of the transmission), its reserved character has a quiet charm about it. Stranger things have happened.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jun 19, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Looks like the Peugeot’s selling point is to offer so much kit that you lose count and succumb. Even so, the writer seems almost shy to recommend the vehicle, which says a lot about what’s on offer – all flash and no substance or even fun, and this is before you tally the crazy depreciation of French cars. I’ll pass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Yea.. I can sense the comment given kinna different.. unlike what they commented on other cars like VW models with great enthusiasm and passion..

• PetrolLeg on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Sounds like a very humble write up.

• PetrolLeg on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:04 am

But then again on paper and the experience of owning a so called affordable continental car is reachable here. My biggest concern is their service level not up to par yet, but I know they will get there someday to an acceptable level and also spare parts, even the slightest bump that needs replacement, worried that the parts need to wait for a certain time. It is certainly a better choice than Japanese makes in terms of specs, against the bang for your buck!

• Eugene on Jun 19, 2012 at 3:06 pm

“The boot’s 526 litres of space gives you the option to put two children at the back or a golf bag horizontally” – I read and reread this. Guess we can call the 408 a 5+2 seater eh? :)

• Stupid joke by the writer. You will get sued if you wrote this oversea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • pugboy on Jun 22, 2012 at 7:09 am

I actually thought this was very distasteful, considering the recent events and crime involving children. I respect the writer’s creativity, but it’s very very distasteful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Bimmer on Jun 19, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Urgh, my brain hurts. Punctuation please…

• mystvearn on Jun 19, 2012 at 3:38 pm

So, they forgot the handbrake position again in the LHD to RHD conversion :P

• Kalun on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:09 am

The best position for a passenger like me to panic my driver. Pull the handbrake!
      Not my fault. I thought i am the driver!

• great pictures…

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jun 19, 2012 at 4:14 pm

RHD market is too small for them……

• Hate the granny smile….and no steering wheel buttons other than that very nice car

• Hate the grinny smile….and no steering wheel buttons other than that very nice car

• Build quality?

• alex chan on Jun 19, 2012 at 4:22 pm

preve` is more better mah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • ae101 on Jun 19, 2012 at 4:40 pm

what i can say is preve better in term of price. nothing more than that.

• rdcrf on Jun 19, 2012 at 7:26 pm

it’s twin scroll turbo 163hp 240nm but only 0.4 difference in terms of century sprint with single turbo 138hp 205nm preve? 6 speeder pug 408 vs 7 speeder preve? it might say that cfe is more efficient than prince

well you get what you pay for, still preve wins in term of value for money, including the prices of maintenance and spare parts

• Kalun on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:11 am

The 7 speeder in Preve is fake shifting. Putting gear ratio on CVT transmission is just useless and waste of fuel.

• theanswer on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:28 am

preve cvt maa..those 7 speed is virtual only. while pug is 6 speed auto using torque converter. btw, u always can compared performance..but ride comfort no.

• I thought CFE is bot on turbo? :O

• Have you tested preve? with current “bug” in preve, the sluggishness when moving from still kills it completely and cant justify it has turbo which gives max torque @ 2000rpm…

• ae101 on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:39 am

obviously you are good spec reader from what i can see. i give proton thumbs up for their marketing because they really can tell public their car is world class just because of the technology they put in.

• @kalun
        gaear ratio is an option for drivers, if they can control their foot work nicely, full cvt mode is better for them

don’t just bash blindly

• kekekeke pls do not compare potong!! potong will forever b potong

• Kaminski on Jun 19, 2012 at 4:53 pm

I test drove both cars last Sunday, albeit on short brief rounds in Balakong and I have to agree with Anthony, the 2 Litre variant is just much more comfortable and rear seat passengers commented the same, saying the ride in the turbo rear seats was a bit rough. The turbo variant also screams its head off when you push it and seems as if its going nowhere until it hits third gear.
    I did feel like an ‘uncle’ in the 2 litre though!
    On a side note, during my time in the very busy showroom, one couldn’t hear oneself think because of the door slamming symphony going on, don’t tell me people decide on a car purchase through a door slam test!

• “The turbo variant also screams its head off when you push it and seems as if its going nowhere until it hits third gear.
      I did feel like an ‘uncle’ in the 2 litre though!”

maybe it’s the way it’s made to be or it’ll go faster through time and no lags after few thousands km.

turbo – rougher ride, heavier steering, for performance head = (naughty)

NA – more comfort, lighter steering, for family ride = (nice)

me no salesman

• PetrolLeg on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:06 pm

It’s funny though since you’ve brought up about car purchase through door slam test, just observe at every new car launch, there is bound to be a cluster of people slams door, open door and slam again. A purchasing factor to them I must say.

