Honda City facelift launched, now with 5-year warranty

UPDATE: Gallery now filled with pictures of the launch and studio shots

We’ve just witnessed the launch of the Honda City. Not new of course, but this car has gone through a nip here and a tuck there. There are two trim levels for the City, this being Grade S and Grade E.

Carried forward from the pre-facelift City is the 1.5 litre iVTEC engine, paired with a five-speed automatic that we are all familiar with. For those who don’t, the power is rated at 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque from 4,800 rpm.

The revised City does come with new and nifty features other than the prescribed cosmetic change. For the record, the City gets a new front and rear bumpers, a new chrome grille and rear lights.

Inside, the City gets a refurbished dashboard and meter cluster. The dashboard and centre console gets refreshed with a new colour and stylised dials. As for the metallic-trimmed meter cluster, it now displays an ECO light that lights up when you’re driving the car efficiently.

As for safety, the City gets two front airbags, ISOFIX, ABS with EBD and Brake Assist. Notably, the City’s centre rear seat now gets a headrest and a three-point ELR seat belt for added safety and comfort. The City also comes with the Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), but this only applies to the Grade E.

Other features exclusive to the Grade E are front fog lights, retractable side mirrors with turn signals, chrome exhaust tips, paddle shifters, leather wrapped steering wheel with audio controls, cup holders for the rear armrest and rear seat under tray.

The Grade E also gets bigger wheels, which is 185/55 R16 wrapped in Continental ContiPremiumContact 2. As for the Grade S, it wears 175/65 R15 wheels wrapped in Goodyear GT3 tyres.

The City is available in five colours, Alabaster Silver Metallic, Polished Metal Metallic, Crystal Black Pearl and Taffeta White. New to the range is a shade called Sparkling Brown Metallic.

The Grade S (base spec) is priced at RM85,980 and the Grade E (full spec) comes at RM90,980. Both prices are on-the-road with insurance. Honda have also tagged a five-year unlimited mileage warranty for the City, and the offer also comes with six free labour services, up to 100,000km.

Honda is also offering the optional Modulo body kit and Honda Connex SVR. For an additional RM2,950, the Modulo package adds on skirts to the front, rear and sides. The Honda Connex SVR, or stolen vehicle recovery system, can be added to the car for an extra RM3,660 including a first-year annual subscription.

Other equipment that can be added on are the illuminated side step, alloy pedals, trunk tray, duck spoiler, wing spoiler, door visor, front grille, navigation system and child seats. All are priced individually; prices are not available at launch.

Honda said that this City is the first CKD model to roll out of its factory after the resumption of production in April 2012.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• corny on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:28 pm

bang for bucks!!

• normal_user on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:21 am

U pay nearly Five-Figures Price or a small compact cramped car that can hardly fit 5 full-size adults, you can say its ‘Bang for Buck’???

• normal_user on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:13 am

Type Its 6 figures near 100K

• prebet on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:29 pm

i’m willing to pay for it rather than forte,preve or even vios..not a bang for buck but for a period of time,let say more than 7 years..more reliable

• John Sham on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:45 pm

He who hesitates is a damned fool!!

Koreans learned from their mistake and conquering the world now with better products. Example, samsung is 11 times bigger than sony…now.

Tips of buying : ..buy what you like. cheers

• That’s ok coz it Japanese car ! Japan and German car rock !

• joneoh on Jun 21, 2012 at 3:51 pm

it is we are not call facelift but improvement of service (5 year warranty) and addition of features only…facelift mean with new design…take an example:FL just like you facial surgery to make it more beautiful
      while this (city FL) just like you makeup your face…ayooo…

• Wisdom on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:10 pm

HONDA, we wont buy your car unless you revise SERVICE INTERVAL from 5K km to 10K km.

Everywhere in the world Honda service interval is 10K km. HONDA MALAYSIA CON MALAYSIAN!

• shuk rocco on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:28 pm

b-o-r-i-n-g-!-!

• Lim Kopi on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:42 am

THUMBS UP FOR HONDA MSIA ON:
      1) 5 year unlimited waranty; and

2) Free 6 labour service!!

Now thats the way to be COMPETITIVE!!

• junjun on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:14 pm

ayaa kleta lain pun ada kasi 5year waranty…jakun la lu..heyyyy…manyak jakun…pelasan baguih ni olang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Keep going, my power of dream

• oh..

• Imeanitwheni on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:31 pm

like the new Modulo kit.. nice..

• PetrolLeg on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:25 am

Not sure why Honda continues to helm over the Modulo kit, I would think they should re-look into the whole styling thing if that is what car buyers are looking at. If you are born beautiful, you don’t need cosmetics, anytime of the day it will always be a beauty.

• arden on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:32 pm

I rather get 2011 Volkswagen Sedan at RM95k OTR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Are you sure it’s 95k OTR?

• Jeff Lim on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Yes, FA Wagen offer RM5k discount for Make 2011 (End). India mari Polo Sedan.

