Chery Malaysia opens new 3S centre, launches Eastar ST – brand to expand country’s role as RHD hub

Chery Automobile Malaysia opened its largest 3S (sales, services, spare parts) showroom in Malaysia last Friday. The 110,000 sq ft facility, located in Section 13, Petaling Jaya, has 30 service bays and two car wash bays, and is able to accommodate up to 70 cars daily, with a wide variety of services ranging from night drop off service to an express servicing lane available.

The flagship outlet brings to a total 55 sales and service centres for the brand throughout the country. Apart from the new building, facilities and equipment, the brand has also invested in RM5 million worth of spare parts and 73,000 line items to meet growing demands.

The launch of the new facility also saw the introduction of the Eastar ST, essentially a kitted out version of the regular Eastar ES. New features include a new grille, LED running lights, a bodykit as well as some improvements to the interior material and trim. The vehicle, available only in a red exterior shade, goes for RM96,888 on-the-road.

Besides this, there was mention of the brand expanding on Malaysia’s role as its right-hand drive export hub. It is set to increase exports to Thailand, Indonesia, India, Sri Lanka as well as have Pakistan join the list of export countries once its new plant – being built at a cost of RM250 million – is completed by 2015.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sleepwalkerz on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Buy me and you can smell RM2 shop everytime you enter into the car!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Shinn on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Waah…the LED really looks like its done by after market shop…

• wah… good news

• NORIKO on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:59 pm

very very good car

• purplish DRL?..seriously?..

• Black Dog on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:03 pm

The LED lights really looks ugly, like it’s an after-market add on

• PetrolLeg on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:09 pm

If you have to put something on a car, better not do so half hearted, those DRL is like someone who is deprived of having them and decide to remove the headlamp cover and install sendiri.

• Ongtk on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Every car manufacturer had caught the the daytime running lights syndrome from the pioneer Audi on its A4. But some does it elegantly while others such as the Chery Eastar ST makes theirs look so ridiculous.

• The Enthusiast on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Oh my! Those LED running lights look… cheap. Like those Christmas deco lights.

• That making 6 car maker produce car in Malaysia…proton,perodua, vw, pug, subaru n cherry…..not bad rite

• nice cheapo LEDs there

• Lim Kopi on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:25 pm

Cinaman selling China products :)

• M. D. A on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Another Audi cheapskate wannabe…

• jay8393 on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:42 pm

I’m not entirely convinced by those LEDs, but the grille is indeed very nice! Suits the car very much.

• rozanne on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:44 pm

They say Proton Exora is the best, it can even defeated Toyota Alphard..haha..

• miaomiao on Jun 25, 2012 at 7:02 pm

fugly… those China Chinese really need to hire good designers.

• KillBox1Alpha on Jun 25, 2012 at 7:53 pm

That DRL looks real cheap!

• JustSaying on Jun 25, 2012 at 8:35 pm

Keep supporting China things…mehh… no wonder “Malaysian Auto” are more “advance”…Rather than this better take Proton Exora Bold…

• guyver on Jun 25, 2012 at 8:54 pm

i wonder if the guy in the pic designed this car….

• syntium5000 on Jun 25, 2012 at 11:22 pm

well…audi-ish center chrome style..with LED/DRL/wat ever its call….so lame……… and yeah..the red color suit wth their brand name CHERY..buah ceri merah maa…

• albag on Jun 26, 2012 at 7:58 am

cheap china car with cheap DRL haha… u pay peanuts u get monkey…

• No Name = No Reputation

• ahmadfaris93 on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:52 am

That is one gay ass LED . Typical cheap Chinese quality

• seriousdude on Jun 26, 2012 at 9:13 am

more and more car want the big grille design

• cap ayam s40 wagon second generation.

• Wat the fuck?! What kind if LED was tat? Look so ah beng. Typical ah beng car.

• soundfishy on Jun 26, 2012 at 10:33 am

the LED reminds me that hari raya is just around the corner

• Seriously considering replacing my Innova with Eastar Offers better ride, comfort, handling and gadgets. Just love the driving position and comfort of the back seat

• matlimmutu on Jun 26, 2012 at 1:15 pm

ugly. exora bold is much much better.

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jun 26, 2012 at 2:30 pm

Can Audi sue Chery for uglying the beauty of adopting LED headlight????I feel vomit when i look at the easter headlight, similar to accs shop cheap china pair of LED. suck!

