Volkswagen Golf R and Scirocco R siblings sampled

It won’t take a sharp eye to notice that the two VW R models (Volkswagen Golf R and Scirocco R) you see here aren’t the test mules currently going about their rounds in these parts. The Rising Blue examples are from the brief session spent on track in Germany during the trip to Wolfsburg.

Yes, they should have been written about some time earlier. No, I’ve not been a good boy in this regard, and for that I must apologise, but nothing staring down the barrel of a – metaphorical – Luger pointed at you by conscience can’t solve. Yes, VGM has asked us to take the local demonstrators out for review. No, we really haven’t done so yet, due to a lack of time and other constraints. Yes, we will, soon, hopefully, so consider this a hors d’oeuvre of what the R twins are all about until we can dish up the main meal.

Full story after the jump.

Apologies out of the way, time to tell you what they’re like, at least from a track perspective. Both the Golf R and Scirocco R were sampled at the Motorsport Arena Oschersleben racetrack situated in Oschersleben, in the Magdeburg Börde region. Located around 30 km from Magdeburg, the venue plays host to DTM and WTCC races.

Both cars shouldn’t be strangers to you, but a quick recap never hurts, as well as some notes about differences in the German versions on test compared to what we have here; the Volkswagen folk mentioned then that what we were sampling wasn’t representative of what eventually has been launched in Malaysia around March this year, and for some points, this much is true.

For the Mk VI Golf R, there’s a variance in power output coming off the EA113 2.0 litre TSI mill. The German car had 270 PS at 6,000 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 2,500 to 5,000 rpm; the Golf R sold here lists 255 PS and 330 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 5,200 rpm for numbers.

The mill is paired to a six-speed dual-clutch DSG gearbox, and a 4Motion all-wheel drive system channels the power to the wheels. Performance numbers for the car are a 0-100 km/h time of 5.7 seconds and an electronically-limited 250 km/h top speed.

Common items for the 1,521 kg offering include Adaptive Chassis Control (DCC), internally ventilated discs all around with R-specific brake calipers, ESP with delayed intervention as well as 19-inch “Talladega” alloys with 235/35 rubbers. There’s also a black version of the wheel, as seen on the German cars.

As for the Scirocco R, there’s also a variance in power. The German car had 265 PS and 350 Nm in its standard guise, while the car we have here has the same numbers as found on the Golf R, 255 PS and 330 Nm.

The three-door vehicle also wears a six-speed DSG transmission, but in this case power is distributed only to the front wheels. And while the Scirocco R ships with 18-inch “Talladega” alloys and 235/40 tyres as standard issue in Germany, our version comes equipped with the same 19-inch version worn by the Golf R.

On to the meatier stuff. The Oschersleben track measures 3.67 kilometres long, and it’s a pretty fast circuit. At that point, the inclement weather (just a mere shade off freezing) meant that the surface conditions weren’t the grippiest, but it also helped show up the different nature of both cars.

Track runs were paced by a lead vehicle, with each out session cycling the group in turn behind the pace car, effectively allowing everyone to ‘have a go.’ While the pace dictated was dependent on the group on a whole, there was still ample opportunity to stretch the cars’ legs. In all, I managed four sessions, but three of those were with the Golf R – there were fewer Scirocco R’s about, and as such they were naturally in demand.

Initially, with the Golf R, what transpired on the track was accomplished in faster fashion. It’s not that the Scirocco R is slower (it isn’t, actually), but the four-wheel drive advantage running on the slippery tarmac made it easier to get around quicker on the unknown terrain.

For example, going into Turn 1 on a flying lap, there was less need to set up the car for it; the short of it is that one could be lazy, so to speak, and the car would sort itself out (and save you from the blushes). It’s certainly drivable, the Golf R, and the car’s talent will undoubtedly help average drivers shine.

Getting the Scirocco R to be wild and ragged, on the other hand, was a far easier affair. There was a moment when a yank where there wasn’t supposed to be one brought the car into the upper limits of tractability, enough to persuade the fellow hack behind me that I was either loony or stupid, probably both. Doing the same thing with the Golf R merely got the car unsettled momentarily, but it never hinted more.

In terms of balance, the Golf R is an inherently more neutral offering compared to its predecessor, the Mk V Golf R32. Dynamically, it doesn’t have the nose heavy feel under braking of the R32, something I didn’t really care for, and for all intents and purposes is the faster car. But it feels more sterile than the old one, which I absolutely adored. It also sounds the part; the exhaust note is decent, but the burble and throb coming off the 3.2 litre V6 can’t be replaced.

Technically, this is an accomplished performer, but what’s dished out is put across in matter-of-fact fashion. Perhaps an extended outing here in Malaysia, when the opportunity comes along, will put the reading of the car’s character at Oschersleben down to unfamiliarity and limited time behind the wheel, but I suspect that the detached character is native to it.