• OMG…better buy forte or Elantra….value for many…more features and spacious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • prebet on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:32 pm

yeah value for money let say 3-4 years..than will kaput and you’ll realize that you make a stupid mistake 4 years ago..haha

• junjun on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:17 pm

i use VW polo sedan,my kawan ckap mereka lebih suka polo dr honda yg biasa2 saja…VW jenama sederhana mewah for malaysian…it german made…ko hado?honda city just like kebanyakkan olang guna haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Pronunciation on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:21 pm

dude, some ppl are poor. let them buy honda lah. there’s something for everyone. don’t laugh at them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • jendol on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Bro Polo Sedan India made not German, sorry.

• Jeff Lim on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:49 am

Polo sedan is INDIA MARI… Bukan Germany! Built quality differs a lot…

• rynnie on Jun 24, 2012 at 9:04 pm

junjun lol polo?? guess person like you who cant afford to get more expensive VW but still wanna bergaya!! so kasihan!!

• Nice… 5 years warranty. Hopefully this will pressure Toyota to follow suit

• 5 years warranty, huh??

Looks like they’re beginning to notice the Korean now.

• Storm on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:22 am

Next when Japanese car price selling at Korean car price, that will be the time Korean cars start packing…

• prebet on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:35 pm

then the korean car price selling at proton price

• not a car enthusiast on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:12 pm

The Koreans started it. Now Bermas (Mazda), Nasim(Peugeot) are on 5 year warranty too. The pressure is now on for other distributors to follow suit. Next logical step is for the 5 years warranty to follow the car. That is, even after the car is sold to another buyer, the warranty is still valid (transferable to the new owner).

• Vader on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:54 am

5 years warranty and free first 6 service, look nice..
        Wait a minutes, there is price revised in the Honda website.
        The service price been increase ~27% for the 55k mileage onwards..
        Really LPPL!!!

• Najib on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:38 pm

nice facelift done by honda.

• encik boss on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:43 pm

baik beli preve!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Calvin Foo on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Why compare a reputable manufacturer with a Milo tin?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • junjun on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:20 pm

baru keluar dr hutan kah kau?u pergi bwk civic tahun 1985 sama saga 1985 kasi hentam di dinding sana tgk ada sama ka?kereta lama vs kereta lama..kereta lama mmng tin milo…bodo ini orang…typical zaman batu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • mikael on Jun 21, 2012 at 4:45 pm

hey. junjun.. ko ni datang dari kampung mana ni?

• junjun, typical kampung people. Keep on praising the tin milo. Couldnt accept the fact that the tin milo company is going backwards these days. From what i see, everyone are saying that preve is good because they kesian proton for trying so hard but end up nothing. kasikan. bawak pun bunyi macam nak tercabut enjin. push start, auto rain sensor, light sensor, led light, you go to brothers also they can fix it for you on you kancil.

• donna on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:49 pm

dun compare preve which is c segment with this crap car which are d segment bro..

all this kind of honda and vios are just a bunch of money sucking company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Tiguan on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:49 pm

More value for money compared to previous model, but I rather pay extra RM10k to get a C-Segment sedan…

• rodhani on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:56 pm

minimal changes..prefer the previous rims.

• Gabla on Jun 20, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Between this and the new Inspira 2.0E, which is a better deal? Both are japanese cars.

• clearcase on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:34 pm

inspira hands down bro

• Gabla on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:47 am

Thanks.

I wonder why most people gave a thumb down instead of answering the question: which offers a better value, City or Inspira?

• cityowner on Aug 16, 2012 at 10:39 pm

i own a city since 2009. this car is reliable, good on the highway and nimble and zippy on city roads. average fuel efficiency after 3 years is 12.9km/l.
          go check the second hand value for the premium spec. its still somewhere near RM67-70k after 3 years.

just my honest opinion.
          dun bother with P1… had so many of them.. fail.com

• Pardon??? Both are japanese car?? WHAT?? Which cave you come from??

• Johnny on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:33 am

Which cave YOU come from?

• LOL; I think you’re the one from a cave. Inspira is Lancer rebadge. Don’t be quick to respond in a rude way.

• Inspira is not pure Japanese. They are tarnished with other substandard gen already.

• Inspira? You mean the one that sold 179 in April? Even Toyota sold more Hiace that month.

• Gabla on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:54 am

Amoi, where do you get the data? Normally only sales people got access to sales data. Are you a Toyota salesgirl?

• There’s something in the world called INTERNET. Where were you all these while?

• Gabla on Jun 21, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Mind to share the link just to verify your claim?

• chan kam nam on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Inspira gives a better value for money but many ppl will say that City gives better peace of mind.

• shahrul on Jun 21, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Inspira, if you don’t mind it being a Proton.
      Honda, if you only care it being a Honda

• front looks nicer

• nice body shape! the price is comparable with vios. however i still prefer vios :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Loo on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Go ahead and get a kimchi. One year on, the City still retains 90% of its purchase price.

For kimchi, be prepared to lose 25% or more in the first year, 50% within 3 years. You do the maths and decide

• theanswer on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:18 am

u buy a car to drive..not for investment.

