Volkswagen Polo GTi price hike: now from RM166,888

Volkswagen Polo GTI New Pricelist:

It seems that Volkswagen Malaysia has raised the price of both the 3-door and 5-door Polo GTI – bad news for fast hatchback enthusiasts and Polo GTI aspirers, but fantastic news for current owners of the Polo GTI, as it would mean an instant increase in resale value.

This is the second time Volkswagen Malaysia’s cars have had a price hike – previously the Passat CC pricelist got an upward revision as well, and when the facelift called the Volkswagen CC was launched, the 2.0 litre turbo engine was replaced with a 1.8 litre turbo. In that case, there was a problem with taxes, and we won’t be surprised the issue that caused this price hike is somehow related.

The 3-door Polo GTI now goes for RM166,888 before OTR and insurance costs, while the 5-door Polo GTI is now priced at RM169,888 before OTR and insurance costs. It was previously priced at RM132,888 and RM135,888 respectively, which means both models have had their price increased by about RM34k.

As far as we can tell, there have been no spec upgrades that come with the price hike – you can compare it yourself by looking at the old pricelist which we have embedded after the jump. The pricelist has some basic specs listed. We can’t help but wonder – now that the Polo GTI’s price has gone up, perhaps there’s more than enough room for a Polo BlueGT to be slotted in between the Polo TSI and the Polo GTI.

For more information on the Polo GTI, read our test drive report from the Polo GTI’s launch at Sepang.

Psst… btw, you can also look for a used Polo GTI or a used Golf GTI between RM150k-RM175k at our sister classifieds site oto.my.

Volkswagen Polo GTI Old Pricelist:

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Alpha on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Not cool.But then 135k for a hothatch can be considered quite low.I think the Polo GTi should be priced at a nice 150k instead.166k is too high.

• Why increase?! more pocket money but wrong move ‘ stupid ‘! less people buy less pocket money…

• Gabla on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Honda Malaysia is associated with DRB, they just launched a new Civic at a higher price than before. The new Civic is priced at the same price as the Polo Gti price before this hike. VWM is also associated with DRB so is it a coincidence that the Polo Gti needs to be priced higher?

• Disgusted with VW Malaysia and our government. Voting both of them out!

• Blame the government again? Every shit is also government fault…?!

• If you didn’t know, the cars were stuck in Port Klang for 2 months+ pending clearance by Kastam. As I know, Kastam is part of the government…

• Costwise on Jul 15, 2012 at 7:12 am

We want an open market, we should behave in such way, exercise your consumer rights and stand for open market policy.

• VW Malaysia is really getting arrogant with their pricing. I had to cancelled my booking which I already waited for 3 months. Wasted all this time for nothing.

Already bad enough that this so-called “People’s Car” is selling like a luxury brand, now got even more price increase and such a a huge one some more.

If anyone of you still insist to be a VW supporter, might as well get the much bigger and better interior brothers like the Golf TSI (which is cheaper!) or the Scirocco (top-up slightly).

For me, I’m boycotting this brand for sure!

• sudonano on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:43 pm

TO Mike, wow i reaaly feel bad for you, considering you waited for 3 months. Sadcase weyh, stupid VGM spoiled your dream to get the GTI.

Anyway no point crying over spilt milk, well time to look for an alternative brand la, VGM doing nonsense.

And thanks, for realising this is not a luxury brand, more like a normal car at a luxury brand price.

• lokpi on Jul 16, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Mike should buy preve’…and trust me you will believe it..wakaka

• Lim Kopi on Jul 14, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Mike,
        If you try to read between the lines, it is not VGM’s fault.

A competitor (maybe BMW, Mini or Audi) must have rocked the boat and informed Kastam to target VGM…

I waited 6 month previously for my PCC, same bloody story …

In the end ,its well worth the wait, u gotta understand – why is it that only VGM kena all these drama?? And not BMW, Merc or Audi??

My take is, its because they are the rookies of the car market, and when you start doing too well within a short amount of time, there will always be b*stards out there trying to put u down!!

• Ninjaboy on Jul 16, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Lim,
          I seriously don’t think this is the competitor’s fault but instead VW being greedy.

I am boycotting this brand for sure!

• Angry Bird on Aug 30, 2012 at 9:33 am

Are you saying u managed to get your PCC with old price although they revised the priced after you have booked? plsss.. i really need this info.. i’m one of the unlucky owner who booked the car for 9 months and now they asked me to pay extra RM34k. This is sucks! I’m not going to pay any cent!
          VW .. sucks!

• Vince on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:05 am

MIke,
        I waited six month!!!! And my car arrive at port on 11th of June, which is 2 week after they hold up the release of Polo GTI. talk about frustration to the Maximum!!!

• Angry Bird on Aug 30, 2012 at 9:35 am

Didn’t u take any action? I waited 9 months! even worst… come, we do something here… we should have the consumer rights! VW sucks to the max!

• I waited 7 months for my car. Anyway, do your investigation and don’t just blame VW. Everything in this country happens for a reason. In this case, it’s jealousy from other parties.

• PPKia on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:45 pm

What a rip-off!