• Wisdom on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Lost word to comment. Only can laugh. Hahahahaha.

• the only car you can buy from china is a toyyy car. seriously

• Eastar Mystic Black on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:54 am

Guy, I am driving one of this… frankly…the car was not too bad…Its ok for the price you pay… It suits the middle income earner like me, just like the Exora. It just that Chery need to improve after sales like the service centre and the sparepart supplies to convince customer. However, with this news, it makes us, the owner, feel better and shows that Chery listen to the customer feedback.

• sinoman on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:08 pm

laubeh ah beng aftermarket drl..
    China products suck!

• rezapeiro on Jun 30, 2012 at 12:26 pm

i kinda like all the comments.many stated they dislike the chinese invasion…i am still wondering why we like to comment up to the wall without being fair…perhaps commentors just like to agitate the invasion of china’s market in malaysia…like they had never played or own a chinese made toy before..the mentality of imported good from western are the best still controling our choice or am i just kidding ?

• rezapeiro on Jun 30, 2012 at 12:32 pm

still china is producing I-phone which they have a huge estate for the employee…then could we just ignore the fact that the broadband a name like zte is actually in many houses…stigma of chinese makes is lousy is just a faint voice…

• CheapCar on Jul 22, 2012 at 6:45 pm

China currently the world 2nd biggest economy, technology coming up, they sent taikonauts to space recently. Which country can sent? Even Malaysia single astronaut have to pay taxi fare to go up. A lot of countries afraid the giant company will be #1. Your house modem, tv, handphone, ipad, pc are all made in China. Proton need government protection to survive. This MPV can be easily sold for 50 or 60K if not compensate toll paid to AP. If not cheaply made in China, you can’t enjoy the common modernity you have now. People use to laugh at Japanese & Koreans car…

• siberblue on Jul 30, 2012 at 11:04 am

Your huawei modem and your acer laptop are also made in china maaa,why so skeptical. If u have more money then u buy wish,stream or alphard la,not everyone rich like you all.

• GREY EASTAR on Sep 13, 2012 at 2:03 pm

ya lo… why u all so LOL about this eastar maa… economic MPV for middle income. Exora just 1.6 compared to eastar 2.0 – Handling fuel speed brake Performance – Fuel Consumption

• exorian on Oct 16, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Better than exora? hahahhaa
      Exora cfe have more fuel efficiency rather than 2.0 cherry. For handling, exora have lotus techno which u should try it by ur self. perforamance??? Turbo VS typical 2.0 china engine..try it n you know it. space?? exora of course. anyway..test drive before make that comment…

• Edward Hammond on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:54 pm

go malaysia! but remember chery is a built in malaysia too, pekan and johor factory. we learn from each other, both have their upside and downside. Turbo VS is only a ‘soft’ turbo and not full turbo in a sense. normally putting a turbo charged in an engine lower than 2.5 c.c is harmful in the long term. Tell me do you really need to go faster than 160 km/h NORMALLY WHILE CARRYING YOUR FAMILY on a highway?

• Chery A lot problem,so think twice Workmanship out.

• Md.Nor on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Nothing is perfect…
    all the technologies and the brand got pro and cont… if u like, u buy and used, if u don’t like don’t blame just give ur comment what’s need to improve…
    For the Chery with the price of below 100k
    u get …
    -British Lotus tuning suspension.
    -breaking system with ABS + EBD supplied by Bosch.
    -Chasis supplied by Mitsubishi Grandis.
    -ACTECO(AVL CHERY TECH. CORP)Engine is a continential Engine developed by AVL from Austria.
    and a lot more feature wich is we don’t expect from china Brand…
    more comment from people who don’t used chery…
    personally i used my Chery almost 5 years… still in good condition …
    I’m car dealer selling all brands and models… 017-2824669

• Med pang on Oct 18, 2012 at 3:57 pm

Must not buy this car..
    Extremely poor quality. Extremely low second hand valued. Super extremely unsatisfied every few month problems came and come for non stop. Eg. Gear box then suspension broke then radiator then auto cruise then change gear box then gear box change but still problems, then alarm system problems then power windows then Buber motor gone, then some accessories missing and somany need few day to list up. To the Malaysian don’t buy this car not even consider or look at this car.. If buy let buy local Malaysia car is really better than chery. Not take this advice will regrets and loss at lot of money…tq

• dare to comment on Oct 31, 2012 at 3:35 pm

I think you got a bad luck or your self got problem.
      what we call is USER PROBLEM ….. :)

• ah beng on Nov 07, 2012 at 5:10 pm

well many things now are now from china what? even go massage in puchong also got another ‘cherry’ from china.. now car also from china ma.. why afraid? this is cheap car..except for our tax not cheap..

