TESTED: Ford Ranger XLT 2.2 Manual driven in all jungles – the concrete one and the green-muddy one

4X4 trucks. They’re big, clunky, smelly, and take up the entire road. And it used to be looked upon as the vehicle for aircon repairmen, plumbers and home renovators. Through the generations, Ford has slowly changed people’s perception towards this workhorse. Now, the just-launched Ford Ranger might just incite another revolution.

Which brings me to the test unit, a Ranger XLT with manual transmission, also the base-spec here in Malaysia. The difference in specification between the automatic and manual transmission models is almost negligible. My test truck does not come with auto rain sensing and an electrochromatic rear view mirror – things that you won’t miss too much. If you want to compare specs, Anthony has covered that extensively in the launch report.

It looks attractively strong, especially when kitted out in WildTrak clothing. It does not mean that the base-spec truck look any less compensated. The grille and bumper depicts a truck with a strong jawline and would readily take any punch squarely on its chin. The wheel arch bulge is reminiscent of an NFL defensive lineman in full gear. In fact, every line and crease on its body adds to its power stance, and they are all functional.

Believe it or not, the wing mirrors’ shape lowers wind noise and the beltline is raised to add more depth to the cargo bed. Even aerodynamics is taken into consideration; any holes that can be closed without affecting performance are sealed off.

Jump inside and you can be forgiven for thinking you’re not in a made-for-the-rough 4X4. The atmosphere in here is close to that of an SUV or even a sedan. True that the hardy plastics do not give off that luxury vibe, still the texture chosen for the instrument panel cheats perception quite well.

If you’ve been inside any of the new generation Fords, you’ll find yourself in familiar territory. Yes, the interior design is nicely done. The centre console’s inspiration comes from modern gadgets like mobile phones and computers, and the meter cluster’s design is derived from Casio’s G-Shock watches.

The let down here is the feel of the buttons and dials. Both lacked the sensation of quality – the button presses are vague and the knobs turn without much impedance. Still, you’ll be hard pressed to find filler-buttons in here, which is something that can be found in cars more expensive than this truck. Also, the fit and finish is commendable, everything is aligned and squared away nicely.

And then, there’s the stereo system. Nothing fancy, just a simple six-speaker system that is average at best. There’s a basic equalizer that allows you to tweak the sound, trebles are fine but bass lacks thump. Adding more will only result in unpleasant vibrations reverberating in the cabin; it’s not a pleasant thing to hear.

The speakers are hooked up to a multimedia unit that plays music in most digital formats. It will also allow you to sync with your phone via Bluetooth, which also makes it voice controllable too. So you’ll be able to dial and select songs in your phone with your voice instead of pressing buttons on the centre console.

You won’t spot them all but the Ranger’s interior sports over 20 storage areas. I only managed to find ten. Unfortunately, none of them can truly hide a laptop-sized backpack safely away from potential prying eyes. The glove box can swallow a 15-inch laptop whole, but there’s no excuse for leaving behind the laptop in a vehicle. That’s dumb. There is a huge cargo hold at the back, which measures 1,549 mm long, 1,560 mm wide and 511 mm deep. Even that is open to the world and just so you know, the test truck’s tailgate does not come with a lock.

Pulling all that weight (the truck tips the scales at 1,997 kg) is a 2.2 litre TDCi engine that produces 150 PS at 3,700 rpm and 375 Nm of torque between 1,500 to 2,500 rpm. On paper, the engine delivers a fuel economy of 8.1 l/100 km. I only managed a high 10.5 l/100km, although it must be said that my driving style isn’t optimum for efficiency. By the way, the 4X4 can carry 80 litres of diesel in its tank; can someone please do the math?

The engine in this test unit is tacked to a six-speed manual gearbox. The first gear puts down a lot of torque to get the truck moving but you’ll shift up too quickly. It is from the second gear upwards that the Ranger puts down any meaningful speed. The sixth is mainly the overdrive gear that encourages the engine to run on lower revs at high speed, mostly to save fuel.