• Unforgiven on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:03 am

All started because we trusted Proton for too long I guess,ha ha

• if bimmer’s door closing sound is like Milo tin, would you be happy with the built n quality? it’s not the deciding factor but we should know before buying, to me it is one of the many test a buyer would go through before signing on the dotted line. I do it n even if the sound is crappy , I would still buy if I really liked the car.

• Muhammad Najibul Rahman Aboo on Jun 19, 2012 at 4:54 pm

I think the new Camry is a better buy. This car is for the emerging markets (read 3rd world countries) only. The target market is for ppl who cannot afford to own the better 508 sibling.

Camry is certainly a better choice. Undisputed. A clear winner. Outclass other make. Go Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • sick&tired on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:33 pm

agreed! the camry is much better! RM150k for a 4-speed, 4 cylinder engine which offers super car performance, low consumption, very reliable (no need to service at all!).what else would one ask for! lamborghini gallardo also lose to camry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • anti-first on Jun 19, 2012 at 8:46 pm

Muhammad Najibul Rahman Aboo put it best: Camry is the ‘undisputed’ clear winner, a ‘better’ choice and ‘outclasses’ other makes.

We know you secretly want a 408 but you’re stuck with the Camry. It’s okay, we feel you. :)

• OMG… how can we compare a Peugeot 408 T to a proton made in malaysia engine car. Please have mecy and some compassion for the French beauty. And who cares about second hand value compared to the safety, comfort and style of the Pugs.

• mythbuster on Jun 19, 2012 at 10:16 pm

haha. i think u are kidding. have u compared 408 and camry specs? do that first then comment.

• PetrolLeg on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:08 pm

He is making a very sarcastic remark about Camry, read between the lines!

• theanswer on Jun 19, 2012 at 10:37 pm

ppl like u makes T think that they deserve to sell camry at 170k without vsa or tc system. shame on u T.

• Unforgiven on Jun 20, 2012 at 7:45 am

Remove the ‘taking our advantage group – P1/P2/Naza/etc’, or go to a fair car price countries to compare the car prices – US/UK, or even Indo/Thailand?
        Just like VW Jetta, H Civic are the same price range. It’s as simple as that.

• shawal the airhead.. on Jun 20, 2012 at 7:24 am

Camry 2.0 is actually first country market with 3rd world country spec if you still not aware..

• intermilan on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:51 am

I was intrigued to see this ‘mamat’ comment due to the gigantic number of thumb down.

Hahahaha.. no wonder. Hard to be an ash hole as this ash hole. Except to those 10 (hopefully no more) who give the thump up!

• Sam Loo on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Yeah, at least one can be assured that Camry will not sui kwan like Pugs

• The lame ones always assume one buy this model because one can’t afford a higher end model.

• honest on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:02 pm

it seems like the car is not so GREAT after all, just that they are using some nice hidden words to tell you that….

• sick&tired on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:35 pm

what ‘nice words’ did he use?? for RM100k, the 2.0 408 is a good choice for those who are sick and tired of the civic’s,altis,etc. One thing you cannot fault with Peugeot is the interior. Superb quality, no japanese or korean can match it.

• RedzDevil on Jun 19, 2012 at 5:13 pm

Chris,
    Pricing aside, how does it compare to the VW Jetta?

• PetrolLeg on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:11 pm

To me I think the Jetta still prevails, but if price and value for money, the pug408, but then again, VW should solve their DSG first.

• sudonano on Jun 19, 2012 at 6:25 pm

But i think waiting for the 2012 Focus seems best now before buying. Just in case…

• Maserati on Jun 19, 2012 at 7:01 pm

Rubbish car! Enough said

• Gents, as always, nice write up, thanks. By the way, is the boot space 562 or 526 liters?
    And from the pics snapped by you, the 2.0 is wrapped with 215/50 rubber, not 205/50. Have a look :)

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Eagle-eyed spot, Kent. It is 562 litres, and the rubbers are indeed 215/50 Conti Max Contact MC5s. Thanks for the spot.

• encik boss on Jun 19, 2012 at 8:50 pm

if jetta will be ckd and priced below RM140k OTR, i will choose jetta.
    If not, (IMO) 408 1.6thp is a better choice

• Sam Loo on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:22 pm

I year later, the Pug will be lose 30% of its value.

