Kia Rio sighted in Malaysia again, Kia Malaysia looking for feedback on Facebook

This lightly taped up Kia Rio was sighted by reader Kenny Tan being transported on a trailer on the PLUS Highway, northbound between the Rawang and Bukit Beruntung exits. We’ve previously seen the Kia Rio hatchback on test before back in March.

The Kia Rio is available in three bodies – a 3-door hatch, a 5-door hatch, and a sedan, and Kia has further differentiated the hatch and sedan body types by small styling differences such as different bumper designs and different front grilles for the sedan and hatch – it’s bigger on the sedan.

Kia Malaysia has announced on their Facebook page that they are interested in bringing the Kia Rio in, but are seeking opinions on what consumers would like to see on the Malaysian spec car. The Rio can be specced up with features like automatic engine stop and go, daytime running lights, keyless push start button, and a sunroof. Let’s hope that Kia Malaysia makes Vehicle Stability Management standard as well.

Globally, there are six engine choices, including a 1.6 GDI motor offering 138 hp as well as a 69 hp 1.1 litre three-pot diesel. Something like the 107 hp 1.4 litre petrol unit would be suitable for Malaysia I suppose, but guess we’ll have to wait and see.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Leseid Obrut on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:47 pm

i’d like to see a 30mm chaingun cannon mounted on the hood…and another one mounted on the boot to teach those pesky tailgaters…

• Tony Montana on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:36 am

This new Kia Rio is f-ugly (same as predecessor) and should not be allowed on the road. Save it up for a real car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • mazda 2 is even f-uglier. period. (the japs ran out of ideas much earlier than the koreans it seems)

• watchout mazda2, this bish is almost here to enter your turf. bet this one looks awfully better than mazuda

• Chris on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:55 pm

I wish to see the 1.1 ecodynamics here. So I only need to visit the petrol station every 3 months lol!

• encik boss on Jul 02, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Did Kia bring the diesel version as well?

• Hopefully Kia has modify their 1.6GDI engine to suit our petrol.. Praying they bring in the GDI engine!

• sudonano on Jul 03, 2012 at 6:22 am

that would make it one of the few cars with GDI in malaysia!

• wolfsburg on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:08 pm

Good looking small hatch! Hope the price won’t kill it… 72-75k should be good enough.

• Kia should lower it down. 72-75 is meant for preve, 65k is reasonable.

• kia rio sedan sure more expensive than kia forte.

• Masked Ryder on Jul 02, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Koreans are doing better in everything.

• Masked Ryder on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:48 am

Best in copying (just like u copying my nick).

The Sedan version look kind of “UGLY” seem like the front is bigger than the real, So far Rio has been a big failure compare to Accent.

• very shallow comment. the Rio is yet to be introduced in Malaysia and you already judged that the car is a big failure. what’s your basis? look at you, sporting Masked Ryder nick, so Japanese, so obsessed, so immature, so funny.

• If this car launch in malaysia, myvi sure lose kaw2 haha

• 1.4 producing 107bhp?..that sounds powerful for a 1.4 engine..but im more interested in diesel..as we dont have much choices of cheap diesel cars here..could be economical too..

• Yaaaay...... on Jul 02, 2012 at 8:11 pm

I m actually quite proud of Kia….for actually asking their customers for their opinion before the car was launched…better chances of sales…..

• call me greedy but everything ler…

• Put 458 engine in it…can ah?=p

• rear light on Jul 02, 2012 at 9:23 pm

for me, 1.1 TDCi is preferable.. this car is not meant for street race nor big family carrier right? the buyer of this type of car will probably consider fuel friendliness, easy to drive, nice design, cheap road tax, decent power and that’s it..

• Car Driver on Jul 02, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Kia Malaysia Please bring in the Sedan 1.6 GDI and the 1.1 Diesel Pot. That is what I want. There is no such competition for such engines and there are demand for it. 1.6GDI for the power hungry while the 1.1 diesel for the economist.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jul 03, 2012 at 12:23 pm

They would have bring Veloster with 1.6GDI if it run on our Euro 2 fuel, but it doesn’t look like it, anyway i doulb Naza would bring in a more powerful B segment to kill it bread & butter Forte which run on 1.6MPI, i mean how are they going to priced it later, the way i see it Naza will offer the 1.4 Petrol, which is 108hp/6300rpm & 101 ib/ft at 5000rpm (this is a engine with very narrow power band) mean you need to constantly rev for power, which sound like bad deal for me, 1.1 (3 cylinder) Diesel would end up like tortoise with merely 75hp that is if it can run on our dirty diesel in the first place.
      KIA No Go.

