Proton S16 FLX – the update arrives in Australia

Some quick news about the Proton Saga in Australia. Two and a half years after its introduction there, the original S16 has been replaced in the Oz lineup by the current FLX version of the type. Available for the market are two 1.6 litre CamPro IAFM variants, the GX and GXR, each with manual and CVT transmission options.

A glance at the kit list says that while the higher-spec GXR doesn’t quite approach the levels offered by the 1.6 FLX SE (there are no leather seats or the 15-inch alloy design as found on the SE, the wheels on the Oz cars being the usual six-spoke unit), the Oz cars are well specified. For example, both models get driver and passenger airbags, ABS with EBD and pre-tensioner seatbelts as standard, a configuration that’s only to be found on the FLX SE locally.

Also, the Oz cars get an additional exterior shade, Solid Red (no idea if it’s any different than the SE’s Fire Red), in addition to the usual five colours on the variation list, which are Solid White, Tranquility Black, Genetic Silver, Blue Rock and Elegant Brown. Oz buyers will have to pay AUD$13,990 for the S16 GX Manual right up to AUD$16,990 for the GXR CVT, these being drive-away prices.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• abg ensem on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:31 pm

power giler kete ni..nk bli satu la

• PPKia on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:03 pm

Agree! Better than Dugong and City.
      Way to go Proton. Hidup Proton!

• Littlebear on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:23 am

Glad you can drive a PROTON for the rest of your life bro ;) I am happy for you :)

• Prismo on Jun 23, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Mrs Little bear, some peoples cannot afford even an used kancil. we should thankful what we got for

• ProudMalaysian on Jun 23, 2012 at 2:35 pm

It is because the government is controlling every opportunities in this country.Do u think with proton quality it would cost that much? A proton sold in this country is way over priced. That is why many are still stuck with proton because it dominates the cheaper automotive selection whereas other Japanese made cars should be priced cheaper. I wonder why so many are still blinded by these simple facts. Ignorant as always.

• But u ignore that u get petrol sub, sugar sub, rice sub, cooking oil, flour sub, gas sub, RM1-5 for out patient treatment, free water(selangor), free electricity(depends), free internet(some area), traffic summon can get discount (depends), almost free public edu..i challenge u to find other than bolehland that have cheap car and have all those i mention…..by logic we can get cheap car by stop some or all those i mention

• b sensible on Jun 23, 2012 at 11:06 pm

proudmalaysia think we enjoy subsidies in substitute for costly car…but shd we say the other way we buy “cheaper” car in substitute for superior quality. anyway…is that what we the consumers ask for?

• niceone on Jun 25, 2012 at 1:18 am

ProudMalaysian, don’t blame the gov for your own shortcomings. the gov can abolish the car tax and you still can’t afford a bmw either. so stop whining and work your ass off.

as bill gates once said; Life is unfair, get used to it!

• Littlebear on Jun 25, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Prismo, what is wrong when I gave a little encouragement for the car he like? I didn’t condemn PROTON or what so ever.

See, isn’t it obvious that in your heart, you knew that PROTON do produce sub standard vechicle… That is why you replied me with the prior statement :)

• Can sell?

• Johnson on Jun 23, 2012 at 7:15 pm

prismo…
      the bottom line is if you buy proton you support mahathir…if you support mahathir you support UMNO & BN…but those idiots driving better posh cars.shame on you idiotic proton owners..nothing to be proud of owning crappy proton every design looks like mahathirs face.

• Prismo on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:17 pm

I’m idiot..? if u r driving a toyotas, u can live with that “reduced value” asset. I’m idiot to drive cheap Waja just because i’m more to collecting “increases value” assets like a house and land. I’m not willing spend more on a car because i know i dont have a wealth just like Tun Mathathir. Shame on u support kaki liwat, kaki pelacur like anwar.

• theanswer on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:37 pm

watch ur words keyboard warrior ;)

• cloudye on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Mr Johnson,

Its not nice to say those people who bought proton an idiot. Think before you talk. Some people prefer proton because they can do lots of thing with extra money they have rather than paying large amount of money to the bank every month.

If you are rich, so what? go get something else. You are just afraid of what is your friend think about you, period. You’ll be miserable for sure, or to be precise an idiot.

