Ford Focus on show at Sunway Pyramid, now open for registration with a chance to win a new car

Curious how the Ford Focus looks and feel like? Well, Ford is showing the car from today till July 15 in Sunway Pyramid’s Blue Concourse LG 2, so you can check the car out for yourself.

And if you like what you see, you could also put down some money for one. Ford said that the prices start from RM120,000 to RM135,000. There will be four top-of-the-range models – the four-door 2.0L Ti-VCT Titanium and Titanium+, and the five-door 2.0L Ti-VCT Sport and Sport+. There’s an incentive if you pre-order the mid-sized car – you’ll stand a chance to win a new Focus. Registering for one also yields shopping vouchers worth RM500.

The Ford Focus has a 10,000 km service interval. Besides the standard limited warranty of three-years or 100,000 km, the car also comes with Ford’s Extended Service Plan (ESP), which gives free maintenance for parts and labour for up to three years or 60,000 km. ESP covers free replacements for normal wear-and-tear that includes spark plugs, shock absorbers, engine belts, engine hoses, brake pads, brake linings and wiper blades. The replacement of fuel filters, engine air filters, brake fluids and engine coolant is also free.

Anthony has written extensively about the Ford Focus. The specifications that will eventually come with the car mirrors that of the one that debuted in Thailand. Click here to read more. You can also follow updates on the Ford Focus in Malaysia at SDAC’s Facebook page for the Ford Focus.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jul 11, 2012 at 2:52 pm

135K for a Tomyamland C segment ?? Just wait for price slash in 6 months time, Altis is selling 132K & Civic 126K, only nuts would pay 135K for Focus without Ecoboost.

• tiadaid on Jul 11, 2012 at 3:51 pm

No, only nuts would pay 132K for a stupid Jap with lousy specs.

If this car follows Thai specs, then safety wise, feature wise this car beats the Japs hands down.

• Feature wise win so what? we will still go for Altis which far more popular and demanding compare to this piece of thing.

• New Civic 2.0 Navi is selling at 139k, so i think 135k for the Titanium+ or Sport+ are reasonable. just look at the features that Focus offer will do. And Altis dont have turbo as well

• artworks on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:44 pm

focus 6 airbag
        6 speed dual clutch
        audio can read SMS via BT
        Torque Vectoring, function like LSD
        2.0 170HP
        park assist

can altis or civic do same?

• tunguuu on Jul 11, 2012 at 5:09 pm

yeap yeap..civic made in malaysia…still 126k ka? specs is it as good? altis another overpriced cvt garbage..

• jaafar on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:52 pm

kiasu,
      132k and 126 k for under specs japanese cars are lousy buys….for that money ford with the latest techno is a bargain

• orange on Jul 11, 2012 at 4:27 pm

meh…the sedan version look nice at that angle on second pix

• g-mey on Jul 11, 2012 at 4:54 pm

No wagon model for us?

• Karl von Jitry on Jul 11, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Anyone drove Focus especially the turbodiesel variant never doubt over this car. Having said that, the pricing from Tomyumland clearly unacceptable and SDAC really clueless in doing Ford business locally.

When on earth do Ford has more premium than the Japanese’s? Be realistic, dudes at Ford if you’re looking to penetrate Malaysian market.

Perhaps, in future 1.0 Ecoboost can sell for more reasonable pricing.

PS: I like Ford but hate the pricing

• Mario Gomez on Jul 11, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Will choose this car over the upcoming ugly Civic

• Jimmy on Jul 11, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Hatchback: please wait for the A-class at RM180K, best buy.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jul 11, 2012 at 6:43 pm

I am waiting for Forte & Elantra is better & cheaper comments. :-)

• encik boss on Jul 11, 2012 at 7:54 pm

Why Pug 408 2.0 a lot cheaper than Civic and Focus?

• what to do on Jul 11, 2012 at 8:49 pm

yes the 408 2L is cheaper correct..
      but maintenance wise??
      how about the support??

even the 308 1.6T also dug a bank of RM1K minimum for each time service (10k KM)…
      Other Conti is cheaper..
      S40 each 20k KM costs around RM1.4K – 2K…
      Golf/Jetta 1.4TSI each 15k KM costs around RM0.5K – 0.7K..

