Honda CR-Z now with CVT, priced at RM119k OTR

If you’re stick-shift-impaired and still want to feel the spunky driving dynamics of the CR-Z, then I have great news for you. Honda has just announced the release of the CR-Z with CVT transmission.

Everything else you knew about the CR-Z is still the same except for its transmission. You may want to refresh your memory to what it has here. But replacing the manual shifter does not mean that you can’t manually shift the gears. The CVT gives you seven pseudo-ratios to play with via the steering-mounted paddle shifters.

I’ve driven the CR-Z with CVT way back then. Handling was superb, held itself well through the sinewy route on one of Japan’s mountains. The power might have felt wanting but the gears banged on easy. However, it is still a CVT so the summoning of power is not as quick as the manual. Obviously.

Honda is asking RM119,000 on-the-road for one, which is dearer than the six-speed manual by RM4,000. The car comes with the usual three-year/100,000 km warranty where as the battery gets a five-year/140,000 km warranty.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• benedict on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:17 pm

mahal man..rip off..CVT 4k more..come on la honda dont think we stupid..but then again the car is complete..if got money i sure buy wan..

• no money don complain, go buy myvi EXTREME

• MyChoice on Jun 25, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Honda interior quality sucks. Everything is so very PLASTICKY….I just came from an INSIGHT. Sad to say not any better than a Persona.Sure its a Proton blah blah blah…But its half the price

• Lemonguy on Jun 26, 2012 at 11:14 am

Insight compare to persona??

• Wisdom on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Persona is the bestest car. Eww.

• Auto transmission for life ! easy shift and easy drive !

• polaris on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:02 pm

My sister in law just bought a hybrid jazz, her biggest complain is that on a slopy road (going uphill), if you stop for some time, example in a traffic jam or such. The car will move backwards, because the engine cuts off when the brake pedal is pressed. Just to warn future buyers to beware of this problem before making a decision, Honda should know about this problem but I don’t think they will tell prospective buyer. I hope there is a sensor that mesaures the level of a car, Honda can simply modify the firmware to disable the start/stop function when the car is in a slope.

• Ash Menon on Jun 27, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Polaris –> that’s not really a defect, it’s a trait of all Honda CVTs. My sister’s City also has the same issue.

• Replyfor polaris on Jun 28, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Just step on the brake harder when coming to a stop on a slope to activate hill start assist. that should hold the car when you release the brake and step on the accelerator.

I must admit that, they should train their sales exec better in teaching the buyer on such techniques or create an easier system to hold the car. Not an issue for me so far.

• Wisdom on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:26 pm

HONDA MALAYSIA PLEASE REVISE YOUR SERVICE INTERVAL FROM 5K km TO 10K km.

We know your game.

• oillyman on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:56 pm

5k is for mineral oil. 10k is for fully synthetic oil. If want 10k service interval, just switch to fully synthetic oil.

• Watanabe on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:33 am

Are you sure if change to fully synthetic oil don’t have to come again to SC after 5k mileage? Even using 10k synthetic oil, after 5k km still need to go to SC to avoid warranty.

• oillyman,

u stil have to go back after 5k km even with fully sync.. i’ve been using fully for my city and all SC still advice me go back after 5k

• now you know honda is going to be like toyota. Anyway honda fans who said the cvt is not going to be used anymore after previous version of city eat their words again lol

• koochai on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:25 pm

4k premium seems a bargain for a bit of conveniences…

• vertigo on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:25 pm

the cvt stick shift is…..fugly

• Eh Zhan on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Finally !! I been waiting for this! CVT very nice! price also no problem!

• benedict on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:48 pm

why u cant drive manual ar bro waiting for this..ahahahahahha..no angry la k..i joking only bro..

• UseMan HeLyMe on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:46 pm

i think he’s buying for his wife ( which also situation i’m in :p )

• So what’s the major “improvements” between the CRZ and the Honda Insight or Honda Jazz Hybrid to justify a RM20,000 increase?