While gear changes feel mechanical and the clutch feels nice and light, trying to balance on an incline can be a difficult task especially in traffic. It is in similar situations that I found myself starting off from second gear rather than first so the truck crawls instead of jumps uphill.

Ford did not reveal the acceleration times nor top speed. Doesn’t really matter, the 4X4 was not made for lighting quick acceleration. However, it goes fast rather well. At ticket-attracting speeds, the Ranger feels planted on the tarmac and unshakable enough to withstand crosswinds.

Speaking of winds, the sound of it is quite muted. The purpose-shaped wing mirrors do work. Also lacking is the roar of the engine invading the interior. OK, I exaggerate, but there’s very little offensive noises leaking into the cabin, which should increase the levels of comfort in here.

Yet, there’s little comfort to be had. The culprit is the spring and dampers, which is set too firm for my liking. In urban areas, the 4X4 is less than spectacular. The ride is rough and hard, and the truck has the tendency to crash into the slightest of holes. It will make the typical Malaysian highway feel like you’re off the road.

However, it is on the proper off-roading that I appreciate the firm suspension. The Ranger does not have the tendency to feel bouncy after landing from a launch off a ditch. Instead, the Ranger lands, finds grip and continues the journey. The truck is tough enough to go through most of what Mother Nature throws at it. Unless the ground is muddy, damp or wet.

The letdown is the stock tyres that have difficulty in finding any purchase on wet rocks or mud. Not that the supplied Bridgestone Duelers are rubbish, just that tracking through deep jungle calls for more extreme rubber with deeper threads.

At least the steering has plenty of chatter. On the tarmac, it lets you know where the wheels are pointing towards and does not demand for an extra twist just to make the corner. Off-road, the steering lets you know what you are rolling over and if the wheel still have any remaining grip.

In the river, well, things become complicated. Dunk the Ranger into the water and the steering loses contact with the rest of the truck, effectively making you rely solely on faith. You’ll doubt if the truck’s tyres are on the riverbed or at the mercy of the current. The only assurance you’ll have is the closing distance between yourself and the riverbank.

The one thing that Ford kept telling us is the Ranger’s wading depth, which is 800 mm. At its deepest, the river in question had a depth of about 700 mm, 100 short of the magic number. The fact that I am writing this review means that the truck managed to swim and not sink. With that said, don’t let the truck stand still in the river, water will eventually find its way into the cabin.

Throughout the test, there is one thing that the Ranger performed consistantly. In my opinion, it is how well this truck controls pitch and yaw. The snout stays relatively pointed straight and the body did not get anywhere near the floor.  Even when I attempt to upset the balance, the 4X4 keeps itself honest. The boffins at Ford have done a marvelous job with this vehicle’s dynamics.

Out of curiosity, mostly to see if I could live with a truck, I drive into an underground parking of a mall in KL. At 1,815 mm tall, the Ranger fits nicely as most car parks allow vehicles with a maximum height of 2.0 metres, sometimes a little bit more.

However, the Ranger’s stated height does not take into account the additional millimetres that come from the long roof-mounted antenna. It hits the odd low-hanging pipe and signage. No damage done, the antenna is flexible. And yet it is unnerving to hear ‘thuuung’ in intervals coming from the roof of the Ranger.

Height aside, the truck navigates through the parking lot easily. Steering was a dab on the heavy side but it was still easy to slither through gaps between pylons. And in spite of the Ranger’s 5,359 mm length, the tail is always where I want it to be – not hitting the columns.

It takes no additional effort or skill to box the truck. The wing mirror is large enough to view the parking lines from high. Do note that objects in the rear view mirror look nearer than it really is. Naturally, the Ranger will never be a perfect fit for the box; either the nose or the tail hangs out.