• NazaKia, price it right and you’ll have cash cow apart from your RM 78,800.00 Kia Forte 1.6.

Here is the B-segment sedan market cars:

Toyota Vios 1.5 MT
    RM 72,003.50

Peugeot 207 1.6 Sedan
    RM 72,888.00

Toyota Vios 1.5J MT
    RM 73,200

Toyota Vios 1.5J AT
    RM 76,103.50

Mazda2 1.5 Sedan
    RM 76,622.00

Toyota Vios 1.5J AT
    RM 77,300

Toyota Vios 1.5E AT
    RM 82,300

Ford Fiesta 1.6 Sedan
    RM 83,388.00

Nissan Latio Sedan 1.6 AT
    RM 86,738.50

Toyota Vios 1.5G
    RM 87,313

Honda City 1.5 E
    RM 90,980.00

Volkswagen Polo Sedan 1.6
    RM 99,888.00

I expect the car’s price to start at RM 60,000 for the base 1.4. Let’s not forget that.. the Suzuki Swift is now RM 65k..

Perodua Myvi 1.5 AT
    RM 56,013.50

Suzuki Swift 1.5
    RM 65,901.50

Mazda2 1.5 Hatchback
    RM 82,322.00

Ford Fiesta 1.6 Hatchback
    RM 84,888.00

Specs? How about putting Bae Soo ji and Jung Soo-yeon at the backseat when I put one on order?
    Kamsahamnida

• Rachel on Jul 03, 2012 at 12:23 am

You can have those cow girls from the Ford Ranger show.

• Sam Loo on Jul 03, 2012 at 3:32 am

Sure, it may be cheaper than most in its class, but if you sell 1 year later, its value will drop 30% minimally.

Korean cars have very poor resale value

• agaiin, the same resale value thingy. wake up sammy loo! vios wont sell better in 5 years oso.

• David D on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Yeah, poor resale value. That’s the only thing coming out of your stupid mouth. Korean cars these days depreciate less, if not less than Jap cars, and that’s something reasonable these days.

I propose that you keep your mouth shut unless you want to get a beating from fellow commentators because of your stupid sweeping comments. Pathetic.

• underskinned on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:49 am

The sedan is fug, just like Mazda2 and Fiesta sedan.

• Rio is actually good looking when u look at the real car…. Bring all the engine, except the 1.2 petrol…. Make a basic model with manual and steel wheels to compete the local market… Call it Naza Rio…. Cheaper like that to buy

• Overboost on Jul 04, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Remember, the more options/gadgets on the car, the higher the selling price will be due to duties (as to be dictated by MITI to protect Proton & Perodua). To me, forget sunroof & push start button which are not essential, but add in the automatic engine stop/go (can help save fuel especially in our horrible jams) and DRL (for safety reasons). Engine wise, let’s have the 1.6 GDI and 1.4 engines in the 5-door hatch as I think the sedan will not sell well in an already crowded market. Hopefully, it will sell for between RM73k-RM85k.

• ilovekiario.. :P on Jul 08, 2012 at 12:59 am

OMGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!

• price 65k-72k would be reasonable.
    say no to sedan. just bring hatchback here.

• Jack Philip Yong on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Hope Kia also bring Rio sedan to Malaysia.

• Kill In Action on Aug 24, 2012 at 4:51 pm

As a forte owner, I dont feel proud at all. This is thanks to their lousy and extremely expensive spare parts. To be exact, much more expensive than mercedes benz. To start with lousy after sales service. Repair my need 2 months, and yet with a lot of defects. Use fake item on my vehicle. paint peel off within less than a month.use and involved in a hit and run accident. and tell me is normal.

• Jack Philip Yong on Sep 26, 2012 at 11:44 am

Kia Rio Sedan 2012 can kill Proton Preve off if sedan variant of Kia Rio is being brought into Malaysia.