Toyota Vios enhanced for 2012 – RM73k to RM92k

A day after Honda launched the facelifted City, UMW Toyota has announced the arrival of the 2012 Vios. The company isn’t calling the introduction a facelift, but rather an ‘improvement.’

Same old 1.5 VVT-i mill and accompanying auto and manual transmissions, with the same output and performance figures as before. Exterior changes begin with the lighting units, which is to be found in all the 2012 models – the headlamps now take on a sporty image with a dark-plated (smoked type) design. Also revised is the front fog lamp bezel, incorporated on the lower corners of the bumper.

Elsewhere, the grille found on the Vios 1.5G Limited, dressed with chrome surround, is now offered as standard on the 1.5G, 1.5E and 1.5J versions. And the optional aerokit, which was available for the 1.5G Limited last year, can now be added to the other models (1.5E & 1.5J) at point of purchase for RM2,300. If you must know, the five-piece package consists of a front bumper spoiler, side skirts, rear trunk lid spoiler and rear bumper spoiler.

There’s also a new 15-inch 12-spoke design alloy wheel wrapped by 185/60 series tyres. The wheel gets slapped on the 1.5E and 1.5J, and replaces the 14-incher from before. The change is significant for the 1.5J, as it previously had steel wheels with a cover.

Inside, the only change is with new seat material, complete with fresh fabric pattern. As for safety, the front passenger now gets a SRS airbag, replete with seatbelt pre-tensioner and force-limiter, making it two for the count.

Optional kit now includes two infotainment systems, the DVD-AVX (RM1,900) and DVD-AVN (RM2,990), featuring a full-colour 5.8-inch (DVD-AVX) and 6.1-inch (DVD-AVN) touchscreen and reverse camera. Other features of the 2-DIN systems include a DVD player, MP3 format compatibility, Bluetooth connectivity as well as Aux and USB ports. The DVD-AVN system includes a GPS route navigation system.

Additionally, there’s also an optional suspension kit – comprising coil springs and shock absorbers that lower the ride by 10 mm – specially developed for the Vios by TRD Asia and tuned for local conditions, and this one goes for RM1,988 for the set.

Six variants of the 2012 Vios are available, starting with the top-of-the-line 1.5 TRD Sportivo at RM92,013, followed by the 1.5G Limited at RM89,613 and 1.5G at RM87,313. Then there’s the 1.5E, which rolls in RM82,300 and then the 1.5J Auto at RM77,300, with the 1.5J Manual bringing up the brood at RM73,200.

As with all models offered by UMW Toyota Motor, the 2012 Vios comes with a 36-month/100,000 km (whichever occurs earlier after first registration) warranty. Five colours are available for the car, these being Medium Silver Metallic, White, Deep Amethyst Mica Metallic with a new shade of Silver Metallic and Attitude Black, the last in place of the previous Coal Black.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Improvement? Yeah right. They just don’t have the guts to call it facelift anymore after so many facelifts were done on this outdated model.

• Gabla on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Inspira and City are also having minor improvement right now. Between all three, which is offering a better value? City got VSA, Inspira got the size advantage while Vios is only offering a brand.

• agogo on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:49 am

What brand ?

A Japanese car which Japanese themselves don’t even buy.

reminds me of something
        Ppl don’t eat their own shit. They sell it to….

• Tony Montana on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:57 am

I would rather have the Mazda3. A thousand times better looking than Dugong.

• gunigugu on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:19 pm

This company is getting from bad to worse. Even the City has moved on to a 5 speed box while this is still rocking the 4 speeder, as is the new camry 2.0! what a load of garbage from toyota! the sad thing is, people are still buying their products because of its ‘image’ as a quality car manufacturer. It maybe so but that doesn’t give toyota the right to rip people off by offering old school technology for a ‘premium’ price! BUCK UP TOYOTA! enough with all these nonsense!

• droll on Jun 22, 2012 at 7:21 am

i agree with you bro. but therein lies the problem – people still buy this piece of junk because of the ‘image’ as a quality car. :(

boycottttttttttttt

• nazgul on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:34 am

THIS IS BLASPHEMY!!!

• 101% agreed. it due to people ONline most of time in FB. They don interested other than that and follow the market. Jap’s market support by youngest(backup by dad) and some aged buyer. Jap’s got 2nd value, others maintenance $ high + they don know what is mean, ENJOY DRIVING. they just need the car can JALAN + carry with BRAND NAME..elegant leh

• Das Motor on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:55 pm

Toyota LOVES sticking lotsa kits onto their cars. Their cars already lack power (due to the certified museum grade engines and tranmissions) and yet they keep adding heft by adding these silly looking spoliers etc. But come to think of it, Honda and Mazda also have these kinda kits but Toyota has the ugliest.

• John Sham on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:28 pm

dugong spotted!!!!

• driver on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:46 am

well done T!
      now I HATE you even more!!!

• OMG 5 years old already but still don’t want change the design?!

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:08 am

The KING of non National Car will continue to shine, while Korean Junk Car salesman/Fandog can only post crap here.

• Jimmy on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:26 pm

The KING of CUTTING COST, yeah.

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2012 at 8:40 pm

Continue doing this for another 5 years and they will continue to shine in hell… lol

I think they are planning to shine in hell for long time cause its too dark down there and they want to provide a little bit of light down there… lol

• lkhoe on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:42 am

Its both a Toyota and Honda thing, whereby they’re seeing how far they can milk their cows given our naivety. Its a shame.

• iDislikeNAP on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:46 pm

The price is indeed Overpriced for this!
      Blame the GOmen.
      Langkawi’s Price:
      Vios J auto : RM57k vs RM77k
      Preve 1.6 CFE: RM 69.5k vs RM73k.

Blame the GOmen put such high tax on Malaysian to buy other CAR!

• Shitoyota on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:39 pm

The bloody Toyota manufactures will surely get the pain in their ass for their bloody remark!!! they dont even extend their warranty to 5year as how Honda following KIA and HYUNDAI! i think nowdays the new generations of Malaysian opt Korean cars rather than this dumb toyota and honda!
      This is what we called the wave of transformation!!!
      Vote wisely!!!you got my word?

• cutester on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Where’s the optitron meter for the rest? The meter is one of the dullest looking except the TRD amber optitron. Even local cars now have this “always-light-on” meters and T is such a cheapskate. Shame on you.

• This is known as Toyota Way. As long as the technology is good and reliable they will keep using it. They will only apply new technology once it fully tested through time and rigorous condition.

Vios small decent car with good reliability and fuel economy, why update since it does cater the market hence does make a lot of profit.

This is toyota long term philosophy. Only use reliable technology and apply only new technology once is proven superior.

Mind you the new baby Prius C use same vvti engine as vios with little modifications. As long the engine is good and reliable why need update too soon. Hence toyota make a lot profit.