Could I live with a truck? Not quite. I still need a closed boot and a more pliable suspension. And if KL were to be hit with another major flood, I’ll just have to wait it out. No two ways about it.

Still, the Ranger yields its own set of fun. It is a go-anywhere vehicle that, without a doubt, will prove useful in situations that you’ll never think of. If Ford wants to be King of the 4X4 Truck Hill, they have the perfect contender with the Ranger.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• I wonder why Sarawakians love it so much..especially the Toyota-ed ones..they seem to feel that the taller the car is, the more stable it actually is @_@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Payne on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:40 pm

well,u’ll regret to hv said tat if u happened to became one of us. Tat’s d sole different between peninsular and borneo states. Many roads access here not worth called a road. And tat’s the time tat tis type of car very useful. u can actually use Lamborghini or any other sport car here. No one bothered. But eventually, the road will judge u and u’ll end sleeping in the jungle and worst still, never reach you destination. and dont get offended if u’ll became a laughstock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • People in Sabah/Sarawak buy 4wd because of the road conditions. Feel free to go there and do your research before jumping into any conclusion. And your comment is not even related with this test drive review… @_@

• please fly here n have a look at the road here 1st

• Its almost tax free meh. 90% of the price paid goes to the value of the vehicle. Rather than 50% of the price goes to tax and out of 9 years installment, 4 to 5 years you are paying tax with interest. Use your brain. I’m in KL and I want to get one too, it make sense. This is the type of vehicles we pay a fair price comparable with UK, Aus., other than vans, buses and trucks.

• Hadi1975 on Jul 15, 2012 at 11:54 am

Am no sarawakian or sabahan….but bro…stop making stupid comments please….road condition there not the same as in semenanjung…

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 8:32 am

Suggest that you try traveling in a Kancil from Kuching to Sibu (and this is not even off raod). Then you will know why Pickup/Utes are popular.

The rich Sibu folks will most likely have a Ninja King parked in their Garage (Cygnus 420d/Lexus 470/570)

• Fiqie on Sep 23, 2012 at 8:28 pm

This dude is really asking for trouble or what with his stupid question. You should come here and see for yourself the road conditions. Then you know why Sarawakians drives pick ups and SUV. We simply need them for long distance driving. If you most residence here (pure Sarawak residence) would usually have a pick up or SUV park in there home. Normal cars would not last long in our roads. It will if you use mostly in the city but even the roads in the city are not that smooth.

• Ranger or Colorado on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:14 am

Thanks for the additional info regarding parking in the mall.

• Nice write up!

• Anti_Fuel_Price on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:21 am

Chris, can Hilux be a everyday drive compare to Ranger?
    Ii plan to own either Hilux 3.0 or Wildtrak, but since reading your comment, I have little doubt over WildTrak

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:14 am

Both are 4×4 trucks and can a 4×4 truck be an everyday drive is totally up to you. I know of people who uses trucks as their everyday drive; they absolutely love it.

The WildTrak is a very nice looking truck. :)

• Hadi1975 on Jul 15, 2012 at 11:57 am

I use my truck as my daily drive…..it’s a workhorse n a family car…but it’s not hilux or ford…mine navara

• mine i ask. ur navara ever in high speed then the temperature up. i mean like overheating?

• Setiapaduka on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:34 am

4×4 was not made for lightning quick acceleration but in reality most of hilux, triton,navara & d-max can easily kiss back of most protons and other cars in the highway.

• shawalan on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:55 am

Where is the location you offroading this Monster Chris..?

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:02 am

Honestly, I’m not sure. Our photog Sherman took us there. All I know that it is somewhere in the jungle near Batang Kali.

• shawalan on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:08 am

Hulu Tamu perhaps..? If u lift-up this monster and use MT tyres u can go further. more extreme offroad track… till u can see the Hulu Tamu waterfall.. the scenery is very nice there!