The only thing I see is less two doors and less interior space. Funny how many people will throw away RM20,000 easily just because a car LOOK sporty. Emphasis on “LOOK” sporty.

Malaysian are so easily conned of their hard-earned money. No wonder despite tax-exemption and still highly priced, these kind of cars can still sell.

• Wisdom on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:24 pm

You’re the one not easily conned. Price a car by the number of doors. Clever!

• axworld on Jul 01, 2012 at 2:11 pm

its what you called PASSION. u don’t like it, other people will~

• Saab 93 - Hirsch Tuned on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:31 pm

GB can tahan if installed HKS super-charger kits?

i doubt it can take

• laserfx on Jun 25, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Just get the MANUAL then. Slap in every chargers you want. Why talk about power with the CVT.

Yeah right. I doubt you know anything about car tuning.

• relik on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:43 pm

even proton can use cvt with turbocharger, why not honda? Booooooooo!

• nazis on Oct 04, 2012 at 11:58 pm

this car max torque+motor assist come at 1000+rpm..its better then proton turbo car. its light and sporty. just try to catch up angry crz on hiway with my preve+S Mode. u know what,pickup preve eat dust compare to this crz.

• maxxlr8 on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:48 am

If you want to slap on whatever-chargers, then a hybrid is not suitable. maybe toyota 86? or the subaru equivalent…

• sleepwalkerz on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:34 pm

i want one!!

• JeremyNg on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:39 pm

If you have one of the best 6speed manual box in it class why buy CVT ??!! Honda produce one of the best manual box in the world

• theanswer on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:19 pm

with nice design..plus cvt..maybe they target women driver?

• bobdbilder on Jun 26, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Its for the economics impaired. Its for people who cannot even think about calculating compound interest against return on fuel savings. Let alone delve into the intricate details of why manuals are still more fuel efficient than any automatic. It makes a statement that you hug trees, but want a comfortable lifestyle and you make lots of money. A statement of course. Well yes…er.

Does not say anything about you being very bright though.

• bennyw on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Why not 5 years warranty, like the newly launch FL City? No freebies for normal maintenance service? 10,000km service interval?? Honda Malaysia sure know how to fleece their customer!

• confused on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:49 pm

CR-Z: Now available for sissy!

• benguin on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:50 pm

veerryyyy naaiiissssss…me like..me going get one red color..

• kerelbort on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:59 pm

HONDA!! please!!! 10k service interval at least!!

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jun 25, 2012 at 3:59 pm

This would put heavy pressure on how much a Veloster cost with the same engine as a Forte.
    Poor Veloster DOA.

• Black Dog on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:02 pm

This is the only desirable Honda…

• yellow on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:19 pm

no honda is desirable like now, it’s overpriced like toyota

• How come Honda City comes with full 5-years warranty but this car which cost so much more is still with 3-years warranty and only limited 5-years warranty for the battery?

Malaysian are not fools!

• ProudMalaysian on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:23 pm

man.. any fool will buy this car. even with that extra budget.. do u think they will opt for this range? RM120k for a 1.5l hybrid 2 seater, only those “lala” will buy this car. And why honda is promoting this car as fuel efficient and environmental friendly whereas the emission is same like any other 1.5l engine cars. cheap plastic quality and flimsy doors. Looks how many ridiculous modification done to this car the moment it gets on those buyer’s hands. Then dont promote is as an environmental friendly car and place them along side with the honda jazz and honda insight and claiming them too can save the world. Non sense from Honda getting more and more.. Honda has lost its passion in building good cars for their general consumers.

• snare on Jun 25, 2012 at 5:40 pm

Soo..what car do U own? Must be smart to own what U own, right? Must be perfect, right? Expensive plastic quality, solid rock doors, no modifications needed, built with passion, and so on, right? So what car is it? I would love to be as smart as U.

Whatever floats your boat bro..whatever..

