SPIED: Nissan Almera a.k.a. Sunny in Melaka

The Nissan Sunny has been spotted again, this time by reader Jack at the Ayer Keroh highway rest stop. Unlike the previous time, it has been caught completely undisgiused, with even the Nissan and Almera badges on show. The Sunny is known as the Almera in some markets, such as in Thailand, where it’s an Eco Car powered by a three-cylinder 1.2L engine.

Not sure what this large B segment sedan will be called here when it comes, which it will, but we’re guessing that it won’t be sold here in 1.2 litre form. In Thailand, fuel economy is the main point of an Eco Car, but km/l alone will be a tough sell for the demanding Malaysian carbuyer. A 1.5 litre HR15DE four-pot, as used in China, is more likely.

Built on Nissan’s V platform that also underpins the March hatchback, the Almera is big bodied for a car aimed at the Vios and City segment, a similar approach chosen for the Latio. It is 4,425 mm long, 1,695 mm wide and 1,500 mm tall, while wheelbase is a class leading 2,600 mm. Nissan says that rear knee room is at D-segment levels, and having sat in it before, I agree. Boot space is 490 litres.

We were in Guangzhou where Nissan gave the Sunny its world debut – click here for details and pics.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hanif on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Don’t like the dashboard at all. Overall exterior is okay’lah.

• mad aly on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:08 pm

Look cheap!! but lets wait what is the price tag by ETC!! hmmmmm

• vortex on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:11 pm

not bad

• sudonano on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Nice numberplate btw. 2012 is so exciting now with such nice cars launching!

• don^don on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:15 pm

looks abit like dugong… can’t the japs design better looking B-segment cars?

• I saw keyless entry and start! Kudos to Nissan for offering it first in the B segment compacts! :D

• pulltea on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:22 pm

this one supposed to have a rear-blower and best in class rear legroom. Seen it and driven it in Dubai.

• Front looks good, back not too impressive but acceptable. 1.2L here definitely won’t do much good cause we like powah :D

• Bimmer on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:35 pm

If priced lower than current City & Vios, this might be a hit.

• tunguuu on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:45 pm

launching early july..

• hek eleh on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:45 pm

:3
    front grille looks like … errrr?
    i dont know. didnt quite like it.

rear styling is niceeee.

maybe .. can beat vios but city?
    i personally think city is better.
    maybe need to get a test drive first..

• dfklg5 on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Dude, in terms of sales, City has always been beaten by Vios :)

• slimershine on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:45 pm

another boring dugong.. what happen with the japs?

• in b4 this is from other manufacturer benchmarking this car since no camouflage..

• awg1031 on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:50 pm

japanese sure is going backwards with their car design..esp. towards the mainstream model…ugly~~

• xenogearz™ on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:56 pm

ETCM, price it lower than Toyota Vios and Honda City, and equip the Nissan Almera with some sort of stability assist like Honda’s VSA, provide a 5-year warranty and maybe offer 6 times free services too. Then, you may just be able to sell the car like hotcakes =).

• alldisc on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:47 am

NO, govt wont allow any japanese segment below 70K. it already happened with vios J in 2008 when UMW wanted to sell it at slightly above Persona price. the idea was declined politely or else today, Proton may have close factory already.

• Optima K5 on Jun 26, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Quite nice interior

• freakbeat on Jun 26, 2012 at 5:05 pm

i think i will choose this kind of dugong… this dugong looks better compared to another one… btw i think the rear design is stunning… just simple and tidy

• nabill on Jun 26, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Is dis in anyway shares platform with da nissan versa sold in da US ???

• Paul Tan on Jun 26, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Yes, this is a similiar car to the Nissan Versa Sedan (not hatchback) in the US.

http://www.nissanusa.com/versa-sedan/?next=header.vlp.postcard.picture.thumbnail.#/photos/exterior-photos/

• ss427 on Jun 26, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Ewww…. this superbly awful POS is finally in Bolehland.

Its so cheapy built and high price that I’ve yet to see one in SG even though it was launched way back in Sep last yr.

You really got to see the car in person to realize how awful looking it is.. The rear overhang is abnormally long, resulting in a sag butt look.

Wheels are tiny 15″, but even 17″ won’t make the car look any better becos of the slabsided look.