Is not bad, although Vios seem old, but it was decent car with good reliability. And if you say toyota is not innovator company, is first company to mass produce the hybrid vehicle (new technology) and apply the technology to different range of vehicle including Lexus.

• wakeupUMW on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:56 pm

I don quite agree with u, kindly explain why vsc is being removed from the latest Camry?, why the 2.0 Camry is not equipped with dual vvt-i? Why there is no CVT installed on the latest Camry? Why 2.5l Camry only comes with 4 air bag instead of 7?

• Costwise on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:46 pm

What! From bad to worse. Toyota, where did you find your designers? Might as well ask P2, they may not be able to improve the original boring design, but they would not have screwed up.

• kumar on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Just bought vios J face lifted.

satisfied so far. its simple and stylish too.

since not much additional features that offered by latest car’s the failure points also less.

easy maintenance.

• Tiguan on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Nooo!!! Vios with braces! Where is keyless entry and 5 years warranty?

• dugong on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:09 pm

they claimed is Toyota n many.customer would think is lifetime warranty

• lkhoe on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:46 am

Lifetime? To me, its not a factor anymore coz in this day and age, how often do we change cars?? Not even before the next world cup or olympics!

• Littlebear on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Macam ini pun boleh kah? This Vios had gone through so damn many facelift!!!

• Dunno why makeup so many times already but still ugly.

• vincent on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:52 am

Dude, what are you expecting? This kind of car is for third world countries where people don’t bother with safety and technology. They just want something light for better FC, low Total cost of ownership, and hopefully can sell it for higher price to another idiot for next ownership.

• Fully agree with you…

1st – How many person in this country really knows about car?
        – The answer is less than, well i will say here 17 yrs old)

2nd – At least > 90% people are followers
        – People tends to “Listen” to others, but not judging by themselves. I believe you can go ask most of the T owners why they buy T cars, you will probably get answers like “People says T good le”, “T’s FC low le”, “T’s maintenance is low/cheap”, etc…
        Now, if you are a T haters, or neutralist, you can go ask some T owners “How good is T compare to the others? If good, which part is better? What car did you compare to?”, ” Since you say T’s FC is good, how good it is? Real world mileage please with comparison to others”, “Maintenace cheap? How much is your bills? I would like to compare yours to mine”, etc…
        I believe most of the T’s owner cannot answer the questions above…

*I exclude resale value here because it’s a fact in Malaysia, or even in a lot of country due to the company reputation built up in a very good manner since long long time ago. In contrast, you can look at the Korean’s. But i can tell you, they are improving really fast now. Believe me, there will be another “Samsung” in the automotive industry sooner or later.

3rd – Those who think our 2 P brands’ cars are inferior.
        I think a lot of people here will say “Potong sucks”, “Perodua? still Msia brand le”, etc…
        When you end up avoiding the 2 Ps, the next you can choose is from the bunch of Japs and Koreans car (I dun think China’s Chevy has made a great impact here yet). In between J and K, of cos the J’s are a mmore preferrable choice to the buyers (please do some research if you are not so sure about why). Among those Js, T,H,N are the mainstream… (Mitsu, Suba, Suzu, etc are less influential). In the end, you know who will gain more shares.

Agree with me?

Just my 20 cents…

btw, i just hate dugong’s look… one of the ugliest car in the market now… n i still see a lot of PROUD owners… =.=

• er… i think my message is affected by codes… bcos the “” is used and the message in it did not appear… @.@

Paul/Anthony/Danny/etc..

Please indicate that which of the character can’t be used in the comment column…

For clarification i change it to words..
        – The answer is less than 90%. Those enthusiast, those who work in the automotive industry, those who read cars magazine/webpages.. by adding up all… it’s less than 10% of the population of the country. (I mean those who can owns a car, well i will say here is above 17 yrs old)

• For me, it’s not Toyota’s fault, as they have already made cars with good and updated it’s specs for developed countries.

Meanwhile in Malaysia, it is the company UMW that is just too arrogant with the popularity of the brand Toyota they distribute, and also Perodua that they owned too. With these two brands, they made enormous profits that they are hungry for more.

• Gadget still the same… What a shame.

• nighttrain on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:52 pm

ENOUGH!!!!!!!!!!!!

• zack randolph on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:54 pm

More like clearing their stock rather than selling car

• mrkthxbai on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:54 pm

facepalm

• UMW continuing to conned malaysian..

• Malaysian oh Malaysian paid highest car tax in the world and get the oldest refacelift again and again . WOW

• Shitoyota on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:42 pm

we should teach those mfcuker UMW!!!

• toyota sarks on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:59 pm

oh well..kudos to honda for their facelift. i guess malaysians are smarter now to choose a better deal

• n they were complaining about city,at least it was a proper facelift.this is a joke

• Toyota thought that they can get away with the Vios and Camry. What’s next? Altis?

Time to punish them. Time to go Korean.

• Dr Kervokian on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Paul tan’s website is starting to get bad with new authors.

Please supply specs!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:17 am

Herr doktor, the engine is the same as before, the output of the engine is the same as before, the gearboxes are the same as before, the performance specs are the same as before. With all the mechanicals, running gear and numbers as previously found, didn’t think there was a need to go on about it. The spec sheet should suffice, I guess. :)

• The Enthusiast on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:18 am

“Same old 1.5 VVT-i mill and accompanying auto and manual transmissions, with the same output and performance figures as before.”

If you’re familiar with the old and current Vios, I think giving out the performance specs is redundant. Again, it’s only cosmetic tweaks, not a whole new improved car.

• Shitoyota on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:44 pm

shit on u!!!

• INTERPAL on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:07 pm

Toyota following Proton… for next 15 years they only sell the same V10S. Muahahahaha…

• sagablmsekid on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:12 pm

Please UMW slap in 2 airbag on the J spec.. btw. how many facelift already -_-.. damn.. new model lar.

• tokmoh on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:01 am

U dunno how to read, don’t comment can or not? J spec is now with 2 airbags la dei. Really wanna kill bargers like u dunno how to read before drop comments

• Cheaper price won’t cure ugliness.

• seriously????who the hell would even have the thought to even buy one of these.still running the 4 speed auto and a measely 1.5 variable valve timing engine.
    seriously man toyota and honda.ur competitions have more brains than you.anyday i’ll take a Ford Fiesta .
    whoever even have the thougt of buying these with the thought of having good resale value please!!!!!! dont be stupid .GET SOMETHING ELSE!

not bloody worth the resale value crap,to get this.
    theres plenty of other better value cars out there.

• shawal the airhead.. on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:37 am

trust me, most my uncles and aunties are still worshiping this model and against other non-jap counterpart for their sons n daughter to drive…it’s the same goes for their cousins and their friends (most of them in mid-50s)

• Peter on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Those who don surf for automotive sites online, those who’re too old/lazy to explore new things, & those who still rely on mainstream media as primary source of knowledge.