• shawal the airhead.. on Jun 21, 2012 at 6:48 am

no even close to be called investment..why rather buy a car that you force to buy at higher price !? Malaysian logic….

• Can’t help but I can see a huge Korean wave here also! A wave of Korean supporters come here to infest and just to thumb down whoever say Japanese car is good ( even not mentioning is better than Koreans).

• Hydro on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:30 pm

that one liner is kinda distracting.. its about the depreciating cost. If u can absorb or justify the added cost, then, go ahead, get a non T & H brand.

• Storm on Jun 21, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Really low mentality people with this line ‘buy a car to drive and not investment’ Obviously you are someone who can’t differentiate investment and depreciation. When it comes to a time when you really need to change your car, you will start to think why did I buy this car..You live in Malaysia which is one of world most expensive place to buy a car.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:23 am

Haha what crap maths you have, i just sold my 3 year old 1.6 forte for RM 65k, that is only about 15% depreciation, what u mean by 25% drop, surely you never own a korean car before….TALK COCK only…

• Calvin Foo on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:27 pm

This is interesting. Even 3 years old Honda City 2009 depreciate more than that. Selling at RM72k, compared to RM91k first hand, more than 20%. Either the buyer don’t mind to pay such premium for it, or the Kimchi has such high resell value.

• prebet on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:39 pm

are u selling the forte to get this facelift city?LOL

• Jeff Lim on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:09 pm

RM85k less 25% baru RM65k. As RM65k is for Forte SX. Forte EX Max is RM59k only according to Mudah. Forte EX RM65k? Only Sorhai will buy!!!

• Jeff Lim on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:12 pm

Also, Forte is launched in 2010. That means is 2 yrs old car. NOT 3 yrs old.

• Pronunciation on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:28 pm

only poor people care so much about car resale value. what, after 3 years your salary hasn’t increased to make you able to afford a new car and you’re desperate for your resale value to help? then you should’ve studied harder in school

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • dumb ppl will only think of reselling value of the car. Havent buy must think of how to sell the car. pity the car that have such owners. if thats the case, dont buys cars then. take bus or train. sure wont bare any losses and save petrol..

• Mienzz92 on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Better get 1.6 CFE Preve or add more $ and you can get 2.0 Mivec Inspira if you dont mind with Proton built quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Front grille modulo 2012 will no be available for malaysia side.

• when i 1st saw it from indonesia version new city,i was so excited that the interior particularly the radio is so matching with the new dashboard,but after i see this msia version,my excitement immediately cut half,the radio is just does not match with the new dashboard!!!
    http://www.honda-indonesia.com/products/City/gallery/0.39827300%201337791979_city04.jpg

• Honda global amity(SERDANG) show room new city2012 had installed the multimedia system on the car dashboard.Anyhow it was not from honda malaysia access.

• VSA installed in a city and VSC removed in a camry 2.5V….Although the Altis 2.0 has it.
    Whats wrong with Toyota? Used to support the brand now not anymore.

• Toyota remove everything except 4 wheel & most importantly the Toyota badges… Still lots of uncle & Aunty will support … This is MALAYSIA

• Toyota remove everything except 4 wheel & most importantly the Toyota badges… Still lots of uncle & Aunty will support … This is BOLEHLAND

• Wisdom on Jun 25, 2012 at 11:08 am

Toyota no need to use any form of stability control. No power at all. How to lost traction?

• theanswer on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:50 pm

come with vsa. nice one.

• SayNoToOverpriceCar on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:52 pm

Hey its a Preve facelift!! *Excited*

Opss its a city r? ermmmm…

• kivatt0024 on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:55 pm

damn….it’s ugly…!!!

• Try harder please..

• nothing fantastic

• whysoserious on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:21 pm

still fugly..

• Jimmy on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:35 pm

And the difference is only RM5000.
    City: good move.
    Camry: moving backward.

• Tiësto on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:48 pm

This car is so boring the driver might even fall asleep while driving.

• Titans on Jun 21, 2012 at 7:40 am

sorry i beg to differ.in fact city is one of the good driver’s car around for that price,and its spacious.not Honda SA,just stating my opinion

• Fongozi on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:50 pm

Nice try Honda… But too bad start losing market after Hyundai Elantra into malaysia Market…

93k 1.6std HE VS 91k 1.5 City

• 93k 1.6std HE VS 91k 1.5 City

3 years later ….
      50K 1.6 H Elantra VS 71k 1.5 City

If you sell your Elantra after 3 years, you still need to pay finance company another 28K (assuming 90% for 9 years) before you can buy another car. Even after 5 years, you still need to pay even more before you can even think of changing your car. Still think all the bling bling will bring you joy? We really can’t blame Malaysians for choosing Japanese car from their hard earned money and got to thanks our fat government. That’s the fact you can’t deny.

• Lemonguy on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:37 pm

At lest your comment make sense, not like other simply bash the car

• gtogear on Jun 22, 2012 at 6:45 pm

ask siti show us some international’s reward as what elantra got…if can’t afford such a wonderful coupe sedan, pls don’t talk rubbish here!