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:13 am

I suppose there’s where the place is. I also remember there’s a hot springs on the way into the jungle. But you’re right, the truck needed to be lifted and have better off-road tyres to go deeper.

• shawalan on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:40 pm

I miss to go Hulu Tamu again.

• nizam on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:24 am

I think at Kem Hamzah Hulu Tamu

• Bro, Hulu Tamu in kat mana? Macam mana nak enter? Tanah private ke? Looks interesting. Tapi my Hilat got the same Dueler tires tapi botak skit boleh ke? Thanks.

• shawalan on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:30 pm

Hulu Tamu dekat Daerah Batang Kali Bro.. Kalau dengan tayar HT standard boleh lepas kalau nak mandi Sungai kat Kem Hamzah Hulu Tamu, provided cuaca tak hujan. Unless kalau nak pergi further main offroad., at least pakai tayar AT..

• Chris, I don’t think you are the right person to test the Ranger cos I think you’re missing the point of having a pick-up.
    1. All pick-ups suspensions are hard because they are work horses!(maybe not Triton :)
    2. Should compare more on the NVH of Ranger vs. other pick ups, not just sweeping statements like “its quiet like an SUV”. Comment on the cruising RPM; whether wind noise could be heard at the pillars, so on. Get a decible meter (you can use your iphone, yes you can) to measure the sound levels. Comment on the diesel clatter.
    3. Demonstrate the features on the Ranger vs. competitors: Voice control (not highlighted), cruise control (not hightlighted). It goes on, think what you’ve missed.
    4. Gear change of the 6-speed. Is it “mechanically smooth”? Are the cogs spread too widely? The hilux’s cogs are close but the fifth isn’t ideal for cruising cos its too tall.
    5. Fuel consumption of 10.5L/100km. How did u get this? Can you elaborate? Is it from the on board display? If you did, then you did a poor job.
    6. Seats? Ergonomics? Rear seats? No comment? But instead you need a boot?

No offense. But you’re not the person to review this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Give Danny a break ok? He’s just doing review based on his opinion and knowledge.. Seriously how many of us who drive can claim of being savvy on pickup trucks?

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Noted. But I could go on and on and on. And on. There’s a fine line between writing specific information and general statements. Oh well, can’t please everyone.

About the fuel consumption, yes, it’s from the on-board computer. So a poor job done, according to you. Agreed that it is not a true measure of the fuel consumption, but it is something that most people would use as a yardstick. In my defense, the range of the Ranger is too long and I do not have the hours to drive into the sunset. I have other work that needs attention.

Since I’m in a good mood, here’s more fuel consumption inaccuracy for you: I returned the truck with a half left in the tank and about 550 km done. :)

• Sorry sorry :) typed too fast

• BOYRACER on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Chris,nice write up about the Ranger.Regarding fuel consumption, I assume that you drive with a lead foot.But it is acceptable considering it is after all a pick-up truck.
        Test drove a both 2.2 & 3.2 units (both auto) recently.Both engine are quite noisy at idle & on the move.Only when cruising it is a little less noisy.Timing chain perhaps?
        However I just test drove the Chevy Colorado (all variants) few hours ago.Both on & off road.Engine noise is low.At idle there is very little sound made.You won’t realise it is a diesel.
        The Colorado has a more forgiving ride on road.
        So now the RM110k question, which is in your opinion the better truck?Quality,value for money etc..
        I like the Ranger looks but prefer Colorado ride.I’m asking you because you may have more time driving them compare to me.(less than 30 Mins)

Thanks.Keep up the good work.

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:14 pm

I usually do my test drives like I own the vehicle. So yes, there were a few times when foot became lead. Also, I ventured into the jungle and had to really squeeze everything the engine had to give. Your question. Hmm. I have not tested the Colorado in Malaysia yet, only in Thailand. Same as the Ranger. So my opinion is based on the conditions and the trucks there, which should be the same we’re getting.

