2012 Honda Civic Hybrid launching in Malaysia?

It would appear that Honda will not only be launching the Honda Civic 1.8 and 2.0 this week, but we’ll probably also see the reintroduction of the Honda Civic Hybrid in Malaysia.

Plenty of indications that the new Civic Hybrid will be launched has started appearing online in the social media space. The brochure scan you see above from a Honda dealer first appeared on Facebook late last month.

The Civic Hybrid was a nice offering as it offered Malaysians the unique opportunity to purchase at an affordable price a Honda that is not only fully imported from Japan, but with an advanced propulsion system that combined a small internal combustion engine with an electric motor.

The best part is it was contained in a family-friendly sedan body, with one of the largest interior spaces in its class, so it was easy to accept as it had the regular Civic’s body thus it was a familiar car. Before the last generation Civic Hybrid was discontinued, it went for only RM108,980, which was tremendous value for money and the cheapest Civic variant in its generation.

Next, an auto accessories shop posted up a gallery of various pre-delivery units of the 9th generation Honda Civic, which included a rear shot of the Civic Hybrid.

The Civic Hybrid differentiates itself from its regular siblings with a different tail lamp design that has some blue tinting in it, and this blue tint theme carries on at the front of the car with the headlamps and one of the bars on the front grille.

Another interesting bit we spotted in the gallery – it looks like the top of the line model could have a navigation system built in! We recognise the Garmin-based user interface, which is good news since Garmin maps are pretty mature.

Check out the full gallery on Facebook by clicking here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nebula87 on Jul 10, 2012 at 10:40 pm

is that Insight or Civic?? make me confuse..=.=

• OMG…u see the rear already know it is Civic, of course the front both look similar…Insight rear look better.

• Storm on Jul 11, 2012 at 1:06 pm

You gotta be kidding me..Insight butt is the ugliest around…

• Heard price for this tax-exempt car is RM122K!

Honda Malaysia really know how to rip-off rakyat. That’s at least RM15K extra from the last Civic Hybrid 8th Gen which is already expensive IMHO.

Sometimes I really wonder how brands like Honda price their cars. Hard plastics everywhere and no innovation in terms of tech and yet prices can still increase.

• benedict on Jul 12, 2012 at 12:34 am

u heard and already kutuk..wah liao wei..never see already know..then i think u ar ugly..u drive ur myvi also school girls rather take lrt lo.continue to wonder cz if u actually know then maybe u will have grown some otak..ur nasi lemak also increase..why now got new technology the sambal can fly is it and the packaging is aerodynamic ar now?

• U forget bout 10% sales tax, shipping, commission for dealerx exemption is for import n excise tax tax

• If you look around the forums even the new Elantra has generated way way more interest than this new Civic.

If Honda keep taking the consumer for a ride, they will learn to regret it later.

• benedict on Jul 12, 2012 at 12:34 am

bro u not advertising people..u fall for gimmick la..yes they get this feature and that but how come sale still low?

• Jimmy on Jul 10, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Hybrid MPV of Innova size with cc 2.0L is coming soon, JDM spec with many airbags and ESP plus captain seats, around the price of this Civic hybrid. That will be good, ya?

• Garfield on Jul 11, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Are u talking about the Prius V? Is it seriously coming to Malaysia? Appreciate if anyone could confirm or point me to any piece of news or forum which mentions this. Because it will just about solve all my needs for my wife’s next drive. Thanks.

• Extrimist on Jul 11, 2012 at 5:42 pm

As far as I know, there are only TWO Hybrid MPV exist right now in Japan (JDM)

1. Toyota Estima Hybrid (2.4cc) at 3.79 mil Yen (RM152K)
      2. Honda Freed Hybrid (1.5cc) at 2.149 mil Yen (RM86.2K).

I think none of the above suit your “Hybrid MPV of Innova size with cc 2.0L” claim.

BTW, Prius V and Honda Fit Shuttle Hybrid most probably in “Wagon” territory, not MPV.

Maybe I’m wrong, though..

