New Seat Toledo Mk4 unveiled – Spanish value sedan

The Seat Toledo is back, and the Spaniards have decided to ditch the weird mini-van with a boot look that the third generation had, going back to a traditional sedan with the fourth gen, except instead of a normal sedan boot, you get a wide opening hatchback instead.

It’s got a length of 4,480mm and a wheelbase of 2,602mm, which is kind of between the Polo Sedan (2,552mm) and Jetta (2,650mm). It’s the platform-mate of the new Skoda Rapid. There are a few petrol and diesel engines available – a 1.2 litre or a 1.4 litre TSI petrol making between 75 PS to 122 PS, or a 1.6 litre TDI diesel doing between 90 PS to 105 PS.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lim Kopi on Jun 26, 2012 at 2:05 am

Dr M & Proton …

You there? You see what a tie up with Volkswagen can do to you??

But no you had to jaga your own interest… at the expense of your own progress as a carmaker.

Seat and Skoda have already made it after the tie up, and you think coming out with Preve will preve much of your days ahead??

• mad aly on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:53 am

wei apek.. listen first to DSZ said on his speech on Young Malaysian Corporate seminar… he says joining with VW is “berat sebelah”… if they joint with VW.. might PROTON will vanish out 100% as a manufacturer and be re badge brand like Perodua..

VW only want Tanjung Malim Plant and LOTUS not PROTON!! talk like smart ass..but full of crap!!

• Gegary on Jun 26, 2012 at 9:55 am

maybe because Proton hasn’t made much headway in global competitiveness in the last 20 fracking years, surviving only due to high import taxes on imported cars; and that’s why VW and a lot of Malaysians value other products over Proton’s subpar products?

Why would VW want the plants to continue to churn out inferior products or a world-crap brand like Proton.

Does Proton deserve to continue to exist to suck our tax dollars and pockets dry, just so we can brag about having an AMNO crony, I mean, “national” car company?

• Economist on Jun 26, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Gegary, every heard of economies of scale? Maybe we should open the whole Malaysian economy to everyone lah. Why need to have Malaysian brand shoes and clothes right? Free trade lah. The overseas can all come in and in one fell swoop destroy the local companies. I don’t buy local brand anyway, ape kelas

• mad aly on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Gegary… u think without PROTON the car will be cheap in MALAYSIA… in ur DREAMS!!

• Agree and i think VW just want the Lotus ! Potong use as test cars…

• Car Driver on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:40 pm

If Proton-VW tie-up and rebadged Jetta Or Golf GTI or even Passat, how nice..Should be very much cheaper than what it is now. Then I dont mind buying a Proton ..

• berat sebelah is just an excuse. If they lost control of Proton, they cannot supply accessories anymore!

And why does everyone think VW want Lotus? They already own Audi, Bentley, Bugatti, Lamborghini and half of Porsche. ALL PROFITABLE companies.

• underskinned on Jun 26, 2012 at 9:35 am

SEAT and Skoda are VW’s subsidiaries, not tie-ups. Platforms, chassis, engines and gearboxes are interchangeable.

Get your facts checked.

• HateKopi on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:18 pm

If you dont like Proton, just shut up and buy your Bentley. Not everybody think like you..

• Shahrul on Jun 26, 2012 at 2:29 pm

And you sir will always be a slave, still colonized in the mind and never bold enough to be independent.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 26, 2012 at 11:58 pm

So I guess it ok to be colonized by our own robber barons then? So much for bold and independent.

• b sensible on Jun 26, 2012 at 9:23 pm

lai…lai…lai….lim kopi…mai ket ke! proton apa itu kereta…i haven’t seen one in Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Philippines or the ecnonomy backwaters Myanmar….proton apa itu…only made in malaysia, used by malaysia lah. if want to compete…sorrylah…global car makers have long established since the days of henry ford…as car nowadays are very hightech…ecoboost, skyactive, hybrid, plug-in electric…yeap proton work w/ lotus to develop engine BUT proton don’t have proprietary rights to it! there’s no need to be so thick face. think how to compete GLOBALLY….JV, collaboration, equity tie-up or the notorious mas-airasia share – swap…lai lim kopi.

• unnon on Jun 26, 2012 at 3:16 am

wow. simple design.. but it’s a neat design. if proton manage to design saga like this, i would be proud to drive one.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:02 am

Design alone not enough, quality and value for the customers hard earned money is even more important. Proton can copy this design “bulat-bulat” and call it Topedo also people will not like buying it if the quality does not improve.

