Nissan Almera/Sunny – to be priced from RM71k?

UPDATE: Edaran Tan Chong Motor earlier requested the removal of the photo of the ad, and so we’ve kindly obliged the request. The company has also followed up with a clarification on the matter:

“ETCM hereby would like to clarify the contents of the ad are inaccurate and the posting of this ad is not officially authorised by ETCM. However, ETCM is pleased to see the overwhelming interest in Nissan Almera and we would like to thank all our Nissan fans for your enthusiastic support. Rest assured, ETCM will keep you informed soon.”

It looks like the pricing for the Nissan Almera (or Sunny) has already been detemined. Reader Joo saw an ad posted on the wall at the Tan Chong showroom in Jalan Chan Sow Lin, and it has the sedan listed as open for booking, with a tentative starting price of RM71k.

The car has already been spotted a couple of times, back in March and more recently in Melaka, sans disguise. The ad states that it’ll be available in both manual and auto guise and in 1.5 litre form, which means that we’ll be getting the version wearing the HR15DE mill. As for output, the Chinese-market engine has 112 PS and 139 Nm, though as pointed out by a reader, the same engine in the Almera sold in Singapore offers 99 PS and 134 Nm for numbers, so it’s anyone’s guess as to what the actual figures for the Malaysian version will be.

The Almera was launched in Thailand last October as a 1.2 litre model, and though the engine choice differs, chances are the name will also be found on the car sold here. It debuted in China at Auto Guangzhou in late 2010, and is known as the Sunny in that market – the 1.5 litre unit equips the Chinese Sunny.

Joo adds that the sales personnel at the outlet said the new iteration of the Sylphy, which made its debut at Auto Beijing back in April, is due in next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• pickup driver on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:27 pm

VERY NICE PRICING..WITH THIS PRICE, IT WILL SALE LIKE A HOT CAKE..

• alpha999 on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:50 pm

sell like hot cake ?? i wish but reality is dugong vios will still reign top…..as proven in the monthly sales stats

• I think Nissan cars are good, but once you enter inside the interior, their equipment sucks. Having said that, I like Nissan cars comfortable ride quality, low interior noise refinement and that big comfortable seats. Shame that Nissan is distributed by Tan Chong family.

• Nissan Sunny Only 60k on Jul 06, 2012 at 9:25 am

Actually this car should be around RM50k to RM60k. Its just that to get CKD status, Nissan has to get Malaysian made parts from Bumi crony suppliers, hence the price of RM71k. Biasalah, the cronies all hike up the price by many times.

• Wisdom on Jul 06, 2012 at 10:55 am

Anjing laut…

• copycad mastered on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:52 pm

hodoh design lampu belakang tuu..
      plsss nissan,tolong revise laaaa…

• sunnywira on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Ini kereta blh laris spt sunny dulu….

• kambinganas on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:23 pm

terutamanya bagi mereka yang masih memiliki sunny dari dulu kala

• pacifictuna on Jul 05, 2012 at 1:39 pm

they should have name in Sunny. it’s not a bad name and well known in malaysia.

• hway de Cruz on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:14 pm

yup,agree with u… my first car back in the 80’s is the reliable trusty sunny. lots of nostalgic memories there. real workhorse too… can take outstation drives every wk. wonder how this new model looks like though

• kambinganas on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:26 pm

cannot la, then ah beng won’t buy, only auntie and uncle will buy. like this ah beng won’t be embarrassed to buy auntie/uncle car.

• Jimmy on Jul 05, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Should have retained the name Sunny. Unfortunately it will be diasppointment. Good size, good pricing, it seems.

• Almera….for ladies….

• mohsin on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:42 pm

where’s new Tiida / Latio?

• alldisc on Jul 06, 2012 at 9:06 am

Tiida/Latio/Sunny/Sentra/Pulsar = all same car

depending on market…. however, the previous Sunny was in same segment with Corolla/Civic/Saga but now its competing direct with Vios/City/Fiesta; new Saga remains in the same segment.

• amg63 on Jul 06, 2012 at 9:25 am

don’t worry! surely it will come to malaysia boleh 5 years later, after singapore has used it
        for 3 years.

• kambinganas on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:22 pm

No lah, this car if for aunty and uncles still hanging on to their extinct Nissan Sunny. It is an untapped market ma.