• Garfield on Jul 12, 2012 at 1:24 pm

I tend to agree with you on the classification of these vehicles, but there are some more technical aspects plus the tax brackets.

For instance, when Kia Picanto was imported CBU 2004, Naza Kia conveniently omit the rear luggage cover to claim that it was indeed under the MPV category, not a car.

For the Prius V therefor, it depends on the country of import; the 5-seater deserve the wagon tag more while the 7-seater is not far off an MPV class. If it doesn’t, then don’t call the Wish, Stream or maybe even Odyssey an MPV. They’re all just wagons, right?

• Garfield on Jul 12, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Another thing Jimmy, if what you touted “Hybrid MPV of Innova size” will indeed be priced around the price of a Civic hybrid, it would be some kind of a miracle though. Just look at the pricing of Prius and Prius C to understand what I mean. The Prius is selling between RM139 – 145K already. But the entry level Lexus CT200h pricing at 168K does give a little bit of hope….. if UMW decides to transfer the savings from the 0% import tax to us rather to their own pocket…..

• drMpower on Jul 10, 2012 at 10:53 pm

the cars already at Honda around malaysia. in metal they look allright although some would argue civic becomes mature too much. the show stealer is the hybrid where it looks so nice and best bit its a CBU. its either 2.0L or the hybrid for me.

in the inside, the claim about honda managed to squeeze more space is absurd because all the aunties and uncles struggled to ge in, especially 3 in the back. in the cockpit it feels a bit large city.

price is crucial honda. u cant get away with the design, perhaps setting the price well can rescue home bit more respect.

• honda interior are getting worse.
    sincerely between honda and toyota..
    at least my toyota altis got some soft touch material..

while for honda..cheap plastic everywhere..aiyoo

• nebula87 on Jul 10, 2012 at 11:41 pm

i think the cheap plastic is water proof…xD
      bcox the new interior is Flood-proof mah!!
      if the engine and interior are soaked with mud, but at least a single wipe of clean water, we still get a brand new interior…but engine? sorry…haha!!

• good..toyota can buckle up now..

• Carl Wong on Jul 10, 2012 at 11:14 pm

CIVIC HYBRID :)…!!! Took you so long………………..

• Wow its a facelift Honda Insight! LOL
    The dashboard are so dull. and the rear lamp is very very euuw..~

• prince on Jul 10, 2012 at 11:23 pm

ugly interior

• DewaSemut on Jul 10, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Why the civic hybrid in the advertisement and the one in the picture looks so different? The one in the picture looks like Insight to me?

Paul, we are confused….. :(

• Extrimist on Jul 10, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Based on my investigation, the new Civic hybrid:

1. Using Lithium-Ion Battery for the first time, as opposed to last gen’s nickel-metal hydride (NiMH). Means less weight and more effective regenerative braking. (But Toyota still stick to NiMH for the time being).
    2. Having 1.5 cc vs last gen’s 1.3cc
    3. Fuel Consumption: 18.7 km/liter combined.
    4. Transmission: CVT
    5. with stability control (VSA)

But I’m wondering, is it really imported from Japan?

• the Japs are still lucky, our diesels are still stuck at euro2 specs…only managed an 18km/l for a hybrid, a bigger & more powerful 530d/520d and or any pug 508hdi (as per the recent launch 508 diesel wt 450nm of torque) can clobber this hybrid FC…just imagine what those greener eco spec such as those bluemotion vw’s diesel or econetic’s ford version can do without sacrificing performance…

I smells conspiracy/lobbying by the Japs to delay the intro of cleaner diesels here in Msia

• Henry Ford the XII on Jul 11, 2012 at 11:38 am

I am wondering what would be the FC for both diesel and hybrid powered cars under our “normal” KL driving condition (i.e. bumper to bumper in the mornings – home to workplace – and evenings – workplace to home).

When we were living outside of KL, the FC for my wife’s Honda City is about 15-16 km/L, but now it is around 5-7 km/L for this home – workplace – home journey.