In the end, the Scirocco R was the more attractive of the two siblings, certainly in terms of emotional appeal and involvement, somewhat in the way the standard Golf GTI and Scirocco 2.0 TSI square up in my books. There’s more need for commitment behind the wheel, but it’s a more captivating experience when you do.

The high-ish level of engagement hinted at during the brief run certainly makes pitting it against the Renault Megane R.S 250 Cup – a firm favourite with the staffers here at Driven – an interesting proposition. Maybe we’ll get there when we get around to taking them R twins out. Which we will. Hopefully.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• One thing that’s different from the German cars and the Malaysian cars is that ours have sports seats. They getting in and out of the cars became an issue.

• Been driving my Golf R for about a month now. Enjoying every brilliant second of it. Drive it hard or just trot along the Golf R just is fantastic. Yup getting in and out of the front seat was a challenge but eventually i got used to it. 19″ wheels for our roads might be slightly a negative side but otherwise with 4 door practicality it’s a car i’m having a great deal of fun driving.

• R looks so angry and handsome !

• BMW BEST on Jul 06, 2012 at 11:15 pm

That Scirocco just looks hot!OMG @@

• Anthony, What? lack of time and other constraints? I’m available to do the honour on your behalf, haha…Cheers!

• I think the variance in output for both R’s in comparison with the CBU units sold here is the fuel quality issue? or the tropical climate here?

• The avatar is really distracting in the commenting box now!

• Shawn on Jul 07, 2012 at 11:45 pm

The day the VW Rs can beat RenaultSport Megane, than i will consider

• The VW Rs are not built to beat the Renault Sport Megane.

You can use the R’s to go to the shopping centre daily, which is not the case with the loud, hard (but very fast) Megane.

If you need a racing car for the road which can beat the Megane, take the SEAT Super Cupra R: 315hp out of a 2l VW engine.

• wiraturbo on Jul 09, 2012 at 9:14 pm

my wira turbo beats megane any day, mind you it’s already 400whp

• RedKnight AHA on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:01 pm

haha..we are talkin abt stock dude. If your souped up wiraturbo can do tht..wait till the R upgraded to stage 4 hahaha…Wira turbo plzzz..old junk. I would even look at it for a second or two.

• JeremyNg on Jul 08, 2012 at 2:15 am

I saw this car at Malacca with Perak plate. First of all, I dono is Golf R until i notice that it has a very huge brake!!! The best part is the Golf R drive by a 30-40 years old aunty =.=””””

• toyotathenvwnow on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:35 pm

hahaha….i think maybe the aunty has lots of money ..driving golf r but only 100kmph on highway, we envy u la aunty

• atgter on Jul 08, 2012 at 7:57 pm

get bored with so many vw variants today, just like myvi,lost count already

• golfer on Jul 09, 2012 at 7:46 pm

why scirocco got cheap fwd? it isnt suited it nature as sport car. should be rwd instead or better awd like golf for better traction

• Medic on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:21 am

Dude,even the best hatchback in the world,the Megane Renault 265 is FWD.This is sport hatchback category lar,not supercar like Ferrari or Lamborghini.

• blaster on Jul 11, 2012 at 6:13 pm

I actually booked a Golf R, there is a 6-9 months waiting period. The earliest I was promised was Sept this year. What baffles me is that – why launch a new model if you know you cannot get stocks? Create all that hype but in the end only adds frustration and damaged reputation to the brand….The MK7 is coming out sometime in 2013. Might as well wait for that and see what they have to offer….just my 2 cents

• Medic on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:22 am

Good things comes to those who are patient.Limited stock with high demand..biasa lar.

• Medic on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:24 am

Mind you that waiting time for Ferrari 458 from Naza Italia is 18mths…must mediatate in a cave somewhere &stay patient.

• jeng jeng jeng jeng on Jul 24, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Buy CIVIC R better; more reliable and more power; awesome IVtec which will shake off your GERMAN TSI “R” and non “R”..

• Civic R ?? Are you serious comparing it with Golf R ?? :-) .. you joking right ?? Even the younger brother GTI also can still follow Civic FD2 Type R without worry inikan pula eldest brother Golf R ?? You must be joking bro :-) .. Have a nice day..

• Rdiehardfans on Aug 27, 2012 at 4:30 pm

I wish to buy a CTR but its not available now.So the only R available is the volkswagen R series.I got the golf R and it smoke all the civic r or non r like there no tomorrow.Maybe their vtec not open yet,so I have the upper hand,until there open the vtec I already reach the destination.

• For VW price, get a BMW 335i recond, will be any day faster and more comfy!

• And oh, Mitsubishi in 1993 already made 280ps on its EVO…

• toyotathenvwnow on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:32 pm

now i am enjoying driving my passat n how i wish i could afford to buy this golf r for my 2nd car , smaller n much better power to weight ratio..hmm

• steven on Sep 12, 2012 at 11:59 am

im oso bought a new golf r 1 mth plus.very nice car fun driving

• itumeleng Mtambo on Mar 11, 2013 at 9:41 pm

scirroco R is treating me very good,