• Bimmer on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:01 pm

Good price, this will eat some of the Vios J market share.

• Black Dog on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:06 pm

The car is qualified for The Ugliest Car Award!

• Jimmy on Jul 05, 2012 at 11:36 pm

To me, the exterior look is okay, especially in silver and brown. Hey Nissan, have you mastered the technology of telescopic steering?

• telescopica on Jul 05, 2012 at 11:40 pm

nissan is really out of their mind. nissan teana has no telescopic steering. a tall person cannot drive the car without stretching his arms to reach the steering wheel until the arm wanna fall out of the socket…

• ss427 on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Anthony, I’ve to correct you there.

The HR15DE unit has been DETUNED to just 99ps and 134NM of torque in this POS Almera, reasons of which that’s best known to Nissan themselves.

And its either 5MT or 4AT. If you want dual airbags and auto climate controls, you have to opt for the 4AT.

Evidently Nissan thinks manual trans drivers deserves to live dangeriously and that passenger side airbag is not required. Also, they don’t need nicer aircon controls for they’d be busy rowing the gears trying to squeeze out whatever little power the 1.5L can offer… :)

See here
    http://nissan.com.sg/vehicles/Almera/index.cfm

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:38 pm

ss427,

Interesting. The figures I quoted were from the Chinese Sunny as when introduced there, so it might be that we’ll get the car closer to Singaporean specification, engine tune-wise. Can’t hazard a guess as to rest of the specifications and if it’ll be identical. Guess we’ll find out when the time comes. But thanks for the heads-up.

• “The HR15DE unit has been DETUNED to just 99ps and 134NM of torque in this POS Almera, reasons of which that’s best known to Nissan themselves.”

Why?

• kambinganas on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:21 pm

Typical of TCM ma, always potong stim local Nissan buyers. Afraid the uncles and aunties getting these cars might be driving to fassst!

• To improve fc, maybe?

• Bimmer on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:48 pm

If the spec is the same as the China version (higher hp & CVT gbox), this would sell well if priced below RM 80k provided it has ABS+EBD and dual airbags. If the spec is the same as the Singapore version, nobody is going to buy the car at the price similar to Vios J.

• ss427 on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Well at least the Almera has intermittent wipers… the Vios J doesn’t… LOL ..

Oh mann, why are we degenerating to such low level as to compare which car has the msot basic of basic equipment list? :(

Oh look, the Almera has standard aircon!Don’t need to pay extra for them. Isn’t that great? *faint* :D

• Bimmer on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:33 pm

The problem is, most people who bought the Vios, bought the J spec. When they bought the car, they were not considering the value of the car, but they were considering the value of the TOYOTA badge…

• Jimmy on Jul 05, 2012 at 11:43 pm

True.

• Jimmy on Jul 05, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Commonlah, ALL new Vios has been installed with dual airbags. If you want to eat their pie, you need to install dual airbags across the range.

• melvin on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Consider value to buy… But real interior haven see yet… But i alwiZ belive interior juz so so only cuz nissan car suit for mature men… Haha…

• made in serendah?

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Wah, so cheap, I buy one for my mom to replace her old Vios!

• kambinganas on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Sure or not? Mana tau if this car is not as good as her Vios?

• azhar on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:38 pm

71k for a manual 1.5 is not bad at all..expect the auto start at 75k+

• alldisc on Jul 06, 2012 at 9:09 am

first timwe Vios introduced the J spec manual in 2008, it was priced at 69K.

and govt has kept pushing UMW price higher and higher due to close to proton’s comfort zone.
      UMW no choice, add more equipment to match the new price.

• Garfield on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Someone in Nissan just seem to love huge backside. Need a bodykit to disguise it. See the Almera Z-I by Zercon (google under youtube)

• 1k cheaper vios j. Is not that cheap afterall

• 1k cheaper than vios j. Is not that cheap afterall

• alpha999 on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:57 pm

yup…not much cheaper…interior nothing to shout about…

lots of praises..bla bla.bla..but only few here will consider owning one……

irony vios used to get basehed inside out but in the end, proven hot selling…..