• @Henry Ford the XII
        please don’t bluff here, it’s ridiculous to say that city fc is 5-7 km/L. at least 11-12km/l

if you want to bluff don’t be exaggerated

• benedict on Jul 12, 2012 at 12:37 am

no la import from tanjung malim plant like proton.of cz from japan la frodo

• JeremyNg on Jul 10, 2012 at 11:46 pm

why they dont just bring the CRZ interior to all of their new model ?? CRZ interior is just simply brilliant

• carlover on Jul 11, 2012 at 12:18 am

would be interesting to compare MY specs esp for Civic Hybrid vs Singapore specs – http://www.honda.com.sg/cars/PDF/civic_catalogue.pdf

• I would rather get a Forte than this

• Mario Gomez on Jul 11, 2012 at 5:40 pm

New Focus!!!

• Wow so many dislikes…So u guys (those like clicked dislike / thumbs down) tell me in what terms that civic actually worth to buy with that kind of pricing? With a Forte like 80-90k+ U get everything pack with features…6 airbags too. In a civic what u get? It’s just overpriced. The only thing that Civic wins is its Resale value and thats because of malaysian brand loyalty is so strong. Performance, Comfort, Handling, Value For Money…It’s either Forte > Civic or it’s on par with it

• wow.. about 100k for civic.. why not? :D but sure is CBU?

• Lulipek on Jul 11, 2012 at 6:06 am

When I notice oversea new cars are cheaper than Malaysia’s second cars I almost choked to death. Can someone explain how the hell can we get rid of crony tax? ~~~cough cough…. AP

• r u lost?…AP do not interfere with pricing with official distributed car…tax is the one who affect car price…..AP that affect car price is for car that import from non official distributor aka gray import plus tax

• encik boss on Jul 11, 2012 at 7:54 am

the new civic engine changed to sohc for better FC, i wonder how much FC for the hybrid.

• encik boss on Jul 11, 2012 at 7:58 am

I saw 5 years warranty. GOod news!

• Ahmad on Jul 11, 2012 at 8:17 am

the CRZ is auto? i thought that it is CVT

• beatnik on Jul 11, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Notice the word AUTO is capitalized.. must shout it loud to attract “gaya mesti ada” buyers. hahaha.

Quite a few interested with the CRZ but were put off by the manual shifter.. so AUTO (be it CVT, DSG, whatever) will attract more buyers.

• and they say the preve’s interior is ugly…

• not a car enthusiast on Jul 11, 2012 at 9:13 am

When I renovated my house, I preinstalled a plug point at the porch area in anticipation of a plug-in hybrid (or an electric car). There’s not even one that I can buy now in Malaysia.

Honda, Toyota or whichever manufacturers? Where’s your car?

• Is it just me or the Japanese seem to be coming out with cars that follow the base models? The new Civic look like a larger City… just like how the new Camry look like a larger Altis.

In the older generations, it’s always the highest model lead the change in design and then the lower models follow. Now it’s the other way round??? What is happening to the Japanese designers???

• Terry on Jul 11, 2012 at 10:14 am

Heard from salesman that the Hybrid gonna cost RM122k. Crazy tax free pricing? =)

• Extrimist on Jul 11, 2012 at 1:47 pm

Jazz Hybrid Langkawi: RM86,007
      Jazz Hybrid Peninsular: RM91,816 (6.7% Increment)

Honda Insight Langkawi: RM88,929
      Honda Insight Peninsular: RM96,686 (8.7% Increment)

Honda CR-Z (CVT) Langkawi:. RM109,572
      Honda CR-Z (CVT) Peninsular: RM 115,371 (5.3% Increment)

In US, Civic Hybrid is priced approximately USD3k higher than CR-Z. So, with the assumption that the price for Civic Hybrid in Langkawi is RM115k, with the 6% increment for tax, then it will gives RM121900 for the price in peninsular.

For a poor man like me, I still think that RM122k is reasonable.

• Terry on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:08 am

RM122k is before G’s full Hybrid tax exemption. So, with Hybrid tax exemption, the price is still high (in my opinion).