Rear disc brakes? Forget it… too expensive for this car, the 1.5L is taken from the Latio, but it is DETUNED in this application. Only a low end 4AT is offered. The dash design is…sigh…OMG….

Park this next to the new Elantra and the Forte SX? haha, it just shows how much the Japs have degraded these days..

• Kiasi No Kiasu on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Now how dump korean fanboy can get, this is a B-Segment car, Forte & Elantra is C segment, maybe you should get that ugly bread loft looking Accent & those accient rio which still sold as current model in malaysia to compare, then open you mouth.

• ss427 on Jun 26, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Well I’m sorry…. in SG, this POS Almera costs MORE than the Forte 1.6SX and about the same price as the top spec (for SG) Elantra GLS Elite :D I don’t care if the Almera is A or Z segment, the fact remains its a very cheaply designed and built POS that happens to cost the same as the much better built AND equipped Koreans… LOL :)

See our local SG spec Almera here.

http://nissan.com.sg/vehicles/Almera/index.cfm

To those who still harbor hopes for the same CVT unit as the Latio, well there’s none here. It’s 4AT or 5MT.

And you have to forgo passenger side airbag, climate control, wheel mounted audio switches if you want a 5MT! @!#$%^&

Our Latio in SG comes with the same 1.5L as the Almera.

• Jimmy on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Nissan really needs to put telescopic steering in their X-Trail, Teana, Sylphy, Pathfinder, Murano, etc and INFINITI. Please.

• Gabla on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:57 pm

I think you are wrong. Latio is 1.6, this will use either 1.2 or 1.5 and the car is based on the march V platform. They will adopt the Jatco CVT, not 4AT.

• ss427 on Jun 26, 2012 at 9:47 pm

IT is 4AT bro… sorry to burst your bubble…:p

see here

http://nissan.com.sg/vehicles/Almera/index.cfm

And there’s NO rear a/c vents for this POS for this part of the world. Too expensive to install in this machine already

• c~two on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:16 pm

look at 1st picture:
    Did the 3 ppl taking photo there, even notice about the car?

• seyed on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:21 pm

its not winner if we want compare with HONDA CITY NEW FACE LIFT OR TOYOTA VIOS….why ? just see some interview video about that car

• Kia and German on Jun 26, 2012 at 7:34 pm

It should be Nissan Almera compare with Nissan Latio.

• Maid05 on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:47 pm

If I’m not mistaken, the cheapest Nissan car that offer stability control (VDC) is Teana V6 2.5L Premium at RM173,017.10. Even Sylphy and 2.0 Teana don’t offer stability control.

These are top 5 of cheapest cars in Malaysia offer stability control.

1. Proton Preve Premium at RM72,540
    2. Ford Fiesta Sedan at RM83,888
    3. Ford Fiesta HB at RM84,888
    4. Kia Forte 1.6SX at RM85,800
    5. Honda City 1.5E at RM90,980

• GolfGTi on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:51 pm

The trade plate number caught my attention.Nice number W001A.probably the first trade plate issued for Wilayah.

• Rulered on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Someone mentioned about best rear legroom with rear aircond blower and someone else mentioned it’s cheaper than City & Vios, sounds like a good taxi to me ;-)

• Masked Ryder on Jun 26, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Sunny is back in Malaysia, Yoohoo…

TCM please name it as Sunny, not the stupid name Almera.

• Black Dog on Jun 26, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Might be called Datsun Sunny? Possible since they’re reviving the Datsun name.

• hello on Jun 26, 2012 at 7:08 pm

front look like vios, rear got swift taillamp…….
    vios+swift=sunny.

• NasUrudin aidid on Jun 26, 2012 at 7:13 pm

This is gonna be the replacement car for my 10year old sentra. My sentra hardly give any problem

• summo_boy_berlin on Jun 26, 2012 at 7:18 pm

This car should have price tag less than 70k. If the price for highest spec is ranging between 60k-65k, sure it will beat vios/city or preve.

• Card Driver on Jun 26, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Do you think MITI or The Government will allow it to be priced below Preve’s Price of RM72K?
      I dont think so my friend. Keep dreaming..

• Simon on Jun 26, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Better buy Peugeot 207! Auto light, auto wiper, climate control,,, this list goes on! Rm72,888 with 4k discount. Besides, Nissan have the worst suspension setting with super high price spare part! God bless the new owner. Super ugly dashboard too! Haiz…

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 26, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Unfortunately 207 build quality is as bad as this Almera. You can go to SG to have a look at Almera yourself and be the judge.