• Leo Gallante on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:11 pm

I hope they use the sunny name in Malaysia, Love this car. My dad use to have one from 1983 to 1991

• Nissan car good in resale value?

not to compare with T or H, but should be better then P and P2, correct me if am wrong

• this is one boring dull car….interior sucks as well
    but then its like all nissans

• Pandu.my on Jul 05, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Wait until you see it’s interior. Dun want.

• Anthony, in your “UPDATE” paragraph, you stated “Edaran Tan Chong Motor …….priced from RM70,xxxk, and….”, if indeed RM70,xxxk (read: RM70 million!), I’m afraid ordinary rakyat like us wont be able to afford this car :) Cheers!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:00 pm

Ha ha ha. Sorry, doing six million other things and had to type it out very quickly! Thanks man!

• Size Comparison:(Biggest to smallest)
    1. Nissan Almera
    2. Honda City
    3. Toyota Vios

Weight (Lightest to the heaviest)
    1. Nissan Almera
    2. Toyota Vios
    3. Honda City

Nissan Almera is the biggest car but also the lighest car.. :D

source:
    1. http://upic.me/i/9x/938_nissan_almera04.jpg
    2. http://upic.me/i/7a/649_nissan_almera03.jpg

• ss427 on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:07 pm

which will translate into an instant tin can… not that Nissan cars are not in general… but this Almera will take the term ‘tin can’ to a whole new level

Kerb weight of just over 1000kg for such a big car??

• jayve on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Its the same B segment car. What is it to a big car ? it is slightly more spacious compared to the other B segments. Its all about how they design and stretch out the A,B and C pillars.

• front view like “dugong” also. may be inspired by vios dolphin….

• Extrimist on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:33 pm

The only PROTON car comes with stability control (ESC) is Preve CFE at RM72990.

The cheapest FORD car comes with stability control (ESP) is Fiesta at RM83888.

The cheapest KIA car comes with stability control (ESP) is Forte 1.6SX at RM85800.

The cheapest HONDA car comes with stability control (VSA) is City 1.5E at RM90980.

The cheapest HYUNDAIi car comes with stability control (ESP) is Elantra 1.6 Hi-Spec at RM96888.

The cheapest TOYOTA car comes with stability control (VSC) is Prius C at RM97000.

The cheapest CHEVROLET car comes with stability control (ESP) is Cruze at RM107116.

The cheapest PEUGEOT car comes with stability control (ESP) is 308 Turbo at RM118888.

The cheapest VOLKSWAGEN car comes with stability control (ESP) is Polo at RM118000++

The cheapest NISSAN car comes with stability control (VDA) is Teana 2.5L at RM173707.

The cheapest PERODUA car comes with stability control (VDA) is NONE.

• ben yap on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:58 pm

308 turbo is now slightly above RM120K with its facelift model.

• PERODUA cars need no VDA coz it will turtle with or without it.

• bonbon on Jul 05, 2012 at 11:53 pm

cheapest, but not cheap,, malaysian live is cheap, thank Mr G

• Jimmy on Jul 05, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Have to ask Mr Tan and Mr Chong why it is like that. You see when they facelifted the Sylphy, they rather put tiny-tiny things to lengthen the equipment list but this most important ESP was omitted, purposely. Do you prefer paddle-shit + cruise control over ESP alone? In future when carbuyers are more educated, they will lose whatever market share they have now for C-segment car.

• Jimmy on Jul 06, 2012 at 12:01 am

BTW, the COCKY mr tan and mr chong only give 6 airbags to the their Roll-Royce(they thought their infiniti is more glamorous than Mercedes in Malaysia; even Lexus gives 10-airbags or 12-airbags to fight against Mercedes) What so good about infinity? Shameful not even have telescopic steerings.

• alldisc on Jul 06, 2012 at 9:12 am

all cars have telescopic steering lah bro.

you mean adjustable is it? it is called ‘rake and reach’

• normal_user on Jul 06, 2012 at 9:38 am

Well done bro. Not many people realize that safety specs (passive & active) are important when choosing a car to buy, until its too late. When other car accidentally bang you from behind or side, or your tyre slip during wet cornering (even at low speeds it can happen!), ESP/VSC helps to you regain control by adjusting the rotating speed of each or the 4 wheels. Without it, either your car spins and land safely or high risk of death by hitting barrier/opposite incoming traffic/masuk longkang@gaung. Just having ABS & EBD won’t help you.

