Mazda CX-5 local assembly to start in 2013

Mazda is coming to Malaysia! As in Mazda Motor Corporation of Japan – we’ve just received an announcement that the Japanese carmaker and Bermaz Motor have begun talks for a joint venture production and sales company in Malaysia. The joint venture will effectively expand the local assembly of Mazda cars here.

This new JV project will see 3,000 units of Mazda CX-5s being locally assembled per year. Production is slated to begin in early-2013. Currently, the other Mazda that is locally assembled is the Mazda 3. The CKD Mazda 3 has been rolling out since January 2011.

Takashi Yamanouchi, Mazda’s Representative Director and Chairman of the board, President and CEO said, “Mazda’s sales in Malaysia have shown consistent growth since we started doing business with Bermaz in 2008. In the last financial year, we achieved record sales results of approximately 6,000 units and one percent of the market share.”

Mazda’s Structural Reform Plan has set sales target of 150,000 units for the ASEAN region. Malaysia is considered one of the Japanese carmaker’s key markets alongside Thailand and Indonesia.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Alpha on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Will the SkyActiv engine be supplied directly from Japan or they’re gonna assemble that here too??

• b sensible on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:10 pm

ho…ho…ho……no car makers would be so kind hearted to outsource the engine production process…b’cos afraid of others to ‘steal’ their technology…just look toyota product their hybrids in japan only!

• alldisc on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:39 pm

must read more to find out what is skyactive… ha ha

1. improved chassis (lighter and stronger, better handling and FC)
      2. improved engine (better power and FC)
      3. improved torque converter (mazda 6 sp auto feels like DSG but economical as CVT)

among many things that are called skyactiv.

• Alpha on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:32 pm

I did said,SkyActiv ENGINE.Cheers.

• Rajan on Jul 14, 2012 at 6:18 am

Anybody, if you want to cancel your order or fed up waiting for the CBU and want the cheaper CKD, can you release your waiting queue to me? I will give you RM1000 for it. I am interested in getting the CBU CX5. My address is [email protected]

• Well, Rajan.
          You want the cheaper CKD.Ckd model less 10K is not value for money. B’caus CKD 6 speaker unlike CBU 9 speaker come with moon roof. I rather pay extra better quality thats come with extra. Comparison CKD not value for money. Just a gimmick.

• alldisc on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:28 am

skyactive engine is nothing more than improved combustion, bringing more power at low rpm. it does not matter where it is assembled.

cheers.

• Desmond on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:16 pm

har? No more CBU? Inokom’s quality…

• Alpha on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Malaysian mentality…

• Malaysian ni very funny la…when no car manufacturer come to malaysia to be manufactured bash nap la , bee ant la, arm no la etc….when there some news bout car maker want to built car here still want barking all nite..ckd qua la, no good la….???…my assssss…….

• seancorr on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:21 pm

Hopefully they build the car with the same features or more. Add blind spot warning system!

• LoveMazda3CKD on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:40 pm

yes.. CKD Mazda CX5 for RM100k.

• Vader on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:51 pm

I hope so, that is our wish!
      However, it will not be so cheap, just look at CKD & CBU Mazda3 (1.6), the price only reduce ~RM10k only.

• Rachel on Jul 13, 2012 at 5:07 pm

they will just reduce rm10k while profiting from the rest of the reduction from import taxes,like the others manufactures do with their CKD models.

• Mazda freak on Jul 15, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Less 10k . Same as m 3 models.

• kelvin on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:26 pm

All I can say, don’t hope Malaysia car to be cheap, it won’t be hapenning anyetime soon. The very best it will only be reduced just a few thousands ringgit, That Malaysian can consider lucky already. Malaysia import goods is extreamly expensive because of our weak currency and tax, and Malaysia made goods is also expensive because of no reason.

• koochai on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:06 pm

“Malaysia made goods is also expensive because of no reason”
        …really like ur stmt kelvin wakakaka…

• 10k is also enough to drive more ppl away from Sleeping Honda and Confused Toyota. :)

Hope they can make leverage at the 3s area.

• alldisc on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:48 am

unless the govt start reducing protection to national cars bit by bit…

let say example by 2013 excise tax from 75% reduced to 68% and by which the savings must be handed to the consumers as well.

• OMG..great news…hoping of cheaper price and nice design…

• hway de Cruz on Jul 14, 2012 at 10:40 am

think in the region of 15k max price drop for CKD, they cant really lower much due to weak ringgit. even if it just goes for 8k to 10k, seems fair if u consider the haywire exchange rate lately

• b sensible on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:01 pm

thx madza for producing vehicle that brings excitement to enthusiasts. i wish one day madza do bring in the skyactive diesel to our shore. hope the price will be more competitive then.

• kelvin on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Don’t know why, everytime car or goods coming to Malaysia shore it can never be competitive price.

• GTR 2.0 on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:14 pm

When can we have M3 with skyactiv?

• opaixx on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:16 pm

aiyo… so those yang dah booking.. tunggu harga malaysia?

• kelvin on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:30 pm

It got money buy now, CBU is always better then CKD, In Malaysia CKD is price premium, no much difference.