• ProudMalaysian on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:18 pm

And i personally think paultan readers are just typical car enthusiast that got no buying power and only dreamt of luxury brand logos and mainstream car makers. People who opt for good quality, reliability, and practical car wont go for this non crz. This car is only for those spoiled brat rich dad’s child that cries and beg to own this car just to show off. I seriously hope honda is taking their stand on environmentally friendly and low emission car firmly. They promote their hybrid cars as those it can be compatible with Toyota’s hybrid technology but the truth is they are still so far behind. honda is such a laughing stock just because they want to compete with toyota. Look at the price range of their Jazz, insight and crz. Totally up side down. Crz buyers doesnt care about the environment same goes to Honda. It is a shame to put the hybrid emblem on this car.

• disgruntled on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Honda’s approach to the hybrid system is totally different when compared to the Prius. how can you even compare them both? and its a shame to put the hybrid emblem on this car? what about BMW’s EfficientDynamics? or Porsche’s Cayenne Hybrid? OR if you are such a Toyota fan, what about their own 3.5L hybrid engine? Do these models deserve to have a hybrid badge on them? such big cc cars, but with an addition or an electric motor doesn’t make these cars save trees. It is to provide instantaneous torque for the low-end acceleration of the car. Coincidentally, the CRZ was designed for this reason, not to save trees.

So please, do your research about the crz before you insult the car for not being green and having low emissions.

• bigbug on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:23 pm

people buy this car because of the tax reduction of hybrid car.. not for environmental friendly. the price is almost the same in japan. nobody is using the econ mode in this car. cheers man!!

• ShamedMalaysian on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Before I start, maybe some background, I’m a manager in a MNC company (O&G), coupled with my other businesses I could say I easily hit > 250k annual income.

The above probably give you some comfort that not all ppl that read paultan are “poor” ppl.Most likely most ppl read paultan bcoz it is interesting and/or they are bored rather than poor.

Again, I’ve a Cr-z, I also have Golf R and a E46. I love good cars, and my definition of good definitely differs from your definition. I hope you are prepared to stand corrected. Ppl buy car/things for various reasons, practical? fun? speed? reliability? Cr-z it’s more of a fun car, good fuel consumption during abused driving. No doubt it’s not the best eco-friendly car, but from my perspective, it looks good so it can sell, paying 115k for a car like this is a great deal. In my humble opinion, toyota looks bad, old and bored, but that’s me. It takes 8 years of careful driving just to save up the cost of buying a new battery, is it eco-friendly? I’ve no idea, but I know it would be expensive to maintain down the road.

Don’t get me wrong, my uncle drives a prius. I do not condemn his car every time I see it purely because I understand the meaning of “respect”. He love it so I respect his choice.

Your comments above could not be categorized a as fair critic view, mainly because your comments disrespect others. Again IMHO, you talk like an uneducated person OR a person with a very disgruntle and bored life. If you are reading this, and IF you have finished reading till this point, you’ll probably be pissed. That itself is worth my time replying you. Cheers.

• Bro, u r sick.

• im not stupid proudmalaysian on Jun 26, 2012 at 1:15 am

mr proudmalaysian, i think everyone will be very interested in wat car u r driving, not to discriminate ur car, but sincerely want to know in ur opinion , what is a good car and wat is a good hybrid car, my house have a lexus ls600h and rx450h, and personally i dun think they r low emission and low fuel consumption, and i have a bought a cvt some more, where those mention is a sissy car, i love the looks anyway, at least better than prius or anything else from the same level price. btw, not all crz is lala or spoilt kids, if u understand whats is lexus ls600h and rx450h, thank you, eager for ur kind reply regarding wat car u drive.

• Oldies on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:46 am

My nearly 60 year old dad that got his Teana 2.5 for about a year that is gung ho in buying this new CRZ. So he is lala jai? He just want something2 door and fun to drive.. and CRZ is his pick. lala is he? or spoilt brat at his age? Before getting his Teana, he wanted a Prius but decided on Teana at the end.. Factor that plays a major role in deciding is, budget and liking..