Yes, the Colorado is much more forgiving and fun on the road. Especially if you went with the manual gearbox. You’ll notice that when revving hard, the rear wheels will spin even when you change from first to second gear. Plenty of laughs. But the tradeoff is that it is not very comfortable off-road. The other beef I had with the Colorado is its interior design; it tries too hard to be bold and forward-thinking, but I think the Ranger nailed this one solid. Overall package… I think the Ranger wins it by a nose hair.

• Don’t be so defensive lah. You are a motoring journalist – and you’re saying that you don’t have time to review this car thoroughly, and you have something else better to do?

Use facts and figures to back up your statements; not just extracting numbers off the spec sheet and by sheer “Cos I feel it so”. Very bad journalism.

For fuel consumption, you don’t have to finish the whole tank to tell the fuel consumption… Just fill it to the brim, take it to the town, take it to the highway, note the range covered, fill to the brim. Viola, you have a figure! Again, why make it so difficult?

Paultan is a respectable site. Reviews used to be thorough, if not outright fanatically detailed. But this article doesn’t reflect that but instead it tells “Aiya, another car to test ah? Make it quick la. Go for a stroll, pull some numbers off the spec sheet, put a fancy title that begins with “TESTED” and tell em’ readers how I feel”

• Masked Ryder on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Sent in your resume to paultan then if you a so “GREAT” ! Phew Do u want him to write a 10 pages thesis on this, get a life.

• lonelyobserve on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:20 pm

DSK, good pointing but there are few points to point out.

1. Suspension. Pickup trucks have hard suspension settings due to work horses in nature. But the ride can be more comfortable and less bumpy by increasing the length of the leaf springs at rear wheels (number of pieces stacked together still remains the same)

2. Noise. This one can be very subjective if no noise meter is used. Diesel clatter sound can be observed by opening up the bonnet. Beneath the bonnet is the insulator and touch it to feel the thickness of the insulator. As for the engine, is there any plastic cover on top of it? With these two things, the diesel clatter sound can be minimized till it is like petrol engine clatter sound.

3. Ford Ranger’s 6MT has wider gear ratio between 1st (5.441) and 2nd gear (2.839). I personally test drove the 2.2 XLT manual and can feel the difference.

4. Fuel consumption at 10.5L/100km. This one I really want to ask Chris about this, what is the rpm figure when you drove it? Did you drive the truck as if you drive a natural aspiration (NA) engine equipped vehicle?

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 8:36 am

This truck Kerb Wt of close to 2000kg is dem heavy.

The Hilux keb wt is only 1885kg

• yeah man. hopefully next reviews will be more detailed and precise. Kudos to DSK. Come on, if you’re paid to do something. Do it wholeheartedly.

• Philip Quek on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:20 pm

DSK, why do you sound so sarcastic? If you are so demanding why not be an auto journalist yourself? Chris (paultan) is doing a good job by providing more coverage than the average auto news portal. You should be glad with it. Providing healthy feedback is good, but not up to the point that you insult him.. Anyway, he is not reporting to you. Enough said.

• Thumbs up. Fully agreed on DSK point of view.

• Geecy on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Agree with you totally also on DSK point of view. For readers sake, DSK is not being sarcastic. Hope Christ can be a more complete all round reviewer. A half hearted review is worse than no review. He missed on so many important factors regarding a 4×4 workhorse.
        Thank God somebody dare to point that out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Arrogance of youth.

• A ‘bigger choice’ to bully smaller road users…

• I think it should be fair to say that a 4WD should perform like one and a sedan should perform as it was made. May be some day they will make a car that can morph from a sedan to a 4WD and vice-versa. Until then we have to tone down our expectations if we want a 4WD to perform a sedan and vice-versa.

