MyTeksi: book a taxi in Malaysia using an app

Need to book a taxi? There’s an app for that! Good news for frequent users of taxi cabs in Malaysia – you can now book taxis on the go using MyTeksi, a platform that allows taxi bookings on the go via an iPhone app, an Android app, or plain and simple SMS for those without a supported smartphone OS. The MyTeksi app can be downloaded for free from either the Apple App Store or Google Play.

MyTeksi currently has over 250 active drivers in their fleet of taxis, and they’re working to grow this amount constantly. Ideally, one day all taxis in Malaysia will be signed up to be on the service.

For users of the app, it’s easy to get started. After downloading the app, all you have to do is sign up with a few simple fields – a name, password, email and mobile phone number.

The app will need to retrieve your location information so ensure you enable Location Services or the GPS function on your smart phone or tablet device.

Alternatively, you can drag the map and position the blue pin on your exact pick-up location. You can also manually type in the address in the Address bar at the bottom.

Repeat the procedure for your desired destination. You can drag the map and position the green pin on your drop-off point, or search for your destination by tapping on the Address bar.

You can also search for your desired drop-off location by tapping on the address bar at the bottom and manually looking for your desired destination address.

Key in any remarks/requests/tips and tap “Book Now”. The tip function is there to let the taxi driver know that you’re willing to tip him additional money above the meter rate if you’re currently in a location that’s not particularly desirable for taxi drivers to come pick you up, or if you simply feel generous.

After confirming your booking, the MyTeksi system will look for a taxi driver for you. The process is automated, and the nearest taxi drivers to you will be bidding for the job.

Once a taxi driver has accepted the job, you’ll receive confirmation details on your booking. The app also estimates how much your fare will be based on your starting and destination points. You’ll also have to pay a RM2 surcharge which is the standard phone taxi booking rate. You’ll need to pay this to the taxi driver, MyTeksi doesn’t charge you anything directly.

If you don’t have a supported platform, you can just send an SMS to 36881 with the following information and you will receive an SMS confirmation or a call within 3 minutes.

TEKSI Pick-up Address #Drop-off Address #Remarks

Here’s an example:

Teksi Jaya One PJ #Mid Valley #Waiting at lobby

Get MyTeksi from the Apple App Store or Google Play.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Matthew on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:45 pm

I would love to think this would work, but given how hard it is to book a taxi by phone I really don’t hold out much hope for how this will work in practise

• Malaysia Dirty Taxis on Jul 03, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Why come up with this? Its utter waste. The government must first come out with proper enforcement to curb the rampant “meter adjustment”. Every Malaysian knows all the nonsense that go on in Malaysia. Remember the tourist that got charged RM300 from KL Sentral to KLCC? Well, that really happens everyday. It was not just a one off but everyone can vouch it still goes on daily.

Secondly, instead of coming out with apps like these, encourage teksi drivers to look smart and practice hygience. Nearly every other teksi driver is digging their nose constantly and spitting outside their window whilst driving. How to give money to teksi driver and not feel geli when he digs his nose in front of you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Regina Shwartz on Jul 05, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Dude… do you really thing everything in this country uses government money?

Haaaiiihhhhh…… think la dei… don’t simply make comments without knowing the background.

Go read: http://myteksi.com/about

• Aaron Gill on Jul 04, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Hi Matthew,

I am Aaron the Product & Technical Lead at MyTeksi.

It is working already and has been working since September 2011 when we first ran our tests. First 6 months were really painful because of technical, taxi companies & driver related issues, but we persevered to find solutions.

There is of course a lot more to do but we are getting there and will no doubt be as good if not on par with other developed nations.

The key to the success of our service is not our app, its everyone involved actually, passengers, drivers, taxi companies & relevant authorities.

So hope you will believe in us to improve the industry for everyone ;)

• Regina Shwartz on Jul 05, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Dude, you’ll see lots of people complaining about “gahmen this la”, “gahmen that la”… please don’t let this break your spirit.

Initiatives like this is waaaaayyy better than dead-end projects like “1Malaysia Pad” and “My Email” – MyTeksi actually serves an important purpose and it does it so very elegantly.

Please keep this up and please do whatever you can to maintain this. Heck you can even link up with Taxi companies to display banner ads on the app that correspond to advertising that the taxi companies have (iPropery, BFM, etc…) and share the advertising profits from the app with the Taxi company – this way the Taxi companies get a new source of revenue and they now have a reason to continue cooperation.

Success in this is not about the idea – that’s the easy part, it’s all going to come down to the execution and how you keep this stuff working. In simpler terms, don’t let this become another Friendster.