• @gtogear you really have serious understanding problem. I was stating the actual facts Malaysians are facing. Car is a necessity now and many need to put into their planning as this could be their biggest asset beside a house if they have one. And you smart fellow here still talk about how many awards this car or that car got. All these awards can keep it to your mind when you can easily afford a more expensive car. When you come to a time desperating wanted to change a car, you still think this car won more awards? You also look very very stupid by coming out with prejudice comment that someone can’t afford this car. I bought an RM180K MPS by cash and that’s also my second car. Do I want you to believe me? You think I exaggerate? I don’t care..but i have a good laugh because you really make yourself look so small in my eyes.

• @Seat..elantra 50k in 2 years.. thats not a fact.. that what u think with ur smart brain is a fact..

• Sushi car really wasting time..
    That consider facelift?? What the diff??
    For those who like this brand do enjoy the 5000km service schedule…lol

• DontCommentIfUDonoCars on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:04 am

dude, still dont understand what is facelift? go n do some study and comparison then only u say sth k

• Sushi car really wasting time..
    That consider facelift? What the diff?
    For those who like this brand do enjoy the 5000km service schedule…lol

• kawenih on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:48 am

with vsc and all it’s quite good…but again the 5000km service interval is a big put off.

• koochai on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:56 pm

the only good thing abt this is 5 yrs warranty. period.

• fahmie on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:04 pm

again… boring

• RiZ_MH on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Alaa,why don’t have share links so i can share this with my friends on fb or twitter? Bored already with this look.
    Nothing sparks, 5/10

• Izzard on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Why is the VSA only in the full spec? Safety features should be standard across the range. ABS with EBD and Brake Assist are already in both models, it won’t hurt to have VSA as well. Or is increased safety a privilege for those who can fork out extra moolah?

Only features that are more aesthetic in nature that should be the selling point between base and high spec.

• theanswer on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:20 am

agree. but this is not new. our local brand still sell cars without abs or airbag. (i prefer abs).

• My fren, go and check that Camry which sell more than 120k and yet Toyota also decided to take out VSA…

• CarDude on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:11 pm

“cup holders for the rear armrest and rear seat under tray” etc… wow, i am so impress

• jalan54 on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Seriously… RM91k for a B segment car…

• Adilz on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Thanks for the Pug, the VW, Kia and Hyundai, now Honda also offering 5 years warranty.

• SaveTheEarth on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:47 pm

E spec comes with VSC that is good news show tht Honda is care about the community safety. Unlike UMW Toyota top of the line Camry has no VSC $$$ greedy. UMW will pay for what itself has done very soon.

• cutester on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:57 pm

Still the same knob dial and no auto climate control for the aircond?

• johnson on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:59 pm

very simple base design but price still very high for this type of base line lame design.all because of mahathir’s proton even honda can also design crappy looking car and yet sell at high price and ppl forced to buy.

• Honda City for a gurl or women or lady..not for men

• DArkerMarker on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:13 am

yawn……..

• JeremyNg on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:32 am

Nothing spectacular to look at ……. at least Honda update something to the car unlike other manufacturers only change de look of their car

• seancorr on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:36 am

FINALLY they put in VSC and FINALLY new Honda models now come with 5 year warranty. Now if Honda can extend their 5,000km service intervals to at least 10,000km service intervals!

• JeremyNg on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:41 am

I jz realized that the rear water repel seats are GONE !!!!!!

• oblong on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:46 am

no steering audio control…is it carry from previous model….sorry for my noob!

• Quattro on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:03 am

Proton Preve also lagi power..Honda City will be extincted from City soon.

• since H couldn’t come out with a more stylish design or any tech upgrade, they have to throw in extra warranty/free services (unwillingly I supposed) to stay on… That’s the fact.

• How can 6 service be 100k? If 15k each still 90k only ma. Anyone knows how this work?

• oblong on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:42 am

Plez read the scan brochure carefully esp. the free service where its written “6 Free Services Alternate With Paid Service Until 100K. T&C Apply”. It’s not 6 free service in a row. Very smart la Honda Malaysia…

• hayden on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:36 am

what is this? Perodua? :P

• ismazri on Jun 21, 2012 at 6:50 am

Saga blm + ah beng’s spoiler!

• The Enthusiast on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:21 am

I thought Preve looks a bit like City. Now this facelifted City looks even more like Preve. Similar price tag too sans the LED running lights.

• says says on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:36 am

frontside tiru Preve ka?

• Hilmi on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:01 am

Interior looks good and tidy but exterior is sooo boring. Not worth of RM90k+, but for I believe this one will still be selling well since lot of Malaysian buying the car as a sense of reputation/proud and not as vehicle per say.

• omegared14 on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:51 am

I agree with u bro…brand is given priority more compared to the value and worth for the car with the amount of money paid..whatever wrong in foreign brands are ignored just because of the namesake..

