Ford to end Phillipines production, close Santa Rosa plant by end of 2012

Ford to end Phillipines production, close Santa Rosa plant by end of 2012Ford has announced that it will be shutting down its Santa Rosa assembly plant in the Phillipines by the end of 2012. The closure of the facility, located south of Manila, is part of the company’s move to streamline its ASEAN manufacturing operations, according to reports.

It also brings to an end the second era of the Blue Oval’s production involvement in the republic – the US automaker had returned to the Philippines in 1998 after having shuttered its operations there in the 1980s. It began exporting CBU vehicles in September 2002, and to date, has delivered 80,000 vehicles to regional markets such as Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia.

The Santa Rosa plant currently has 360 staff and has a production capacity of 36,000 vehicles annually. It assembles the outgoing generation Escape SUV, and had up until recently also assembled the second-generation C307 Focus for the region. The last Escape will roll out of the plant later this year, and when it does the curtains will fall on the facility.

Regional production will thus be concentrated in Thailand – the Fiesta and new T6 Ranger are already being built there, and the third-generation C346 Focus is next to join the lineup. The company’s new Rayong plant is also set to build the EcoSport compact SUV, which is the next model due out after the Focus.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 27, 2012 at 10:36 pm

The biggest looser? The definitely is Malaysia. We were once Ford’s hub for commercial vehicles until they decided it is enough dealing with among the most stupid government policies on earth.

This is the very same reason why the initial plan for Malaysia to be Volkswagen’s RHD hub in SEA subsequently faltered due to the same stupid reasons and VW has moved on to Indonesia instead.

Sad to see fellow malaysian’s voting for someone who cheats all their money

• oregano on Jun 28, 2012 at 8:40 am

These investors will move out once their tax holiday comes to an end. One day when the bag of goodies are up, they will move out of tHailand and Indonesia as well….same old..same old…

• chan kam nam on Jun 28, 2012 at 9:51 am

Totally Agree. The MNC have no loyalty. So long as they make money, its all game. They don’t care what happens to the Host Country. Case in point – LYNAS.

In a way, TDM has a point regarding Proton. Unfortunately, along the way, the cause for a National Car gave way for Vendors to make money at the exp of the Rakyat and Proton never saw the need to really compete at a global level given the local protection granted. A case of Jaguh Kampong.

Look at Hyundai and Kia today. Started of as Local Car, granted heavy local protection but still, they saw the need to compete at a Global Level.

• BadBET on Jun 28, 2012 at 8:53 am

that is called democracy… people vote for who they want.. not who you want. Even PR representative seem did not care enough about automobile crazy tax structure. Anyway.. its bad luck to the Phillipines.. thats the risk of just being car a assembler, Car company can switch the plan at their own will.

• Henry Ford the XII on Jun 28, 2012 at 9:31 am

Doesn’t matter la Mr. BeemerFreak, Malaysia is the hub for Proton and Perodua, and mind you, this is not only for SEA but the whole world! Hehehehe…

(thumb down if you dont know the meaning of sarcasm)

• Lim Kopi on Jun 28, 2012 at 11:24 am

Henry Ford is right !! :)

Why do we need other global players since we already have (and so very proud of) our homegrown, namely Dr M’s — Proton :)

And because of Proton, we can self sustain and not need other people’s help or any tie up what so ever, even if the company is still NOT making money and the whole auto industry and rakyat is NOT benefiting at all….

(thumbs down if u agree)

• Skodamania on Jun 28, 2012 at 8:53 am

Agree 100%. Were the auto hub in the 70s and the foolish gov auto policy ruined it all. We have substandard over proced national cars and highly inflated foreign makes.
    And the gov is coming out with yet another NAP..what a joke!!

• 1Malaysia Boleh on Jun 28, 2012 at 8:54 am

typical answer to you mr. beemer is ” If you don’t like the government you can leave the country” :-)
    TR1MA Kasih

• BeemerFreak on Jun 28, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Oh no without me there would be less vote for change in my beloved nation. Malaysia boleh, kerajaan pun boleh tukar

• tiong on Jun 28, 2012 at 9:05 am

no lah, it is all because malaysian fcuk with their condom on or eja outside, or force their woman to take pills. it is not a place for manufacturing business where the labour needed to be imported and the market is small and demanding.

• Well said. Need moar babies!! Must have 70 millions by 2030 or those auto companies won’t be looking to set up factory in Malaysia. Malaysia’s market is over-saturated and no more room to grow for late comers. Plus car ownage rate is high too.

• funniman on Jun 28, 2012 at 9:09 am

Ford has been in Rayong for more than 15 years through Auto Alliance Thailand already. Their plant there is 3 times bigger than our Shah Alam plant. Ford never interested to invest in Malaysia since the very beginning irregardless of the Auto policies. Even though those assembled in Shah Alam were CKD from Thailand, just to keep the prices low.

• kamaji on Jun 28, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Its a pity for those 360 staff there & I am wondering will they boycott Ford from now.

• Eastman on Jun 28, 2012 at 1:49 pm

You can keep on arguing about govt failure to promote M’sia as automotive hub…every body is entitle to their own opinion…to me, as long as the country is peaceful n progressive…its fine with me…i dont like proton car BUT i still pangkah BN…Look hollistically……Cheers

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 28, 2012 at 7:28 pm

Peaceful and progressive? You should cut down on the propaganda by the MSM. Don’t know what you are looking at, but it is short term and not holistically. We welcome crooks like Lynas to come and destroy our environment and put the health of our citizens at risk. Govt is greedy beyond redemption. I will only pangkah candidates that truly put our people and their future first and not their pockets!

• Is the Ford Vietnam factory next to be axed ? With industry down 40%, after already being down in 2011 vs 2010…

• a.car.fan on Jun 29, 2012 at 1:15 pm

If it’s for the better then I guess 360 people needs to say goodbye to their respective jobs and thus will add up to our inflating unemployment rate..