Good luck chaps!

• OrangBumi on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Good incentive :)..

• banana on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:49 pm

no amount of apps can help us. the very core is rotten – the cab drivers!

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 03, 2012 at 3:02 pm

there are cab drivers still refusing to use meters.

What is the point of this anyway, especially if you need to PAY A SURCHARGE. My taxi doesn’t charge me directly, but indirectly, they are still charging me. I am sure there is a referral fee for the taxi driver which I end up paying.

• Aaron Gill on Jul 04, 2012 at 12:13 pm

Hi there,

The RM2 surcharge is a government gazetted surcharge that you pay for phone based booking services as shown here -> http://www.spad.gov.my/fare-rate “Bagi setiap sewaan yang diatur melalui telefon”

As for the Tips box in our app, that is a totally optional request because we have had regular customers who live in far away places where taxis need to travel more than 5KM to reach them, so they offer a Tip for drivers to cover the cost of their NGV to travel to the pick-up point.

Hope that clarifies ;)

• Hotel on Jul 03, 2012 at 3:04 pm

I think there’s already a few apps for taxi booking. One it is taximonger. Good services so far, I heard. The more the merrier!

• Good initiative but still does not solve the root cause…its not how many apps are being developed, its the attitude and availability of the taxi drivers!

• KIZASHI RULES on Jul 03, 2012 at 4:36 pm

You can see from the turn out of the MYTEKSI App launch, all 4 seats behind the speaker are empty ….nuff said about the how well this app will work if teksi guys are not going to be available.

• Aaron Gill on Jul 04, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Hi KIZASHI,

Actually the 4 seats were prepared for the Q&A session for our VIPs for a media launch event we had last month.

To date, we have 250 taxis within the Klang Valley area and here is the latest screenshot of our taxi fleet -> http://cl.ly/2Y0H292S0O051p041923

We are still a long way from properly covering the whole Klang Valley though, still need at least 1000 taxis to do that and working hard to make that happen for you.

• Paint on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:00 pm

I thought in Singapore they have been using this kind of system for quite some time. Although, it is tad worrying to see the taxi driver tapping away on the screen while driving everytime a new job order appears.

• It won’t work well in Malaysia. Now most of the taxi drivers are not sincere to provide transportation service at affordable rates to passengers (that is by using mileage metres). Most of them use fix price now, reluctant to provide service if fare not agreed. Those ‘arrogant’ taxi drivers will continue their ways unless drastic stringent laws are implemented.

• Our taxis might be one of the worst in the world. Nevertheless, looking on another perspective, this app can perhaps improve the service. We now can rate a taxi driver based on our experience with them. Thus, we can choose which taxi to take. To make things more transparent, it would be nice if we can write a comment after every taxi ride.

A simple comment “Driver is courteous” or “Driver is a dumbass” would make a signifant Point for customers.

Thumbs up for the app.

• IloveProton on Jul 08, 2012 at 2:48 am

Not to lansii but my job requires me to travel a fair bit hence I need the services of our dear public transport a lot to/from airport. I have used such an app in our beloved neighbour and it worked 99% of the time, bar the peak periods. Compared to here, most of the time we have to wait 30-45mins in queue for a taxi in KLIA. It’s even more worse in KL Sentral. I don’t fault this app but rather the bad apples in the taxi community that spoils the whole system. Sort that out and this might just work.

• pelams on Jul 09, 2012 at 12:33 am

lucky taxi drivers, gt free tyres from TR1M

• Mazlan/E337/Comfort387 on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:35 pm

After reading all the comments in the web ie. Paultan Org/MyTeksi,I realized that most of us drivers require a lot assistance from MyTeksi spirited staff.
    Thumbs-up to Aaron Gill and the team…Bravo !!

• Well, let me share an experience of mine…just today, my colleague and I had to get a taxi from the client’s office back to our hotel. Both of us stood beside the road and tried to flag some taxis down, but most of them already had passengers with them and none stopped.

After more than an hour of flagging down taxis and calling up the taxi centers, we finally gave up and walked to a nearby restaurant and had our dinner. We then decided to try out this app that was introduced to us just a few days back. Registration was fast and the app was really user friendly. And guess what, within seconds of submitting our booking on the system, we got the confirmed taxi number! We literally had to rush to pay for our bill as the app showed that the driver was 30 seconds away.

All in all, we would like to thank the myteksi team for coming up with such an amazing app! Good job, guys and keep it coming! Up to this hour, we are still amazed at how efficient this app is. In fact, my colleague and I has already decided to try this app again tomorrow after work!