• Based on your name, I think you might be taking the public transport :O

• use this car to go to college, even career man cannot afford it, how lucky i am

• 2-seater..? Have u been to the showroom..? One of my friend got his cr-z last week, and it’s not 2-seater..! It’s 4-seater(or 2+2seater) la bro..! Malaysian cr-z specs all 4-seater la bro..!

• Insight kaki on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Factually correct but the +2 must be hobbits to sit in the rear…

• polo saga on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:18 pm

u should try the rear seat, it can’t fit in any adults, and even kids above 8 years old, i had it tested.

• 4 seater but the back 2 seat very sempit. very very sempit. go to your friend’s cr-z and try, your leg would not fit unless you are a midget.

• paraideti on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:42 pm

blah la lu…
      protonfag…

• MarcoeChew on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:58 pm

really want to know what car you using? talking shit you are good ! but in real life you are sux ! dont only give stupid comment on this ! funny guyz!

• DontCommentIfUDonoCars on Jun 25, 2012 at 11:38 pm

you dont understand the hybrid system works and what are the purpose dude! go read! why dont u said that the prius’s emission same as normal 1.8L? don simply judge if you dono bout the big picture! any lalas will buy whatever car they like and how they mod

• The Enthusiast on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Finally Honda is caving in to the demands of Malaysian consumers. Either way, would still prefer to drive stick any day.

• xavier lert on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:50 pm

paddle shift….try to do this : signal to the right, hi-beam,shift down,shift up (overtaking jalan bentong-kuala krai mode), lorry coming from the front… yeh plz do the reverse in 1 micro second

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Curious: why would you go through all the steps when a dab of the brakes to slip behind the vehicle you’re trying to overtake is easier?

Also, I would like to think the readers are smarter than to overtake in blind corners, hill crests and when there’s an incoming lorry.

• “try to do this”? What is wrong with you? You seems offended by the idea of paddle shift. If don’t like don’t buy lah. No need to suggest dumb method.

• Papa Baik on Jun 26, 2012 at 9:03 am

Paddle shifter is very useful, fun and make your more relax although driving fast at winding roads like Bntong-K.Krai or Cmron Hghlnd-Simpg Pulai. I’m 44 year old and my latest car is Inspira 2.0P bought in Jan 2011. Never felt the good feelings with my 2 other cars with manual and auto transmission.

• MycarMylife on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:55 pm

At last it arrives, how come 4k more , in other zones the CVT is cheaper by USD 1k ???? due to the higher cost for a six speeder tranny, Honda apa la??

Anyway we live in NAP country sigh! run by half bakeds

• best comment

• MycarMylife on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:47 am

That’s blind patriotism to Honda, even Warren Buffet will turn a company upside down before he buys it ,jeeeshhuz, by the way I still own a Civic hatchback SB3,29 years old !!!!!!! probably u not born yet.

• CH. ANG on Jun 25, 2012 at 4:56 pm

I personally think it was overpriced

• gotta compare with the right segment bro. Coupe is always priced higher than a sedan.

• maserati on Jun 25, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Great car !

• Car Enthusiast on Jun 25, 2012 at 5:16 pm

How come the guys that comment here are a sad bunch of people who only know how to complain. If you don’t like the price or the car. Don’t buy it, end of story. Don’t whine like a little girl please. Where are the real car enthusiast?

• Maid05 on Jun 25, 2012 at 5:20 pm

I can’t access the price for Langkawi anymore in Toyota Website. It was there last week but now, it’s gone. Is it Toyota’s new market strategy not to reveal their price without tax?