Those who buy now will be crying when they sell this years’ unsold cars next year at a discounted price.

VW = Proton = Honda = Gardenia = Drb-Hicom

shitty…

• kusochon on Jul 15, 2012 at 2:10 pm

still tasted better than that fake italian Massimo

• jaafar on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:13 pm

ppkia

gardenia is better than the fake italian massimo bread with swine ingredient

• WhiteFox on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:37 pm

hmm how come it sound fishy ==

• BeemerFreak on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Our government at work again. The polo gti is affecting the mini cooper s sales big time, so what does Sime Darby do? Flex their influence on the government and force additional tax on better selling cars.

It happened to the passat cc when it was affecting the 325i sales which subsequently saw an up ward revision of its price.

Solution for VW to keep its old and competitive price, We vote the stupid government out which would see the demise of APs and their holders influence on the gov or let Naza handle VW which will guarantee lower prices. Now it is the rakyats turn to make our move

• what to do on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:15 am

cooper S is over rated and over priced.
      its totally cheap knock off material inside…
      trust me driven a 2 and a 3 years old cooper S…
      both also got mega vibration and fitting of the materials begin to break apart.. mmm
      now some more complain coz cannot sell car; force other brand to boost their price.. ergkkkkkk whats this???

• Gabla on Jul 14, 2012 at 7:07 am

VWM wants to make more money why blame it on Sime Darby, better blame DRB for this.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 14, 2012 at 6:56 am

Naza handle VW? let the AP king enjoy again? r u kidding me?

• Sime Darby flexing their influence? I don’t think they have any. Look at the pricing of other car brands under them. BTW, have a look at the pricing of the Cooper S. Not even comparable to any class of Polo. We are talking Polo here. Not Golf.

• feis, it’s not about pricing but overall value. With Polo GTi at the old price, nobody will look at the Cooper! Other than the retro looks, the GTi have the Cooper covered in ALL areas. Mini is way overpriced.

• kelvin on Jul 14, 2012 at 3:56 pm

AP should be abolished, only two bumiputra family is enjoying the benefit, NAZA and Mofaz.

• brabus on Jul 16, 2012 at 12:21 pm

U GO POTONG ALSO CAN GET AP

• Baba O'Reilly on Jul 17, 2012 at 7:30 am

That’s not true. What do you call DRB-Hicom Auto Solutions then? They’re the AP provider for the group.

• Ninjaboy on Jul 16, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Dear Beemerfreak,

Do you seriously think this is the fault of the government?
      I don’t think our government is stupid enough to interfere like this just to ‘protect’ the Mini Cooper. Not when the big players have started to invest in Malaysia (Merc, Nissan, etc). Something stupid like this will only chase them away.
      I think this is a pure case of greedy business person.

• Well said. Precisely what I heard from the market and just my thought on Naza too.

• jaafar on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Its not really govt fault, its all commercial whealing and dealing…perhaps the polo gti was underpriced after all? Maybe it should have been at RM 145k?

• Gabla on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:39 pm

Price hike for no obvious reason?

• Lim Kopi on Jul 14, 2012 at 6:09 am

People,

this is familiar case of both COMPETITOR’S DIRTY TACTICS and Our CORRUPTED KASTAM at play…

A likely scenario:
      A competitor of this car (maybe Mini Malaysia) may have had sales affected by it and then lodged a complaint to Kastam on them underdeclaring taxes.

Yes these things do happen, Passat CC previously is case in point, suspected BMW made the complaint which was affecting the sales of E90 then.

Real dog eat dog world out there!!

• can anyone show us what happened regarding the pcc?
        the CIF value shown on the customs form = Before and After price increase.
        all cbu cars comes with a customs document, we can compare…

• kelvin on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:09 pm

It must has a stupid reason in Malaysia as usual.

• seancorr on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Holy cow a 30k increase in price insane for such a small hatch. The previous price was acceptable but with this new price we won’t be seeing this small baby on our roads. Save more $$$ and get a Golf GTI would be a better option.

• jab fierce strong! on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:47 pm

A great news for early adopters! =D

• Unforgiven on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:51 pm

WTF

• JeremyNg on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Price increase without increase of technology features ?? thanks to high demand (maybe)!! RM30k++ is alot of money ……… whos said that we are affected by our government hopeless tax ??!! really INSANE

• Tiguan on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Was thinking of Polo Gti or Honda Civic Navi now no choice Honda Civic is the only option.

• what to do on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:11 am

choose Preve better. can buy 2 units of NEW PREVE..
      if drive like crazy and accident also NO ISSUE: coz have another one more UNIT PREVE :)

• miaomiao on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:41 am

even better, buy 1 preve and order another 1 paper preve for the dead car. Save alot of money for the funeral since you intend to drive like a mad man.

• _xXx_ on Jul 14, 2012 at 8:51 am

excuse me, wats preve. Izzit a car? Never heard of???

