Honda Freed – new Grade S variant debuts, RM100k

Honda Malaysia has introduced a new Freed variant called the Freed S. The Grade S version of the compact MPV brings the price of the vehicle under the RM100k mark, with the Freed S rolling in at RM99,800 on-the-road with insurance, compared to the Grade E version’s RM113,493.

The lower price naturally brings about a few omissions – the sliding rear doors on this one are manually operated (power sliding on the E, with remote operation), the air-conditioning is manual (auto on the E) and there are no indicators for the side mirrors or intermittent wipers. The Freed S also loses the tail spoiler and the Alpine DVD player found on the Grade E.

Other than that, the S retains everything else found on the ongoing higher spec E, from trim levels and mod cons to safety kit like ABS, EBD and brake assist. The 1.5 litre i-VTEC mill continues as is with 118 PS at 6,600 rpm and 146 Nm at 4,800 rpm.

Colours available for the Freed S are Brilliant White Pearl, Polished Metal Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• james on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:01 pm

any news of the freed hybrid?

• Wisdom on Jul 06, 2012 at 10:48 am

HONDA MALAYSIA, HAVE YOU REVISED YOUR SERVICE INTERVAL FROM 5K km TO 10K km?

Do it fast or we will keep people informed on how greedy and un-green you are (in terms of servicing).

• honny on Jul 06, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Konichiwa, please do use Fully Synthetic oil for 10 thousand service interval.

• Black Dog on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:02 pm

One of the main selling point of this MPV is the power sliding door & now they omit it??? Funny

• Kiasi No Kiasu on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:01 pm

Hello, didn’t you see a rail behind the door ? obviously is a sliding door

• read his comment back la..clearly he said ‘POWER’ sliding door…this variant still slide (manually), but not with electronic ‘power’ operated…

• Zero Emissions on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:38 pm

it can’t sell well cuz of the pricing initially,naturally to bring down the price some things have to be removed.even with the power door function is wasnt really a good seller.now maybe they can get it moving

• amg63 on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:15 pm

honda should better also omit 4 wheels, and cut down the price to 98k

• shawal on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:04 pm

a bit too pricey to rid urself of ur masculinity

• Gurmit on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:09 pm

bad news to existing owner? 2nd value drop?

• the sales figure of this freed has not been promising because its pretty expensive at 113k. that’s why honda came out with this basic variant, hoping the 99k will sell. good luck.

• b sensible on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:55 pm

arrrrr….the gov shd “rescue” the situation to remove the excise duty on mpv as most mpv buyers hv very large family….shame gov hasn’t take this initiative….

• tunguuu on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:44 pm

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

if u c there…the duty seems similar with passenger cars :)

• Jimmy on Jul 05, 2012 at 11:23 pm

NO NO NO. No need to reduce tax. Because if Freed should be price at RM70k after tax revision, UMW-H will raise it back to RM113k by using whatever means and telan bulat-bulat the extra profit of RM43k.

• albag on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:21 pm

i wonder whats so expensive under this van… is that necessary till to remove the power windows? just like the hilux standard and G version… why cars nowadays still using manually operated windows? what a shame…

• airbeg on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:31 pm

it’s manual sliding doors not windows dude

• Alpha on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:31 pm

READ.

• Aquila on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Correction… He meant the power sliding doors not the power windows.

• obviously you did not read properly, it is rear power sliding door and not power window.

• boring skull on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:42 pm

keep on wondering thats why ur not in the industry and commmenting here..simple..like buy..dont like shadap..no one force u..u like toyota go suck the T badge..who like honda go buy the H badge..ur face ugly ur fren never say dont like ma…just accept..

• Omnipotent on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:44 pm

bukan remove power windows, remove power sliding doors ler

• Black Dog on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:01 pm

Power (side) DOORS, not windows, dude. Please read properly.

• Remove power windows? I thought the sliding rear doors changed to manual only…..

• There’s no mention about power window removal.. only power sliding door.

• remove power windows? mana ada bro.. suka hati je…

• ss427 on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Really Honda, you’ve actually deleted the intermittent wipers just to save cost?! :( Are you trying to build a Vios J??

Intermittent wipers is considered a GIVEN these days and no motor vehicle (cars and trucks, buses) should come without it.

What’s happening to the Japs these days? Intermittent wipers is available in the OMG Chery QQ too, although it may not work all the time there LOL :D

• mustafa on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:29 pm

not power window la…power door (sliding)…but no intermittent wiper is bad….(my kelisa had one) or do you mean adjustable intermittent wiper…

• theanswer on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:56 pm

nice small mpv..but useless considering the price. they should make the 2nd row seat for 3 ppl not 2.

• tunguuu on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:01 pm

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

i was just researching a bit…since City is CKD…n freed is CBU…the pricing for this cars would be actually much closer. since in indonesia its cheaper than the city…hmm..doesnt it make sense thats its cheaper in Malaysia too?

• tunguuu on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:03 pm

oh by the way..it has no import tax…only sales and excise tax.. :) which is like 30% less than the city.. :)

• still toooooooooo pricey.

• Fukuoka on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:51 pm

This car relatively is popular here in Japan. It ranked at no.4 for sales in May 2012 behind Prius, Aqua and Fit. A much better looking variant called Freed Spike is also available here, at a higher price though. Google it and see the difference.

• ahmadfaris93 on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:02 pm

It is so ugly. AHAHAHAHAH

• Extrimist on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:11 pm

The list of MPVs offer stability control. Below 200k.

Citroen C4 Picasso: RM143103
    Hyundai Gran Starex TurboDiesel 2.4: RM153905
    Honda Stream: RM158995
    Mazda5: RM159000++
    Peugeot 5008: RM159888
    Volkswagen CrossTouran: RM170000++
    Ford S-MAX: +198888

Freed…put VSA and sell it at RM105k please. But sorry, I won’t buy since I got no money.