These is the price in Langkawi:

Honda Stream 1.8: RM93,995.30
    Nissan X-Trail: RM104,515.30
    Honda CR-Z 6MT: RM106,008.50

• As far as i know hybrid below 2000cc if not mistaken in malaysia no excise or import tax

• carnoisseur on Jun 25, 2012 at 5:26 pm

this car is not really that expensive ,considering the fact that the import and excise duty is waived .

• akula on Jun 25, 2012 at 5:34 pm

this make me feel my previous gen honda city that comes with CVT more worth than latest gen honda city

• hondapan on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:40 pm

old city like flowerhorn
      new city like transformer
      both are ugly

• Poweeerrrrrrr on Jun 25, 2012 at 5:58 pm

If you dont have money please do not complaint about the price or NAP or Honda dealer la. Nobody force you to buy this car. If you dont like it please buy other car that suits your budget.
    Remember to live within your means! Dont live like this pepatah ‘biar papa asal bergaya’

• shawal on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:08 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCDfVD2gehU&feature=plcp

its not practical, but if you’ve got the cash …

• rozanne on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:41 pm

This car should be more cheaper. But thanks to our super-protective national car policy, we must pay hefty prices for car like this . And the funniest thing is many Malaysian still support this repressive policy..haha..so patriotic, in a wrong sense.

• cybercop on Jun 25, 2012 at 6:46 pm

i dont mind paying extra 4k for auto. driving in KL really need an auto transmission. Hail Auto!

• AlexLkManuel on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:15 pm

sorry…..there are still purists here, and this is still a sports car, get an Auto for your Civic. To me personally, Auto for a sports car is like a Mamak store without Football broadcast during Euro 2012

• cybercop on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:52 pm

the world is changing. sports car is no longer manual transmission. look at WRX Sti, they offering auto as well. Golf R, Scirocco R to name a few..

• AlexLkManuel on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:14 am

to cybercop
        Its to me personally, A manual is much more engaging, and entertaining. Look, if I had the money, I’ll buy another sports car for my pleasure.For day top day basis, I’ll buy a auto( with manual override)4 door sedan anyday.A sports car is to keep the driver happy. Well can’t argue that customer are getting lazier ,that’s why a Car manufacturer are coming out with Auto for sports car. I drive a manual everyday to Subang from Selayang, I know how it feels,but an open road and a manual, makes your harsh day better.
        PS: Porsche came out with a 7 speed stick shift. And BMW is developing it.

• stebenrudin on Jun 25, 2012 at 7:04 pm

This kind of money I go for polo tsi sport…5years peace of mind..tsi+dsg the world’s best combo…

• deftones on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:52 pm

ok bro..go ahead..nobody give a da*n..
      anyway, u just talk about this kind of moeny..are you really this kind of money?? lolx

• seanzer on Jun 26, 2012 at 11:08 am

polo…? errr… looks so ermm…. ugly~ but its fast i agree with that… but still interior and exterior… UGLY…OPPPSSS… shouldnt say that coz i am educated… its …ermm.. not that nice looking lor ….

• stebenrudin on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:30 pm

deftones..i think u dont understand the meaning of giving opinion…i just give my decent opinion here from my point of view and it doesnt have to do with money..and most of all i dont bash anything or anybody..hehe

seanzer..looks are subjective..i respect your opinion bro.Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder..

• OnlyNoob on Jun 25, 2012 at 7:14 pm

only noob will buy an auto to drive :)

• whatever noob on Jun 25, 2012 at 11:43 pm

What an insensitive noob. One day when you grow older you’ll wish you had an auto. Are old people still noobs after years of driving experience? Or what about people with disabilities..say..those who lost a leg? Have you ever thought of that?

No..because you’re just a noob..

• Good lah, got auto for those who love to have it with auto…. So what’s next?? Maybe a “MUGEN” edition like the fd civic model?… Supercharger add in Plz….

• SilverZ on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:02 pm

You may not like it but I dont see any reason why one have to hate CR-Z except for the following:

1)Envy for people who owned it because he/she can’t afford it, and console him/herself by saying those who bought it are all with rich dads; or
    2)Is someone who owns a Toyota Hybrid and wonder why for the money he spent couldnt get him the attention he wants.