• but you already ko,drive it in haven!i doubt it passed the safety reg from haven for you to drive the 2nd:)

• Gabla on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Both Honda and VW are associated with DRB, what a coincidence this is? The new Civic is launched at a higher price, the same price as Polo Gti before the hike, suddenly the Polo Gti price is revised upwards…

• sean zx-10 on Jul 16, 2012 at 9:29 pm

PROTON price also has increased. My friend is one of proton staff…DRB came in immediately staff purchase shot up. so? DRB punyer hal la..greedy bastard

• Eviltofu on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Direct all brickbats to the malaysian chapter of the roundel company. One of the few who complained about VW’s pricing vs their weenie.

• mspfaz on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Why the sudden increase of price when Euro is falling down? If the increase is RM2k – RM3k, it is understandable, but RM34k?

• dammit this is stupid !

• ryuki on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:20 am

the price increase got nothing to do with euro,refer to @beemerfreak statement

• oh god, please tell me this is only a dream !

• shuk rocco on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:23 pm

why?????????

• Chris on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:33 pm

.____.

Exactly my question too.

So much for working hard to save up for a down payment. 167k is no longer a “good bargain” for that car… scrapping plans…

• Claypot on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:29 pm

what’s the reason for the price hike?

• perodua on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:34 pm

VW is welcome to increase price. Even Polo GTI reach 200k also, it is not going to be in my list of purchase

• what to do on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:11 am

dont worry u can never reach one.. :)

• Goodma on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:20 am

shut up lah… see you always comment nonsense and saying ppl no money this and that..

*so bros out there, this kind of ppl, we all know what is he rite?

• perodua on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:27 am

I agreed. I can never reach Polo GTI because I just bought Passat CC.

• althalus on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:36 pm

if there is price increase, how come no change in spec??

• haddy on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Still haven’t received mine after waiting 9 months. If I have to pay more on top of that, I’m cancelling my order. Ridiculous!!!

• Angry Bird on Aug 30, 2012 at 9:40 am

bro… why u cancelled?.. why not fight for the old price?? why just gave up like tat?? i believe we can do something here.. come on… take ACTION and let them know we have the consumer rights! wake up people! angry came be transform into action.. !

• sudonano on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Sorry, but I think VGM is being too greedy here. the TSI Golf runs in at 148k basic and 151k with Light and Sound. Same engine. Bigger car. Yet cheaper than a small B segment? o.o Even the Pug 308 Turbo is cheaper than this. Bigger turbo engine, bigger size. Or even the Citroen C4. RM 121k. Hence, I think VGM has lost it. Bad move.

• dont think its VGM that wanted to increase the price… most likely MITI is behind this..
      y would VGM increase the price and kill their sales..

• sudonano on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:00 am

Why not? VGM is selling VWs in this country like some luxury car. Malaysians buy VW like as though its some luxury car. Just because German engineering, doesn’t mean its the best. VW is just another Honda/Toyota/Mitsu/Hyundai/Kia/Proton/Perodua/Ford in Germany. So why not VGM shoot the price to 35k and yet people will buy. After all, you are willing to put 135k on a B segment car, when you can get the Golf TSI for and extra 10k or so. Or the Polo Sedan at a lower price. So obviously the target market is not the layman, its the fella that has the $$. Hence, it the fella can afford to pay for an overpriced B segment, 35k isn’t gonna be a dealbreaker. All the more so, if the fella has his mind on the car. VGM is becoming another UMW also. Sadly.

• Why don’t you ask the Government why VW cannot have a factory here? How can you compare locally assembled cars to a fully imported car??? Why don’t you ask what is the freaking AP for??? A stupid piece of paper that costs 30-50k for nothing???

• hey sudonano, rumours that BxW/Mxni is behind this as polo gti easily kill the Mxni sales.. polo gti is 100k cheaper.. you know in bolehland, protectism.. passat CC was another case where it kills the bexmer sales..

i believe VW wanted to b more generous with their pricing.. they did a lot of pre-reg (new car), rebate campaign, selling at discounted price as much as 10% to boost their sales, which you dont c tat often with other brand, they are the very few to come with 5 yr unlimited mileage warranthy, 5 year roadside assist.. now Honda felt the pressure n follow.. i got mine 10% off n its a 2012 model.. so y they are not trying to rip me off?

• ahmad loy on Jul 16, 2012 at 4:24 pm

..yeap!got it..just booking one, pre-owned with discounted price almost RM10K.

• You obviously do not know how the Malaysian automobile market operates.

• Medic on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:49 am

Bigger isn’t necessary better.It’s a different segment.

• sudonano on Jul 14, 2012 at 10:47 am

You must realise, TSI, that VW is NOT a luxury brand. The CC is just a exec sedan, but priced like a luxury car in this country. (CC costs RM244k for the sportline and the Merc C class-C200 costs RM262888, the new F30 328i is running in at RM289000, means that the CC is coming so close to Merc price and not BMW).Why not take the cash on the CC and place it on a C class. after all its bigger, more powerful and a true luxury car.

As for pre own, well as far as I know la, BMW does a lot of pre owned sales throughout the year, esp at the Sungai Besi and Glenmarie BMW branch. Can get good deals too, at times. But VW’s rebates were mostly for the 2011 MY right? and 5 years warranty, well that i think VW needs to give. the DSG box is known for mechatronic failures, try google and see, sure got.

