Mazda Flairwagon – cute and for Japan only

Japan is world renowned for producing things that are cute, and here’s one more. Introducing the Mazda Flairwagon, a micro-mini tall wagon that’s being sold only in Japan. It’s essentially a rebadged Suzuki Palette, and the vehicle is also rebadged by Nissan as the Roox.

Anyway, the Flairwagon is 1,365 mm high and has a wheelbase of 2,070 mm. It seats four comfortably with plenty of headroom to spare. The power sliding rear doors adds more comfort and convenience when getting in and out of this vehicle. The rear seats can be folded almost flat that frees up a space enough for a standard 27 inch bicycle.

The Flairwagon comes in four trims – LS, XS, TS and IS Limited. Except for the TS, which is powered by a 660 cc DOHC Turbo, the rest have 660 cc DOHC VVT in the bay. No mention of official power or performance figures in the press release. The MPV comes with either a FWD or Full-time 4WD. All engines are mated to a CVT. The IS Limited is further equipped with idling stop system with hill hold control function.

As for fuel economy, it ranges from 17.2 km/l for the TS Turbo right up to 22.2 km/l for the IS Limited VVT. Pricing starts from 1.21 million Yen right up to 1.5 million Yen for the TS Turbo.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• rapidshifter on Jun 28, 2012 at 5:11 pm

cute as cube…

• Not cute aso…..

• Jimmy on Jun 28, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Mazda’s design is the best among all Japanese cars. Juara also can be made cute, see.

• Taufik on Jun 28, 2012 at 5:58 pm

if this thing were be made by proton
    malaysia would be hysterically frozen with bashers

• “Screw me once, shame on you; Screw me twice, shame on me.”

Msian kena screw kaokao by Proton in the past, they reap what they deserve. They are getting better but still long way to go bro.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jun 28, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Happen to see one Honda Life turbo yesterday, cute looking car, P2 should consider rebadging the new Daihatsu Move custom.

• Akbar on Jun 28, 2012 at 7:56 pm

Are you sure this thing has 2,070mm wheelbase and 1,365mm height? Sound more like interior length and height instead of external dimensions to me!

• Wallstreet on Jun 28, 2012 at 8:40 pm

At least looks better than Avanza..

• Look the interior looks so damn ‘EXPENSIVE’!
    Proton also cannot do like this ooww…

• pencuci tandas on Jun 29, 2012 at 8:55 am

sure or not? this is bolehland ma…semua boleh buat punya…tapi yang specialnya, kalo proton buat interior mcm ni…bukan saja ianya akan nampak ‘Mahal’…tapi harganya pun akan jadi sangat ‘Mahal’….auuuwwww!

• Black Dog on Jun 28, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Cute for them but hideous for us! P1 already learned their costly lesson with the Juara

• farghmee on Jun 29, 2012 at 9:17 am

nice interior color scheme :)

• Tony Montana on Jun 29, 2012 at 10:09 am

This is cute. Proton Juara looks like a mini garbage truck.

• OilChange on Jun 29, 2012 at 10:51 am

will not come to mesia

• NONICKNAME on Jun 29, 2012 at 11:11 am

Panel aircond sebijik macam Gen2.. hehe

• a.car.fan on Jun 29, 2012 at 1:21 pm

The Japs should also consider a booming market for these cute city micro-mini wagons outside of the Land of the Rising Sun (most especially in ASEAN countries as Malaysia and the Philippines) but I bet they would cost high so never mind..

• Suzuki’s answer to P2 Kenari. If Suzuki were to make a local badge like P2, maybe we can see more K-cars on the road like Alto, mr wagon, Bandit solio and even the jimmy

• ntah.. on Jun 29, 2012 at 2:12 pm

i don’t understand, why japanese like boxy and tall car while they are not that tall.. japanese are weird, same with their porno =.=

• GreenFuel on Jun 29, 2012 at 4:33 pm

What Prono got to do with car? As this is a kei car with a short wheel base, the high headroom will improve the ride comfort. This is a city car, not a highspeed car, so they don’t have to produce a low car which is more stable to travel at highspeed

• Abuya on Jun 29, 2012 at 7:11 pm

This car is for JDM. Yes, it will expensive when come here, same with European car so expensive and high tax in Japan land. Why? You know the answer, no need to explain.

Blaming proton is easier way. The gov is next when you’re incapable to buy what you want. Why not blame to yourself?

Dont ask so much question coz clearly you cant accept any reason. Go to hell the reason, just want as you want, right?

• u go malaysia supermarket bring rm50 see what u can buy?..u work in UK and go to supermarket there bring 50punds see which one can get u more things?..government problem or our problem?

• Abraham Sy on Jun 29, 2012 at 8:35 pm

SWEET JESUS!