People who think CR-Z is overpriced don’t have a clue what a hybrid is and what it is supposed to do.

People who think CR-Z is underpowered always thought he’s driving in race track although 99% of the time he’s on the street driving with low speed, and break more often than he could get to experience the so called “power”, while never wanting to admit that their car drink too much fuel and he’s constantly in pain for his wallet.

To get someone who drive a CR-Z and regretted buying one, the chances are slim. because people who hates it won’t buy, and those who buy it will never feel lazy getting in to this car, driving this car can never feel boring.

You will know what i say is true when u constantly have to remind urself to hating one CR-Z when u see one on the street and couldn’t get ur eyes or mind off it.

This car handles well and surprisingly refined. It let u feel like a true driver though it may not be as fast as u wish it to be. It is the cheapest car that can provide u this feeling… Coz this car is built with passion of a driver in mind!

• deftones on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:54 pm

too much of praising the car already..too depth..

• kimikira on Jun 25, 2012 at 11:21 pm

talk cock…

• blue-traveler on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:29 pm

spot on dude. I may not own a CR-Z, but it reminds me of my cars during my time in state side, at one time a 2nd hand Honda Integra (6 months only, later sold to my friend) and my friends CRX. Good cars, great drive.

• Pro guys drive manual, noobies drive auto, smart guys drive auto, stupid guys drive manual gotcha

• ben yap on Jun 25, 2012 at 11:28 pm

i prefer Honda to bring in the Insight 1.5 rather than CRZ CVT.

• IlyasJames on Jun 25, 2012 at 11:35 pm

You guys are funny..just about a car you guys are trash talking each another..frankly speaking i am a proud crz owner..!!

As a “smart” guy..i do agree with some of the comments above..we have our own opinion for cars..so its up the way you see it..

• Hybrid Adam on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:19 am

U can’t afford don’t talk bullshit dude. Get a life dudes

• IlyasJames on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:40 am

Cawyn..later ill confirm with u loh.. Now no mood kick foot ball..now wanna kick ass..haha..

Ppl have their own money also ppl kondem the way we spend..aiyah..typical malaysian..

Drive proton kondem…drive perodua kondem…drive any car kondem… Like that we use keta sorong or keta lembu aje lah..

• whoever that condemn should indicate what car they drive so that we can see and consider their smart choice in buying car. Win-win

• IlyasJames on Jun 26, 2012 at 1:22 am

Shin..they might claim they drive ferarri or gtr .. But in real life we never know..haha..so its pointless as well

• WOW, booked the car.
    SA offers me tinting and cash 3k for it. Due to low demand.
    Sa told me that lots ppl like it. but won’t buy it.

• koochai on Jun 26, 2012 at 9:08 am

mone…mind to share which branch?
      might pay a visit later in the afternoon :)
      undecided over the colours though…

• yellowschoolbus on Jun 26, 2012 at 10:09 am

bro, which SA and where? gimme the details…gonna buy one this weekend…been waiting for this sexy mofo for so long…considered MT…but…working in the middle of kl, need to be realisticlah…still need my knees to perform on other stuff if you know what i mean…hahaha….quick2 gimme his phone no…thanks in advance…

• mone if u dont mind sharing, when did you book it and where is the dealer? I was told that there’s a waiting list for this..and will not get it anytime soon..

• OrangBumi on Jun 26, 2012 at 10:52 am

They like it but only for 2 adults and 1 cat/dog.. need time to think.. ;)

• I like KFC on Jun 26, 2012 at 10:54 am

is it? I plan to get this for my wife. Previously, was planning to buy the manual version but wife are not good with manual and I did asked the SA on auto availability, the SA told me there are a lot of people are waiting for auto version and some even book 4 or 5 months before this came out, so he told me, I might need to wait for a long time…

• ahmadfaris93 on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:59 am

Good move by Honda I guess. Now people have option to get a sporty looking car without suffering in a daily-pain-in-the-ass Kuala Lumpur traffic. Some of the factors of people who didnt want to get the CRZ was the transmission. Well, they now have the one in automatic. Now, it’s all about taste, preferences and money.