PS: I think VW makes good cars, its just the price is not justifiable for the car.

• hey sudonano, if you read reviews from UK, US, n Aussie, VW is always perceived as premium brand cater for the mass but not luxury brand.. so the key word here is premium, not luxury. VW pricing on average is higher than its rivals like peugeot n japanese brands anywhere else in the world. There are cheaper VW models with manual tranny, 1.2 or 1.4 NA engine in other market but VGM always bring in the highest specs for Golf, Polo, Jetta, Passat etc, in fact, i hav to say their technology, finishing quality n ergonomics are best in class which justify for the higher pricing. Yes, i hav to agree polo gti pricing is crazy bcos elsewhere polo gti is cheaper than golf tsi, but saying VGM gets greedy n increase price which i dun see the reason to do so. the 30k increase which majority goes to the tax, how much extra actually VGM gain from the price hike? VGM actually dont benefit much as they know sales gonna go down. y sacrfies sales for that little extra profit? something fishy behind (u know bolehland).. as for CC, i really hav to say, the quality finish, class, looks and refinement is way above thier normal passat. i dun c y it cant rival with beemer 320 or merc C class

ps: yea, like u said VW do make good cars.. that also comes with a “good” price.. :D

• having said on the 5 yr warranthy, peugeot n beemer used to be “well known” about their poor reliability.. 3 frens drive the pug ask me to stay away while another fren who drive a 320i ckd still cant get his car software right, but they dont offer long warranthy.. only in recent years when VW set the trend, which other rivals hav to follow inorder to be competative.. hav to say VW is the pace setter, and dont see other brand offers 5 yr roadside assist..

on the VW rebate, yes some r last yr models, but i got mine discounted for this yr’s car :D ..

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 14, 2012 at 8:05 pm

@TSI

Except for the GTI lineup, VW cars here do not come with top specs. In fact our specs are lower than the Singapore lineup. For example, the Passat is sold in Singapore with Park Assist and reverse camera. The Passat sold here does not even have Bluetooth as standard.
        No point talking about DSG or TSI, as VW does not sell NA engines and auto-tranny in any of their cars, this is their standard configuration across their lineup.

VGM is turning into another blood sucking company like Honda/UMW.

• RejimKejamGanas, all VW lineup comes with TSI our Polo Sedan hav TSI meh?? .. :D .. Manual tranny and NA engines are still sold in other countries.. there are manual stick sold in UK and US, Taiwan still selling Polo 1.4 NA :D.. Saying VW using TSI in all cars is not true.. what about Vento in india :D..
        using TSI and DSG in our VW is just part of the story.. our VW is loaded with safety feature, even Camry also dun have ESP :D
        Even though we dont get the “toppest” spec with reverse cam and park assist, the specs we get are consider quite high.. ;)

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 15, 2012 at 3:06 am

The Polo sedan comes with 1.6 not 1.4! I did not include the Polo sedan (aka Vento) because it is so special that it is not available anywhere except here and in India, so hard to make a distributed/average comparison. FYI, even the Vento in India has better specs and options than ours.

For all the other models available globally that is also available here, you won’t find them with anything less than DSG/MT and TSI/TDI. For example, you won’t find a Golf/Jetta/Passat sold with a NA engine anywhere.

FYI, reverse cam and Park Assist are not the ‘toppest’ spec. The Passat sold in China has even higher specs than the ones sold in Singapore. Our VW specs are on the mid-range to low-end specs.

Even the French are loaded with safety features and functionality, so are the Koreans, but you don’t see them astronomically priced now do you? So what speciality does VW add other than brand perception and assumed reliability against the competition?

DRB is just turning VW here into another Honda. Expect VW to become the conti version of T, H & N.

• sudonano on Jul 15, 2012 at 12:20 am

@TSI, our specs are decent. But yea, okay maybe la VW is premium in a way, but don’t you think a sudden 35k increase, making this GTI more expensive than the Golf TSI , make any sense? Like a bit of a joke la. and yea, most likely might be tax la, but i think it may rival cause of the brand. WHy buy a premium when you can get luxury!

Hehehe “good price”. Lol nice one! :D

As for reliability, it depends on the luck la i guess. I got the Santa Fe diesel now, going to go bye bye soon la, seriously quality is cheap and hopeless. 6 months door seals all came off. and seats all gonecase the leather, but some people come and tell me they are so satisfied with their Santa Fes. Better still my friend got a Golf TSI 2011 December unit, 6 months, sold off, the DSG went insane in 1 month! but on the other hand, another friend has the GTI Golf and TSI Golf, No issues with them. Now the one that sold off the TSI Golf says never buy VW already! :O so yes, I guess its luck la, buy car like buy lottery. dunno how it will end up!

BTW, Hyundai has Lifetime support on the road, though the Hyundai Safe Drive plan in Malaysia. Toyota also got but i think that is 3 yrs? Can’t remember.

PS: you are lucky you got a 2012 one. Not bad! :D

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 15, 2012 at 3:16 am

True that it does depend on luck. However, you will also find numerous complaints against locally assembled variants against CBU units.