Think 5X before placing your deposit and 10X before signing the dotted line

• donna on Jun 19, 2012 at 9:28 pm

sighhhh….. another dugong aka conti vios.. a piece of conti crap with conti price.. naza2..

• b sensible on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:41 pm

can the turbocharged engine fitted w/ compressed natural gas? will the engine lose any power?

• O-100kmh in 12.5 seconds for a 2000 cc car??

• Unforgiven on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:11 am

There’s no way to compare car prices here,unless we are able to remove the’taking our advantage’ group in M’sia. To be fair, we may only compare the price fairly in US, UK, erm Indo, Thailand? Ha ha

• In ur dream thai n indo price almost similar with us RM10-20k…there is no advantage whatsoever..all car tax same here

• Unforgiven on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:03 am

Advantage group = P1/P2/Naza/etc.
        Fair price meaning Jetta/Civic/Forte is in same price range.
        All car tax the same? Undeclared/Under declared? What about Forte vs Elantra in M’sia? Wait, are you M’sian in the first place?

• PetrolLeg on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:00 am

Agree, because there will always be a quorum of people that determines how much your product should be in the market, and this one part of the reason why cars becomes our greatest liability in our household, but of course in some ways the feel good and to show that I have a more expensive car than yours parked in your house or office differentiates you. But not realizing over three quarter of Malaysians takes high loan and something like working for bank!!

• Is the 408 still plagued by the Beyonce Syndrome?

• retro on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:22 pm

from test drives at their centre, seems ok.

• K@iyo on Jun 20, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Dude,

Beyonce Syndrome = When some one judges you or talks shit about you when they don’t even know you and repeatedly keeps making false statements about you or when your name rolls out of every one’s mouth

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Beyonce%20Syndrome

• retro on Jun 21, 2012 at 7:46 am

i think peugeot 308 owners would see the definition as slightly different. but i like your definition as well.

• shawal the airhead.. on Jun 20, 2012 at 7:26 am

No diesel for this too aaa ? if got diesel with same price I’ll buy ..

• omanjedi on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:26 am

It does a little bit spoil the future intro of Ford Focus

• anti-first on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:32 am

it’s okay, at least the 408 ‘stylishly’ spoils things for the new Focus.

would you rather have the upcoming City face-lift spoil things for the Focus?

• Garfield on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:55 am

Just a tiny observation from my own visit to a showroom last weekend. This car is a CKD, right? From the time NAZA had ever put leather seats in a Kia, the feel were so crappy and low quality. And when I see the same in the 408 Turbo, I have a feeling Naza is still using the same shitty supplier. It robs a little bit of the premium luxurious feeling of a French car. The fabric seats in the 2.0 would feel better. I think it does contribute to the overall feeling of comfort for the 2.0, and roughness of the Turbo especially to the passengers.

What I’m saying here, please change your leather seat supplier Naza!

• Unforgiven on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:05 am

I thought they are using Nappa leather?

• Garfield on Jun 21, 2012 at 3:59 pm

Nappa leather? Where did u get the idea? In the previous article during the launch it only mentioned premium leather. I guess premium was only for the showcar then. If that’s what you call premium, very sad lah. In the showroom there was the 508 and the leather definitely feel premium there (CBU unit)

• intermilan on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Nappa leather will only come with CBU version, if it is specified so.

Nasim never use Nappa leather (or any of ‘original’ Peugeot leather) for any of CKD Peugeot . 407 Premium is an example. All CKD Peugeots seems to have been using ‘premium’ leather that i believed was sourced from supplier. Local or not i do not know.

The different between their so-called ‘premium leather’ and the real-deal Nappa leather is so apparent.(Peugeot’s Claudia leather is also excellent).

• I rather spend another 10k++ to get this pug than the ugly new FL CITY…

• The Enthusiast on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:18 pm

“The boot’s 562 litres of space gives you the option to put two children at the back or a golf bag horizontally.”

Looks like someone’s trying to be Jeremy Clarkson. LOL!

• razzoe on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Do we really need to know 0-100km/h times? Seems pointless for C segment cars. The 408 may not evoke your emotions but everything else is more car than most of us would ever need. Happy to see some proper car-talk here by likeminded petrolheads.

• anti-first on Jun 20, 2012 at 2:03 pm

i agree, the century sprint is just lame talk, unless you are driving high-performance cars specific for that purpose.

• Josh Ling on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:25 am

for me it’s just something to show the performance of the car, and let people have a clearer idea of how fast (or slow) it is. so i think it’s a good addition, especially when you have some turbo-charged cars performing like a similar capacity NA car or even worse than that.