• jaka sembung on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:11 am

Mr Johnson,
        proton preve priced at 73k is giving VSC safety system & CVT tranny as standard features

while camry2.5 version 2012(premium) priced at 180k dont have these both,still using outdated 4AT,even older camry got VSC

whats wrong with UMW nowadays???too much trader profit!!!

pity those idiot camry 2012 owners hehehe

• really?..how much proton gave you for this comment?

• This Aussie FLX fitted with ESC as standard for GX and GXR.

http://www.proton.com.au/s16/specifications

• tiadaid on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Because AU govt made it a mandatory item, whereas Malaysian govt…need I say more?

But as an owner of the FLX SE, I have no complaints so far.

• theanswer on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:14 am

of course no complain. do u think rm92k vios owner will complain that their cars are overpriced? heheheh

• Nakal on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:19 am

bye bye malaysia

• MyDear on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Wonder why u forgot to mention ESC.. Sensativity to malaysian buyer?

• yuhuu on Jun 23, 2012 at 3:41 am

what is ESC?? Escape button?? ehehhehehe.. sorry for trolling..

• Patriot on Jun 23, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Too sensitive to be reminded, once again, it’s so called proton marketing strategy towards different country…pay more not equal to better specs.

• jaka sembung on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:14 am

ESC/VSC included in proton preve premium 73k,also with CVT 7speed

camry premium version priced at 180k dont have VSC,even stil using outdated 4AT

poor those idiot camry 2012 owners,kehkehkeh

• hahaa lots of pple will complain cos proton doesnt make the 1.6manual for local market xD. 1.6flxse comes only in cvt aite?

• jay8393 on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:39 pm

Yup. Our market’s 1.6 only comes with CVT.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jun 23, 2012 at 12:03 am

Manual car will soon be hari ini dalam sejarah, JPJ is going to implement auto licence soon, by next year expect 99% would opt for the easier to pass auto license, that would eventually made manual car thing of the past.

• Alpha on Jun 23, 2012 at 12:33 am

Manual cars will never die.There’s a lot,and I mean,A LOT of manual cars enthusiasts out there.Manual means more control over the car.A lot of people do prefer to buy an automatics,but many will get a manual car as a 2nd car for weekend drives and such.

• lonelyobserve on Jun 23, 2012 at 3:38 pm

Not only car enthusiasts. Commercial vehicles still majority in manual tranmission. If manual transmission cars to be in history, then you better Europeans to give up manual transmission cars, as they prefer manual transmission for driving pleasure and carsconsume less fuel than automatic tranmission (which includes dual-clutch transmission and CVT).

• cloudye on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:49 pm

kids…

• ahmadjohnson on Jun 23, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Yeah, Proton Malaysia not going to sell 1.6 manual for the moment, probably because of low demand of high spec manual in here. BUT, I believe if it’s sell here in Malaysia, the sales of Saga 1.6 manual is going to be more than 10 times than in Australia.

• well, lets see what caradvice.com.au will talk about…

• junaidi on Jun 23, 2012 at 1:17 pm

hmmm the reply buttons on my browser don’t seem to be aligned properly.
      Anyway, while its true there are thousands of car enthusiasts out there who prefer manual rides, sometimes the manufacturer will assess if its worth it to come up with the manual option. Take the saga or myvi for example. These are cars generally bought by those who just started work and are unlikely to be taking the car out as weekend cars. So if the main demographic are those who want a car from A to B only, might make more sense to just make it auto.

• sudonano on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:18 pm

There is also ESC on all of the models… Malaysia? http://www.proton.com.au/s16/specifications

• Mienzz92 on Jun 22, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Proton cars are always associated with the olders buyer in ‘mat saleh’ country except the Satria Neo

• if i’m not mistaken, their model got blower for the feet right?