I’ve only had bad experience with Honda. Like the infamous disc brake issues with Accord. I’ve only had good experiences with Hyundai, but the Matrix I’ve had is CBU. I’ve heard numerous complaints with the same Inokom model. Even the authorized mechanics told me how lucky I was to buy a CBU unit before the introduction of the poorly built CKD ones.

• sudonano on Jul 15, 2012 at 10:13 pm

@RejimKejamGanas Sad but true, somehow our local assembly is not as good as the Thai ones. but i think in premium brands, including VW, there is a bit more control la. Actually I agree, my first Hyundai has low quality finish, but my second one this year bought new, doesn’t feel like a Hyundai. Even the Sonata YF is really good, better than even Accord, but then Sonata YF is from Korea. :|

• Truth has been revealed.. Dunno WTH the “authority” is, we can continue arguing whether is Miti or Custom, but the bottomline still it wasn’t VW intention, :D ..end of story..
      http://paultan.org/2012/07/17/volkswagen-clarifies-polo-gti-price-increase-pricing-re-evaluation-by-authorities/

• steve on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:55 pm

That’s a drastic hike! It sucks. Complaints from rivals most likely.

• Thomstho on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:59 pm

Planning to let go my 2012 Polo GTI.

Mileage: 2200km

Price:RM158k.

Buy second-hand so don’t have to wait for 1 year.

• beatnik on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:07 pm

whats the excuse for the price increase? VWM became arrogant and confident that the car can sell despite the massive price increase? this move will put off many potential buyers..

• BalanceD on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:07 pm

I had to withdraw my deposit! WTF!!!

• zidane on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:27 am

it means that you still not rich enough…

rich and affordable dont retreat… HAHAHA

• Afiq Bazli on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Why so sudden? The Polo now cost so expansive than before. At that price, Golf TSI seems to be a better deal. I hope the 1.2 Polo TSI and 1.4 Golf TSI will not get increase. Crazy! 170K for a car that not even bigger than a compact car. What happen to Volkswagen original motto “building car for the masses” when the company was produce in the early 1900…..I don’t think that motto is applied here don’t you.

• Medic on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:51 am

Hope Golf Tsi price increase also,so i can sell my car for higher price next time.

• Come …. just waiting for those preve and korean car fans to say it loud …. “forte n preve are better !!! ” lol

• Tmsoo on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Thanks to bolehland

• suka suka on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:25 pm

167K? better get a new camry.

• Typical person that doesn’t do research about cars. 167k for a camry? Seriously? I would rather get other cars which is more value for money. The camry is just outdated and overpriced

• Boo! This is the peoples car, not a luxury car! But in Malaysia, I guess someone’s pockets need to be filled…

• DewaSemut on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Gila betul!

• Varia on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:30 pm

seriously? 34k hike.
    this is madness. greedy volkswagen malaysia.
    this is why malaysia car price never go down.

• telur on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:36 pm

I think the price is reasonable. Most probably Kastam kacau Volkswagen again. Look at its competitor the Clio RS, selling for RM199k wei…

• haddy on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:20 am

Actually its not reasonable. The original price was reasonable considering our high car import tax. The Clio RS here is grossly overpriced, in Europe its the sane price as the polo gti.

• anti-vios on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:41 pm

After that, Hicom provide Malaysia with CKD unit with price rm138,888…

bijak2..

• previously 135k, yet to see the machine on the road, HARDLY SEE 3 Door Polo GTI otr too !
    So much complaint for 1.4 TSI, yet price Hike.
    Thumbs up !

• That’s because there is a worldwide shortage for the Polo GTI. Demand is outstripping supply in key VW markets.

• CX5 worldwide shortage is far more severe and I don’t see them increase the price to 190K even with waiting period of 12 months.

• Merc=Real Euro on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:46 pm

malaysia boleh….yeah…

• salleh on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:59 pm

“His” usual business tactic. I doubt so gahmen kacau on this matter. VGM is wayyy greedy this time. First passat cc and now polo gti. Next I think would be golf gti. Why not tag it at rm300k?

• Hahahah… Only in Malaysia… bolehland… somebody should frame this news and hang it on the wall or something so that 30 years from now our kids can make joke about our automotive industry..

• polo saga on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:03 am

i’ll pray that VW in malaysia will collapse soon.

• their sales just got better from year to year.. 7350 units sold in 2011, up from 2810 units in 2010… and 4098 units sold from Jan-May 2012

currently msia number 8 most popular car brand by sales volume from Jan-May 2012, and number 1 most popular conti brand out sale peugeot (2355 units sold from Jan-May 2012)..

Do you think they can collapse that easy?

• Only happen in Malaysia. simply crazy policymakers

• Wait a minute…. Are you sure it ain’t a typo? Bcos from my scribd it looks like the NSP is rm144,888 for 3 door and RM149,888 for the 5 door…. Aiyooo… Dont la be too fast to jump the gun….

• Optimus on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:14 am

This is unbelievable, RM30K+ Hike is just TOO much. 2-6k hike seems appropriate if they REALISED something is wrong or somehow Euro rise again but a 30K rise is like a “F-U” to the face of VW enthusiasts. Even if the Polo GTI is out of reach for some of us and may of not buy it, knowing that VW Malaysia has risen the price is shameful and a big stab to potential purchasers and enthusiasts.