• Cameron Highlander on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Off road & steep hill route, nothin can beats the tough Land Rover…

• Jimmy on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Of course, everyone loves LR, much more prestigeous than Ninja King; one eye you see the RM700OOO LR, you know this guy is most likely richer than the other Ninja King owner.
      But for average people, this Wildtrack is a mini LR. Even Ninja King will not dare to bully you. So please wait for the RM180k EVEREST WILDTRACK, with all the amazing features and 9 airbags like Sharan.

• Paultan reviewed the hilux, ranger, triton, dmax, lmg etc but how come no test drive for the navara?

• Rulered on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:17 pm

I wonder if Ford Everest will have the same design cues. I would seriously consider it.

• BOYRACER on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Thanks for the info Chris.Appreciated that, especially when you mentioned the wheelspin..hahaha.
    I have no qualms driving manual.Always love stick shift.:)

• Test drive the auto one. Sorry Ford, with all your experience in building trucks, this can never beat my two years old NAVARA. As for now I can safely say NAVARA is still the truck to beat. Don’t believe, go test drive it.

• lonelyobserve on Jul 13, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Can’t agree more. Navara has extra horsepower to over run new Ranger with higher top speed. Remember, Navara is around 100KG lighter than Ranger, plus that extra 24ps are the advantages from Navara. Unless Ranger 2.2 has 190ps, which is same as Range Rover Evoque, then Navara will have pressure.

• STTUX on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:15 pm

yup,, i still like the Navara.. look otai!

• Jimmy on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Ranger is currently the Father Trucker pseudoLR. Navara lacks a lot of equipments in Ranger Wildtrack right, including major safety equipments. Navara is at best the bigger brother of Hilux.

• Chris and any dude;

Had the 2.2 got the ESC like the 3.2 Wildtrak, I’ll sign the dotted line gir
    this ute; especially if the one with orange Wildtrak paint found at SDAC-PJ.

I’m ok with the truck but afraid of rear passenger comfort though I felt that the Ford fair better than Hilux, Dmax, Triton, Telcoline. Navara not included since its sheer size too big for me. My question: how to make this Ranger softer and more comfortable, close to SUV level?

Is it possible to have ISOFIX on rear seat? The ISOFIX only can anchored to the floor or chasis?

I don’t think I need 3.2 engine-extra good 1 liter! But for ute in my opinion, EDP should be standard festure.

Thank you

• nobody on Jul 13, 2012 at 6:48 pm

Navara not included since its sheer size too big for me

And I thought Ford is slightly bigger than Navara?

• lonelyobserve on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:42 pm

karl, only Ford Ranger 3.2 Wildtrak has electonic stability control (ESC) and side curtain airbags.

For rear passenger seats comfort, like my comment posted above, just increase the length of the leaf springs at the rear wheels to assist shock absorbers there. During my test drive on Ranger, I had my friend sat at the back and he said no bumpy feel even though the road there has cracks and small potholes.

• Tq lonely.

I spoke to SDAC MD and suggested about equipped 2.2 with ESP too.

• Darius on Jul 13, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Gotta say that DSK guy has a point. There are other local journalists who test 4×4’s the right way, Ive read their reports and they know their offroad stuff. Here is more is more a car site. Sorry, but testing a 4×4 truck requires a whole different approach and if you dont have the knowledge it shows.

• There was a showcase at Wangsa Walk
    2 weeks ago and Ford displayed a basic
    Ranger 4×4 2.2 manual. It will be launced
    at a later date at around RM80K. No
    airbags etc but looks well equiped
    and difficult to tell apart. The wing mirror is all black. Good for business use

• Afiq Bazli on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Awesome! Now Sarawakian and Sabahan have more pick up choices for our roads that not even consider roads in some area. Now we have the Toyota Hilux, Nissan Navara, Isuzu D-max, Mitsubishi Triton, Mazda BT50, Chevrolet Colorado, Great Wall Wingle 5, Land Rover Defender Pick Up and the newest workhorse Ford Ranger. Did I miss any? haha.