• Doc W on Jul 12, 2012 at 9:33 am

Actually I would like to refute that. Servicing of the 308T only costs round RM 400 + for normal service. Its not so expensive as quoted by ‘what to do’.

• kambinganas on Jul 12, 2012 at 2:55 pm

That is before or after the VW warranty runs out?
        Unfortunately, your estimates for 308T service is bullshit.

• artworks on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:46 pm

ford giving 6 times free servicing , 10k km/serv

• encik boss on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:12 am

Rm1k per service is exaggerated la bro!
        the cost is around RM400 -RM 600 except the major service. and thats for Turbo spec.
        at the end the price is almost the same, but you got powerful and conti car.

• Because it is French~~

• blur bule on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:43 am

really? i thought 408 is china car…

• jaafar on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Jk

French cars are better made and more reliable than many conti or jap cars nowdays, your still harping on 20 years issues mate!

• jaafar on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:58 pm

french cars are much improved and are more reliable than many japanese cars nowdays…

• All my friends who drive the French advised me to stay away.. that’s why I drive a German..

• BMW Turbo, Audi TFSI Turbo, VW TSI turbo, Mini Prince Turbo, Peugeot Prince Turbo, Citroen Prince Turbo, even Plotong Pervxrt CPE Turbo..

Bolehland Ford no EcoBoost?? double thumbs down…

• Desmond on Jul 12, 2012 at 12:11 am

Guys, if im not mistaken, the Rayong plant makes 2.0 Ti-VCT Focus only..theres no Ecoboost made over there. Unless they made Ecoboost later, Ford might bring them in..

• I just saw the prices for 2008Ford Focus 2.0 in the classifieds, and if not wrong, only RM68k? I believe the ori selling price is close to RM120k right…less than 4 years and lost almost half the value..

• kambinganas on Jul 12, 2012 at 3:05 pm

That is because spare parts for this model is expensive even if you can find it. This model although assembled in Philippines, the parts are from Europe. It is very costly to import it yourself if you can’t source it locally. At least with the new focus, everything is made in Thailand.

The same can be said of other continental cars like VW, Skoda. If you do a search in Mudah for these cars, you will also find the same trend.

• biglama on Jul 13, 2012 at 7:57 am

Min 130k!. I thought i already get my piggy bank full for the d/p. now I have to wait another years for this. how bout we hold our self from buying this car until they revised price?

• clement on Jul 12, 2012 at 3:04 am

i got my 240ps mondeo ecoboost 1 month ago with RM189k discounted RM4k from RM193k. it was not an easy task to make this decision by choosing mondeo which the price was generally comparetively high as compared to vw passat, camry, peu508, teana..
    My friends wondered what made me to buy such a none popular car with nearly RM200k…
    i even at one moment tried to convice myself to take passat however, the moment i tested the mondeo, i realised i absolutely love this car, that kind of “Feel” that i could not get from passat, 508 or teana.
    The premium feel, unbeatable drivability, great built quality, decent interior soft touch material, the ecoboost endless power, powershift gearbox in prowess, urged me to drive it home.
    Well, i would say, in general people buying a car would normally keep it for 4-5yrs, what if the car choosen is not what u really want but just b’cos of the so-call high 2nd hand value. Is that really make sense as everyday u need to face it or rather enjoy driving it ?
    Ford is the car built for driver….u would experience it if u have a test drive on a Ford.
    If time can revert to 2 months back, my answer is still undoubtfully —- Ford Mondeo.
    Hope that more people could pay more attention on Ford Focus, 2.0 N/A engine is not weak either. I believe Focus 1.6 ecoboost will be eventually introduced into M’sia but surely that would be another hike on the price….

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 12, 2012 at 8:35 am

Ford is good. But not in bolehland due to culture and mentality.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 12, 2012 at 9:30 am

I agree with most of your points. However the problem here is, if the 2.0 NA models are already overpriced, imagine how much SD is going suck out of buyers for the privilege of having EcoBoost or TDCi. They are only going to alienate more buyers.