Not happy VW. You bet your GTi’s will not see the light of day again.

• Cybercop on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:16 am

Volkswagen thinks that buying a car is like buying a property. They believed that their cars do appreciate in value. Moron!

• My badddd….. My phone is creating an xtra illusion…. Scribd is showi actually showing rm166k and 169k….. Crazy VW…. Hv to succumb to our beloved NAP ka….hahahah… anyhow, lucky those who manage to get hold of the car at the old price…. I wish someone can increase the price of my car too…. Hahahaa..

• David chong on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:17 am

At that price I will consider to get ct200h much more luxury although not performance car.

• sudonano on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:03 am

Don’t underestimate the CT200h. Check this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfPloHcQjsg&feature=relmfu

• Stealth on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:36 am

I though it was some real life performance test against other cars. It’s just a commercial la. It can make the car look so great. Not impressive. It’s still a Prius hybrid luxury

• sudonano on Jul 14, 2012 at 10:48 am

true also, but its not as clunky as the Prius.

• tokmoh on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:20 am

Headache betul la everytime I see resale value in automotive world… Msia really unique to treat car as an investment instead of a depreciating liability. No wonder most bankruptcies is due to car loan.

Why buy car to sell?! It’s like getting married, then pamper the wife to become ultra hot woman, then divorce her. In the end, net money goes out of pocket instead of going in. Kebodohan ini saya tidak boleh otak.

This price increase is a really disgusting move by VWM. It’s either:

1. They’re very arrogant/greedy

2. A red flag of them cheating on tax authorities previously or

3. Politics by Sime Darby (interesting, very believable considering Msian environments)

• Stealth on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:36 am

Rumours is BMW/Mini influence our gov to pressure more tax to polo GTI. Damn whoever it is. Down BN!

• sudonano on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:19 am

BMW and Mini is a different class. BMW is a true luxury car. VW is a wanna be luxury that only happens in Malaysia. SO why BMW want to kacau VW? And FYI VW is with DRB HICOM, of which the Malaysian Government owns a 5.39% stake in DRB-Hicom through its investment arm Khazanah Nasional Berhad. And why not BMW go and pressure gov to mark up the price of the Pugs and Citroens.Makes no sense also considering the cheapest BMW in Malaysia is the 118i @ RM 203k, way higher than 130k of the GTI Polo. So yea.

• Stealth on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:10 am

This news comes from my friend who works in VW. FYI DRB Hicom have no business with CBU cars like Polo GTI. VGM is the company to sells it. Why not it make sense u asked? Polo GTI although different class than BMW / Mini, for 134k it offers features& performance you can’t get with other brands. Closest affected competitor I can think off is the 1 series & cooper. Luxury aside most young professionals want a small powerful car I won’t want to spend more than 180k for 1 series or even a mini, considering you see Golf GTI on the road more than 1 series & mini combined.

• Wanna be luxury car? VW is still so much cheaper compared to makes like BMW and Merc la even though CBU. If its priced the same then i agree with u. Toyota Camry also can cost rm180k and it is CKD. VW let those who do not want to spend so much for a BMW but gets to enjoy good german engineering. Its like driving an audi for lower price because of the badge.

• suka suka on Jul 14, 2012 at 10:06 am

Very funny, the VW fanboys always try to link anything happen to VW with BMW. Damn Funny.

• Gabla on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:38 pm

suka suka, are u sure that they are VW fanboys? Might be their special cybertroopers that planted the stories to justify the hike.

• sudonano on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:48 pm

You cannot compare a VW, people’s car with a BMW, a luxury car. I meant “wannabe luxury car’ is because,in malaysia the price itself is too high, they market it like its a luxury brand. I thought VW was supposed to build cars for the masses, not the niche group.

• Stealth on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Sukax2 must be a BMW fanboy trying to defend the fav brand ;)

• Dude, what’s all this perception about luxury and not? BMW can be a true luxury for all I care but they still assemble cars that rattles (3 series). I didn’t get a 328i coz it’s a freakin luxury car, it’s coz of the straight six engine! I love driving and I buy cars that feels good being driven, which is why I have a GTi now. Brand snob is not cool with cars.

• jaafar on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Nothing to do with BN wei!

• This is seriously insane and it just goes to show how pasar our automotive industry is. As a two month old owner of a 3-door Polo GTi, I honestly am not thrilled at all even if the resale value might go up abit. I’m appalled by the pathetic state of our car industry and no rakyat should be paying through their nose for cars such as this.

• So much for the so called new”Anti Monopoly Act” by bn…ironcally, the biggest and worst offenders are Proton, Astro, Tmnet, Syabas, Miti etc

• Bongcs on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:06 am

lim peh kan dao malaisiya dou sien !

• Knowitall on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:13 am

Price increase due to Tax Review By Government!

Government: Why can the Polo GTI sell so cheap at 140K++ hence VGM got no choice to increase the price in order not to offend “them”……if not, no more Polo GTIs in future and more expensive VW cars….