• boring…next pleaszzz..ehehhe

• ashin kusher on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Cool stuffs to be added. But they should’ve included all of these in vios’ first launch. Now this sounds more like a stock clearance for the old model huh?

• Disappointment on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Vios was launched in 2007, it’s time to change a new model…

• kucau on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Haaa. china made dvd player urghh where is vsc. 2 airbag only mehhhh. Any rain sensor or light sensor? ahhaahah

• mystvearn on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:20 pm

The other day city came out with 5 year warranty with six free service – city better value but then City cost more.

Then again at 73K, 2K cheaper than Preve… Hard sell. Proton has manage to actually take sales from low end models of T&H Vios/City.

• Taufik on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:20 pm

UMW is trying way too hard
    but Im sure someone gonna order it

• no-name on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:21 pm

we want to see all new vios instead of “improvement” please!!!

• More than RM20k dearer than Thai’s

• Jimmy on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:24 pm

The almighty Toyota is the best car in Malaysia, it is as good as our beloved BN. We must be confident in what we offer, no need to look at Nissan/Honda etc. The sale figure talks itself. We just proceed the way we think is reasonable.

• Toyota slowly turning a dugong into a beaver.

• Anti_Fuel_Price on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Damn u lllaaa T marketing! So last year buyers are damn dumb coz u con them “limited” now u r offering “Unlimited” + better outlook. T ppl r really treat us as s***i, to all bro’s time to change!!!!

• Nvm lah, T supporter like to b Con. What we can do, offer n acceptance mah. Let it b, at the otherside the others competitor will continue improve with MUCH MUCH better spec + value for $ car…then we happy n enjoy.

• No 5 Years Unlimited Mileage Warranty how to call enhancement!

• syntium5000 on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:29 pm

improvement la…enhance la….facelift la….upgraded la….wat ever they call this car…still look dull to me..n outdated oso…BUT nevermind as long its TOYOTA no body bother bout it..

• BOYRACER on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Once a dugong,will always be a dugong.

• nonce on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:34 pm

oh gosh…hideous bodykits. are they doing what kah bintang did to their hyundais? chrome inserts everywhere making it look super ahbeng. just too much garnish.

• encik boss on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:36 pm

BOOOOOOOOOOOOORING!

• With this kind of shitty “improvement”, this dugong is definitely an endangered species!! Literally!!!

• The new city is way better….

• Imeanitwheni on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:43 pm

yea2 watever.. ok NEXXTTT!!

• Azydy on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:53 pm

haha.. ugly design but too expensive.. design like dugong

• JeremyNg on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:53 pm

are this some kind of JOKE from UMW Toyota ??!!

• rosdi on Jun 21, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Haha… getting uglier…!.. kah kah kah..

• I guess the Preve did really affect the sales of it thats why they made of improvement of it which I still find it ugly and overpriced.

Preve wins hands down in term of specs, features and value for money

• Non- of Proton car is a good car! Problem here and there……if you have problem with your Engine start/stop switches……..they won’t be able to fix it for you :) They don’t even know how to fix auto power window…..can you believe that? :(

• omg how many variants a vios gonna have??!?!!!

• just facelifted?? no 5 yr warranty like city

• cardio on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:09 pm

vios almost 100k!!!?..viosss..hegrrhh..

• bongek on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:10 pm

stil 3 years…. apa aaa, masih tak sedar diri..

p/s in reality… even 6 month warranty pun , malaysian still buying T…. siapa yg tak seder diri,,T or we?

• seems like these japanese make are loosing creativity

• Toybota on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:21 pm

Fresh smoked DUGONG!

• Brazbuz on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:21 pm

How come city facelift with new bumper, light and addition vsa, extra sound dampening n isofix increase rm500 whereas vios add new rims and extra 1 airbag increase 3k??? Shame on u UMW TOYOTA….

• nabill on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:29 pm

a look only a mother wd love !

• SaveTheEarth on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:31 pm

You see, no VSC at all. Not serving the community at all. Greedy UMW. Honda City does have this feature at spec E.

• Even the new 2.5 campry don’t come with VSC. That last 2.4 was it. The reverse camera is an after market not OEM. Full of shit.

• theanswer on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:44 pm

a good city car..but for 92k without vsa..still 2 airbags..crazy.

• Devil on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:45 pm

Come come. Add 4k get a sexy C segment Elantra with push start, 6gear and stability control.
    The problem is, with T&H throwing all these craps to clear stock, there are still ppl buying and supporting them!
    When the demand stops, the supply will do(in this case, crappy spec overpriced cars)

• theanswer on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:45 am

can even get 2.0 forte with tcs, 6 airbag and push start too.

• akina on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:23 am

even 73k preve comes with so much features…
        wat u get from 73k vios??
        stupid n blind ppl will get vios…

• azreen on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:17 am

Really? I guess I’ll have to stay away from Forte as it needs to be push started each and everytime I wanna drive one. Hell it’s tiring man. :)

• seancorr on Jun 21, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Lol @ Toyota. The only improvement I saw was the addition of another airbag for the lower end of the Vios line..something they should have done in the frist place! Other than that…nothing really changed. Still no VSC or 5 year warranty…they could have at least added bluetooth hands free so we wun kena saman on the road! I must say….Honda wins this round!

• kingston on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:09 am

why can’t UMW Toyota bring in nicer cars like the IQ,FJ Cruiser,Crown Series & so.. :/

• PakAbu on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:34 am

An uncle like me would love to have a Toyota Crown. But with the price structure that will jack up the price into the CEO/CFO/COO/VP price bracket …. :(

• Should have save the money of advertisement and also improvements and facilitate it in the “replacement” model…. I wonder what would happen if H sells J-spec city in manual…..

• please lah, no more facelift. we want new models!

• Zippy Polo on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:14 am

Enough is enough… T and H has been offering us product of yesterday… and they think by giving you fresh fried ikan bilis will jazz up the taste of yesterday nasi lemak… sighhh

• i_swear on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:22 am

My gosh…..
    That what a good improvement Toyota have there, or is there any improvement aside grill bumper and seats fabric?

The thing that they needed most to improved that is engine and gear box some how had been left out.

I thought Honda City is getting ridiculous, but this Toyota Vios to use a same spec to do highway robbery for a long time is beyond madness.

Sigh….A typical Malaysian sure will buy. Toyota mah.

UMW, for the next improvement, just gold plated your logo and slap in SE Edition and +2K, and you can sell it.

• all comments are negative. I LOVE YOU PEOPLE FOR NOT SUPPORTING TOYOTA! HAHA!!!