• Jimmy on Jul 05, 2012 at 11:31 pm

Hyundai Starex should be 7-seater, with 2nd row superrelax Mazda8 ottoman seats, and 3rd row large wider seats with extra large legrooms to make it feel grand. No 4th row. Currently all the seats are children seats, yuk big body with tiny limbs.

• Cross Touran 2011 stock can still get abt 13k discounts…..but 3rd row is for kids/midget & no 3rd row aircond blower for our hot weather…other than that, its superb…got low down torque & safety euroncap 5 star

• Is it suppose to be same class as Avanza? But just the price is very high side… Maybe if at rm89k is ok…

• Qarnayn on Jul 05, 2012 at 7:23 pm

problem here..just three choices of color…should add more….blue..maroon..

• babygrand on Jul 05, 2012 at 9:39 pm

How many of u seem this freed on the road? For me very less seem it might be few time i guess

• Looks ugly to me. IMO. Oh well diff people has diff taste or view

• Chewke on Jul 07, 2012 at 7:53 am

I don’t mind the looks but I love the interior (seatings). If they have the Stream’s engine in there, maintain it at 115k (of course still with power doors) I would have bought it already. Underpowered mah..

• malaysian on Jul 08, 2012 at 12:22 am

i owned a honda freed.dont judge a book by its cover. you expect 1.5 i-vtec underpowered? you wrong bro.. but for me if buy this one is worthless.. most of the feature missing.

• To malaysian….pls contact me with my e mail or hp no reg freed.interested to buy 1 unit but need to survey.pls call or text me at 0129695868,tq

• fahmi on Nov 13, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Need to buy one also, freed. Freed s type is ok not bro.Manual sliding door , your comments.

• honda product line is pity less and no good quality compare to Toyota, this freed is ugly and small. good mpv still belongs to Toyota brand

• RosLili on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:31 pm

When will Honda sell the Freed Hybrid? I’m waiting for that. It might look ugly but me n hubby fell in love with it once we stepped in car. But hybrid is definitely our target..

• fahmi on Nov 13, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Im getting onewith rebet 10k.
      Hybrid price will increase ie ,at 10-15k.
      So effort this one at 89k. Just to share

• Philip on Nov 18, 2012 at 7:00 pm

hi , fahmi, may i konw where you get the 10K rebet? kindly share me the address and contact?

• fahmi, mind to share the dealer which offer u 10k rebate? thinking of buying one, seriously..

• TokCha on Aug 06, 2012 at 11:56 pm

I had went to honda showroom. Im quite like the seat 2 + 2 + 3 which good enought to carry 6 adults + 1 child compare to Citra, GLivina or equivalent which just fit with 5 adults + 2 children. Somemore, this mini mpv had equiped with ultrasonic alarm and lots more safety & security stuffs.

• nikebobo on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Agreed with Roslili. Any info for freed hybrid?
    (fall in love with honda freed since 2011)

• Got the low variant model Freed two month ago. Do wish they install at least one auto sliding door. But I’m still happy with the car even without auto sliding door. The build quality is what I think better then Toyota (not to start a war just my cent). The car is not under power as it is a MPV I’m not looking to break any speed record or wannabe corner king just looking for something to ferry my loves one to our destination safely. Handling is nice as Honda have the best steering and brake feel. I have tested Nissan, Toyota, Mazda, VW, even Perodua before buying the Freed. Love the seating and also the space. You can just unbuckle and from the front and walk all the way to the back in it what more do you expect. Use it to carry one mountain bike with out taking off anything on sunday with the car. Overall it is a great car. Love the Freed.

• Hi sung,
      Do you find the sliding door troublesome and ‘heavy’?
      you mentioned you have tested Nissan Livina? toyota avanza or innova? did you try the CFE Exora?
      what were you driving b4?
      how is the fuel consumption x km/ lit?
      how many loved ones have you fereied comfortably?
      I was on the highway on Friday and I never see a Freed ! which makes me question , why is it such a ‘cold’car on the road?

• I will get my Freed tomorrow insyaAllah..
    I prefer Freed rather than Livina because of 2nd row seat for my 2 kids..
    From tomorrow they cant fight anymore who can lying down and who just only sit..
    If they still fighting, my wife can get them at the back easily while I drive..
    1.5L enough for us, not everyday bringing heavy load..

• fahmi on Nov 13, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Your case like mine too. To seperate seat for my two boys. He he

• Cazorla on Nov 25, 2012 at 12:04 am

Just want to buy MPV for a reasonable price (estimate 90k – 100k). Is it still have a luggage space if drive with full 7 person? Just still prefer to imported rather than national car.

• wan shamsudin b wan daud WXQ4557 on Dec 15, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Just bought honda freed s variant on 3rd of dec.2012.Dec 4th drove straight to kota bharu kelantan wt 4 passengers & luggage-approximately 500km on rough roads/highways-spent only rm69.00 on ron 95.Excellent driving pleasure and comfort though had to drive thru many potholes and rough roads.Very satisfied.#35yrs. of driving experince#

• Frank on Dec 16, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Honda Freed is rated the top few selling car in indonesia. Hot seller in singapore and now is current rated in top 5 selling car in japan.
    Current freed s has rm12k discount so now becomes rm86k from old klang road or jalan cheras honda branch.
    Every car has its strength and weakness only detail research to find what suit you. If there is one car that is perfect and cheap then there will be no other car selling in malaysia except that.
    At 70-90k+ non local 7 seater if interested is only few like avanza, unser, rush, grand livina & freed. It really depends on your needs, taste & affordability. And if you can wait, every year or two there is something new created so there is never a right time to get a car.