• search for JAPAN and US price for CRZ..Langkawi price should be lower bcoz tax is exceptional for hibrid in msia..demn honda malayis..bikin untung saja~

• mp_drucker on Jul 11, 2012 at 10:29 am

looking forward for the 2012 Civic Hybrid. If the boot size is acceptable, this will be a very good value for money option.

• the civic hybrid looks better in real but not in photo

• tiong on Jul 11, 2012 at 11:30 am

i have to wait another 5 years to use hybrid car to see how is the battery life span and expenses for replacement. but by the next 5 years, battery materials and technology will change, and i have to wait another 5 years to see how it will be performing…. or just bring in diesel. it is time for gov to upgrade diesel, then kick out japanese in favor for european investor like peugeot, fiat, vw, etc. gov should change to dasar pandang ke bawah (see the rakyat) instead of dasar pandang ke timur.

• 1. Diesel is much better than hybrid
    2. Better wait for facelift in 2013

• polo saga on Jul 11, 2012 at 12:47 pm

but it still looks ugly.

• Gurmit on Jul 11, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Another interesting bit we spotted in the gallery – it looks like the top of the line model could have a navigation system built in!
    ——————————————————–

so there will be more than one model…?

• cruzer on Jul 11, 2012 at 1:20 pm

but it still the top seller in US. either the 27500 buyer (in June 2012 alone) is blind or you are blind.

• Elric on Jul 11, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Does 1.5litre + electric motor provide enough power to drive this car comfortably i wonder?

• Nick.C on Jul 11, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Scrap diesel, why are car makers not making hybrids with gas turbine range extenders?

Gas turbines generators are already a mature technology. They were impractical to install in mechanical drive cars in the past due to their high RPM low torque nature, but this makes them perfect for generating power to drive electric motors.

Plus gas turbines are smaller, lighter, less complex, less moving parts and have longer service life compared to the ICE in cars today. And the greatest benefit is that it will literally burn any flammable liquid, from kerosene and diesel to butane and cooking oil.

• Karl von Jitry on Jul 11, 2012 at 5:34 pm

RM122,000 for Hybrid sound good BUT Honda IMA hybrid not similar to Toyota’s and I’m looking forward to hear from Insight owners’ review over their ride.

How about 1.5 fuel performance for long distance/highway driving? Is urban driving without AC when the motor kick off?

TQ

• Insight kaki on Jul 11, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Honda’s IMA does exactly as advertised on the tin, it’s an integrated motor assist system. It does not move off on pure electric power but at low speeds less than 60km on level ground it can propel itself for a few km’s on the electric motor alone. It’s hard to tell unless you toggle the dash display to a couple of modes, the fuel and battery flow display and the instant fuel reading displays are the best indication if you are using fuel or battery since the engine is seamless in the cut in and out phase. It has a pretty good idle stop mode that really saves on gas but the drawback is that the ac runs off the engine and once idle stop kicks in, you only get air from the blower. The duration of engine idle depends on how much loading is going on, eg lights, wipers, iPod and audio and most significantly as I noticed, based on your climate control temp setting. After a year of ownership absolutely no complaints of the car itself, auto lights, auto wipers that senses the intensity of the rain, cruise control, iPod / iPhone connectivity, vsa that I only saw the light blink once on a rainy and twisty hilly road, handling that still has the honda dna, folding side mirrors that allows one to squeeze into tight spots, lots of cubby holes for storage, 60/40 fold down seats at the back and a decent boot size with privacy cover that fits a baby stroller and 2 weeks worth of tesco groceries. Best part is the on average 600km for a full tank in city driving with 4 liters to spare in the 40 liter tank and mind you I live in a hilly area of a small island up north. It took me a while to get there but the backlit color coaching speedo display ultimately converted a heavy footed driver like me to a hypermiler. In my opinion however, it’s not the best car for high speed highway driving, not that it can’t run, it can but the engine drone is likened to a blender at best and the traditional ivtec kick at 5k rpm is more like a gentle shove and you will get flashed on the right lane even if you are doing 120km/h++. So for highway runs, I still use my 18yr old 2.8L German tank. On the service part, Honda could do with 10k service intervals.

