Citroën C-Elysée – a car for international markets

Here is the Citroën C-Elysée, one of two cars that the French carmaker will bank on to expand internationally. The car, which looks like it shares roots with the Peugeot 301, is designed in France and will be made at Vigo in Spain. Launch date is set to happen at the end of this year.

The design is completely new; Citroën says it started work on a clean sheet of paper. Citroën’s signature grille is penciled to the front while the rest of the body imparts as sense of robustness with the high waistline without losing any of its charm.

Since this will be a ‘world car’, the designers have also considered other driving conditions. So the C-Elysée will have appropriate clearance and tyres, additional underbody protection and reinforced body part design.

Measurements of the three-box car are such: 4.43 m long, 1.7 m wide and 1.47 m tall, and has a wheelbase of 2.65 m. Citroën claims it has the longest wheelbase in its class and backs its boast with a knee room of 120 mm. Its boot space has a capacity of 506 litres.

The equipment of the C-Elysée is very country-dependant. As an example, heated windscreen will be standard for Russia and Ukraine while hot-weathered countries will be a ‘MAX’ setting for the air-conditioning.

Other features include air conditioning with digital display, rear parking sensors, cruise control/speed limiter function, MP3 player with Bluetooth hands-free kit, touch-screen GPS, hands-free access and push start button. Citroën will also be offering a wide range of personalisation, such as chrome detailing, bodywork protection strips, roof bars, roof baskets and the iPhone-dedicated O’car radio.

There’ll be three engine choices for the C-Elysée. The VTi 72 petrol engine is capable of generating 72 hp and 110 Nm of torque from 3,000 rpm, has a fuel consumption of 5 l/100km and can be paired with either a five-speed manual or automatic gearbox. This engine is specifically tailored to driving conditions and fuel in international markets. Which means it is highly likely that the VTi 115 petrol and HDi 92 diesel will remain in France.

The main point of the C-Elysée is its cost. Citroën wants the car to run cheap and easy, have appropriate servicing frequency, withstand wear and tear longer and have materials that are washable.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Garfield on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:40 am

It’s the same as Peugeot 301

• junjun on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:51 am

NEW LANCER 2013…HAHA

• George on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Definitely have the stunning look. but the side view can be easily mistaken as BMW 3 Series.

• Looks good.

• shawal on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:06 pm

-_-” , whuts with all these emerging market, developing market cars anyway ….why they all have to be so boxy….

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Lancer Front Light, Old BMW 5 series tail lamp. LOL

• droll on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:47 pm

72bhp and 110nm of torque???? is that correct?

• guess many comment get involve on our Malaysia preve global car again…

• fadhli on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:48 pm

y i can see a 508 at the back??

• not a car enthusiast on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Are you referring to Peugeot 508? They are worlds apart in almost every aspect (the segment, the equipment level, the price, and especially the look!) The only thing that binds them together is PSA Peugeot Citroen – the company.

• This car looks grown-up although it is just marginally longer than the Honda City. Anyway, 72hp does not seem to be adequate.

• Nice car. Who is bringing it in to Malaysia? Naza?

• Sgt Scoop on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Some interesting movements in the French auto industry. Peugeot have given up their numbering system. Citroen are building a practical car. It won’t be long before they build a car which doesn’t fall apart after 3 months.

• Peugeot is still using their numbering system. They will now fix on using 208, 308, 408, and 508.

RCZ on the other hand is a special case for it is a totally different segment.

• HafizJoe Dorifuto on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Citroen -vs- Peugeot -vs- Renault :-)

• anti-first on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:22 pm

The two last sentences in the article are proof that Europeans know their backyard is already saturated and the money is in emerging markets like ours.

thankfully though, they also know what they want to achieve, despite the lower specs, with their world car.

i cant say the same about another world car wannabe, you guys know who. :)

• truth on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:45 pm

I remember in 2003 my friend had a Citroen Xsara. Took 6 months and a thousand ringgit to change his broken tail light. LOL

• wuttaheck on Jun 21, 2012 at 5:11 pm

that’s 10 years ago man…not the case anymore. yes, the parts is not as cheap as proton but it’s still acceptable. believe me, once you drive pug or cit, you won’t look back

-proud owner of 2006 C4

• The Enthusiast on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:01 pm

Dear Proton, THIS is a global car, because even the French having something to “preve”.

• How to pronounce the name correctly?

• a.car.fan on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Not bad for an entry-level sedan (as much as the 301)..

• DewaSemut on Jun 21, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Solid design from Citroen… got the sense of muscularity of the German makes. Nice… nice… :)

Tapi masuk Malaysia, sure mahal ini kereta… haisshh… :(

• nahh. fix the headlight citroen. u dont want to be called a japanese copy later on esp here. and the name is like a fiat hahaha. remember fiat ulysse?

• Pronunciation on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Right, because ulysse and elysee are pronounced exactly the same *rolleyes

But then again, most malaysians don’t know how to pronounce peugeot correctly, so i wouldn’t put it past them. how do YOU pronounce peugeot?

• haha i pronouce it as puu-jon and hyundai as hiunn-dei. orng kampung call it as pujot HAHA. btw how to exaclty pronuce ctron? some said like si-tghun or even si-tgho-en.

• haha i pronouce it as puu-jo and hyundai as hiunn-dei. orng kampung call it as pujot HAHA. btw how to exaclty pronuce ctron? some said like si-tghun or even si-tgho-en.

• shawal the airhead.. on Jun 21, 2012 at 5:15 pm

nice …France really know how to make cars !

• proton, this is what u call a GLOBAL car, preve is only suitable for the malaysian market because of our high price on cars!

• iLoveCFE on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:16 pm

yea..
      72bhp and 110NM above 3000rpm?

Preve win this shit kao kao. even the vios is better for the engine. Citroen engine is not reliable for malaysia.

• Jawabandar on Jun 22, 2012 at 7:36 am

Hmm..Looks better than 301.I prefer current citroen design than peugoet.Only that citroen presence in our market is barely recognised..

• Ilovecfe,
    I own a citroen xantia for 10 years, no problem with malaysian weather. Better than Milo tin Proton.
    Im sure the car will come with the 1.6 turbo engine, 72 hp and 110 nm im very sure wrong figures given

• Renting one of these at the moment. Enormous boot or trunk but remote for opening it appears to need both hands to press two buttons at once. When it finally opens it lifts on its own. What is the point of that if it does not open easily? You have to put your shopping down!
    The gear shift is awful. There is a great deal of movement needed to go from 2nd to 3rd gear and back again. It does not feel fluid, intuitive and well designed. At times I have found it hard to find the next gear. Three of us have found the gearbox difficult and unpleasant. It seems to have no additional soundproofing which may be because it is a very basic model but sounds very hollow when you close boot or doors.
    I have hired lots of cars but this is the one car I hope I never have to hire again. It just lacks anything to comment it apart from the luggage storage and leg room.

• There was also a hideous rattling sound in the rear when going over rough terrain which sounded limke the aeriel so I unscrewed it but it was something else. It is cheap, feels cheapand I look forward to returning home from Portugal to the Uk to my ten year old VW Golf!