• Johnson on Jun 23, 2012 at 7:17 pm

if I am also not mistaken…this saga was named proton mahathir

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Jun 25, 2012 at 12:23 am

Well, the one called p.m. is priced RM 52K with m logo/signature in it. Limited 25 unit only BUT NOBODY buy’s it. What a waste… 1.3 Cream Leather Seat with only 4 speed auto tranny..:-)

• Sam Loo on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Would love to see the crash test video on this Pentan Sagua

• Am I.. on Jun 23, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Here.. watch this.. heheh

• 3 star ANCAP

• Mr. Sam loo, let me tell you my story. A short one. There was an accident which involved more than 10 cars piling up some time back in April 2012 along the Cheras – Kajang highway, right in front of the newly opened Giant. I was driving one of the cars involved & my car was sandwiched in between cars.
      I survived without a scratch. I’m driving a Proton Saga FLX. The car did well with the huge impact as it supposed to be. The front and back of the cars absorbs the impact very well. Of course I had the seatbelt on. And this accident is due to a stupid and arrogant Alphard driver speeding way over the speed limit (unfortunately, this is how most drivers with big cars do). To tell you the truth, I prefer this Saga handling than a vios toyota BLM and Altis. And it did save my life in that accident. Other people might not be that lucky. But, i dont have any reservation in recommending a Saga (or perhaps a Preve) to anyone. Just give it a try. You got nothing to lose. Unless you being too proud to drive a Proton.

Just a gentle note: We have a Wish 2.0, Altis 1.8, Altis 1.6, Vios 1.5 and Saga FLX at home. But I still prefer to drive the Saga Flx around. Soon i’m getting a Preve to replace the saga.

Just give it a try!

• welcome to 2002 proton..hahahaha..
    http://www.caradvice.com.au/177641/proton-s16-flx-update-brings-basic-safety-features-fresh-styling/
    with such interior and exterior design,even many chinese cars design is better..

• Sgt Scoop on Jun 23, 2012 at 12:29 am

“The S16 is Proton Australia’s most popular passenger car, although sales of the light sedan have fallen 45 per cent so far this year, down from 229 units to just 127.”

I’d imagine it’s hard for Proton to make a profit in Australia on the sales of just 127 units.

• If 229 units is their highest selling car, then the other models are even lower. This do not make economic sense at all!!! Can they even cover shop rental and salary? Why don’t Proton focus in countries where they can sell in the thousands?

• driver on Jun 23, 2012 at 2:03 am

what’s d point bro? why do u only quote the negative feedback? sigh!

• theanswer on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:15 am

if its a true story why not. he’s only trying to be concern. its our lovely local car.

• izzat on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:53 pm

AUD 16,990.00 = MYR 54,469.03..ehmmm..ok..ya lor..they get manual..unfair! =D

• thebosssedangbercakap on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:05 pm

why would they buy this saga when they can afford better car there…lol.

• This is old news. The S16 FLX ”arrived” a few weeks ago in Australia. Anyway, Proton’s real hopes and money is on the Preve, TBA September 2012 in Australia.

• Hope the aussie purchase many of these.. So proton profit may increase.. R&d will have fund..may even increase the quality of their future cars

• George on Jun 23, 2012 at 12:08 am

OUCH! Proton is being bashed by Australians here. Proton needs to take criticisms well and improve then.
    http://www.caradvice.com.au/177641/proton-s16-flx-update-brings-basic-safety-features-fresh-styling/

• Justwanna on Jun 23, 2012 at 12:57 am

most of comments just look like Malaysian typical english rather than Austrialian…Nice try Proton Basher…mehh…

• izzat on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:09 pm

yeah..those are Malaysian..their broken English make them kantoi..nice try basher =D

• either Oz’s or traitor Malaysian in Australia.

• kissme on Jun 23, 2012 at 2:11 am

How to compete in Aussieland when
    Lancer is going for AU21,888 drive away
    with 5 year warranty and 10 year powertrain warranty.
    Mazda3 @ AU21,490 and Ford Fiesta @ AU16,790

• keretahitam on Jun 23, 2012 at 2:27 am

Australian use the BLM Proton.So proud Malaysian product still the best.

• Johnson on Jun 23, 2012 at 7:20 pm

I also proud of you supporting proton.the more y ou support the more money given to UMNO and BN so that they can drive better cars and send their stupid rich children to USA to study while your kids in local goverment school and become more stupid the day proton close shop that will be the day all car lovers get their independence I am still in doubt if independence was ever achieved as the mahahir always talked about melayu this and melayu that

• izzat on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:10 pm

no politic here la kawan..shooo…shooo main jauh-jauh..

• zidane on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:52 pm

and you keep talking about mahathir… go play somewhere else la…

• stupid politician are not welcome here..pi main jejauh!

