Kia Sportage KX-4: 181hp flagship diesel Sportage

Inside the engine bay of this Kia Sportage KX-4 SUV is a 2.0 litre CRDi turbodiesel engine, with a revised variable geometry turbocharger, higher-pressure piezo injectors and software mapping, which creates 181 hp at 4,000 rpm. And is engineered to either a six-speed manual or automatic gearbox, which throws out different numbers.

Torque, at 1,800 rpm to 2,500 rpm, is 383 Nm for the manual, 392 Nm for the automatic. The manual version does 0-60 mph (97 km/h) in 9.4 seconds and has a top speed of 120 mph (193 km/h), while the auto version has a top speed to 121 mph (195 km/h). Kia did not state the 0-60 mph time for the automatic.

The KX-4 is only available in an All-Wheel Drive, which constantly monitors driving conditions and sends power to the wheel that needs it the most. By default, the system sends all torque to the wheels, but can be redistributed 60:40 front-to-rear when situations call for it. Owners can also manually select lock mode for off-roading; it fives 50:50 torque split at speed up to 25 mph (40 km/h).

As for equipment, the KX-4 list full leather upholstery, privacy glass, seven inch touchscreen sat nav, xenon lights, automatic lights and wipers, panoramic sunroof, dual-zone air-conditioning, heated front and rear sears, cruise control, iPod connectivity, colour reverse camera and a seven-speaker stereo with external amp and subwoofer. The SUV also gets a Parallel Parking Assist System (complete with all-around parking sensors), keyless smart entry system and engine stop/start button, and stainless steel door scuff plates.

The KX-4 comes at a price of £27,195 OTR for the manual and £28,500 OTR for the automatic.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Gilthoniel on Jul 04, 2012 at 11:47 am

Please ask Naza to bring this in STAT!

• amatku17 on Jul 04, 2012 at 11:54 am

well done KIA, love it very much.
    The list of specs makes me dizzy.

• kensomuse on Jul 04, 2012 at 11:57 am

Been given a Sportage media car recently and testing it to the limits, I am a bit surprised that the top speed is the same as the 2.0l Theta II. Managed to clock about 197kph on the NSE. Zero to hundred figures are also almost identical. I suppose the key difference would be FC and the in-your-face torque which is double what the Theta II can dish out.Oh, and a manual gearbox spells lots of fun

• ParkHere! on Jul 04, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Kia is getting better the interior looks quality, the Japs should be worry if they keep coming out with “uncle” designs like the CRV !

• kambinganas on Jul 04, 2012 at 7:30 pm

Unfortunately for posting such a comment, you will be thumb down by all the uncles because of RV.

• David D on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:20 pm

hahah, Kambinganas, good sarcasm there. Honestly, RV these days is nothing but plain rubbish. I mean, for heaven’s sake, we buy cars not just for A to B, but to have some enjoyment with it as well!!

• kambinganas on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Unfortunately David, again all uncles will disagree with you. They say only millionaire can enjoy good cars.

• ss427 on Jul 04, 2012 at 12:07 pm

I’m sorry Chris but this CRDi Sportage is NOT the Sportage flagship model, not by a long shot. It may have the most powerful Hyundai CRDi engine option till date, but in terms of performance, it is still not the fastest. Moreover, this diesel Sportage will very likely be a Euro market only as the latest Hyundai CRDi requires Euro 5 compliant diesel to work properly

The fastest and best performing Sportage continues to be the 260hp 2L Theta II GDI Turbo :)

See here
    http://www.kia.com/#/sportage/explore/

Too bad its only meant for North American market for now.

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jul 04, 2012 at 12:21 pm

I’m sorry ss427 but it was never my call to label this KX-4 as the flagship model. I write what I see in the press releases and it is Kia UK that called this one. And in case you have not seen the price, it is quoted in Pounds, so yes, it is for that part of the world.

• jalan54 on Jul 04, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Hyundai santa fe diesel in malaysia is using the latest crdi engine, why hyundai can bring in this latest diesel engine to Malaysia and Max’s kia can’t?