• jones on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:13 am

this is funny! the japs are running out of ideas…the facelift is actually the 5 year warranty…thr’s no value for money at all. Ill equipped when compared against Pug, Kia,even VW. If they want to compete, they now need a substantially lower pricing to justify consumers parting with their hard earned moolah. A empty shell of a camry for RM180k! They think we’re stupid ah

• optimus on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:14 am

i thought the prefacelift has 7 speed auto?

• The chrome grill in front makes the car looks like UNCLE car. Old taste. Is Honda following Toyota Camry path? Failed!

• Eastman on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:19 am

I think it is quite overpriced…we can get a comparable, if not better, continental car within the same sub 100k range i.e. VW Polo Sedan or the newly launched Peugeot 408…

• Matkota on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:19 am

its a facelift..no new design or style..this car is just for people who have extra money..not on who want value for their money..free 6 labour but the parts still have to pay..means still have to fork out 2@3 hundreds..and its still 1.5 cc..

• 666devil on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:24 am

Push start button anyone? No? I rather go back to kimchi car for this price. Bye~

• tok-kok on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:56 am

Buy Preve better .. got Start / Stop Button woh!!!
    Ha Ha Ha

• Johnny on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:57 am

The reason why KIA had to make a 5-year warranty is to compete with Honda and Toyota. Although Toyota/Honda says 3 year warranty, people know they can last way longer than their competitors.

• Littlebear on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:03 am

Sometimes I really don’t understand those Honda/Toyota haters. Ppl buy a H/T is not really because of its styling. It’s because both these cars are good work horse & the reliability is there. Not to say they are problem free but people buy them because these cars will not give much problem to them in general.

• Kancil Killer on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Fully agreed. Buyer may not need to fully understand and compare everything in terms from technical point of view, or even which is more value for money. People buy it, because of the reliability and reputation from the company that was built over the decades, that is something people willing to pay for, something priceless.

Not like the Milo tin car, first day launch, axis broke on the road. Reputation is priceless. Really. Especially a good laughable reputation.

• Celicazz on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Dude, the car was driven hard, plunged into mid air and had been in an accident. This Honda also wont survive that.

• milo tin car?? proton .honda made by plactic>

• tiadaid on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:51 pm

Reliability? I don’t think so. As a former owner of a 2004 Honda City I can attest to the fact that it’s not that reliable. Had the dreaded gearbox issue – which is why Honda switched back to a torque converter gearbox after the CVT debacle.

In the end for a 7 year old car the bloody used car dealer can only give 26K for it. So much for retaining value.

• Bang4yourbucks on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:16 am

I seriously begin to doubt the 2nd hand value for Honda City. I recently sold a City that lost RM30k in 3 years – good condition etc. You can ASK for a high price but people are getting smarter. Who would want to pay a premium for a 2nd hand car? If you’re buying 2nd hand, you’re already looking for best value.

• xenogearz™ on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:19 am

Haiz, this facelifted City comes with 5-years warranty, VSA, ISOFIX, ECO lamp and headrest for the rear centre seat. When I bought the pre-facelifted City a year ago, none of these were offered. And I had to pay about the same price too. Oh well, at least my City is still working well and and not giving me any headache.

• nabill on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:19 am

the aircond circulation slider reminds me of wira….i do agree with somewere above that the inspira 2.0E is a better value…n its japanese!

• Eastman on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:25 am

My father in law is a hardcore Honda supporter…dont ever try bad- mouthed the brand infront of him…he don’t even mind paying the high service cost…with this group of fanatics around…Honda can do whatever they like and still get the sale!!!!

• Daniel on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:35 am

5K KM service compared with 10k on Mitsu. 15k on VW and 20k on BMW/Smart.

• chan kam nam on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:54 am

Honda Malaysia must be on some kind of drugs to be giving such odd size tyres.

175/65/15 – come on man. For a car that size, the width should be at least 185. 175 series are for A-segment cars like MyVi, Viva, etc.

185/55/16 – very limited choice of tyres. Why don’t you just give 195/55/15 or 205/55/16. Think long term, ppl have to change tyres.

• PetrolLeg on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:27 am

they are playing with the tire size to ensure their engine is really fuel saving.

• chan kam nam on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Fuel saving at the expense of safety? I think more likely is that they got a good deal on these odd sized tyres from the Manufacturer / Distributor.

Think about it, the MyVi also uses 175/65/14. Don’t you think that a bigger car like City should use widertyres?

Don’t try to take fast corners, esp on wet roads on skinny (175) and tall tyres (65 + 15′ rims), esp very entry level tyres like the GT3

• aquaplane on Nov 02, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Wider tyres mean higher risk of aquaplaning, bro..coz wider contact with water surface…get your facts right

• Lemonguy on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:44 pm

Ppl here say the car small and cant even sit 5 adults, you complain car big.. When come to complain, anything become issue

• chan kam nam on Jun 21, 2012 at 4:02 pm

City is Bigger than MyVi. City is not a Big Car.
        Big cars are D-segment cars like Camry, Accord, etc.

