Honda City facelift sighted on the highway

Ah yes, the facelift Honda City is spotted along the PLUS Highway at Kajang heading towards KL. That piece of information and picture comes courtesy of reader Fendy Ahmad. How did Fendy know? He must have read Anthony’s post about how the Honda City is shaping up.

Now, car-on-trailer also means that the launch will happen soon. And yes, we will be there to cover the event. So stay tuned for the full details.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• anti-tax on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:23 pm

not bothered

• Obama on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:59 am

Facelift is like injecting botox, it will fade after sometimes, that’s why Toyota and Honda keep “facelift” it…hahahaa!!

• taboogen on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:24 pm

wow new tail lamp…. that’s it… next

• gunigugu on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:32 am

I wonder how many more facelifts they guys at Honda want to give to this car. Both Honda and Toyota need to stop doing this as it’s getting really old and annoying. Changing the bumper and lights once or twice is fine. Anything more than that is just killing it. Buck up honda/toyota! stop ripping people off!

• Persona_IneedCPS on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:13 am

FYI this City never been facelift before. So it’s common for all manufacturer to facelift at least once.

• PPKia on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:37 am

This comment alone is proof enough you don’t own a Honda car.

• Carnatic on Jun 20, 2012 at 7:22 am

this honda city has not been facelifted before la.

• innovation is the most important thing for Japanese. they keep moving even crawling than do nothing.Toyota- moving forward… hahaha

• Mat Rempit on Jun 20, 2012 at 5:40 pm

FYI, the current gen of City only get minor update(facelift) once. Even BMW/Merc facelifts their car once every 2.5 years. Problem?

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jun 20, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Samething with JUNK KIA Sorento (New tail lamp that all)

• Kia and German on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:53 pm

Kia Sorento facelift is far way better than this junk Honda City

• gokul on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Sri serdang showroom got one already. The salesman called me and ask me to come over to see it. He told me it’ll be launched tomorrow. But then, since even Paul don’t know about it yet, maybe soon..

• Stanley on Jun 20, 2012 at 6:49 am

Is on wed

• Shaekey on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:38 am

“And yes, we will be there to cover the event. So stay tuned for the full details.”

They know, they just can’t disclose the launch date.

• it’s launching tomorrow!

• teelim on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:30 pm

looks ugly IMO

• menzz on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Not Hybrid, Not Turbo,
    Same Shape, Same Price Range,
    No Surprise…

• Mat Rempit on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:29 am

You expect a facelift to have a totally new shape? I think you don’t know what a “facelift” is.

• prebetsabu on Jun 19, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Any hint of d pricing? Add in rm5k from current model?

• Lemonguy on Jun 20, 2012 at 6:50 am

Rm92k

• underskinned on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:24 am

I believe it will be just between RM500-RM1000. When Civic was facelifted last time the price it was only RM1000 price bump.

RM1k should get you a lot more than just redesigned tail-lights and rims.

• facelift? more like feaceslift

• Have seen it at Honda showroom in ipoh this evening..to be launched tmorow..and yes an additional RM according to the salesmen. Latest color is sparkling brown..

• rosdi on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:07 am

Ah preve lagi hebat lah!

• PPKia on Jun 20, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Honda is from Drb-H who owns Proton.
      same same lah.

If Preve hebat,
      then Honda should be lagi hebat.
      /end logic

• Chow 1 on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:21 am

Sleepy…

• david khoo on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:26 am

saw this few months ago in thailand.. no surprise!

• mystvearn on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:51 am

IMHO, this will not sell that well due to the Preve.

• prebet on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:55 am

awesome..i want this..better than preve,forte n vios.reliable

• junjun on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:38 am

like we care?

• prebet on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:56 am

do i care that u dont care?that’s my expression

• Prebet on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:46 pm

so many dislike my comment.its my money lor..
        I guess 3/4 dislike come from regret forte owner..haha

• mad aly on Jun 20, 2012 at 3:44 pm

FORTE far better than this crap la… ur money but this is our opinion lo… hahahhahaha

• Victor tang on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:17 am

What’s the meaning of facelift? What if people stop buying new model launching and all just wait for facelift? Will the car company still give the car facelift?

• Oh facelift for all new 2012 high spec honda city. *yawns*

• Just saw the real thing in Sri Damansara Honda. Launching today (20/6/12) Pricing estimated 91k according to salesman slightly higher than previous RM90,480. Changes are bigger front grill(chrome), front n back bumper, back lights and some mouth say changes (VSA, last time ECO, now with ECO “lights” to let u know the ECO is working..) others same.. facelift ma..

to me Preve sounds great with all the new features, but the looks doesn’t really attracts me..