• Ah Beng on Jun 21, 2012 at 4:45 am

How does this car compare with preve?

• Drive 408 2L for 4 days already. Like the solid and stable ride, steering wheel light and responsive. Sound system nice, stalk for radio, speed limiter and auto cruise not difficult to use. Lost that bulky feeling after 2 days ride. You have to open the door wide to get in because the seat location and size. Other than that this car is fantastic. (Driving experience Innova/Vios auto)

• Sam Loo on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Try putting it up for sale.

You will be lucky if anyone call you up even at 70% of purchase price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • parasolx on Jun 23, 2012 at 8:30 am

conti car is for enjoyable.. not for sale after 3/4 year buy..

• Why would I want to sell a car if it is good? I still drive my reliable 7 yrs old Vios and Innova.

• DontBeRippedOff on Jun 29, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Ha ha ha Sam Loo, you should change your name to Mr Resale Value. Paul Tan wrote a very good article about the ESP and why Malaysian drivers deserves better safety features (and I think most knew Paul Tan was hitting on the new Camry 2.5 $180K decided to take out the ESP function, but resale value good maa).

Why dont you say “No needlah all this ESP, VSC. Safety feature not important. Most important thing about a car is RESALE VALUE”.

Those who has not read about Paul Tan awesome article about ESP and safety, can read it here

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/#comments

• Kuryakin on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:32 pm

If the cars are for Asia and China Markets, how do they conform to NCAP crash standards, or any standard for that matter. Will they turn into a ball of tinfoil and human burger in a crash? Just my 2 sens.

• 408 was put through a China NCAP. It scored a 47.1 out of a max 51. 5 stars. Relatively, the Jetta scored 47.2, Corolla 48.6, Pug 508 48.9 and City 41.1….so up to you to judge

• Kuryakin on Jun 25, 2012 at 12:18 am

Thanks…..From what I see from this site http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/2011/10/china-to-improve-crash-test-standards-and-not-a-moment-too-soon/
    I am not sure how they test the cars or if they are comprehensive enough.

• I got 408 1.6 turbo last week, but I found few standard safety features missing for this car which disapointed me:
    1) Center Door Lock is unable to fully lock the doors from inside. My kids able to open the doors from inside even the “Center Door Lock” was on and the car was runnng. Unless manually set the door to Child Lock but I become their driver to open the door for them every time. I cannot believe this is the way for a C-segment car.
    2) Auto Windows safety anti-pinch are missing for back seat windows

• K-Man on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:08 pm

as far as peugeots go, all doors can be opened from inside regardless of locked or not. that’s why they have the child proof lock to keep the kids inside securely. locking the car prevents outside opening of doors and not designed to lock occupants in so that in an emergency, they can open the doors and escape.

• pls check 308 and 508, these 2 provide the feature when applied the Center Windows + Child Lock. I am sure 308 and 508 are Peugeot cars!

• laluan sehala on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:23 am

Just go and get the SC to set for you the anti-pinch, it is available in the 408. No issue there. As for the child proof lock, if you really care, what’s the problem in locking it manually? Lazy? Don’t wanna feel like a driver? Then get a 2 door car. That way, your kids 100% won’ get a chance to get out as there is no back door.

• I am sure you have no small kids with you,
        408 is not a Family Friendly Car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • K-Man
    308 and 508 provided the “Center Windows + Child Lock ” but why 408 only have the partial feature ~ “Center Windows Lock”. I have confirmed this difference with Pug Malaysia. Why not for 408? Who able provide me an answer ?

• different countries, different specs. many variables. there will be spec differences depnding on market. your 408 is already one of the best equipped in the market and at one of the best prices today. just be happy that at least there ARE child-proof locks. it is there, just not how you would like it to be presented. chill lah. you got a very good car already.

• yes, you are right I happy with 408 except the center lock, especially it is different from 308 and 508… ??? this make me unable to understand, 408 should be a family car , right?

• Laluan Sehala,
    I am practising the manual lock now.
    But the issue is why Pug remove the standard feature for 308 and 508 from 408, I am sure you might not have small kids, who are not understand how useful of the Center Child Lock for a family car owner … 408 is not a Family Frendly Car!!!