Anyway, I don’t own a City so I don’t have to live with changing those type of odd size tyres.

• NORIKO on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:56 am

Proton worshipers bashing Toyota and Honda cars like they know everything but at least these companies competing in world stage. Proton? Jaguh kampung. Too many excuses. Reality is hard to swallow isn’t? Pity you

• oblong on Jun 21, 2012 at 4:44 pm

With exemption to hybrid model, T&H compete at world stage with other model not the one selling in Malaysia…only Civic Type-R ‘K20A engine only’ which sold in Malaysia can be considered global model.

• oko028 on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:02 am

Facelift? which part?

• carnoisseur on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:06 am

what is with the Chrome on all Honda cars these days . My dear Hondarians , chrome is like bell bottoms of the the 60’s …..it was gone years ago

• Tanaka on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:30 am

I owned:

Toyota Celica 2.0 GT-R E-ST182 5MT
    Toyota Starlet 1.3 GT Turbo E-EP82 5MT
    Toyota Altezza 2.0 RS200 Z Edition GF-SXE10 6MT
    Honda Civic 1.5 E-EK3 CVT
    Honda Life 660cc 4AT
    Nissan Tino 1.6J GF-V10 4AT

• rubbish car with rubbish paddleshifters with rubbish i-vtec engine plus rubbish quality

• Peaceaim on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:00 pm

very funny… whoever give a nice comment to this car will get their comment hidden due to lowcomment rating.

• prebet on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:28 pm

and all the dislike came from a kimchi supporter..haha..that’s true

• Guess Proton is going all out to defend their high booking but loan-cannot-approve model.

• kamaji on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:13 pm

1.facelift…between jap & chinese chopstick=not much different. 2. 91k for B segment=we must be very rich. 3. Front chrome grille=must be design in china. 4. Overall design=way behind others but still ahead of T. Value for money=Hahahahaha. Re-sale value=if this is what you are looking for.

• ahchai on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Does anyone noticed that the new price is much higher than the previous version?

• Yawn….

For less than RM 85K, I can get a Ford Fiesta (sedan) with more airbags and active safety features.

Only in Malaysia can a car with less safety features cost more. Not sensible at all now.

Zzz.z…zz…

• Maserati on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:55 pm

All these clowns see specs specs specs only. Come let me show you my frens forte 1.6 .just 2 years old and mileage around 60k but the dashboard looks as though its been there for 10 years already. All the steering rubber all peeling off. Feels so cheapo.

Compare that to my friends honda city . 3 years old already. Done about 135k km. dashboard still feels so new and premium and quality feel.

No way any korean car coming close to japs anytime soon. Its not all about the specs dumbos, its about the evergreen quality all jap cars has. Look at the forte now, it looks very very old even though its newer than the honda city, the city looks so much newer compared to forte!

• yr funny ;)

• BeemerFreak on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Yeah we welcome the COCK king, where all rubbish comes out…

• alex chan on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Maserati, u lied..why u need to lied? i knew u..hahaha….have u finished ur kancil loan?..opss forget..it was on 9 years loan rite?..haha

• Medic on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:29 pm

My wife’s Myvi 3 years old…looks like new.It is about how the car is maintained,like got tint to reduce uv rays,park in shade,interior clean &conditioned.Stop being rude,You are the Dumbo here!

• prebet on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:37 pm

all the bashers are people who wanted to buy a city but end up bought a forte coz of gadget2..then after 3 yrs realize that reliability is more important than those reverse camera(LOL) n so on..now they want other people to make the same mistake like they did..so they will not feel that they’re the only people who are stupid to think that korean car=japs car…hahaha

• PetrolLeg on Jun 21, 2012 at 3:45 pm

decades ago, didn’t the previous car buyers bought japanese cars over continental where once the roads of KL are owned by volvo, fiat, mini, pugeot and etc? there was a transition as well when these people started going into toyota KE and etc. A transition has to be made in order for acceptance. The same now iphone owners are going for samsung.

• I like KFC on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:50 pm

errr, hello Honda salesman,

Please don’t bash other car unless you own one. You are comparing different owners here, some owner tend to take care of their cars while some don’t and like my friend’s 3 series, it is only 1.5 year old with 80k Km but the dashboard and exterior looks like shit, cause he is not someone who take care of car and while my father’s Wira which is 15 years++ but still looks good. Does it mean Wira > BMW 3 series? No, I don’t think so. It is largely due to how owner take care of the car. And another thing, I believe a lot of people out there still agree that Forte in term of design is much more better than City. It is obvious your judgement is biased and are not according to the truth situation.

• kerelbort on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:59 pm

wow. that’s like 123km everyday without fail.

i’m impress

• koochai on Jun 26, 2012 at 3:00 pm

i do 150 km trip every working day in a toyota.
        imagine my ride mileage.
        i bet u’ll be very very impressed ;)

• I am sure u just create a story la.. ur fren the one who didint take care the car then u try to blame Forte n the other car? hahah u r such an idiot.. Honda city dashboard u said premium feels?? hahahha feels like bottle cap only lo…

• Johnny on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:23 am

You’re right, a lot of people fail to see through that. Show’s that KIA’s marketing campaign was a success.