• chevrolet or ranger on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:26 am

Between colorado and ranger, which one has better trade off price?

• robin LIm on Jul 14, 2012 at 3:50 am

someone please compare this ranger to current mother of pick up navara,in term of power,consumption and comforts

• 4g63tdsm on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:48 am

As a 4×4 review, this is severely lacking. but this is a mostly car site, I can forgive the omissions. To the ones that think the review is lacking, you owe it to yourself to test it yourself and draw your own conclusions.

I am shopping around for a work truck and have recently test drove the ranger 2.2auto. As a road based vehicle for the concrete jungle and occasional “off road” site visit it is decent with good turning circle, very good ride, good interior space, decent NVH, great features for a pickup.

Compared to my last company issued Frontier, this is light years ahead in terms of refinement and driving dynamics. Will be test driving the Triton and the Navara, but for the 96k asking price for the 2.2auto (and the lower road tax) and the features, it’s already got half the battle won.

The biggest omission for the 2.2 is the lack of ESP. Any one that has driven a unloaded pickup will attest to how tail happy these things can be in the wet.

• diesel monster on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:31 pm

i wonder how many HP and torque once ECU shop, alpha tech, Unichip piggyback plug into 3.2 truck

• Lots of Navara fans here but not many
    Navara on the road. Why? Try sitting
    at the back and you will find the
    backrest is almost vertical. Hilux and
    Triton is still best overall.Navara
    is biggest but not well executed.

• Yup, Navara overly upright rear seat position is major setback.

Please SDAC;

Offer 2.2 Wildtrak come with ESP, Wildtrak exterior and interior and put it around RM100K.

• Darren on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:16 pm

Just test drove the 2.2 manual, nice to drive, can feel the power and it doesn’t feel like driving a truck at all very car like. I have eyes set on the ranger

• i test drive the ranger 2.2 auto , nice ride , better than my triton.. book a 3.2 ranger , but the waiting list is longggggg….. :-(

• vincent on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:22 pm

When Ranger launched the car, i am very excited after reading all the positive comments. Went to Puchong branch and the lady sales rep is not knowledgeable and scold by her. No mood already. I call Seri Kembangan Ford and test drive the 2.2 auto recently. A good car but only problem is not stable when speed reached above 120km compared with my Triton. Another problem, according to the manager, change engine oil cost about RM700 for 10K km. i email to Ford Malaysia and got no reply…

• Rickyyap on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:30 am

Me not like ford ranger truck, until i try the new ford ranger 2.2, i book the wildtrak 3.2 already, my hilux 2.5 6 years old , no any 4×4 i like, try Colorado forget it, almost want to change 3.0 hilux, just because new hilux is no surprise and low spec.

• Sam Loo on Aug 20, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Your 6 year old Hilux will still have a very good resale value

• I just got my 2.2 last week. White colour n manual transmission. Very good car compared to my previous Frontier. Very smooth when speeding at 150 kmh. very strong in mud n sand surface. I went to seashore at bukit keluang and felt very surprise with its horse power. One thing to remember..don’t fill up with petronas diesel coz commonrail engine hates petronas diesel.

• MIchael on Sep 30, 2012 at 10:02 am

you test drove Auto trasmission? did you feel the auto power is totally low far than manual? i m going to buy but still hesitate to choose auto or manual. your comment is very appreacited.thanks.

• francis on Nov 12, 2012 at 6:22 pm

azam,

Mind share more why commonrail engine hates petronas diesel?

• boleh explain pasal petronas diesel ker..sy tengah planning trade in old ranger 2.5 dengan 2.2 commonrail 6 speed MT..

• Good comments! From the way you writes I know you knows trucks! Keep up the good works!

• MIchael on Sep 30, 2012 at 9:57 am

Any comment from all of you between 2.2 Auto & Manual? i test drove both of these. for Auto the gap of speed if totally low far than manual?