• rodhani on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:44 am

Dear dugong, please install some sporty kits..at least I can (finger-crossed) call you duyung…

• kusochon on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:57 am

HAHAHAHAHAHAAHA

• piece of shit car for piece of shit buyer

• Are you saying yourself :) My advise to is DONT see and DONT buy…..go for PROTON as you claimed :)

• rickey lee on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:35 am

this is, if i am not mistaken, the fourth incarnation of the same car but with minor exterior and interior changes. for the price they are asking i think they should add an extra one or two ratios to the current 4 speed tyranny.besides they should also include some upgrade of the engine like giving it a dual vvti or something instead of focusing all the budget to the ever so loud but pointless trd exterior. vw offer a better car in the polo 1.2 tsfi, considering the price region in terms of almost all aspects. toyota just depended on they brand alone. but how long will their ever so reliable image become ever so boring as well?

• copperhead on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:49 am

Its time to move to German brand with latest technology..!!

• Vios is targeted at family or lady owner mainly, who doesn’t know or care about how many gear it has. Vios selling point is low fuel consumption and reliability of the Toyota brand. Vios is not a bad looking car, and with this minimum changes or facelift, the price and value of Vios can still maintain well in the market. This is what owner likes about Toyota.

• theanswer on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:04 am

hate to say tht i have to agree with u. but considering current economic situation..most customer will value their spending. brand alone is not enough. why pay 90+k for a 1.5 car without any tech upgrade and basic spec when u can get more safety features and gadget at the same price.

• alpha999 on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:08 pm

ur rite, given economic situation, most ppl will value their spending.

So for 90++ k , what the best model would I should go for ? honda city ? of coz slightly more features, but u or other will make similar comments, why pay 90++ for 1.5 blah blah….

so far, vios owners will speak good words about it given their experience

• alpha999 on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:11 pm

so many vios bashers here, but monthly sales statistics proves otherwise, what does that tell you all ?

• tiadaid on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:43 pm

alpha999 – sales figures only show how many gullible & not smart Malaysians out there.

Seriously, this car should have been shoved into Sg. Kelang ages ago!

• samkhairul on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:59 am

T became thick face lah!

• Vios is sensible yet boring car. But this time wvwn worse than previous model: introduced in 2003 and after four years already had new model change. I guess this version of Vios will last until 2017 ;-)

I still can accept this car if they can reduce the Price closer to Thai’s pricing, c.RM51000 for least expensive variant. This is the problem when government also active in business and after high profit margin.

If VW agroup or PSA, dare enough they can bring better can to fight with this Japanese hero since Korean brand still nowhere near Toy level. The Korean can topple them if they bring good price diesel Elantra or new Forte

• theanswer on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:08 am

dont blame the brand. it is all about our mindset. in europe..america..aussie korean brand is a big brand. in aussie u’ll find more korean brand (i20,i30,grand carnival) on the road compared to T. in fact vw or psa already bring better spec model..example pug 408 (better than altis). or vw passat..(better and faster than 2.5 camry.)

• Don’t get me wrong. The Korean brands offer decent diesel engines in Europe while in the Northern America they offer buyback program to push their brands. Wait till new low sulfur diesel introduced locally. The Korean will lough at cocky Japanese

• Hyundai Elantra better than this lo, although expensive a bit..

• disappointed on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:02 am

The improvements to J spec is a good thing but since Toyota is so reliable as they claim, why aren’t they offering 5 year unlimited warranty like so many other marques are doing?

Even Honda is doing it with their FL City. If you die die also must purchase a Toyota then the J spec is arguably the only variant worth the money. All others are way too overpriced!

• beatnik on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:12 am

This article already mentioned “improvements”, not a facelift yet many of you are making hoo-haas.

Anyway those new additional improvements should have been in the car from its first introduction.

• Ha…ho…..because they dont understand the meaning of “IMPROVEMENT” :) Sad!Forgive them who make such a negative comments. What a shame man!!!

• The Enthusiast on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:24 am

Improvement or facelift or whatever it is, UMW Toyota is banking on brand loyalty for sales. Time after time, it’s a proven track record. In fact, should Toyota introduces a new model, everyone go mad. Just look at the new GT 86 and the new Camry.

• Delimiester on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:24 am

Seriously!! i can’t stay “Tenang” looking at the car n the freaking low specs. Dugong much!

• amirad on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:26 am

Toyota really implement design for X where X is manufacturing, assembly and reliability. The simpler and lesser the parts, the less likely failure will occur. Hence the 4 speed gear. Their motto is probably if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. If toyota sell their product slightly below competitors price due to their lesser kits and techs, maybe people will not be so angry.

• Everyone agrees that Jap cars need to spec up their models?

Then , everytime the jap car makers launches a new car, if it is overpriced with below average specifications, do the needful, do NOT buy!

Over time, they will know what to do, just like how the H.Citi is being launched, with 5 yrs warranty & unlimited mileage. Starting to get the message? But 5000km service intervals still sucks.

But that just happens in a perfect world.
    In MY, everybody has the intense desire to keep changing cars every time a new model is launched.

So, what say you?

• KillBox1Alpha on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:48 am

Dont embarras the humble dugong by calling this fugly car by this name. How many more times they gonna goreng this Vios, sudah hangus la weiiiii…..D

• now with the batman grille for all variants, they are never going to replace this model, ever…

• hurry guys, the booking already exceed 4000 in the first day of annoucement. do book now before queue getting longer. now still have stock, but if book later have to wait 3-4 months.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:30 am

Damn, no more toyota for me. Who they think we Malaysian are?

• well, the Japs car manufacturers seems to be running out of ideas…

the Korean cars are clearly better than the Japanese car in terms of design…for engine performance/reliability, i think the Korean cars need time to build up their reputation so it takes time for people to start trusting Korean car engines… when that happens… it’s time to say bye bye to Japanese cars!

• amg63 on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:36 am

this so called improvement is just to fool people. Actually they just intend to dump their hoarding stocks. All Thailand surplus stocks will be dumped to boleh land.

• But the 4 gear auto fuel consumption is still equal or lesser then a 6 to 7 speed American and Korean car. Can anyone justify this?

• Madcow on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:43 am

T is selling more than 3,000 Vios every month without fail. Why do more when the demand never slow down ? UMW is still getting the $$$/profit every month. T is in most uncle & auntie minds as the best car. Probably another 10-20 years after those uncles/auntie passed away, then the sales will declined.

• Lauyiachia on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:43 am

I am beginning to suspect Honda Malaysia and UMW. Like they are playing tag-team. COnspiracy is involved here between both of them to “sucked” Malaysian people. I have 2 Hondas and 1 Toyota. Time to abandon them.