• says says on Jun 27, 2012 at 11:36 am

Peugeot salesman detected!

• nice trade plate number W001A
    maybe the same company bench marking for Brio & Picanto
    they change their number to new trade plate bcoz already kantoi at paultan

• 4g63tdsm on Jun 26, 2012 at 7:55 pm

I don’t understand how this POS can actually sell. What is it with us and sedans…even one as ugly like this. Nissan UK has basically dropped sedans from their lineup.

Looks like Nissan is following their tried and true formula…offering a 1/2 size larger car than its competitors.

As as for Japanese not knowing how to make good looking cars….if there is one Japanese marque that still knows how to make good looking cars. It would be Nissan. Odd but true… Not Toyota..not Honda, not Suzuki or Subaru. Nissan….unfortunately we don’t get them here. I mean look at the new Altima…Maxima and the Infiniti range..woooaaa….

• NICE TRADE PLATE NUMBER

• ugly!

• heard got latest-gen cvt, [email protected] rpm ??

• in singapore, the sentra here we have is called sunny over there. if this car launch here, maybe will get back the name Sentra ~

• NasUrudin aidid on Jun 26, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Ugly? You must be a bloke from Naza

• F Fiesta on Jun 26, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Nissan seriously dunno how to design. Better take Ford Fiesta

• keep bringing ugly models tc. new sylphy is like a dull fish oso.

• The japanese car design totally going downhill Big time

• Just imagine if preve looks like this…sure bantai kiri kanan atas bawah belakang..!

• better wait for the specs

• Kelvin on Jun 26, 2012 at 11:45 pm

Oh dear look at the dashboard… Looks like fisher price toy for baby

• Simon on Jun 27, 2012 at 7:50 am

207 handling and quality much more higher, go check it out and test drive. People who says this car is bad will eat their mouth. Tq

• What a POS, fugly Japanese crap!

• They shall sell it as new Datsun as what Indonesian market now..they are selling back new Datsun..then this can be cheaper for rakyat car

• ugliest car ive seen..uglier than vios..the design is so “auntie want to drive to wet market” type

• Hang Beng on Jun 27, 2012 at 9:06 am

nowadays jap cars is designed by ah beng

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:13 pm

Looks OK to me, typical Nissan but modern. It’s all about the price in this market, so let’s hope it will be affordable.

• Alley Bubba on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:21 pm

To sell an ugly car must give free stuffs and warranty 1 million km.

Look at Australia Proton Arena buyers get one free ATV unit.
    http://www.caradvice.com.au/9028/free-atv-with-proton-jumbuck/

Waja Australia got warranty 1 million km
    http://news.drive.com.au/drive/new-car-reviews/missing-true-value-20100824-13n1r.html

For new Nissan Sunny buyers well…should get free new steam iron plus 1 million km wararnty too…

• eimsperfume on Jun 27, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Even though I dont realy like nissan design.
    I guess nissan realy targeted for old people. :p

But Nissan cars got good quality..

Still misses my old nissan sunny. lots of memory. huhuh :)

• Nissan Sunny la….. If its got history, then leave that name there. Civic is still civic today, Camry, accord and hi lux…. Air con switch same as march? Will Malaysia get Nissan march? Price estimate anyone

• Extrimist on Jun 28, 2012 at 7:49 am

Car without stability control,

is not welcomed anymore.

• Bongcs on Jun 28, 2012 at 9:30 am

From the first glance front hood, i taught it was a Myvi sedan.

• Daniel on Jun 28, 2012 at 12:09 pm

I was at TCES in Batu Caves for 2 days. The marketing ppl are talking about it. Yes, it will be a 1.5 Lit car…aimed at Vios. Price will be cheaper than Vios…probably below 70k for the top-of-the-line.

• Daniel on Jun 28, 2012 at 12:31 pm

When the marketing guy was talking, he said it might not be as nice looking as Vios or City. So the back of my mind think it would be ugly. But after I see this post, I realize it actually looks much nicer than those two. I just came back from Europe early this month…honestly, this car as got that European styling to it…the long & smooth curves all around, probably from the Renault JV.