• Joker The Great on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:35 pm

The highest I get for Insight is 700km, yet minimum….85% in highway.. Avarage speed is 90-95kmh.

• Karl von Jitry on Jul 11, 2012 at 5:41 pm

Paul Tan,

While I’m understand the expensive supply chain issues for the government to upgrade/offer better diesel to us since Euro2 is 1996’s standard and even bigger countries like Thailand, China and India all have sub-30ppm sulfur if not lower then it’s really mind boggling why our concern government very much reluctant to provide alternative for rakyat.

European brand definitely more active, same as Korean. If diesel introduced, the Korean easily eclipsed the Japanese status quo.

WHY?????????????????? Something fishy not to introduce the better quality diesel? Let diesel fuel behave like RON97 but let us buy any diesel car with low tax.

• Afiq Bazli on Jul 11, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Hey Not a car enthusiast. Nissan is bringing the Nissan Leaf Plug In…that’s the car you want since you renovated your house to have power point.

• not a car enthusiast on Jul 12, 2012 at 8:20 am

I prefer plug-in hybrid though. I just do not want to have this “range-anxiety” feeling with pure-electric car. Anyway, I’ll be closely watching the Leaf.

• ACCORD 2013 will introduce 2.0L plug-in Hybrid….
    If come to Malaysia, big impact to Camry….

• There are 1.8 and 2.0 petrol ver. Whereby 1.5 is hybrid and is cbu. There other 2 are local assemble. 1.5 ver similar to 2.0 spec, got push start button and leather seat. When you see real car its very nice compare to picture.

• Terry on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:06 am

RM122k is before G’s full Hybrid tax exemption. So, with Hybrid tax exemption, the price is still high (in my opinion).

• BMW BEST on Jul 12, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Although this looks fresh but I still prefer the 8th generation’s looking,at least the 8th gen looks more aggressive…and somehow the rear lamp looks like the combination of Accord and old Camry?lol

• 1.8L 115,980
    2.0L 131,980
    2.0L navi 136,980
    1.5L hybrid 119,980

Mahal betul Navi system honda ni

• Extrimist on Jul 12, 2012 at 12:40 pm

I just accessed the Civic Hybrid price at official Honda Malaysia website.

It’s RM 119,980.00.

Seems that Honda hides the price. But you can know the price just by click the CALCULATE button at Civic Hybrid page. Maybe Honda Malaysia forgot to hide the price there.

• tony blair on Jul 12, 2012 at 3:10 pm

bad taste…

• Extrimist on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:42 pm

For Civic Hybrid, it comes not only with 5 year warranty, but 10k KM interval. Good news.

Preventive Maintenance Rates and Costs for the Civic Hybrid (km or months, whichever comes first):-

1,000km or 1 month: RM24.80
    10,000km or 6 months: RM278.49
    20,000km or 12 months: RM422.03
    30,000km or 18 months: RM436.30
    40,000km or 24 months: RM617.96
    50,000km or 30 months: RM278.49
    60,000km or 36 months: RM579.84
    70,000km or 42 months: RM278.49
    80,000km or 48 months: RM1,245.99
    90,000km or 54 months: RM436.30
    100,000km or 60 months: RM1,796.63

Total: RM6395.32

Average maintenance cost (in 5 years): RM1280 per year.

Is this considered cheap or costly? I don’t know since I never bought a new car in my life. Poor man.

• Carl Wong on Sep 24, 2012 at 10:47 pm

I think this is quite cheap/competitive for this class, and less time spent in service centres too with longer intervals :]….

• Terry on Jul 16, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Anybody has any idea which Honda branch offers test drive car for Hybrid Civic? =)

• AlimAriff on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Kuantan Semambu branch only offer 2.0 navi for test drive. anyone can share experience drive hybrid?

• Terry on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:43 pm

Jazz Hybrid starts to be manufactured in MElaka. When is Civic Hybrid? How will this affect the curretnt newly released Civic Hybrid…?