No one realizes that the Preve is actually safer than the Vios, Sylphy or even the latest Camry (no ESC).

• Microvave on Jul 06, 2012 at 11:11 am

@alldisc

I think that what bro Jimmy said is true. From what I know, ‘rake and reach’ is also known as Tilt steering. We can adjust the steering angle up or down to suite with our height.

Telecopic steering is another thing, that we can adjust the steering back and forth relatives to our chest distance. Maybe useful to somebody who has long legs.

As an example, KIA Forte and Honda City 1.5E has both Tilt&Telescopic, whereas Fiesta only has Tilt ability.

Please correct me if I’m wrong.

• Snoop Dog on Jul 06, 2012 at 3:22 pm

MR extrimist, how about Mazda?

• Extrimist on Jul 06, 2012 at 4:32 pm

If I’m not mistaken, the cheapest Mazda with dynamic stability control (DSC) is Mazda5 and CX-5, priced nearly same at RM159K ++.

Next, followed by Mazda6 (2.5L) at RM177K and Mazda3 MPS at 179K.

• ben yap on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:33 pm

the exterior design sucks. engine power on paper also sucks.

• hows the fuel consumption? above vios?

• ponpon on Jul 05, 2012 at 4:48 pm

good competition…

Vios, Forte, 207, Preve, New Sunny

Thinking of which one to choose..

Almost booking 207 with 5 yrs free maintenance & warranty..heard it is troublefree not as the brother 308 suffering electrical problem & gear system

Hope to see the car is nicer than 207

• sudonano on Jul 05, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Don’t take the 207, The quality is nonsense. Nearly got it until i realised the window in the car rattles when you close the door. Fiesta much better. or Forte.

• normal_user on Jul 05, 2012 at 5:06 pm

The top line B-segment Almera is using 195/55R16 wheel, which is the same height size of the Preve/Altis. With those C-segment wheels & 1.5m tall, in reality the body actually looks way bigger than it is in the pictures. No wonder it looks weird, the design is actually to squeeze as many space from a small B-segment platform.

• DewaSemut on Jul 05, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Another species of dugong… not tempted at all! :P

• vtrew on Jul 05, 2012 at 5:22 pm

i agree with the suggestion to name it after sunny, not almera, because it’s more familiar to malaysians and no intro needed

• carnoisseur on Jul 05, 2012 at 5:22 pm

I dont think this car is ugly . its different and the price caters to the masses. it will sell no matter what negative feed backs it gets here.

• matlimmutu on Jul 05, 2012 at 5:23 pm

ayoooo so not nice la this car!!!

• While most of us would have fond memories with Datsun Sunny (my father owned 130Y before and I drove during my early school days), I believe this new introduction of so-called Almera/Sunny (hope Tan Chong will still keep Sunny as the name, as Almera sounds too ‘atas’ for me) would somehow capture a certain group of buyers. As the taste of consumerism has changed, a car with a cheaper price tag does not necessarily equal to best selling. Consumers are more demanding now. We want cars handsomely built with eye pleasing designs. We want cars with lower prices yet all sophisticated accessories cannot be forgone. We want cars that move fast with lower consumption of fuels. We want basically everything that falls within our expectations. Congratulate to Tan Chong for being able to bring an alternative for our beloved national made. Let’s hope this model will create some stir to our car industry that has somewhat dominated by Perodua and Proton.

• ndjay on Jul 05, 2012 at 8:07 pm

honestly speaking, 120y and 130y are not ugly in their times, so please nissan due to very competitive designs from koreans and malaysians nowadays, do something with the design, maybe it could be reskinned so that it could be more pleasant to eyes.

• kambinganas on Jul 05, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Their current higher-end models mana ada cantik? How to do cantik lower-end models like that?

• please change the digital aircond control design please..that is the worst thing to look at inside the cabin..

• MAZpengDA on Jul 05, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Hope tan chong will be price it at 71K=manual,75k=auto(comfort) and 79k=auto(luxury).

• babygrand on Jul 05, 2012 at 9:10 pm

competitive price and hope auto will not be more than 74K and confirm will going to be test drive the said car. thanks

• Microvave on Jul 05, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Lets attack Tan Chong Motors with emails asking for stability control, at least with one variant. Look at what Honda City 1.5E offers recently.