• laluan sehala on Jun 28, 2012 at 7:50 am

how many other c-segment cars have this feature? my kid is in secondary school now and i have also gone through your thoughts before. back then there was no such feature and i still can use the manual child proof lock without problems. there was no problem in locking the door manually. seriously. you want to regret just because of this small feature? i think it is not worth your time even thinking of it. put some additional effort a bit and not be envious of other stuff. by the way, didn’t you check out the car before buying? looked through the features properly etc. didn’t do that?nobody put a gun to your head to force you to buy right? since you have already bought, just be happy with it. or if you’re not happy just because of one small feature, just sell it.

• you are right, I have bought it due to I Ioverlooked the different of the center lock between 308/508 and my 408, I forced to bear it with my mistake but I believe I should hightlight this to others who have same concern with me… learn from my mistake… 408 is not a Family Friendly Car.

• DontBeRippedOff on Jun 29, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Interesting to note that 408 doesn’t have the Central Child Lock System. Did Peugeot/ Nasim took out the feature to save cost or did on purpose for tech/ safety reason?

I drive 308T. One thing I can share, the Child Lock System (lets call it CLS) button location (located together with window button, on driver door arm rest) can pose a problem. I dont have children yet, but there have been countless times that I accidently and unknowingly pressed the CLS button when I rest my arm on the door panel, and only found out later when the passengers behind cannot open the door. This can a problem.

Imagine, you switch on the CLS because you have kids in the car, but unintentionally pressed the button while you are drving(if you’re the type that like to rest you arm on the door like me), and the next thing you know, your kid opens the door accidently. In this respect, I think the manual child lock lever is better (though I can imagine a little bit of hassle turning it on and off).

If you ask my opinion, I’ll choose the manual child lock over this, unless the CLS button is located where it could not be unintentinally pressed (say the center console etc), then its okay.

My 2 cents worth of opinion

• Sam Loo on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Sui Kwan car. Avoid at all cost

• Alan Oboe on Aug 17, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Hi, I am getting my 408 soon. And I think Manual CHild lock is still the better option. If you have child, then lets make it permanent lock for the peace of mind

• Andrew on Aug 28, 2012 at 11:09 pm

I am considering 408, who can advise the turbo or 2.0 better value for money

• Instead of Honda Civic 2.0, my husband told me he wanted to buy 408 turbo! I don’t really like the interior & also the exterior and based on the review from the writer, it seems that 408 turbo is not really a great car to buy. I just feel that it would not be a family friendly car.
    Any opinion from you guys?

• i have seen both cars, and i will suggest u to go and view the actual cars on your own. For me i personally like 408.

• why not consider the 2.0. if you don’t really need the power, save the extra cash to buy something else. the 408 2.0 uses a newer version of the 407’s engine and so far has proven to be good on reliability. too many people are too captivated by the word ‘turbo’.

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 15, 2012 at 11:57 am

seriously, go for the 2.0. it has proven to be a safe engine. and if it were a family car, you don’t need the complications of a turbo engine.

• My opinion 407 still a great car compare to 408!!! Even 407 look too “SENIOR” than 408. For overall design wise, 407 much more beautiful and sexy than 408. I am not biased in term of quality wise produce by peugeot, IT TOO MANY PROBLEMS HERE AND THERE AND SEEM PEUGEOT HAS LOST THEIR ROARING IN COMING YEARS TO COME.

• the 408 so far has been quite trouble free compared to the 308. do know that it has a newer engine than every other peugeot sold here.

• Car luva'a on Dec 13, 2012 at 12:56 am

Tested both 2.0L & turbo. And the 2.0L feels way better than my current Civic 1.8L in terms of ride comfort and steering feel. Also, a much luxurious interior.

It is a car that worth buying for at this price range, but if you have a higher budget and your criteria of buying a car is RIDE COMFORT, then you should also consider Nissan Teana 2.0L.

Cheers !

• CNY 2013 408T offer come with european bodykit…but still no Navi system…NASIM pls add navi and surely i signed it today…

• ALJ68 on Jan 08, 2013 at 8:01 am

The auto-lock function is now removed due to new Malaysian Road Security law that requires all new cars to be able to be opened from outside in case of an emergency..manual locking is recommended on all cars now..To test drive a 40T and feel comfort is not the point of a turbo engine..test drive it on a winding road then the stretch h/way..then you will understand..

• CW Wong on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:41 am

People who are comparing Camry with Pugs do not know what they are talking about. If all you did was desk research, go walk into the showrooms at least… Test drive both vehicles before you comment. The Pugs are much safer and better spec’ed. I drive a Camry but I think UMW Toyota laughed all the way to the bank with my money. Turn back the clock, I’ll pay for a Pug. At least I got 6 airbags and ESP to keep me and family safe. What good is resale value esp for those who use their cars up to 10 years?