• 9 months waiting list Kelvin. That means you will get delivery in 2013 and probably the CKD version. No luck !

• My friend just cancell the booking due to six(6) months waiting list…..

• kelvin on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:32 pm

Nice car and egine too, no doubt it is selling hot cakes.

• sandman on Jul 13, 2012 at 5:07 pm

cbu n ckd price diff is a big joke in MY due those who walks in the corridors or power.

• Manfurb on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Sumthin to cheer me up next year…cant wait to trade in my grand vitara with cx5…hope the ckd units will be as excellent as the cbu’s.

• alldisc on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:45 pm

now we are starting to see japanese manufacturers avoding both their own country and thailand to invest. they are learning their lesson after suffering billions in losses (especially business when people buy other cars on sales)

• Fukuoka on Jul 13, 2012 at 5:56 pm

According to May 2012 sales figure in Japan, CX5 topped the SUV segment followed by Juke and X-Trail. No wonder the waiting list in Malaysia is high.

• Jimmy on Jul 13, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Hope Mazda’s sales in Malaysia improves progressively.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 13, 2012 at 7:13 pm

they gota do it fast, i think this is the 1st car MAY bring Mazda back to the map. The next Mazda 6 is highly anticipate, so if this Mazda 5 can upset CRV/RAV4 and Mazda6 get some share from the Camry or Accord….please buy Mazda share now :P

• Good one, but Mazda 2nd value very bad.

• Jimmy on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Amongst Jap car owners, I always look high on Mazdas’, especially the high end one, Mazda6 and above. They are the richer guys who also have TASTE.

Talking about resale-value again: this is poormen’s term.
      1) one month income can buy one Mazda6, choose M6 because of its look
      2) every year can buy one Mazda6 with CASH, sponsored fully by banks.
      You think those people will care about resale value?

• What brings up a car resale value?
        Reliable car, Low maintenace, Good after sales service with sufficient spare part supply.

if mazda car is having low resale value, it does mean something.

• bmpower on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Wait for skyactive D (diesel) . it’s more better. :D

• MAZpengDA on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:54 pm

hope the ckd price will be 139K

• underskinned on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:08 am

Err, yay?

• jolly_idiot on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:40 am

Expect degrade on quality and just Rm10k less.

What is the RM10k saving for a RM150k car? Rather pay the extra to buy the confident level.

• hey. worth it man, It looks like Lexus ok! esp the cx 3. Damn nice car!

• _xXx_ on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:16 am

yeah!!! 5k discount is on its way….I get YOKOHAMA batt, PERAKBATU tires….hurray

• With a current waiting list of 9 months to 1 year, it makes sense to assemble locally. I hope they retain the Bose sound system though.

• Cool ken on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:16 am

Nnnnooooooooo!!!! Keep it CBU!! Even the CKD Mazda3 had so many problems. Luckily I bought the CBU! Cannot compare Japan and Malaysia quality. I rather pay the premium!!

• Rahul on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:10 pm

How about MPV’s – MAZDA 5 & MAZDA 8?
    Why MAZDA 5 FULL SPEC version is NOT SOLED in Malaysia? Currently Malaysian version of MAZDA 5 only comes with 2 air bags and no cruise control, no leather seat, no BOSS system, no Xenon lamps, no 17″ sport wheel, etc.
    Whereas US version of MAZDA 5 (just USD20k, whereas Malaysian price RM160k)comes with ALL.
    WE PAY MORE but WE GET LESS!
    WHEN WE CAN GET THE FULL SPEC?

• jackey on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:34 pm

I just get my cx5 last month, one word ———- very very good.
    Ckd —-quality? I buy cx5 bcus it CBU from japan

• 1000horses on Jul 15, 2012 at 7:53 am

Even if ckd dyn hope it will b cheaper than crv…so it wud stul be at least 150k

• zanggief on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:53 am

then this ckd cx5 will become “skyinactive” technology d…

• Zoomzoomdriver on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:50 pm

Mazda products are great but bezmaz aftersale very bad!! Im driving mazda 3 2.0 2009 cbu. Very disappointing.. :(

• JackZoomZoom on Jul 22, 2012 at 8:22 pm

Received SMS fr Mazda sales rep that CX5 increased price, RM3K. Launched in June, increase price in Jul, fair or not to consumer?

• smfairus on Sep 05, 2012 at 12:43 am

It took +4 mths for my fren in Jpn to get his CX5. Placed a n order in March, got it in July. I put my order in mid June, thought will get it b4 raya and now still waiting. My fren is wondering, what is so special with this car and end up putting an order for it last week. Hahaha :)

• mohd suhaimi on Mar 30, 2013 at 9:21 am

BERMAZ!! don’t suck too much blood on CX5 CKD buyers…the Malaysians are hoping the price to be lower and don’t touch the CBU standard accessories inside. The local assembled CKD model automatically be down in price compared to CBU unit…. and why need to change the accessories then… ??? not a good idea… bermaz should be more responsible..

• mohd suhaimi on Mar 30, 2013 at 9:24 am

BERMAS should maintain your new superb product….rather than too much profit making… I like lMalaysia for all…..