• power of dream always better than moving backward

• Honda Power of dream = They are sleeping
      Toyota Moving Forward = They are confused of which way is forward or backward.

• shawal the airhead.. on Jun 20, 2012 at 7:30 am

don’t worry, if honda, then touch up little here and there price up 10k also malaysian will buy!

• apexg2 on Jun 20, 2012 at 7:50 am

How facelift City want to fight with the Hybrid Jazz? Price….extra 3-4k and u can get Hybrid technology…erm, dun think this new facelift will sell well!

• albag on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:08 am

i juz slapped in a pair of new aftermarket smoked headlights and some new rims… i called it a major facelift! hell yea!!!

• PPKia on Jun 20, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Please…

Fit a spoiler and called it a new model.
      wiralution, wajalution and soon prevelution.

• What a boring year for Jap manufacturers, notwithstanding the Thai floods of course. But Japs being their usual self might be the best strategy for them.

I guess there are two markets:-

a) Up to date customers who want new technology. i.e. twin, tri turbo engines, at least 6 speed transmission, cylinder shut off, keyless entry etc.

b) Customers who just want a vehicle to get from point A to B who doesnt give a shiz about the latest tech or design.

Laugh all we want at Japs, but I think there is still a large enough market to cater for type B customers around the world. To give credit to them, at least their engines/gearbox doesnt suffer from mechatronic failure, depollution system error, engine knocking, kaput clutch pack etc.

• A dealer told me last month tht the new city would b launched on June 20 (today). Also said tht d prices would increase but no higher than jazz hybrid’s otr.

• carnoisseur on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:40 am

b-o-r-i-n-g

• F Fiesta on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:19 am

For the very best car you guys should take FORD FIESTA, The best of it’s call!!!

Honda City, Toyota Vios are for Ah Beng and Lala only

• Rachel on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:34 am

Ford Fiesta is for ladies and pussy!

• honest on Jun 20, 2012 at 3:19 pm

agree, it wins hand down in all aspect, ICE to car handling to NVH to FC only lost on spacious…..n most importantly cheaper n free mainteance for 60k km

• omanjedi on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:23 am

Yawn…still boring…i thought they change to multilink rear

• the rear lights just became uglier IMO.
    I’d choose preve and save the extra 20k!

• thebugbud on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:52 am

Japs cars are getting expensive not because of the car but taxes. In anyway, H and T are household names for realibility and good resale value.

Having said, japs cars are not as good in term of handling and drivers centric experience. While proton is still catching up in quality, they are generally great handling. Price aside, that’s the main reason to get preve. :)

• KillBox1Alpha on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:05 am

Proton & Perodua comes with more facelifts then anyone else, and they badge SE…bla bla bla…so what Honda or Toyota is doing is not uncommon

• mad aly on Jun 20, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Proton nowadays coming with “real” facelift.. check out the the new SAGA FL…totally new face and butt.. and new front and rear bumper.. PROTON are doing better FL then this HONDA!! shiiiT!!

BUT for Perodua, still crap mentality, change new colour (PINK) than called it MYVI Pink edition!! FCUK!!

• junjun on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:39 am

SILIUS HA,SAYA TELEH MENAIKI HONDA CITY ,TETAPI SAYA MERASA ITU COVER DI PINTU SEPERTI PLASTIC MURAH SAJA…SAMA MCM PROTON PUNYA KELETA…

• azhar on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:32 pm

of course laaa..city was meant for asian market..they need to be cheap hence cheap material in the interior..if u said Accord,then its a surprise

• PPKia on Jun 20, 2012 at 4:41 pm

Memang sama buruk pun.

both honda and proton come from Drb-H
      ironically, they also makes gardenia roti.

• Honda Power on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:15 am

Just returned from viewing FL City at Honda showroom. Nicer, sleeker and sportier than current City. Now Honda gives 5 years unlimited mileage warranty and 6 free services for FL City. This has never happened b4. All the while, Honda only gives 3 yrs warranty. Honda SA told me that all future Honda models will come with 5 yrs unlimited mileage warranty n 6 free services. This is Honda’s strategy 2 give Toyota a run for its money n to give T a very keen competition. Toyota only gives 3 yrs warranty 4 all its cars. Let the competition between Honda n Toyota begin. For me, Honda is better than Toyota in ALL aspects1 I own 2 Honda cars. Honda The Power Of Dreams. Go Honda go! Yee ha!!!!