• pfttt on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:50 am

so many “big talker’ here…this car is ugly,that car is boring and much more..honda is worst,bmw is terrible,toyota boring,kia cheap design and more….just being a keyboard warrior but the fact, to do a sketch of a car also can’t do properly..so enough being like a genius person in automotive industry

• theanswer on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:17 am

err…this is an automotive blog. there’s a reason why they put a comment section here. so what are u want us to do? sing a song?

• pfttt on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:51 pm

yeah..i bet u are so genius to give a good comment about automotive rather than being a fulltime basher

• pfft, what is your problem? people can air their view freely the way they like it so if u don’t like it, that is your problem..

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:52 am

TRD coil spring lowered only at 10mm???that make the ride so no different lah!!!why the soundproof never mentioned to add in new launched!!the soundproof of vios is suck,Man!!But inspira soundproof even worse Lah!!!

• FAISAL on Jun 28, 2012 at 11:10 am

Enjin GEMA US mmg bising bro. Tapi Power ok n heavy duty.Vios teknologi 2003 mana sama dgn 2007

• KatKit on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:08 am

I used to call VIOS as “Belluga”. For me, I like the VIOS design. Beautiful, in my eyes. In fact, beautiful than the Polo.

But I prefer 5-seater MPV at this moment.

• chowKitKat on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:35 am

I think you mistook this forum with your facebook status lahh..

• Katkit on Jun 23, 2012 at 5:29 pm

1. This is not a forum.
        2. I don’t mistook.
        3. I don’t have a facebook account
        4. Vios is way much beautiful than Polo.

• Musalman on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:09 am

im thinking of buying the corolla altis..just need u guys opinion..wut do u guys think?it is worthy to get the altis. it has 1.8 dual vvt-i engine and new facelift with 7 speed cvt

• francis on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:12 am

Basically Altis is a good car.. If you are not in urgent.. wait and see for the upcoming new Civic. Go try out the new Elantra. I tested and find it a very good car indeed but get ready being bash of “Spare part expensive la..No resale value la..”

CVT trans is just not my cup of tea…

• ape kejadahnya toyota. Proton pon boleh bagi 5 years warranty. Takkan toyota takut nak bagi 5 years? Kata bagus sgt konon. Pirahhhhh

• b sensible on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:34 pm

ha…ha…ha…if 5 yrs warranty, the service centres will be “exploded” as there are TOO many toyota owners! the queue might be as long as the queue in gov hospital!

• Kevin on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:19 am

Where is the 2012 Vois ?? Why US n euro ald use where we still in 2007?

• Kevin on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:20 am

Where is the 2012 Vois ?? Why US n euro ald use where we still in old model?

• toyota used to make good cars but not anymore…

• I find the TRD version is nice, especially the front bumper design.

If Toyota upgraded the car to 5 gears or 6 gears transmission, then perfect~

• theanswer on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:18 am

they dont have 5 or 6 speeder. china market got 1.6 dual vvti. thats it.

• zidane on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:23 am

you ppl are not buying this right?

so… why so serious?

• FAISAL on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:23 am

Better buy Inspira From Vios. Same price,less fuel more space, & powerfull engine. Vios outdated.

• jayve on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:31 am

i reckon many later they gonna stuff in the 1.3 variant and sell it even cheaper … must be selling like super duper hot cakes…

• chan kam nam on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:33 am

If you go to the Goodyear Malaysia website and look for 185/60/15 tyres, the results is NIL.

Wake up Toyota, what are you trying to do to your customers by giving another odd size tyre. There should be a competition for the most odd size OEM Tyre. Honda and Toyota will definitely win.

• tokmoh on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Toyota normally comes with Bridgestone (fellow Japanese mah). Bridgestone has that size.

• lkhoe on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:37 am

I’m going to say this again, Honda and Toyota needs to buck up. Other competitors have launched much better alternatives in recent years. Because of malaysian mentality and perception of H&T’s so called quality and reliability, they’ve been laughing all the way to the bank, knowing that we’re so naive and willing to buy their cars. Considering their strong resale value, aren’t you guys kinda buying their cars at a premium for this? Is all relative guys.

• Choprak Cawat Besiwat on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:39 am

best car in Malaysia at the moment..superb QC..not same as langsi Preve

• ToyoRipoff on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:43 am

Sorry toyotai, only the J worth buying.. E,G,G limited such a rip off with the kind of price.. Enhancement? looks like you only enhancement the J spec.. moving backward

• hello on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:51 am

i will only consider buying if there is no more dugong DNA and no more meter-G-string-in-the-middle-of-dashboard.

• ahchai on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:04 am

The price has been increase for more than 1.4k++. Just include 1 more airbag and alloy rim. Really “con” consumers :(

• francis on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:07 am

Please dont flame me being sarcastic.. I literally laugh out loud when the moment i read the title..
    I only notice the major changes of improvement is smoke headlights huh..? HAHAHAHA

Anthony.. You have made my day with a Big Smile..but of course thanks to Toyota too… Wahahahahaha

• Dugong berangan nak jadi duyong..akhirnya jadi dungu!

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:35 am

only females and shemales that dont know anything about cars will buy this ancient overpriced junk. lets see how long UMW can continue conning this group of ppl.

when i see someone driving a 92k s-spec dugong, i am just speechless…..

• kamaji on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:39 am

So boringggggg……better go watch cartoon network.

• paparadzi on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:43 am

If you still want a small Toyota, better get the Prius C. Not much more than the Vios Sportivo, but with much better equipment and newer technology.

• sleepwalkerz on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:51 am

Go to Ah Beng also can get the “improvement” lols….

• Gokul on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:55 am

Somewhere in 2013:
    Toyota boss:Team we need to “improve” our beloved dugong for this year, any ideas you guys can came up with?
    Toyota Engineer: Certainly boss, we change back the meter display from center to directly in front of the driver..
    Toyota boss: Marvelous idea!!!.. do it. we can charge those pity idiots another extra 2k..

• firefish on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Toyota Engineer 2 said: Or we change the face from Dugong to Tenuk.

• kimora on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:13 pm

no improvement only gimmicks with new body kits and the price wow becomes expensive , mine already book kia forte with full body kits the price still the same with 6 speed auto , such an amazing isnt it.Time to change from japan to korean K-pop

• Toyota is too busy doing the 86 project, so no time for Vios update.

• David D on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Seriously, you have to be a real blind person in order to buy such a car like this. Cheaply finished, horrid drive, poor specifications, high prices, and yet people buy it as if it’s so great. The only thing that saves it is the after-sales, which i will admit is still best in class.

And, for every model of the Vios, there will be better alternatives for every one:-

Vios J- Proton Preve, Pug 207
    Vios E- Proton Inspira, Kia Forte, Ford Fiesta
    Vios G, G Limited, TRD Sportivo-Honda City, Hyundai Elantra, Honda City

Need another reason to reject the Vios?