• raja izwan on Nov 06, 2012 at 3:58 pm

I need to know…how important is TCS on 4WD…i found out that…the ford ranger 2.2 XLT do not offer TCS…except on the wildtrack only…so, how safe the 2.2 in avoiding slippery?

• Bro, TCS is important in trucks especially when you use it on road a lot. My Hilux fish tails like crazy when you push it in bends – especially when wet. This should be standard feature in all pick ups. It is in Aus, Uk and Thailand tapi kat Malaysia kita macam anak tiri bro.

• Wayson on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Can someone tell me when we can get the ford ranger 3.2 model ? Why the production of 3.2 model is very low?

• Wayson on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Can someone tell me when we can get the ford ranger 3.2 model ?

• Wayson, I booked my 3.2 Wildtrak in Feb 2012. Still waiting. SA says coming soon but I know better. Apparently they have stopped taking orders for this model in Malaysia. The Ford Rayong plant in Thailand have problems filling orders from Australia and Thailand as the demand was overwhelming. Orders backed up due to the 2011 flood. Lets hope quality don’t suffer. But if you check the Aussie forums and consumer reviews, they love this 3.2 Ranger and not many major problems.

There are a few Wildtraks on the road in KL but mostly the Orange one. My SA asked me a couple of weeks back if I wanted this one but I stuck to white. How to go offroading in an orange lah….. Not cool. White also not the best color but no choice. Malaysians get stuck with Orange and White only – what a rip off. Ford Malaysia, dengar in tak?

If you can wait 1 year then wait lor….. But if in a hurry, they Colorado is a pretty decent truck too.

• JustMe on Jan 29, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Looks like all those who had ordered the 3.2L Wildtrak also have problem on the waiting part.Ordered mine last June 2012 & now I’m still waiting until who knows.I was told by Ford that they won’t be taking anymore order for the Wildtrak model in 2013!!

• AJ Strats on Apr 30, 2013 at 9:26 am

Hi all. l’m new to this site. I would like to know-what is the speed (km/h) for the NEW Ford Ranger 2.2XLT Manual in 6th gear and also the RPM? Thanks.

• Hi.I just bought a Ford Ranger XL model last end of March in Temerloh.The salesman and other staff were helpfull and friendly. But within 2 weeks i started having problem with the transmision of gear from low gear to normal high gear.i lodged a complaints to the service centre in temerloh( SRI M****** Sdn Bhd)asap.after 3 days delay they agreed to tow my brand new car.the next day the chief mechanic called and informed us its was nothing and failed to explained to us the real problem.the only thing he told us ‘all ok just bring back ur car’. since than( 2months plus has passed) the problem continuous and still didnt get responce from the mechanic.last week the mechanic called and told me he cant claim for towing my car a month ago and suggest he will change somekind of motor just so he can claim his towing charges too. is tis how i get treated as a ford customer? costomer is very ill treated, responded us a month later and even that, its because it favours them.i called the HQ hotline ,no response from them too. now im sick and tired waiting and driving my car in low gear for a weeks plus.
    Disappointed Customer

• Toloy K on Jul 12, 2013 at 8:41 am

i drive one on a daily basis.. and i can say the acceleration is a tad higher than Hilux 2.5 .. comfort and Chris note on cabin noise and vibration is spot on. its a joy to ride and the numbers of this model starting to pick up on the road.. given to our road condition in Sarawak, i cannot see why this D-cab is gaining traction in popularity. our kampungs are 3-4 hours drive away and road conditions varies from tarmac to yellow dirt roads to gravel roads. To have this vehicle in those conditions, you’ll drive in smiling, drive out smiling.

• Facts only on Jan 17, 2015 at 8:53 am

No need to be so defensive:
    Facts only:
    Trucks are king of the jungle and mud, it’s trash and junk in the city and on the highway.
    Sport cars are king of the city and highway, it’s rubbish in the jungle.
    Buy or use car/truck wherever appropriate