• Alan Winel on Dec 07, 2012 at 6:34 pm

The Chery Cars are actually not bad. Sure they are not Mercedes or BMW quality but you are not paying thoses prices or giving half in taxes. The problem is the Local Malaysian Customer service for Chery which is lousy, completely incompetant and useless. That is reason enough for not buying this brand!

• kenny tan on May 30, 2013 at 12:05 pm

12-4-2013 , i very happy to buy the new car from your company cherry malaysia penang bayan baru branch . the car is really nice and i like it so much . because is totally like toyota wish . but the price is cheeper half in malaysia . quality also not bad then toyota wish . and the saleman service is very good for it . because all my car is send back to original service center . never give out side service before . because i believe all the service center can save my car like new .
    register number : PLB 2266 the new cherry easter 2.0 red color . RM 80 000.00 malaysia .
    3-5-2013 , i drive over 1000km . send to your service center service . and told the person antony . 1 the front lamp got problem with the led are broke . 2 the air corn have problem . the car engine got sound like f1 sport car .
    another say the engine have sound is the front type support got problem . i must put the car there 3 week or 1 month . they will operation the car after take the part send to kl . still can claim . i ask that is new car i buy from your company . he show me got many car there . told me you see . all the car is waiting the part . that time i have regret but this car . got no chooice i call the antony help me to settle the air corn first . he told me next time service still do for me . maybe i came is too later . they want go back home . that i can understand .
    29-5-2013 the car is totally like a 10 year lori sound . my friend ask is it i buy the new F1 car . i dont know i need to she or your company . morning 10.30am i call the service center ask . operater say will help me check . until afternoon 4.15pm he call back . say in the computer not have any record . call me to send the car go to service center tomorrow .
    30-5-2013 morning 9.15AM i call malaysia penang bayan baru branch MR LIM again . yesterday i call the service center they say not record in computer . and the car is very bad now . need to send to hospital operation . call him find a person to take the car help me send to service center . he told me you must call your bank insurance take the car to service center .

1 , WHY THE RULE OF CHERRY NEED TO PUT THE CAR THERE . AFTER STILL CAN ORDER THE PART ?
    2 , CAN I ASK IS IT I BUY THIS CHERRY EASTER 2.0 IS A NEW CAR ?
    3 , IF I DRIVE THE CAR HAVE ANY HAPPEN . MY LIFE IS ONLY RM 80 000.00 ?
    4 , IF YOUR SERVICE CENTER REALLY SO BUSY . PLEASE KINDLY HELP ME ASK I RETURN THE CAR HOW MUCH YOU CAN TAKE IT . BECAUSE I MUST SAVE MY LIFE FIRST . SINCE THE SERVICE AND THE NEW CAR HAVE SO MUCH OF THE PROBLEM . AND PLEASE USE YOUR COMPANY GIVE ME A LETTER . WHY I NEED TO RETURN THE CAR .

MR LIM JUST NOW HAVE PROMISE WILL SEND THE SALEMAN CAME TO TAKE MY CAR . BUT NOW IS 10.45AM NOW . MY OFFICE GO TO YOUR BRANCH IS NOT OVER 3KM .

THE PHONE OF MR LIM : 012-4296802
    ANTONY : 012-4726645
    PLEASE KINDLY LET ME KNOW . CAN I STILL DRIVE THE CAR ? I GOT 5 WORKER NEED TO SEND OFFICE WORKING EVERY DAY . WE ARE SAVE IN THE CHERRY EASTER 2.0 ? IF GOT ANY HAPPEN , HOW TO WE DO ? OR WE TAKE THE BICYCLE TO WORKING MORE SAVE ?

• Suzuki on May 31, 2013 at 9:32 pm

I really don’t like the DRL.

Hope Chery will learn to design a better design of DRL. It will be nicer.

• haloo, how much u pay then how good quality u have, if those poor family choose chery eastar, then pls don blame on chery eastar u should blame ur pocket or ur low educated makes u poor enough to meet chery but not toyota alphard or vellfire. compare it when u buy a RM2 pen to a RM30 pen, tats the different that low educated person cant THINK.