• Polo Saga on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:09 pm

still look like transformer car… autobot transform….

• Musalmah Endut on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:11 pm

nak muntah dah aku tengok kereta ni. no matter face/body or asslift. it is still CITY… uwekkk..

• ????????????????????????

• I think Honda has a problem with replacing old models. Civic was supposed to be replaced by a new model since 2 years, this has not been done. Now City receives a facelift, no more. Where is climate control, where are auto headlights and auto rain sensors? Preve beats this on specs anytime.

• Well its true. But u cant blame Honda for not offering those things. Compare BEFORE TAX price of Honda and BEFORE TAX price of Preve CFE. The City E spec costs RM61k (Labuan price) while Preve CFE cost RM70k (Labuan price). For a whopping RM9k difference of course you get more bells & whistles in the Preve. The ‘expensive’ price for City is due to our lovely county’s tax on imported cars. So the value seems less for the price you pay.

• umpgambang on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Piss of with the Gomen.
        Langkawi’s Proton Car price vs the other shows very clear Proton is not taxed!

• bngpo on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:06 pm

still cannot beat 1.6 turbocharged cfe engine, 7 speed cvt gear, and other things that make it worth more than 9k, that’s why this city is still expensive

• jayve on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:38 pm

The 5 years warranty seems attractive, with its addition of VSA and ISOFIX plus rear center headrest for RM1k additional is still acceptable. Specs all are decided by Honda Malaysia, bring that to them for feedback. This tiny car has tons of features, just tat we Malaysians dont get it.

• jayve on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:56 pm

my bad, it should be an increase of RM500 for both specs, but E specs get VSA for the same increase …

• oblong on Jun 21, 2012 at 4:50 pm

“…tons of features…” Honda…in your dream hahaha!

• jayve on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:35 am

nope, try look at china spec City … i think you live under a hut or something ..

• lkhoe on Jun 21, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Honda and Toyota needs to buck up. Other competitors have launched much better alternatives in recent years. Because of malaysian perception of H&T’s so called quality and reliability, they’ve been laughing all the way to the bank, knowing that we’re so naive and willing to buy their cars. To all the existing owners, do you agree they take u for granted when comes to after sales, and that our CKD quality is not really up to par.

• RedBeanBun on Jun 21, 2012 at 5:16 pm

a toyota camry price in USA, alright, we beat USA in spending! we are richer than USA man!

• ppl behind this car will see this emoticon..
    = = lol

• matlimmutu on Jun 21, 2012 at 5:51 pm

really a boring car.. but for me in terms of quality wise, city is better than forte.

• melvin on Jun 21, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Can old facelift modified all tge thing to makes same like new 1? If can then take to modified it… Hahha…

• iLoveCFE on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:20 pm

145NM after 4800rpm? translate to much lower NM at our normal rpm which is 2000rpm – 3500rpm?

Not enough power la.

• Coming soon the all new nissan almera aka:nissan sunny will beat both city n vios market.

• JustInfo on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Sales Data for April 2012:

Toyota Vios (2665)
    Proton Persona (2540)
    Naza Forte (582)
    Suzuki Swift (539)
    Proton Prevé (494)
    Honda City (457)
    Toyota Prius c (404)
    Ford Fiesta (372)
    VW Polo (296)
    Honda Jazz (268)
    Honda Insight (227)
    Proton Inspira (179)
    Peugeot 207 (124)
    Mazda2 (110)

• tyrespare on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:45 pm

whatever…don’t talk too much if you can’t have one…nothing to lose for honda..but everything you lose if you buy forte or proton…

• Persona_IneedCPS on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:29 am

Well, most car gone through facelift.. and this City model is 1st time going through the facelift… common keyboard warrior, dun bash blindly!

• rickey lee on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:54 am

first of all, i think honda has done some fine job on the facelifted city. but considering all the ‘add-ons’, they still could do a little more like adding additional airbags and improve their drive-train . know now that the competition are close behind with the likes of vw and the Korean twins. they product are getting better and makes more sense. this is new times now and people are very well aware of the competitions. short changed them and you’ll learn soon enough. but still with unbeatable residual value and sporty image, this car will hit the sales chart strongly. but please consider all the facts now and improve on all your future products, honda. thanks

• Siti Katijah on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:53 am

Honda City facelift baek punya, cantik skali!! toyota vios can boleh tapau balik kampong!

• benedict on Jun 22, 2012 at 5:46 pm

vios boleh hisap exhaust city..hanya bodo beli vios..tak practical bro..caya sama lu la..gua pun support city..boleh kenal tak siti?

• Lemonguy on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Dugong Vios “improvement” worst still, just added bodykits and start sell

• paul/anyone,now that city facelift is launched, does anyone know when will crz auto launching be?

• david on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:58 pm

within this year

• benedict on Jun 22, 2012 at 5:32 pm

wah liao wei..nice front bumper and grill..lu orang bash ini kereta tapi lu orang pandu perodua dan proton.no money no talk..