Increase due to Government wanted more taxes out of the Polo GTIs…

SIGH!!!!!! THIS IS OUR MALAYSIA

• First thing to do is definitely f the b*n.
      They are showing such an obvious trend to gorek $(not earning $-to be difference)every damn hole they can think of, mainly from speed trap(rm3k?),car taxes and anything else,probably no more,as their brain is made of unhalal stuff so, no surprise!
      2.f the VW,folks i know the vw looks good and perform well,dont forget the price you are going to pay soon-gear box issues.you will land up miserable by walking in/out to workshop.no one can help you-just blame yourself not listening to advise.
      analogy like-mom told you not to marry this man you think is handsome, at the end you pay the price for that as he foya-foya around.get some one not so good looking but reliable!

• my goal of owning my dream hot hatch has now gone from possible to impossible :(

• Simon Hoh on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:19 am

Shouldn’t VGM make some public announcement on WHY the price is increased when there are no changes to the specification? I think they owe it to the consumers, especially those who have placed bookings with them and have been waiting for their cars only to be let down by this ludicrous move. This is appalling. I say BOYCOTT until they give a valid reason for such price hike.
    *Disgusted*

• gUEST on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:19 am

34k increase for a Polo GTi is insane!add another 4k to the 166 and we get a ckd passat!!iT ONLy HAPPENS IN MALAYSIA!!! MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!

• lucky8 on Jul 14, 2012 at 6:25 am

The worst news today after woke up, also this year, and ever… WTF…

• maajeeedaaa on Jul 14, 2012 at 6:46 am

Duh kids….it means the GE is coming to town…the G are trying to get as much source as possible to roll the money into their reserve…who knows…they might get sponsorship from bxx/mxxx

• Gavin on Jul 14, 2012 at 7:25 am

Must be the work of AP kings that are caus……

oh wait

• Aiced on Jul 14, 2012 at 7:31 am

I think Polo BlueGT is coming. 135k price tag will be reserved to polo BlueGT

• Bongcs on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:00 am

This is not logic. WHAT THE F*

• _xXx_ on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:02 am

i wont’t be suprised the next hike is on CR-Z 6MT

• _xXx_ on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:04 am

btw anyone has Polo GTI sale figures to show. I doubt the figs are high…

• They don’t even have enough cars to sell. I heard they only got a batch of 200+ cars cleared in April. I’m not sure how many are stuck at Port Klang due to Kastam.

• _xXx_ on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:06 am

whatever hike it is, im not affected coz this car is not in my list. DSG…i takut coz it shifts toooo fast

• tigerimau on Jul 14, 2012 at 9:42 am

TQ gov..rakyat di bahulukan…

• ah seng on Jul 14, 2012 at 10:20 am

this automotive policey is making me sick man…
    we pay hefty price for import car, it’s OK!! (for those who are affordable and seeking peace of mind, not for me cause i’m budget conscious people, i consider to buy 2nd foreign brand)
    now, we need to pay more due to price hike, it’s not OK!!

to add salt to the wound, when we repair/service our car, buying spare parts, we also affected by the stupid tax…

it’s about time to change!!

• 100% is the act from government. of coz not direct but thru middleman. saying why VW selling so cheap.. proton tak boleh tahan lagi.. actually lower the car tax wont even affect proton n perodua. since both have diehard fans. Government have to benefit rakyat instead of ripping us off.

• thats why PR shud become next gomen.

• kokonut on Jul 14, 2012 at 10:56 am

sesiapa yg mengugut jualan kereta “kroni” terpaksa lah dinaikkan harga, samada tambah accesories atau naik camtu jer. belilah kereta “Kroni” malaysia berjaya.

• beatnik on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:17 am

I hope VWM is not pointing fingers. cannot be because mini sales are affected thus price increase is “instructed”. the polo gti is a niche vehicle and not a luxury brand. how can it affects the mini?? sigh.. might as well increase the price for all models.

• Hate it. Time to change to Peugeot

• Sean Lim on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:27 am

hate….. disappointed…
    look for other car lo…

• Kokoi on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:32 am

Does this mean when PR become the G, car price will go down?? Boleh percaya ka? Have to try first loorr.

• Palau on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:37 am

May be prolo TSI from poloton is coming out soon

• seriousdude on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:48 am

wa….extra 34k hike…what’s the reason? extra tax increase for the G?

• bagero on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:49 am

stupid article with some baseless assumption & speculation trying to blame govt for any price hike.. i appreciate if you’re educated enuff to show the prove of this price hike due to taxes.. then u’ve good argument.. else u r simply moron!!

• teelim on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:01 pm

You got a better explanation?

• Agreed with bagero.

Teelim, better explanation? Go ask VM! Don’t speculate! If it is tax structure change, then all CBU cars will have price increase, not just VM Polo GTI.

• Over in this country, you’re guilty until proven innocent. So, pay more tax until you can proof you didn’t under declare.

Also, enforcement here happen ONLY when someone complain, and someone did.

BTW, do you think VW is SO STUPID to suddenly increase so much and have 100+ cars unsold??? These are cars already sitting at the port.