• sound like u are a SA from Honda…is good to have 5 years warranty but need not to bash on T.

• azhar on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:27 pm

if that what u called a bashed session for T, i dont know what u will call people who bashed proton..gangbang??..wakakaka

• is the FL City need to be serviced every 5,000 km or 10,000 km?

• depend on what black oil u use lor… :)) 10k 4 fully synthetics..

• Honda Power on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:18 am

To all FL City bashers, pls read this. If u cannot afford to buy a Honda, pls shut up. U will eat yr words when u c FL Honda City selling like hot cakes fresh from the oven. Go Honda go. Prove yr critics wrong! Make 2012 the best ever in terms of sales!

• salesman

• Rachel on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:36 am

Like you can afford it.

• citycity on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:49 am

may i know the price for this FL city since you already view it in showroom.

• junjun on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:38 pm

i do not interested on honda siti bedah….my VW Polo sedan better than your siti haha….

• mad aly on Jun 20, 2012 at 3:37 pm

in ur dream la bro.. CITY cannot survive no more with this crap FL and huge price tag.. (maybe some apek/ahbeng will love this shit like u do) but not everyone.. haha…

• Eastman on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:20 am

I love jap car i.e. my trusted Slyphy…but my Mem booked the new BMW already…time to change

• Vader on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:51 am

yaya.. ,my maid book a Ferrari too..

• PakAbu on Jun 20, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Yes, Vader was telling the truth.
        I’m his neighbour’s brother-in-law’s step-uncle’s best friend’s colleague’s facebook friend.

:)

• toyol on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:01 pm

jgn riak saudara…hdup ini pinjaman..saudara mampu beli BMW x pyh nak kecoh dlm ni…org cite pasal honda city je..level2 bawah je…kalau saudara mau cerita pasal BMW buka la topic baru….tq

• Go for FORTE,ELANTRA even Preve’!! Dont bother this stupid makcik city… With this price u can get a bigger car n more futuristic gadget. haha thinks again before u make a decision ok lol

• Taurus on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:53 am

always so focused on bigger and gadgets?u buy car to drive or play with the buttons?
      How it drives is more important la,sorry to say forte and elantra drive quality,handling,engine and transmission smoothness sucks.
      And dun forget Honda is the largest engine manufacturer in the world,it shows they know something about engines
      Dun always talk based on spec sheets,noob
      On paper and real world driving are 2 different things

• mad aly on Jun 20, 2012 at 3:41 pm

yeah maybe Korean Handling like SOTONG!! but Proton Ride and Handling is far far better than vios and city…

• Dont simply said that Korean car handlings is like sotong or whatever la.. If u dont drive dont simply talk.. Honda city engine rev like kereta buruk only my jiran pakai so i know la. One more ingat lorry rupa2nya engine VTEC LOL

• lokpi on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:34 am

Shilako lu penah try bawa Elantra belum? Hali ni dan sikalang bukan honta saja yg handling power..Pukak mata sikit la, kasi try bawa keta lain, see the difelent jgn main tempak saja kata handling keta lain talak pagus..

• citycity on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:39 am

Honda Power:

may i know the price for this FL city since you already view it in showroom.

• Honda Power on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:56 am

Price hasn’t been released yet when I went to view FL City this morning. By tonight, you should be able to know the actual price.

• peeche on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:09 pm

finally he revealed himself.. haha. SA.

• Merc=Real Euro on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:31 pm

the back light is hideous…

• I Believe in Humanity on Jun 20, 2012 at 12:43 pm

T & H always take the easy way out and being complacent by merely updating the grill, head-lamp and tail-lamp for the facelifted models (maybe slap in a fancy bodykit as well) and bump up the price to a few grands. there is no initiative, effort and passion to revamp the performance, efficiency, ride and handling apart from the exterior. in comparison with the facelifted kia sorento, kia actually invested time and money to make the current model more appealing and desirable to the masses. T & H fan boys out there may bash by saying “if it ain’t broken, don’t fix it”. well, nothing is ever good enough.

“According to Kia, changes include a re-engineered bodyshell, enhanced powertrains for best-in-class fuel economy with lower emissions, improved ride, handling and refinement, plus additional convenience and safety features, besides the looks of course.”

• peeche on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:08 pm

saw it somewhere on the road with trade license plate. nothing much change. easily covert from older version.