• Chow 1 on Jun 22, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Sorry this kind of City car just doesn’t feel very solid and strong on the surface. 90K for a 1.5 car??
    Oh my…

• DontCommentIfUDonoCars on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:10 am

get a myvi SE then..make sure will fly with tat 1.5L engine

• NasUrudin aidid on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:03 pm

Kanina bei if you cannot afford just shut the £&@) up

• Kumar on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:33 pm

its not about being able to afford it or not!!!dont just throw words to people!!its about it being value for money!!!90k for the city is overpriced. city is one of the 6 cars in our household so i know what i’m talking about.

• Citizen on Jun 23, 2012 at 8:58 pm

90k is overpriced is becoz of tax. Without tax is 63k. Most of us will buy reliable cars especially japanese cars at the same price, don we? Ask urself, will u still buy our 2 “P” unreliable cars if japanese cars offer at similar price??

• The facelift is worse, the x shaped front bumpers r so outdated and doesnt match the looks..and ah bengs driving these cars u can see them speeding and cornering even in rain thinking they r smart and safe with all those esc vsc etc

• hairey on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Here stated that New City E comes with VSA, but I checked Honda website, they didn’t mention about VSA.
    Does this car really come with VSA???

• shahril@aril hyundai team malaysia and korea on Jun 27, 2012 at 8:54 am

hahahaha ugly car by honda,japan now no ideal.

• ChrisT on Jul 02, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Oh my… thinking of buying a new City FL, but after surveying/surfing more and more on the net, I began to be more hesitated on this car with the price….

• Embun on Jul 04, 2012 at 3:43 pm

That Modulo bodykit is really something..

• tyspare on Jul 11, 2012 at 8:48 am

malaysian are all brilliant..that’s why they come out with a good car :) to be good is not meant to condemn..to be good is to come out with a brilliant idea..and i don’t see any brilliant idea then…malaysian are still malaysian…

• for price and spect preve are better

• not value for money,small car only better saga se 1.6 cvt

• anonymous on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:29 pm

haha. u must be kidding.
      anyway, honda is still a honda reliable. proton is still a milo tin. Good luck if u owned a saga.

• BiskutChamera on Jul 15, 2012 at 7:50 pm

Guys stop comparing the preve to this honda city for gods sake. Please do your due deligency and get the latest updates on Preve. You will notice that within the past 3 months as more people own & drive this car (Preve) more issues are starting to pop up. As usual this car is plagued by quality issues. I personally test drived the same unit(preve test drive car – red color) at balakong sales center. At the first attempt the (within 2 weeks of launching) the car was superb with fantastic handling and accelaration. 1 month later as i test drive again (since seriously considering to get one) and had a huge surprise. The car lagged speed & the handling was extremely bad. The sales guy didnt help as well when he commented that they are starting to get more complaints for Preve. Wonder how P1 selects its sales guys and how they make sales? damn.

• PreveOwner on Dec 02, 2012 at 9:18 pm

Agreed. Preve fans keep on bashing other reputable brands like honda, toyota and nissan and praising their pervert to no end. Yet when I really compare a toyota model and the preve I can still see why other established brand still fares better than local P1 car eventhough specs on paper looks less attractive than P1 car. Those sushi brand are so established for a reason: It’s the QUALITY and RELIABILITY. I step into a toyota car and clearly all the plastic feels tough and solid. Yes you get soft dash in preve but almost all plastic parts in preve are flimsy, so it’s not suprising if the car starts to have rattling noise here and there in less than a month. Rust here and there, seat hard like wood, berbulu-bulu, goyang-goyang etc just to list a few. Preve fans can get high for driving their light turbo car now, but can they be sure that their cars do not have any major problems after like say, 5 years or even 3 years? Happy fixing and enjoy frequently visiting their P1 sc! At least the probability of getting a lemon car for sushi brand is much less than that of P1 car. Peace of mind.

I, too, was an unsuspecting victim who were impressed by the test drive car cfe and go ahead to get the executive model. Theres no iafm+ test car so I have no idea how it was compared to cfe. After driving the executive model for a month I can give these conclusion: SLOW, LAGGY RESPONSE, EASY TO STALL. The driving experience is worst than the old car wira. Whats the point of 5 star safety ncap with airbag, ebd etc while the car is unsafe to drive to begin with? Those 3 factors above alone are enough to invite accident. Those proton fags keep bashing sushi brand endlessly and emphasizing how much P1 has improve that led me into believing ’em. Now? You bet. So much of a “drive it to believe it”, yes, I “believe it” now. So want to believe what those proton fans say? Up to you guys. Good luck.

• milo ice on Aug 04, 2012 at 5:00 pm

no speed sensing auto lock?

• Guys, may I know how can I upgrade my honda city 2012’s audio system to navigation system+reverse camera?

• Alonso on May 15, 2013 at 8:41 am

When barisan nasional will implement reduction price of all ckd and cbu as thier manifesto