• ss427 on Jul 04, 2012 at 2:06 pm

This CRDi 2L is a more advanced and powerful power than the existing CRDi as found in the Santa Fe

As I’ve said, the new diesel engine requires Euro 5 compliant diesel fuel to work, and it has a particle filter that hardly tolerate the use of sulphur rich Euro 2 diesel in Malaysia, the chances of it selling in Bolehland is very slim if not impossible,

Even Euro 4 compliant diesels sold in SG may have some issues in these super high tech CRDi these days.

SG will go Euro 5 (both diesel and gasoline) by the end of 2013

• droll on Jul 04, 2012 at 12:51 pm

the power figures are interesting
    383nm from 1800rpm to 2500rpm? that’s only a 700 rpm spread – how useable is that in real life driving?

• yus selidik on Jul 04, 2012 at 2:56 pm

my wife’s 2.2 crdi diesel santa fe got no issue regarding our diesel quality. almost 15 months oredi, only one time changing diesel filter, cost about rm 100.

• Is that why we don’t get the diesel 2.0 in Malaysia for the older sonata and sportage?? Diesel torque is nice.

• Aiyo….you think from 0 to 1800 rpm and 2500 to 4000rpm are zero torque meh? U must look at the whole torque curve….at eg at 3000 rpm, it may be 300nm, 4000rpm 200nm….so, everything is still higher than the whole torque in your typical 2 litre petro car.

• Hehehe, guess he has never driven a diesel….usually a diesel do not rev very high since all the torque available at low rev…basically u will upshift at around 2,500rpm…at top gear, u’re doing 120kph at just 2,000rpm….at 3,000rpm u’re at 160kph, while u’re almost at top speed at 4,000rpm…

compared to a petrol, to move fast u need to rev way above 4,000-5,000rpm for max torque….diesels, u do not need to rev, just ride the huge meaty torque curve btw
      2,000-3,000rpm.

thts why usually diesel can replicate its official FC in real world compare to a petrols….test are usual done at 2,000-3,000rpm…wt diesel, real world u will be riding at that rev range while a petrol , u need to cane the engine more which kills ur fc

anyway, my opinion…petrol are rewarding to an enthusiast while diesel will be more easy going for a driver (ie a bit lazy in characteristic)

• avartar on Jul 04, 2012 at 4:36 pm

It is pleasant to read this new as Chris Ng’ write up is straight to the point. Love it. Well done.

• suka suka on Jul 04, 2012 at 7:02 pm

a pure loser’s car..

how good is the design..
    yet the build and suspension sucks ever still..

wanna car; go for Conti
    build for passion/feel/ride/handling and ever lasting..
    thats can see many 1970s.. 80s Volvo.. Merc.. Beemer still on the road..

here’s a case to prove what passion/build is about..
    check this quote from WIKI/world book:
    “A 1966 Volvo 1800S and its owner Irv Gordon of East Patchogue, New York, USA own the Guinness world record for highest mileage in the same vehicle he has been driving for more than 45 years. It had covered in excess of 2,219,751 miles (3,572,343 km) by March 2004….On July 21, 2012, Irv mentioned only 50,000 miles to go before the target of 3 million miles.”

• Wei Wei Wei, you should compare Korean car to China car and not Conti car OK.

• chua ch on Jul 05, 2012 at 12:55 pm

please bring this specification in.

thanks.. :)

• Saw Sportage with CRDi in Miri, wearing Bruneian plate. I wonder if Kia is already selling it in Brunei market?

• Kia Kia on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Saya telah pakai Kia Sportage – 1st Generation (1997)
    – sampai sekarang dah 2 kali kena overhaul – kerana over heating. Bila kita buang thermostat, gear x boleh tukar ke gear 3 atau 4….?. Mohon peminat KIA atau yang berkenaan beri pendapat.
    2. satu lagi macam mana nak jimat minyak.