• brainless.. childish.. outdated.

• Johnson on Jul 08, 2012 at 3:49 pm

if you all fees sad that I am always talking about mahathir well try to rewind back to 25 years ago….if proton was not invented to feed those lazy poor bumis then you and many other malaysians will enjoy luxury cars at cheaper price.every one know BN/UMNO and mahathir protected proton for years even though crappy car but still sold at very high price just to feed those cronies of mahathir.does anyone knows mahathir and rafidah aziz screwed up big time the automotive industry in MALAYSIA?Before commenting your rubbish talks on you know cars better….get to know the histroty of automobile industry in you home land first.its because of proton and mahathir that many malaysians are deprived of owning quality luxury cars.chinaman and indiaman buy proton to support those lazy bumis and they get 7% buying house discount and they also buy better house and better car and able to educate their kids to better university overseas.while you stupid idiots saying that I should play jauh jauh get your histroy right then talk.automotive industry in malaysia is onloy to talk about..can you just go out and buy a VW?with your crappy sallary you can buy only proton..

• alldisc on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:01 am

2 models that were popular in down south – the Satria GTI and Arena (called Jumbuck, or something like that).

i thing to note though – austalia is full of foreigners – even malaysians who studied and worked there.

• admit it. for m’sian, it is a good car and value for money.

the body is stiff enough, ground clearance is quite high, aircond blower is meant for this country, design is not that bad, big load, and doesn’t drink too much gas.

you have to pay more if they change their badge for something else (lets say pola vw).

• Anti turbo on Jun 23, 2012 at 7:44 am

All the while i was in Australia for holidays, i saw at quite a few cars “thousand or ten of thousand”. I never saw SAGA… saw one tiny Proton show room. Saw one Savy on the road, thats all. They have so many choices to make, Mazda 3, Accord Euro, Yaris, Audi is common too..

• izzat on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Which part of Australia you go?..do you discover all 7,617,930 km2?.. I’ve been there and I saw a few of it..

• Anti turbo on Jun 25, 2012 at 7:56 am

I cover most of Victoris State… just state what’s in my mind… a “few”..like dozens or hundreds or thousands???

• cloudye on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Great, another bum who got nothing better to do. Your’re on your holiday, what for you look out for Proton cars? go and enjoy Australia scenery la.*rolling eyes

• Anti turbo on Jun 25, 2012 at 7:58 am

dude, the last time i checked, its a democratic country..i just state my opinion, i am a car lover, cant i enjoy looking at those lovely cars on the way to the scenic point??? ROLLING AND POOPING EYES…. chew

• RedBeanBun on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:32 am

that is head to head with i20, or Corolla at $20K. so how what is $4K for Aussie? 1 month salary?

Protong is for pension in Aussie.

• albag on Jun 23, 2012 at 9:41 am

typical proton selling good spec in foreign countries… ptuih!

• Suppaheero on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:01 am

Dear proton, if u improve this saga ergonomic and noise insulation, it’ll much much farther.

• Proton is always like tat. Selling good spec in overseas while we rakyat who try to give chances to proton always get the shit loads.. Enough is enough… No more proton.

• Prismo on Jun 23, 2012 at 12:20 pm

willing to pay more? u’ll get everything in highest spec Preve.. is that was good enough?

• Johnson on Jun 23, 2012 at 7:22 pm

why pay more? excessive tax is imposed so that this bloody BN and UMNO can have lavish lifestyle
        proton is a crappy car…preve is the worst…looks like coconut scraper you love proton you love mahathir and go ahead and make those idiots in BN richer…

• hway de Cruz on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:47 am

much said n bashed about… if proton care to take the criticism positively, further improve on their materials source, add in ev modes etc, chances r they can grab some overseas sales. but dun wait too long… the koreans r moving very fast, afterall in the global market, speed n techs do go hand in hand

• zaneras on Jun 23, 2012 at 11:00 am

Australia proton Great; Malaysia proton lousy Blekkkk..

• suba suba on Jun 23, 2012 at 11:05 am

australia keta dia wajib ada esc…naper kerajaan tak wajibkan esc dalam sumer kete yer ???

• MoFaz on Jun 23, 2012 at 11:57 am

sebab nanti toyota vios takbleh jual di Malaysia sebab takde ESC

• policeman on Jun 23, 2012 at 12:12 pm

They want Malaysians to crash.

