Honda Civic FB Malaysian teaser goes online

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd has put up a teaser site for the new Honda Civic FB, and it features a count-down that’s currently about 10 days and 14 hours right now. That would be next next Thursday.

The Honda Civic FB teaser site mentions a web movie, so I’m not sure if it’s the launch of the web movie or the car itself, but it’s probably both. We expect both the 1.8 and 2.0 litre models to be offered – for our first impressions of the car read our story: DRIVEN: 2012 Honda Civic FB (9th Gen) previewed in Thailand.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kia and German on Jul 01, 2012 at 9:47 pm

After 10 days,another ugly car from Honda will be in Malaysian market.

• German on Jul 01, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Yeah. Same with kia cars. Japan and Korean cars cannot compete with German cars.

• century on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:49 am

can compete, please downsize the engine first with more power in hp and torque. make it turbocharged, ok?
        and the gear please least 6. no artifact level 4 or 5 gears ok? or else just put the car in museum.
        others , they should know what to improve already

• Last time I checked, the VWs offered here aren’t exactly beauties.

• Wallstreet on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Can’t compete? All VW cars are ugly, particularly Polo Sedan.The only better looking VW is Scirocco.

• Ha Gnih on Jul 04, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Germans are nothing to shout about as well these days. Only brand conscious wannabes adore them without knowing the real value and quality of them all. Namaste….

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jul 02, 2012 at 9:44 am

Another 10 days before this super selling hot cake will give a slap on the face on those korean fan dog.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jul 02, 2012 at 4:34 pm

This would be another super selling hot cake & give a slap on the face on those korean sales/fan dog, Honda already make a remarkable return after Thailand Flood.

• kambinganas on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:32 pm

We though the flood drowned you too. Unfortunately it didn’t.

• sudonano on Jul 01, 2012 at 10:09 pm

the C segment is getting fun this year!

• shawal on Jul 01, 2012 at 10:25 pm

the malaysian public awaits your pricing honda, be wise….

• drMpower on Jul 01, 2012 at 10:34 pm

12th july. thats the one.
    i am excited. it just please HM be nice on the price tag.
    exceeding 120k for both variants is suicidal.

u got to listen to me. i am a confirmed buyer.

• of course la exceed 120k if you want top range
      less than 120k only the entry level

• OMG…Although ugly, dont expect cheaper price for this car.

• xavier lert on Jul 01, 2012 at 11:10 pm

mix emotion for me…

• elantra is a rival this time. watch out.

• jolly_idiot on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:25 am

Yawn. Just another junk from honda to rip us out.

Lets see what is the spec offered. High price no spec will lead to doom.

• seyed on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:34 am

Next ugly car from Honda will be in Malaysia….:(

• Lim Kopi on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:39 am

Paul …

What does “FB” mean ?? KEEP Seeing it!

Pls enlighten us!

Thanks!

• sudonano on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:18 am

its like a code they use for the model. Like this is the FB Civic. the old one is FD i think. Camry(new-XV50, old-XV40), Sonata (old-NF, new-YF) thats how they differentiate the designs.

• Just like bmw has its own f10 for 5 series & f30 for 3 series, honda civic’s FB is the 9th gen civic chassis/model code, the 8th gen was FD (for our region).

• sudonano on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Exactly! Even Malaysian cars have it too. Like Myvi was D54T and Preve was the P3-21A. It is the only way we will not confuse the names!

• welly on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:45 am

FB = facebook . lol

• syntium5000 on Jul 02, 2012 at 2:58 am

WELL EXTERIOR OF THE CAR LOOKS LIKE HONDA’S DSIGNER ARE OUT OF IDEA??? MAYBE….

INTERIOR ..HURM.. I KINDA LIKE THE METER CONSOLE..ITS LOOK FUTURISTIC!!! BUT THE DASH LAYOUT TOTALLY HORRIBLE…I SEEMS LIKE THE HONDA ENGINEERS DRINK 5 TOWER OF CARLSBERG THEN THEY DESIGN THE DASH….

SEE YAA…

• kambinganas on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Please don’t drink and post. Nobody can read your drunk all caps post.

• The drivetrain and handling of this all new 2012 Honda Civic FB has certainly improved much from the FD, combining even better FC and driveability. Sadly the ‘not so’ pleasing exterior design of this FB Civic will be the major letdown for many prospective buyers. Pricing has to be right, if not hard to see the same level of success as the FD achieved. :(

• Honda: “So what if it’s ugly and a few thousands ringgit more, msian will still buy it! Let’s have more Sake.”

• Dingo on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:55 am

FB refers to the 9th Generation.

Something like EG, EK etc

• ss427 on Jul 02, 2012 at 9:34 am

Even the model name has been degenerated. Shouldn’t FD comes AFTER FB? ;) Just like the old EK came after the old EG series.

• Budu power on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:24 am

Facebook kot hehehe…….

• We have seen the photos…too much of it….no need to tease us…unless u are expected to first launch in the world market eg at Geneva auto show..