TCM is very kedekut. How come all their X-Gear, Grand Livina, Sentra, Latio, Sylphy and even 2 liter Teana doesn’t come with stability control (VDA)? Do Malaysian need to pay RM173k just to have their called “safety” privilege?

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

• Datuk Jack on Jul 05, 2012 at 11:06 pm

to be honest, preve is way much better compare to this new baby nissan.. preve offer better features and spec for its price.. some more preve also much more safer and hansome look.. 5years warranty and turbo charge engine.. what else u want?… i’m not preve salesman, just a satisfied owner of preve.. SAY NO TO LOW QUALITY OF JAPANESE CAR, WE DESERVE BETTER!!!

• NissanRainy on Jul 06, 2012 at 12:02 am

Almost same price as Vios J, upset…

• Dear ETCM, please bring in Nissan Serena C26. If possible Highway Star version. Thank you.

• Persona_IneedCPS on Jul 06, 2012 at 2:46 am

Rm65k+(dreaming) seems reasonable. Provided it come with Dual Airbags, ABD + EBD + BA as standard across the range.. It should be selling well. But if I’m looking for a car below 100k, I might consider Preve CFE but if Japanese Brand is a must, I will go for City E (16inch rims, 5spd gb, paddle shift, abs+ebd+ba, dual airbags, VSA & 506L of boot space). Ford Fiesta might offer a lot more on specs but sorry, my 12inch woofer goes in the boot and that when space is a big problem for me.. Fiesta is more suitable for a women/girl..

• Why not a Forte which u pay 85k and u get all the features available.

• Persona_IneedCPS on Jul 06, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Like I said, IF Japanese brand is a must. KIA are not japanese. I envy Korean car but resale value is a no go. My fren’s 2010 Forte trade in for 58k, been putting 62k at mudah very long time at last still no people buy, so he traded in. For a Recond Wish.

• sharfox on Jul 06, 2012 at 9:50 am

Overprice! Considering the ugly look and plus we’ll see the same model for another 10 years and they’ll start to change here and there (and call it special edition) for another 10 years. Long gone Sunny golden era. We have other brands with more attractive look, better fuel consumption, more safety and more affordable. Let our senior guys appreciate this Sunny.

For those in the younger generation – open up your eyes. Lot’s of other choice out here.

• I am disappointed that there are no VSC in all their variants. If the starting price is RM 71K for 5MT, then it will be very reasonable for an almost 2.6M wheelbase B-seg car.

Do you guys realise how much you have to pay in monthly instalment if you are to buy it in Singapore ? How about starting from SGD 8K+ / month in the 1st year ? Want proof ? Here, http://nissan.com.sg/shoppingsupport/calculator.cfm

• OMG,no CVT like in sg?? w/o CVT tis & Sylphy would be nothing! people surely get T & H if all r normal AT. If TC kedekut on CVT, they should expect same poor Latio sales replay.

• dolah on Jul 06, 2012 at 10:20 am

Honestly, Dugong Vios is prettier than this dugong.

• dolah on Jul 06, 2012 at 10:33 am

Driving NIssan Almera, listening to Kilauan Emas songs, heading for pharmacy to buy Polident…..

Perfect.

• shahrul on Jul 06, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Good news. I’ve been looking for a no nonsense car to bring me from point A to point B for a while now. A B segment car will be just fine as my 2nd car. I already passed over Sentra, Vios, City, Peugeot 207, Ford Fiesta, Preve, Forte and Mazda 2.

I enjoyed my late father Nissan Sunny 1.3. I do prefer this one to be called a Sunny too.

• NasUrudin aidid on Jul 06, 2012 at 9:11 pm

Well done tan chong. Kill that stupid Ap king of Naza. May begets buried in shit

• kambeng on Jul 07, 2012 at 11:29 am

bring the Thai version of 1.2 with Idling Stop System and going below RM70k

• Mamat on Jul 08, 2012 at 4:49 pm

BESAR SAGA FLX JA!!!!

• at last..the legend is back!

• looks like nissan only know how to copy our beloved Vios. pity to all nissan owner.

• ajiroh on Jul 27, 2012 at 5:50 pm

this is a good car… legendary car with a nice new looking

• wow, i see many haters here, nice try toyota and prbotdohn fans