• Isabelle on Feb 02, 2013 at 9:30 pm

Time of booking: 6:10PM 2-Feb-2013
    Time of pick-up: 8:15PM 2-Feb-2013
    Pick-up Location: JALAN PUTERI 11/3, PUCHONG, SELANGOR
    Drop-off Location: MENARA MAA, KUALA LUMPUR, KUALA LUMPUR
    Booking ID: AND-799858203
    Your driver

Name: Ghazali Abd. Hashim
    Plate number: HWD9273
    Mobile number: 0192057755
    Please call your driver

RM0.00 Taxi HWD9273 (Tel: 0192057755) arrived at your location but couldn’t locate you! Please call driver now if you still want a pick-up

Mr.Paul,
    I had made a Booking 2hours before n it was confirmed for pick up by 8:15pm. i was rushing to get myself ready on time so that i didn’t realise that message came in at 7:46pm saying that taxi has arrived but couldn’t locate my address. This driver never call me at all and i only noticed the message by 8:10pm and started calling that driver n he hung up my phone 3times and i knew he was going to rain check me. Immediately i went online n put on offer rm10 tips extra only manage to get a new driver within 15 minutes.
    Im really not satified of that driver attitude . because of his raincheck i was late to work. I hope that your company will take action on this case n demerit this irresponsible driver.
    And i hope that your company only hire those drivers who have gps and make sure their phone with credit to call up customers in case of this kind of matter happened.
    Im really disappointed for this kind of driver.

• Paul Tan on Feb 02, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Hi,

We don’t run MyTeksi. You should post your feedback at https://www.facebook.com/MyTeksi

Cheers!

• Jamestn on Jun 24, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Any reason to pay the taxi driver extra rm2? I know it says standard surcharge / standard booking. Then it’s same as calling cab call? Why not pay to myteksi? Would like to know..

• They go to your doorstep. And myteksi can a cut of the 2RM depending on distance covered… range from 50 cents minimum.

• rajan on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:52 pm

I am taxi driver. I want to apply mytaxi but i dont know how to apply, can u help me? Please send me ur contact no? Thank you for kind

• Alvin on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:37 am

Hi, I m interested in joining your company to be a taxi driver as I find out that Myteksi service is very useful, but I don’t know how n what are the procedures. Can u pls help me ? Or send me your company contact number tq

• Hi!, I am interested to be part of the mytaxi services. Where can I find more details about it.
    Thanks.

• Hi I’ll like to say that myteksi has served me well for 3 months until today I use it everyday to commute to work. Can u add a function to read comments on drivers that accept your job? Or blacklist them so I don’t ever have to deal with them ever again. I’ve always left comments after each trip to benefit others I’ll say 99% good. Until today….

• Hello,
    I am doing my college assignment on MyTeksi. I have been using this app for quite some time and after whatsapp, the most convenient and easy app I have ever come across is MyTeksi. Till date after 100s of bookings, there has been NOT one time where I was disappointed by the service. I would rate 11 on 10. Thank you for this app.

• shawn on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:30 am

We are interested to provide voice, click to dial and sms/mms API for interworking with Myteksi/grabtaxi. Let me know if you are interested for the Open API interworking with our platform deployed in telco. Thanks

• Gopal on Feb 03, 2014 at 10:16 pm

Having lived in the klang valley I have had taxi drivers refuse to take me to my destination simply because it was ‘out of their way’ or it was too near or they specify they only take passengers to certain destinations. Flagging down a taxi and experiencing this is a real pain. Needless to say I have missed a few flights and my travel arrangements had been affected in view of this. Even making online bookings via local taxi websites does not guarantee you have a taxi on time when you need one even though you are willing to pay the fare and maybe more! Singapore has a very efficient cab system. Taxi companies and drivers take you to the destination you need to go NOT where they WANT to go, AND they use their meters. I am not certain this app would be able to address this issue. Most likely drivers will still refuse to go where the passenger wants to go to, especially of the distance is relatively close.

• Aravinth on Feb 10, 2014 at 4:22 pm

How to book 6 seater taxi thru myteksi app

• justin on May 25, 2014 at 12:25 am

MyTeksi apps nice. Local develop or Israel?

• PakWan on Jun 30, 2014 at 4:17 pm

My teksi really works, please call me at 0123105266 if you need an executive taxi for travel anywhere throughout peninsular Malaysia

• limousine service on Apr 21, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Swet blog!I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do youu have any suggestions on hoow to get listd
    in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but
    I never seem to geet there! Appreciate it