• Raff Tan on Jul 02, 2012 at 8:26 am

After gone through the DRIVEN review, feel disappointed with the specs tht Honda offer in 1.8L!!! Price at around 100k don’t hv cruis control are not acceptable & if really happens sale will lose to Korean Cars!!!

• ss427 on Jul 02, 2012 at 9:31 am

To bros who have collected their new Elantras, do piss off the Honda sales reps by driving your superb Elantras to the official press release event in 10 days time.. LOL :D

Gotta see the expressions on the Honda top managament kekeke… :D

• ss427 on Jul 02, 2012 at 9:45 am

Guys, here’s the SG spec FB Civic brochure.

http://honda.com.sg/cars/PDF/civic_catalogue.pdf

Once again, things such as 6 airbags are completely alien to Japs cars of this class in this part of the world. :( You have to get the 2L model to enjoy 6 airbags.

Evidently Honda belives life is cheap for buyers of lesser trim levels.

Other than the introduction of auto headlamps and wipers, the FB offers NOTHING over our beloved FDs in terms of equipment count.

FYI, our FDs already have auto headlamps option in Austalia market.

• kambinganas on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Hopefully the Malaysian ones have VSA. If not please don’t buy this junk.

• zidane on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:14 am

so what…

you pay less profit for them… they give less safety for you…

• How is Honda going to reduce pricing, a dent on their cars secondhand value is not going to please anyone. Especially their loyal diehard supporters. Higher specification list would be win-win decision.
    Or they can continue selling uninspiring commute.

• kambinganas on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:13 pm

Most likely, they will do like what Toyota have done. Higher price lesser features so that the second hand value of older models remain even higher. The FB already loss to the FD with the engine downgrade.

• matlimmutu on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:38 pm

design wise, ugly. price wise, sure mahal.. better get proton inspira.

• kambinganas on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Better get Pervy. Inspira got lesser safety features and no turbo.

• maserati on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:41 pm

This civic will wipe elantra out! Lol

Say goodbye to hyundai, stupid lousy car manufacturer

• kambinganas on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Not only that, this car will wipe out VW also. Say goodbye to overpriced German cars. *wink*wink* Right?

• 666devil on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Maserati ur Toyota cars not selling well anymore until u need to come here support another Japanese brand? LoL!
        Imagine Camry price + rm10k and yet they took away VSC. My neighbour driving camry say he won’t let go of his old model now bcoz of this new failure model…

• David D on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:45 pm

haha bro, that’s some good sarcasm there. Everything also wipeout, that’s the motto of blind brand fanboys these days.

Anyways, back to the FB Civic, to give credit to Honda, at least they stuff more goodies, unlike Toyota with their insanely ‘air kosong’ spec cars.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 02, 2012 at 10:26 pm

From the thumbs down, looks like some Malaysians have no clue what is sarcasm.

• Chris on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:47 pm

new civic will look like city (as in current latest model where front is the same and just the back is diff.) ..:P

• kambinganas on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Good la, then can share parts with the Civic.

Sure ah bengs happy one. They can upgrade to Civic but transfer their mods from City.

Too bad, the same can’t be applied to the upcoming Accord, else the Civic ah bengs can also upgrade to Accord and transfer mods.

• 666devil on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Fully agree. They tarted giving 5 yrs warranty and stability control on new city. Tat I salute them. Feeling the pressure for Koreans now. Unlike Toyota happily coming out with ‘enhancement’ version and keep sucking $$.

• CL3899 on Jul 02, 2012 at 10:21 pm

New civic is too ugly than current one Honda is getting worst.

• How on earth our authorities allow these car manufacturers to call their model ” all new” when the engine, gearbox, and platform are “carry over”??

• Supertram on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:56 am

o well.. at least they they making effort by doing this aggressive advertisement

*drive away with my forever-awesome civic 8th gen

• i-mmune on Jul 03, 2012 at 5:44 am

Doraemon fan boyz..Don’t buy this car now..coz those who buy it now wil be disappointed wen an ‘enhanced’ facelift model comes out d next year..

• Gerry Wood Dodge on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Sadly the ‘not so’ pleasing exterior design of this FB Civic will be the major letdown for many prospective buyers.

• Peter Styler on Jul 03, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Whatever design will Honda come up..those japanese fan dog will always ‘Honda Honda Honda da bestttt!!’…erk?no brain to evaluate already..

• Someone on Jul 10, 2012 at 3:02 pm

I think Honda have failed to impress people with their new models like city facelifted and new civic. Whether you like it or not, still have people will buy for it with some reason and liking it. You don’t need to quote people who likes Japs car as “japanese fan dog”. If you really think so, then are you admitting that you are a dog for the one you like even others people think he or she is ugly??

• carnoisseur on Jul 04, 2012 at 9:12 am

No need to argue which is ugly and which isnt , as an owner of a German car and two Japanese cars , I can tell you one thing :- I actually like German cars but after many years of driving it the maintenance will go up and durability will fall way below ,and i mean way below a Jap .So you decide what you want in your life . As for the new civic , 1st impressions doesnt impress me ,i guess its hard to evolve a good product .

• Lazy Dino on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:53 am

would there be any Type-R version for this Civic FB?