• _xXx_ on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Why should it be rejected when it’s everywhere/selling well? You know better or thousands of Vios owners out there? I used to own a Vios (old model). It’s a fantastic work horse.

• David D on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:17 pm

Point taken. The previous Vios was a good car, no doubt about it. But they shot themselves when they decided to keep the old engine instead of the 1.6 engine found in the USDM Yaris.

• _xXx_ on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:30 pm

They listen, finally. I see 2 airbags and ABS for the MTs. The rest I don’t care.

• mazda 2 is better than vios…

• Maserati on Jun 22, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Its still a very very good car! Much better than rubbish forte =)

• alpha999 on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:05 pm

based on what forte is rubbish ????

• David D on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Yea, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish. You’re the rubbish. Always on a useless tirade towards the Koreans, when in reality, you talk based on sentiment only. Pathetic.

• anti-maserati-poser on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Its still a very very lousy car! Much lousier than forte =)

• Gurmit on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:11 pm

vios is the best seller. nuff said?

• Sgt Scoop on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Wow, so many comments and 99% negative. Why do people get so upset? I am looking forward to the celebrations when the Vios is 25 years old and still on the market. I’ll definitely be queueing up for the free satay.

• Sgt Scoop on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:28 pm

I guess if I was in the market for a car for around RM80k, I’d go for an Exora or an Inspira. I’m 185cm and I have two kids so cars like the Mazda 2 won’t cut it. What do you think? If you were looking for a car in the RM80-90k range, what would you get?

• I would consider the Ford Fiesta sedan, with better safety features and overall nice looking exterior. Add in their take on DSG in the form of 6-speed, it’s a very good offering for under 85K.

For me, it’s a no brainer.

• Eastman on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:34 pm

I think japs car manufacturers…be it Toyota, Honda or Nissan…they all out of idea already…e.g. Nissan bringing in Datsun back…luckily they did not facelifted Ultraman…I wonder how it would look like…bigger eyes???

• hello on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:36 pm

they already facelifted ultraman many time:
      ultraman tiga
      ultraman seven
      ultraman mebius
      ultraman cosmos
      ultraman dyna
      ultraman errr… i already lost count.

• klguy on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:48 pm

wow, so enhanced. i think this car can now tapau a SLK anytime. All this while the Vios n City can only tail gate cars like 3 series and C class :P .

• Kumes on Jun 22, 2012 at 1:56 pm

cant wait to see volkswagen eat these guys lunch.

• albag on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:06 pm

stupid dugong car still got what to improve? damn the meter display still in the middle.. terrible!

• AhBeng on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:15 pm

please thumbs down over my comment.

“ohhhh Drooooling!”

• jalan54 on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:44 pm

Enhanced???? Well, maybe for them this is really some enhancement, but not for me.

I thought enhancement is like using dual vvti, better output, throw 4 speeder gearbox away replace with 5 or 6 speeder or cvt gearbox. ESC in the vehicle, improve in interior material used.

Oh, sorry, I forgot, we are talking about Toyota… No wonder they call this enhancement… lol

• mokkf on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Wow…facelift! And I hate it more!

• alex chan on Jun 22, 2012 at 2:53 pm

toyota maa..high resale value..remember ahh..hi resale value…toyota emblem mean prestige!..all people very proud one driving toyota..PR member oso many drive toyota..support PR..must support toyota maa!..who drive proton clearly support BN ..definately!

• And all of the PR and BN members who proud with their car brands are happily conned by the cronies that benefited from the lopsided automotive policy.

Hooray!

• Omega Red on Jun 24, 2012 at 12:57 am

i drive a toyota…n im not proud of it at all…all it have is the brand image…other than that its a cheapskate car sold overpriced with low quality materials n built…n making money from unwise malaysian, sadly including me…overlooked the car for its brand..

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2012 at 9:01 pm

“who drive proton clearly support BN ..definately!”
      Alex Chan, I have to say, you logic is totally sucks. Name me 1 big company that has no BN member involve in them.
      Sorry to say, you aare really ignorant.

• yawwwwwwnnnnnnnn.. ok, next..

• oko028 on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Take away this piece of outdated metal, whats the point still improving it… logically UMW should have total replace this with ALL NEW DESIGN! NOW!

WHO EVER BOUGHT THIS YOU WILL REGRET!
    SOUND LIKE THEY’RE CLEARING STOCK.
    NEW VIOS COMING SOON.

but i never like VIOS ever since, sorry for VIOS fan boy. Nowaday you have more choice with this price, open your EYES!

• PetrolLeg on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Just find that they are adopting similar strategy that the over decade old Wira had, keep rejuvenating the product life cycle of the car.

• DewaSemut on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:18 pm

I sense that this is not the end of the so called Vios “enhanced”… after this sure got “enchanted “, “exquisite”, “extravaganza”, “extensive” bla.. bla.. bla… :P Toyota will never run out of synonyms in term of facelift…. all to “ENRICH” their pockets.

Wonder these are all Toyota’s doings or is it our beloved UMW themselves offer these nonsense?

• outon on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:57 pm

Actually the vios and madza 2… madza 2 sedan highest spec only 80k. which vios J only 78k.. so question is vios and madza 2 is same size? some said madza 2 rear space smaller..

• gotodmc on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:06 pm

I notice that all (or most) the comments here are from guys nicknames. From my observation, I think most of the woman will go for Toyota or Honda cars. There are also 3 lady friends that I know bought vios. 2 from last yr and the other 1 month ago. Well just my observation only, not sure it is true or not.

• opaixx on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:29 pm

ok. im a proud owner of vios.. but d previous one, not this dugong series one.. hehehe…

n now i’m upgrading to mcx5.. oke??

come on la.. ppl buy dugong because they want to avoid P2. with the same monthly installment, why should pay for gen2 instead u can afford only dugong? (at my time, because of d difference % monthly interest, the monthly installment of vios = gen2)

don’t blame those ppl who can only afford to buy dugong, at least dugong is proven as a very low maintenance car instead of other cars..

but when their financial getting better, there will surely migrate to other brand..(like me.. haha)…n my ‘old but still strong’ dugong become ‘kereta pergi pasar’.

(do u know, old people said dugong meat can kuatkan batin??)

• gjohn on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:42 pm

japanese kedekut one u know..
    they kedekut about giving merehsia new tech
    this one true stroy from my colleague at perodua

• UMW TOYOTA ENHANCE REVENUE EDITION

• Wisdom on Jun 22, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Wau! enhancednye! 4 speeder + rice cooker aircond knob! lets buy in bulk and let the japanese rich!