SD is the worst possible distributor in Malaysia. They are screwing around with the other brands they carry as well. Could you imagine that they only provided 130 units of Sonata with 6 airbags and customers can only buy the same Sonata with 2 airbags now? This only has served to chase buyers away to Kia. Don’t even get me started with the poorly assembled Elantra. The tail lights on the Elantra also they can’t assemble properly, but as ask for super premium price.

If Naza and Nasim can price their cars resonably, SD can also can. SD should have better clout with govt than Naza/Nasim because it is a GLC, so no excuses over govt favoritism. At the end of the day it is all about whether SD is all out to sincerely grow the brands under their stable.

• b sensible on Jul 12, 2012 at 1:53 pm

the elantra you mentioned must be assembled by innokom…as rebadged version…anyway innokom is also owned by sime darby…

btw sime darby has so many dealerships in ford, hyundai…why can they bring in the latest technology e.g. ecoboost so as create COMPETITION among themselves in order to outsell each other.

• kambinganas on Jul 12, 2012 at 2:49 pm

b_sensible… since when GLC=competition? Monopoli dan hisap darah adelah!

• BOYRACER on Jul 12, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Kudos to you for buying a Mondeo.If everybody thinks like you, i’m sure there more other models on the road.I agree with you regarding why should people be more concerned about 2nd hand value rather than driving pleasure.If i have enough money i would buy what i want to buy and enjoy driving it not what other people want me to buy and not enjoying it.So what about 2nd hand value.All cars depreciate.Some lose more some lose less thats all.
      Its all about mentality.
      To anyone who are afraid to lose money on 2nd hand value, buy a house or two.Then use public transport.That way you dont lose any money.

P.s:My brother owned a Mondeo and he absolutely loved it.

• YeapyEvo on Jul 12, 2012 at 9:31 am

No Ecoboost no buy!

• resale value will nose dive like crazy….

• matlimmutu on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:36 am

for me, not worth for my money.

• 135k…expensive. ford has never been very wise at pricing their cars. Just watch if they (EVER) bring ST. Its supposedly GBP4-5k cheaper then golf gti, but it will be priced similar.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:48 am

Kindda puts a damper on the Focus.

Its a nicely built car that drives well, but the lack of Ecoboost and TDCI is criminal…and kindda kills the reason to own it. If the full spec 2.0 is already expected to come in at 136K, the TDCI will likely to be even more expensive.

Sime Darby is getting very very very greedy. Taking a leaf out of Toyota and Honda’s book. Look at the prices they are putting on Hyundai (especially the Elantra 1.8) and you’d see that they are trying to rip you a new hole.

If they can’t move them, they would likely discount them or drop the interest rate (like what they are doing with the Sonata). This will kill its resale which sad to say isn’t stellar to begin with.

Great car with good potential completely messed up by Sime Darby.

• Kimbab on Jul 12, 2012 at 12:45 pm

How to justify between Forte 2.0 which is 40K cheaper than Focus ? Look like a bad deal to me.

• Chow 1 on Jul 12, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Love the car! 120K? I keep the money for travel better.

• While the price is about the same price as recently lauch 2.0 Civic, at least this time Focus get 170hp with 6 speed dual-clucth (like VW DSG).

If you are car lover and dont mind spent time and hassle with SC, this is very good choice. For average driver/consumer who just need car with gadgets, save money and just settled urself with Koreans like Forte 2.0, is good choice already.

Or add RM10k more budget for Optima K5.

• BTW, for the first time, i like the Focus Sedan more. Look handsome!…

• Spending Rm200k on a car and than finding out that the value dropped so much after a few years, who will top up the shortage and pay the bank? Surely Not those people who said that resale value is not important…not all of us r filthy rich and can afford to throw away good money just because some people can afford to lose for example, Rm50k, if u bought a Jap car instead

• biglama on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:17 am

If I like a car, i don’t care resale value. Any car will lose value, rugi. Car will depreciate.Your Jepun car also will rugi too. This is not like property investment. That’s why expert say you should use your car as long as possible. So if you think you don’t want to throw good money. Don’t buy new car.
      p/s I will buy this car definitely.

• cicol on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:14 am

I thought currently ford focus ecoboost engine comes only with manual transmission rite?

• seriousdude on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:20 am

if the grille/front bumper change to focus electric type that will be nice

• Clarence on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:24 pm

i just booked Sport + for RM128k :)