• bongeks on Jan 25, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Funny coz people buy car for RV when their car even don’t have ESP and 6 airbags. They think LIFE have value-value meh? I just don’t understand what is actually people looking when buying Camry n Civic..maybe they need to read and learn more about car safety.

• Shocking experience. Twice the Peugeot salesman was supposed to bring the 408 2L for my parents to test drive. Twice he had to cancel. reason given:

1. Test car due for service and branch manager does not agree for the car to be used
    2. Service cannot complete on time as certain parts need to be changed to prevent the car from stalling while idle.

To cap it off, the car may not even be ready until a week’s time. I hope this is not a common issue.

• Tested 408 2L today. Nice ride and enjoyed driving a 13km test drive route despite scorching hot 39 degree of sunshine. Dilemma between 2L and Turbo but after reading these reviews, i think my decision is right. Can’t wait to get my 408 soon!

• Dr Muthukumaran on May 10, 2014 at 11:09 am

Im Dr Muthukumaran from Sungai Petani.

I have bought peugeot 408 griffe in Bagan Jemal Branch, Butterworth.

The car arrived to the branch on 5th March 2014. I collected the car on 12th March 2014.
    The next day of my collection, i have noted that there were some scratches on the headrest leather.

Immediately i have called Bagan Jermal Branch Service Center and inform them. Mr Johnson ( after sales manager ) were assiting me.

Till now they refuse to replace a original headrest for me.

I think its not my fault as the car were in the branch for a week, they should inspect it.
    The sales person have to re-check with the customer before delivering it.
    Both also not done.

I need them to replace a original headrest for me.

Thank you

• Alwin on Nov 13, 2014 at 9:10 pm

if you compare the Turbo parts picture in the 408TS catalogue vs the real car, you will found that the material used is totally difference? the one show in the catalogue is more define vs real one in the showroom car. IS the turbo part in 408 TS made from France or locally source?

• Sabri on Apr 06, 2015 at 12:12 am

I’m the owner of Pug 408 2.0. I’ve drive it for about 2 years with 100% satisfaction as family car. I have to admit, this model look out dated, but somehow, that “granny smile” look nice to me, considering I had bad experience with Proton Persona, Proton Wira and Nissan Cefiro.

• is there peugeot 408 2.0 have any major problem..?

• I own a 408 1.6turbo since 4 years ago…trust me…Peugeot is a total headache…very bad quality and reliability…since first year already got many issues…same goes to 408 NA, 508,308,3008,5008 n others…avoid this brand. Tq

• superdriver on Jan 05, 2017 at 5:50 pm

I have the 408 1.6 turbo. Never felt uncomfortable in the car no matter how far the destination is. The power it delivers is really good for a 1.6. Touch 150KM/h in seconds on the highway. The needle doesn’t stop…it just keeps going till the end. Never had any regrets on the car.

• A yr+ 408 owner on Feb 09, 2018 at 1:42 pm

Owned previous model of 408 turbo a yr+..
    Experienced/current issues:

1.) Battery: just less than a wk b4 battery warranty exp, battery sudah kong. Call svc ctr, nvr carry stock n it takes at least 3dys to get warranty rplcmt. After calling here n there, luckily hq did a good svc, foreman came to my plc n did the rplcmt. Appreciate on that. Been advised by fren of mine (owned a 308 turbo) b4 buying 408 …. Pls b prepare every 10-12mths battery need rplcmt.

2.) Roof lining: kau kau defect (dropping/coming out badly…. Warranty is a joke ! In a panjang punye waiting list, most likely a yr+ only it can b rplc…

3.) 3rd brake light: making hell of vibrate noise, warranty=NO. Svc ctr say…..only not functioning baru boleh warranty claim. WTF !!!!!

4.) Aircon: just a yr+…. sudah mati, acrdg to svc ctr compressor kong, warranty claim=yes ! But stock=KOSONG. Tentative date stock arrive=3-4mths/xboleh janji ! Drving in a bad traffic or now a dys drving wout aircon ! Also WTF !!!!!

Kereta parts xda tahan 1 hal, warranty rplcmt mcm “Puki Mak” lagi 1 hal !!!! Mau beli Peugeot lagi, Hmmm !!!! Go n play layang-layang (GTH) !!!!

Peugeot = Not anymore!!!!!
    Nasim = Hell of NO!

• A yr+ 408 owner on Feb 09, 2018 at 1:50 pm

Typo…

*Owned a model of 408 turbo a yr+..