• Simple yet lovely… and that’s all that’s needed.

• satrian on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:53 am

ok with jetta,vento (polo sedan) dna…but look lovely with simple line and curve………

• awg1031 on Jun 26, 2012 at 10:09 am

how i wish proton could come out with looks like this for their lowest model..it doesn’t mean lowest=ugliest..

not that i meant saga is ugly, it’s ok to be fair.but it could be much more better looking..

• mad aly on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:13 pm

agree… but b4 producing this kind of quality in this segment PROTON need Volume and scale.. and unfortunately PROTON does not have that ‘yet’… maybe in future..

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:03 am

As long they don’t improve on quality, there won’t be any significant volume and scale.

• mansory on Jun 26, 2012 at 10:21 am

clean lines.. love it…

• OrangBumi on Jun 26, 2012 at 10:44 am

Nothing impressive! exterior and bodyline almost like Proton Saga FL with better interior.

• kjryth on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:02 pm

proton better

• jalan54 on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Really? How is it better? In what way you are comparing this with proton? Which Proton car is better than this?

• HateKopi on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Inside quality looks like VW taxi in China..the reason I need to bring more Panadol Actifast to China.

• policeman on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Simple and elegant.

Why couldn’t Preve look like this?

• mad aly on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:18 pm

for me PREVE looks better!! and y u want Preve to look better than this, if u saying this car looks better, so go on get one.. why still comparing?? let me guess?? talak luuuit!! haha

• Eastman on Jun 26, 2012 at 1:35 pm

I dont think it is appropriate to discuss politics, who crony with who…n bad mouthed political party in this platform…we all love cars…if we want to talk about high tax n what not…lets go to Malaysiakini….anyway not all tax are high in Malaysia…trust me…I worked in UK previously and yes, the car is cheap but the income tax is so high…you can hardly breath…count your blessings Bro!

• Economist on Jun 26, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Malaysians are borderline retarded, see car blog also want to comment and say things like umno this lah, govt this lah, bolehland lah and what not. seriously i feel like my brain vanished whenever i go to the local blogs. what to expect, sexually repressed people the lot of them. give monkeys computer pon can get the same result

• Save your brain, stop coming here then. :)

• Car Driver on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Lim Kopi didnt mentioned about UMNO or any political party..He just mentioned Dr M as the the adviser to Proton.. Eastman and Economist, do not judged him wrongly if you are offended by other blog post. Now who is retarded then..

• pencuci tandas on Jun 26, 2012 at 2:42 pm

vios j is wayyyyyyy…better than this….hihihi..

• perantau on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:00 pm

macam audi ja…..

• mad aly on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:23 pm

same company maa… :)

• perantau on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:46 pm

hahaha….sebab tengok kereta nie tiap2 hari. jiran di stoke nie pakai. Tengah fikir nak ambik AP…tapi sini banyak diesel, so…ok tak kalau bawak 5 series diesel ke malaysia?

• persona on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:00 pm

OMG i thought this is the new saga blm. DAMN!

• rajaiskandarshah on Jun 26, 2012 at 7:47 pm

just change the front and rear lights on the saga, and it will look very very similar.

• anonymous on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:33 pm

its almost the same as the skoda rapid. vag is going back to cheap cheap badge engineering? is B-segment really that competitive? I would prefer they look more different, eg. seat’s version should be more sporty than this.

• saga is in a segment with myvi, when the car is less in width there is no room for ‘playing’ with curves and shapes. if proton comes up with b segment car, i believe i would be as nice as this even if it’s quite boxy

• There’s a 1.2 and 1.4 so this should be based on the Polo sedan. Certainly look much better than Polo for sure!

• Alley Bubba on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:53 am

If offered here at RM72K would you still buy Preve? He He He! Jgn marah opinion polls saja.

• says says on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:53 am

heh..even Spanish dont use Spanish word..make things worst, PREVE is not even a Spanish word!

Kudos to SEAT for their naming convention which globalising their historical cities…

Imagine to have names like Proton MALACCA or PENANG or SELANGOR etc…sure boley maaa..

• cheapskate on Jul 27, 2013 at 8:54 pm

these car have a mileage of up to 70mpg if im not wrong. where to buy this car in sarawak?