• dugong tetap dugong, xkan jdi benda lain dah haha

• Kizashi Rules on Jun 22, 2012 at 6:03 pm

No 5 Years Unlimited Mileage Warranty offered for the Vios enhanced and worst still same engine with 4 speed gearbox !! Funny thing is this Vios is still selling like hot cakes, my neighbor just bought one and the other neighbor across the road also just got a Vios….damm why are people still buying an outdated car with enhancements and multiple facelift ….asked my neighbor, ohh good car mah, reliable & hardly breakdown but the same answer, resale value very good mah !! Can’t really argue on that hence why Toyota is bold enough to bring an enhanced version out now to compete with Honda City !!

• Geagle on Jun 22, 2012 at 6:07 pm

In langkawi;

Preve Premium: RM 69,500.00
    Vios TRD Sportivo: RM 69,387.86

I wonder, how much profit is taken by UMW and Proton per car. And how much the actual cost to produce them.

• Critique on Jun 22, 2012 at 6:10 pm

R the ‘good’ folks at UMW running out of ideas for this segment of the market?

• Newkembara on Jun 22, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Toyota make a car which is : productionable, sellable, reasonable. Go toyota go.

• tigerimau on Jun 22, 2012 at 6:36 pm

fake plastic dugong…

• expensive and rubbish

• sayNoToOverpirceCar on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:08 pm

Maserati have u place an order for vios n city fl? hahaha dont regret ok? LOL

• Malaysian mentality always love to buy T n H just because of the logo not the quality. Even Proton Savvy u put H or T logo still they say wow its a HONDA/TOYOTA. You guys can se when it come to Freed and the new ugly Camry they praise it like there are no tomorrow haha.. right? because they are blind by the T/H LOL
    dont bash me ok im just telling the truth.

• not ‘BASH’ you but to tell you that nothing is perfect in this world. and please don’t compare proton with Toyota or Honda. There are not compareable. Do the ground work before you say….

• FreedoDido on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Ranking of Sales Data for May 2012 in Japan, taken from Japan Automobiles Dealer Agency (exclude KeiCar and non-Japanese maker):

1. Toyota Prius: 20,789
      2. Toyota Aqua (Prius C): 20,091
      3. Honda Fit (Jazz): 14,534
      4. Honda Freed: 8,142

Ranking of Honda Freed sales in Japan:

May 2012: No.4
      April 2012: No.4
      March 2012: No.5
      Feb 2012: No.4
      Jan 2012: No.3
      Dec 2011: N0.3
      Nov 2011: N0.6
      Oct 2011: N0.10
      Sept 2011: N0.8
      Aug 2011: N0.12
      July 2011: N0.8
      June 2011: N0.11

Honda Freed performed very well in Japan. Oh Japanese love ugly car then, maybe..

• krakow on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:19 pm

we all should organise Butt exercise infont of UMW boss to protest against this !!

• Absolute Rider on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:07 pm

UMW Toyota in Malaysia offer ULTRA BIG BODYKITS for their cars. Look at the newly launched Camry 2.5 and now this Vios.

Perhaps they want to create an awareness of we should have more Ah Beng looking cars on the road instead of a drive safe awareness and normal passenger car shouldn’t being modified too aggressively.

• what a comment is this? have you tried the car? don’t judge a book by its cover :)

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:50 pm

what is there to try about this dugong? its the same old junk since 2007 with engine and transmission since last millennium.

• sharon on Jun 24, 2012 at 4:50 pm

You are right. Try to search images of Vios accident. You see what you need to know.

• ToyotaPJ on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Guys don’t be too tough on Toyota,Vios is selling like hot cakes for many years,,,so its no wonder ppl might get abit tired of the look, I don’t blame you guys..the selling points of the car – low to maintain, gd resale value and many SCs thats the most important things !

• PetrolLeg on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:58 pm

What’s your number? I want to immediate book one. Looks like I can’t sleep tonight thinking of my new ride enhance Vios.

• syntium5000 on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:21 pm

the funny thing is wat ever comment…kondem …bashing…shit..poop…crap junk..wildly curse tht we put on this Dugong..it still b the no.1 non national vehicle in Malaysia…i wonder y????

• Want to know why?, because majority who come here kondem …bashing…shit..poop…crap junk..wildly curse are Korean car salesman.

• DArkerMarker on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:48 pm

i lost appetite after seeing just the 1st picture of the car…….

• eye legend on Jun 23, 2012 at 1:25 am

good, now J-type got 2 airbags

• kl guy on Jun 23, 2012 at 11:16 am

I had to just said, what a ugly car. Actually I also 1 of the vios owner. Before that I drive 4 model Proton b4 and the last 1 is Waja. After drive for 2 yrs on Vios, I can said “This car is Super Suck” in theme of handling and comfortable. If not because of Proton have many quality issue, I will go for Preve but like we always said, Toyota is cheap compare others Jap or Korean car but lousy interior. Seems that UMW just want to suck the milk till drain baru change new Vios..

Sad of UMW and Toyota, somemore Toyota SC is super suck, same like Proton which arrogant and never listen to customer complaint and always said “is like this 1”.

No more Toyota for my next car, might go for Korean car..

• 666devil on Jun 23, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Kl guy pls define vios is cheap, I already posted add 4k can get C segment elantra with stability control, push start button, auto light, and some of the best NVH car I have ever experienced.

• please go for korean car….probably will make you feel better and think better before commenting all the nonsense

• Despite all the bashing, umw stillselling these cars by the truck loads..willing seller willing buyer..its not like there are no choices so if dont like there n dont buy

• hippo on Jun 23, 2012 at 3:57 pm

I’m driving the new altis dual vvti. Very comfortable and quiet. You won’t go wrong with it if comfort is what u are looking for. Yes, lots of people say it’s boring. But to me, cruising on the highway with high speed and quiet cabin is priceless. Interior wise is quite nice for me, looks clean and cozy.

• huh..still look the same after so many years & with that kind of price tag (RM72k to RM92k)..anytime i will take a Forte 1.6EX (RM75k++) to 2.0SX (RM97k++) with 5yrs warranty + well equipped features. UMW and Vios diehard fans…wake up..this Vios will not hv good resale value

• Which car you are driving? Toyota and Honda both have high resale value. Those with low resale value will be first proton, KIA, Hundai, Foard, Audi amd many more. WAKE-UP njs!

• DArkerMarker on Jun 23, 2012 at 8:46 pm

Some ppl buy a car simply because of resale value…

Some buy car becoz they like the look…
    Some becoz of the handling…..
    Some becoz of the heritage….

But for this old recycled-reclycled-recycled Vios……I rather take the risk giving another car brand a try (yes, even Korean brand)…..regardless of the resale value….

So sick of the Vios look edi, so sick of how UMW make money from the misinformed Malaysians

• babygrand on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Hi Satu malaysia,

Based on Majority people in this toyota blog obviously hate toyota indeed. Please allow me to point-out few thing but i need your cooperation to figure out the answer hence by implementing this method we can discuss the topic in peaceful or democratic way.