When a crash happens the following parties benefit – insurance adjusters, workshops, tow truck operators, spare part dealers, private hospitals, undertakers, lawyers, bribe taking policemen.

The ones that suffer – road users, insurance companies, owner/driver.

• And who’s fault is that? You, the driver. The vehicles don’t have brains, you DO. Pay attention when you’re driving..

Accidents do happens but you can change that even without 6 stars safety features.

• asia’s answer to bmw

• the best selling car for proton in AU is the jumbuck (arena). Even that has been taken off the market for being too dangerous and lacking in safety.

I hardly see any protons on AU roads, and I’ve never seen used car dealers having proton in their yards. I’ve seen the occasional wira/persona but only driven by people who don’t look like they can afford anything else.

Just proves that on a level playing field, proton is dust.

• prolever on Jun 24, 2012 at 3:54 pm

paul,

i think u forgot something. ESP also standrd in oz saga flx

• Kalun on Jun 24, 2012 at 6:20 pm

That variant is cheaper in Australia than in Malaysia. Cost around RM 43500 and well spec compare to our RM 43000 manual saga here in Malaysia.

Plus, it has to compete with other cheaper brand like Peuguot, Toyota Vios, Honda, Ford Fiesta and Kia. All in the price range of RM 50000

• My sister’s 1.3 FLX bought last year have CVT 6 gears, two air bags, ABS, EDB and pretensioner, radio CD with USB, AUX and MP3, with sports rim except no leather seats and sport lights similar to SE 1.6 version.

• biskut on Jun 25, 2012 at 8:25 am

Proton should go for hatchback version Saga though hatchback is the most popular town car in Aust. then merge rebranding with holden..only then can sell with less marketing cost…

Most of european cars are sell as Holden in Aust.

• Pervert on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:43 am

I don’t think Abor might even buy this junk. They are better off walking.

• pity proton owners backing their lousy car here…

• jaka sembung on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:45 pm

pity also to those owner of overpriced camry2.5 2012 that dont even have VSC & stil using outdated 4AT

all toyota owners think their cars are God-mode wan,untouchable cars tat is

• Manual 1.6 Saga, heartbreak no available in Msia. That punch cvt sucks~

• Expensive Jap on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:56 pm

C’mon people, be honest to yourselves. Those that buy Proton are those who 1) can’t afford other cars and/or 2) no interest on cars (just for the sake of having a car. I used to own a Proton but it’s coz I just graduated last time and it’s tough even to own a cheapo Iswara. As a tool to travel from Point A to Point B, Proton is good enough but I’d never get another Proton as long as I’m not broke to the core (where I have no choice). And at RM50K, it’s already an overpriced piece of metal. Also, please don’t talk about petrol subsidy because we’re a petrol exporting nation, we’re not suppose to get subsidy on market rate in the first place. We’re suppose to get cost price.

• jaka sembung on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:47 pm

pity those buying new 2012 camry2.5(premium) which stil using 4AT & no VSC

toyota umw think malaysian life are cheaper

• johnson on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:27 am

To all those motor lovers who bashed me on my comments ok pls
    Look here nicely I bashed proton because I am victim of proton I owned 3 models of proton in the last 15 years not only they are sold hat high price even the maintenance and spare parts are expensive and this spare are divide into japan Taiwan and malaysia parts and also I bash up mahathir and his cronies plus BN and UMNO is duly because this ppl are the ones caused the automobile industry in malaysia go hare wire due to their crappy policies of protecting proton due to low quality and once mahathir was quoted saying proton was invented for poor Malaysians and if you see the pic picture proton was invented to feed certain group of people and make them rich and others have to buy crappy proton to fund their life style all this was mahathir vision bermegah dgn kereta nasional

• krs189 on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:39 pm

Pity the Australian

The GX does not have rear power window… at RM 51,239.76 with no power window?

• Alley Bubba on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Proton Australia also should give 1 million km warranty just like they did for Waja last time.
    http://news.drive.com.au/drive/new-car-reviews/missing-true-value-20100824-13n1r.html
    1 MILLION KM WARRANTY!

• Interesting news in The Star, what is the new Proton car? Is it the SUV???
    http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/6/29/business/11572360&sec=business