• COnfused on Jun 26, 2012 at 10:21 am

I wondering why ppl buy a so-called ECO friendly car and put mod in it (body kits, large spoiler, large 18inch wheels), like the car can easily do 200km/h and need those downforce to keep the car stable.

ECO friendly car do what it does best, save fuel, save the world! Completely pointless to modify it.

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 26, 2012 at 1:08 pm

ppl like to make a nice car look prettier. its pleasing to the eyes. nothing wrong with that. you dont agree u can always get the fugly prius or dugong and bcome an eyesore on the road!!

• Hugo Andore on Jun 26, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Body kits doesn’t just improve the aerodynamics of the car, but also make the car more appealing to the eyes.

If everyone needs a 200km/hr turbo monster to have the right to install body kits, then all your 3rd party kit suppliers and the whole pimp my ride garage/industry will collapse in instant.

Stop being a hater.

• marcolai pudulski on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:53 am

HOW MANY OF YOU PEOPLE dont do your research before hating? since when was the crz marketed as eco friendly?

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jun 26, 2012 at 11:31 am

“I’ve driven the CR-Z with CVT way back then. Handling was superb, held itself well through the sinewy route on one of Japan’s mountains. The power might have felt wanting but the gears banged on easy. However, it is still a CVT so the summoning of power is not as quick as the manual. Obviously.”

Chris Ng, it’s a CVT laaa, doesn’t have gears. What do you mean by “gears banged on easy” when there aren’t any gears? What’s there to bang on?

• nazis on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:19 am

i think chris ng mean in manual mode of CVT GB. 7speed manual mode.

• tok-kok on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:24 pm

How come with no import and excise duty still selling RM120K?

The top of the range CR-Z model is only selling USD21K over at USA….
    http://automobiles.honda.com/cr-z/price.aspx

Say only no tax for hybrid cars.. don’t tok kok lah!!!

• Wisdom on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:47 pm

The G only get 10% sales tax.
      Honda making extra dough.

• buyingacrz on Jun 27, 2012 at 5:03 pm

Add in RM10K AP Surcharge that goes to Bumiputra Automotive Fund
        http://www.miti.gov.my/cms_matrix/content.jsp?id=com.tms.cms.article.Article_8c14c57e-c0a8156f-65cc65cc-acf7f03d

and some order processing fees to the franchise holder…

• cawyn on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:49 am

well obviously because if the CRZ is priced too low, the whole market will collapse wont it? think about the big picture, and not how much US sells it. this is malaysia, and we live here. Not in the US. so stop comparing.

you cant sell something that is cheaper than your main selling models i.e. insight & city.

• sproc45 on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:48 pm

CVT ahh, can tahan some hard driving boh? Honda, where is your dual clutch technology?

• DArkerMarker on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:39 pm

looks sporty, but performance not sporty le…..

• cawyn on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:50 am

drive one before you talk about the power. up genting, of course it has not enough power. but on the highways its fine. remember, its a 1.5, not a k20a.

• nazis on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:23 am

well said. this car pickup very fast. max torque early. i think its hard to find any car with same torque/hp can match pickup with this car.

• Leong Teong Malam on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:53 am

the green machine will take u

• If you stick shift impaired, then you shouldn’t be driving at all..

• Hybrid Adam on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:50 pm

no money dont complain lo.. ur money, u decide uself. Don’t disrespect others.

• nana adam on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:07 am

so, the conclusion is you better should choose and buY the new one HONDA EX5 DREAM… vroommm vroommm pittt pittt.
    ::BUT I WANT TO ASK YOU ALL.. what is cvt actually???