Q1. Many people complaining toyota offer old tech, cheap interiors material or design and over prices like heaven
    A1. 100% agreed but bro toyota never put a magical spell or pointed a gun on consumer head to force to buy theirs product! Am i right?

Q2. Too many people complaining if with this price he can get plenty of car with latest tech, good interior material and full of fancy electronic gadget.
    A2. Bro it really no harm please buy the said car immediately and hope we all can’t see toyota again in the top 3 sales figure in the second quarter MAA record. Please dont talk louder than action we need u to bring down the toyata sales figure and thanks in advanced.

Q3. Whoever in business field every decision making is based on the sales figure to proceed the next business grown assumption therefore Sales figure has been achieve by toyota is legend or magic? I really can’t provide the answer for u all so please help me to find out the answer especially those hammer toyota fans

At last i would like to emphasis again that i not a die hard toyota fans but i am the owner of toyota Altis current gen and vios J manual so i would like to share my experience with all of you.

Altis 1.8CC
    – Clock 160K mileage it has bad handling compare to civic but super comfort in highway as for now only normal service and the best thing is non of spare part is reporting faulty.

Vios J Manual
    – Clock 72K mileages super fuel safer and very decent pickup but replaced before air-con blower and both lower arm all covered by warranty thanks god. Sound proof in side the car cabin is bad.

Conclusion:
    1.Toyota is still a toyota is not a 100% free hassle car
    2.Is your choice to choose any car that suit u and please stop sarcastic words to commenting here
    3. Well Malaysian is very professional way that why we care about our country and we don’t influence by our brainless BN minister and BN supporter which always giving symptom down comment and excuses. Let hold hand together and kick the BN ass and make Malaysia free of world joke. Thanks

• consrito on Jun 25, 2012 at 2:21 pm

People who like to comment bad about Toyota is the person who don’t even drive a Toyota before!
      They only know how to study the spec sheet.

• sankee on Jul 11, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Nice one bro.. i bet some of the basher here may have even placed the bookings for the new vios.

• sarawakiana on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Do you have a brand you toyota?

• sarawakiana on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:22 pm

I mean do you have brand new toyota…

• beruk33 on Jun 24, 2012 at 12:42 am

go toyota! kick the korean junk out!

• kadajawi on Jun 24, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Still no updated Vios based on the “new” Yaris. That one has been launched a while ago, still they haven’t updated the sedan. Only one facelift after another.

• yunmay0223 on Jun 25, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Toyota always cheating consumer. The specification is the same with Proton saga only. With the price, we can get Fiesta, Forte, Elantra which is full of specs. Why those people will go for Vios? Drive a Forte/Elantra/Fiestta just like enjoy the luxury car in terms of specs, drive a Vios is like enjoy the journey with our national make SAGA! Nowaday the Toyota cars even lack of quality, not as good as 10 years ago, but people still trust in the history. My company 1 year buy an easily clost to 400-500 unit Toyota cars. That’s why I know how Toyota doing their business.

• doloh kg on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:06 pm

Vios is no-no for me…. because of the meter cluster at the centre… maybe it’s okay for Britney Spears…

• Expressway Toyota on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Some what a similar look is in this model.

• tupper on Jun 26, 2012 at 3:31 pm

dont they(T) even think what would the people say about this dumbest and ugliess looks when they keep tell the new looks now…but the fact is nothing!!!

• TOYQTA on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:27 am

My eyes!!! Oh My eyes!!!

• Newbie T on Aug 03, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Hi,
    True of friday,..today I am speak to this taukeh of sport RIM shop and asking about Vios, then he said what good choice… and suddenly I ask him about CITY, becoz I know him got CNew City, Caldina and Civiv, then he answer me “I am regret buying that City, becoz of noise of bottom of car body…now my car I asking my father to drive le….” I am very shock…. 2-3 times I ask him… betul ka tauke… then he said yalah very regret but that car….then he said if someone want to buy his caldina then he will buy camry…..

conclusion … those who said City is best car , this a few Question just I want to ask :

1:what car your drive now?
    2:If vios come with 5 speed, with new spec will trade ur car for it?
    ok that all….

now my confident on buying vios 110%

• I plan to get our P brand national car and plan to finish my loan in 5 yrs… So at least this P brand must can tahan this short 5yrs… Then feel I stil can afford to get a vios j and settle the loan in 5 yrs too… Thus, I ordered a black one… Now, see all these negatives comments here, i feel im such a sooo naive guy, get a car that really not worth anything + so many people felt im dumb enought decide to choose this car…. :(

• Newbie T on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:55 pm

no la. Kjay…those guy really wanna see design and latest car only..some of them really say city/forte … but truly most the car accs shop owner saying vios is good choice ..Forte nowadays is the more popular same as korean drama in tv a.ka. korean fever season..dun listen what -ve about this car… they even buy or drive that car…experience then u should know better

• Newbie T, But the Noise from side passing by car sound so loud… Sad only on this issue.. Wondering which part of the window not fully seal… Ur vios act this way too? Let u listen additional “stereo&surround”? Other part stil satisfy…

• bretmot on Sep 16, 2012 at 1:14 pm

weh.. you guys buy proton la… it’s better for somebody have small amount of money but have high class taste. haha. i already buy gen 2 cps on 2010 and it better than vios dugong.

• Newbie T on Sep 19, 2012 at 10:25 am

Kjay.. not la..go back to toyota ask they to check..sometimes manufacture defect which i got on my aircond but replace FOC by toyota then , mybe becoz of nowadays J-type really demand… stereo , might be becoz of low spec j- and only 4 speaker provide (same as Pr**** Car, basic and SE type)… about stereo we can upgrade e.g add twitter …

• vincelou on Oct 08, 2012 at 6:42 am

Yes vios have old technology on vios. But do give a thought,middle income family or newly married couple who lives in a budget will get vios j compare to P brand, bcoz they find its a safe bet for 9 years loan. Not all malaysian are rich to afford vw or oher quality car.. in the end its individual needs and affordability..

• Ezuan Ruzi on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:52 am

the korean car all stupid look and also worst fc….this dugong still very good in fc.

• micheal lim on Nov 12, 2012 at 5:33 pm

UGLIEST CAR ON THE PLANET.

• Leslie on Nov 13, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Latest discount is 8K and RM500 for cash voucher for 1.5G Auto , 6.5 K n cash vouncher for 1.5E and 3K and cash voucher for 1.5J . Is the vious going for new model in 2013 . i think the chances r great.

• With all d pros n cons, really make me confused is it worth buying vios or not? Im planning 2 buy vios as my 2nd car….

• Can I actually choose a full spec Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo with a 5 speed M/T?

• bhullar on Mar 02, 2013 at 8:29 am

This is like giving an old lady a makeup to make her look young.