• maserati on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Nice! Better than piece of crap forte and preve

• Su*ks car … 5k service cost 400 plus.
    Bloody mech change the aircon filter as well.. every service cost over 300 ringgit wtf… roughly after 10 k spent nearly rm900 knn my e90 325i also 15k service around rm600

• oblong on Jun 20, 2012 at 2:24 pm

In the end you save some (fuel), you spend more (5K service interval)with 5 years warranty just calculate how much you have to pay servicing at Honda SC to maintain that warranty huhuhu!

• PPKia on Jun 20, 2012 at 4:50 pm

errr, you got Honda or not?
      Their service cost is outlined clearly on their website for all service intervals.

errr, you can go to honda.com.my, click model, click gallery and click maintenance.

• Eastman on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:50 pm

Sorry Bro…does not mean to brag…I still remember the time when I started off with a wonderful Wira…good old days when the trade in value was higher than brand new price….cheers

• Jeff Lim on Jun 20, 2012 at 3:02 pm

That was back in pre-1997 recession. 1992 to 1997 if I’m not mistaken.

• PPKia on Jun 20, 2012 at 4:52 pm

No only realise Proton has become best to worst?

• i own a Honda City and a VW Golf 1.6 and all i can say is my Honda City maintenance is higher than the Golf….*facepalm*

• hippo on Jun 20, 2012 at 3:38 pm

Why city service expensive, my Altis service 10k km only cost me 400++ only

• tiong on Jun 20, 2012 at 5:25 pm

went to showroom just now. sa told me there already 4k plus plus booking on the first day. book now or waiting list will be 3 months next week.

• matlimmutu on Jun 20, 2012 at 6:07 pm

i never like this honda city.

• maserati on Jun 20, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Haha, forte is the real piece of crap. Look at how cheap it looks now. Pathetic, thr are tons of ppl regretting getting the forte but of course they nt gonna admit it!

• what? Forte is a piece of crap? r u sure?! hahahah maybe u said that because u r using City and nobody look at u LOL XD And u have regret for choosing those piece of crap!

• SayNoToOverpriceCar on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Reply to TAURUS : ofcoz we should focus On gadjet and bigger car while it price is reasonable compare to smaller car,no Gadget,cheap quality plastic,the engine sounds like a lorry and the price is damn expensive! Im rather take Persona la…. sorry to say Honda is not like before.

• Taurus on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:52 am

No gadgets on a Honda?are u serious?
      Size wise Honda City is already spacious
      Ok take for example Kia Forte and Honda City E variant
      Forte 85K,City 90k=difference 5k oni,that oso wanna complain expensive?
      Spec is more less the same,with Forte offering bit more such as auto lights,rain sensors,reverse camera and so on..
      All is good but when i drove the Forte,the car is seriously underpowered,i can imagine after getting over the hype of the gadgets it would be really frustating to drive everyday,not to mention the lousy handling and lack of steering feedback
      And i drove the City too for a long distance,the engine is bit noisy but it works great at high speed and a 5 speeder works just fine and smooth.
      And the suspension soaks up bumps and is sure footed
      That sometimes makes up for lack of gadgets,not to mention a good after market value and availability of spare parts and accessories
      Sorry to say,Koreans have improved in terms of design and gadgets but when it comes to smooth realiable engines and gearbox,Japs are still better.N i dun own a Honda,I have mazda which is equally great.
      Zoom Zoom

• sayNoToOverpirceCar on Jun 21, 2012 at 3:13 pm

Ermm i think u dont drive Korean car but simply tell that korean car handlings is bad.. hey City,Elantra,Forte,Preve are different segment but it worth. Ermm for me honda is cekik darah la.. nvm u can go drive with your makcik CITY la.. no need to change topic n try to blame Other car.. u dont drive u dont know..

• my frens those who bought forte regret due to too mucb feul consumotion, always thirsty

• Carl Wong on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:47 pm

Usually facelift comes around after 3 years and new model after every 6 years?? When is the new Civic coming..??

• GSR CK on Jun 21, 2012 at 3:47 pm

There will be a Touge battle between PREVE an Honda City at MEGAHILL BUKIT PUTUS TIME ATTACK on 24th June 2012. Lets go !!!

• Taurus on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:10 pm

response to sayNoToOverpirceCar
    Yes i do not own a korean car,but i used to sell them for a living therefore unlike u i had the chance to test EVERY MODEL,that too on a daily basis.i noe how the car behaves cuz i handle them every single day so before u talk,know who u r talking to and what u r talking about

FYI which is exactly why i never bought a korean car