• nabill on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:53 am

maybe be its cleaver marketing,increase the price for those low volume cars , n give the impression that the prices of those high volume cars wd increase as well , ppl rush to showroom to lock in their order b4 ‘the price increase’ n at the end of the day , vw wins….!

• Obviously you don’t know the demand of Polo GTI in Malaysia. Queue is over 6 months.

• nabill on Jul 16, 2012 at 12:35 am

nope its ONE mnth only,go to the jln ampang showroom…ask urself…dont jus hear frm ppl n asume its true….!

• hellshock on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:59 am

Almost 170k really not worth what we are getting. At least improve the interior for a more luxury feel that is fitting of 170k !

• I see the repeat of Alfa Romeo’s history all over again.
    Problematic Europe VW car where the American would not choose!

• teelim on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:03 pm

I think in general, European cars are better than American cars leh…

• Greedy fellows. Such a extravagant increase without any extra goodies at all. Stop buying their cars people, then only they will repent, if not be prepared for this to continue….

• So the person/s who actually gave me a thumbs down,
      are you VW supporter or plain blatant idiots for paying so much extra ?

• like this better buy outgoing focus tdci, bigger and cheaper

• Simon Hoh on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Paul, why don’t you do the consumers a favor to get to the bottom of this in the interest of having a healthy competitive automotive industry. We should have more options to choose from and at competitive prices.

• Maserati on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Stop comparing a VW with a peugeot. Hv u even test driven a polo gti? The pug308 turbo is a good car but the polo tsi is a brilliant car let alone the polo gti! I hate the price increase but i guess thats what happen when the car is too good and the demand is too great out there.

VW cars are simply superb no doubt about that

• jaafar on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:42 pm

if you read the UK Autocar review of the Polo gti, they said that if you want a better handling car you can find cheaper ones elsewhere…its good at straight line but at corners and steering feedback/composure , not so lah…

• DArkerMarker on Jul 14, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Who to blame??

MAlaysian are generally suckers buying cars above the world market prices. Kena conned left right up down.. Nobody put a gun to their head to buy the car. They all willing to sign the dotted line.

Dont blame the car seller and the ridiculous prices.

If not happy, just STOP buying their cars.

• tokmoh on Jul 14, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Aye. Biar bankrupt asalkan bergaya.

Pastu nak beli keter pasal resale value. Tetiap kali harga keter baru naik, sorak pasal resale value kekal.

Bangang.

Camtu baik suruh Proton, Perodua sume naik harga. Esok Saga FLX RM260k, Myvi 1.5 RM300k, Vios dugong RM600k. Instead of complaint, mesti sorak hoooray, resale value keter aku naik, fuyoooooo

• VWM will need to clarify the increase. It’s just crazy. Add a bit more, I can get the golf gti or a good car at that price. If its the taxes and G that’s the one to be responsible, then they will sure loose out very soon…. The increase is pathetic. A no brainier……

• It’s like giving away a pero2 viva for buying the new priced pOlo Gti

• Metroboy on Jul 14, 2012 at 2:32 pm

VW have done their study and they know their intended market segment for these cars will be supportive of this move. No need to elaborate but you know who they are, the Yuppies. Of course it mean more profit for VW but but what’s wrong with that; our Gov’t also happy more taxes, banks also happy coz’ higher HP loan amount. Indirectly we all benefit I would say?

• RM166,000. From what I see, if I get this car, I’ll be spending more on it per month than what I spend on clothes, leisure and food. No thanks.

• leng la on Jul 14, 2012 at 3:19 pm

I just got my car 3 weeks ago at the old price. Probably my best investment to date. Who’d known buying car also can be investment. 35k aikkkks!!

• ahmad on Jul 14, 2012 at 3:24 pm

OH YES!!! At least not so many people driving the same car as me…HAHA… not so affordable now i guess!!! HAHA real happy!!! at least i sell my car next time i can make money!!! thank you VW!!!

• teelim on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:12 pm

I think the dreams of many to own an affordable performance car just crashed and burn…

• kelvin on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:17 pm

This is the first time I heard you buy a car whitout losing value. VW is the first to do that, das Ingenieur!

• along on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Very easy,

Lets flex our muscle as customers, lets show them we are the boss. If you have book this car, lets cancel it together and if you plan to book this car, just hold your purchase…

Just boycott them for a while, let that 34k shove to their asses.

When they have stockpile or only a few selling, trust me they will succumb to our knees and price will drop… I aint paying additional 34k without anything added, enough said…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

• alibaba on Jul 14, 2012 at 5:35 pm

U think this is movie, all ends well in bolehland?.

• along on Jul 14, 2012 at 6:23 pm

This quote should answer your reply…

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing” -Edmund Burke

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 14, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Fully support your suggestion! Consumers should put a stop to the incessant blood sucking!

• More than 95% already cancelled. You think VW want to have cars they cannot sell??? Think.

• Ekspresi Ruang on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:33 pm

now I realized that the ‘People’ that been mentioned in their tag ‘People’s Car’ are actually just for the Germans with their Euro currency income. Definitely not for Msian people with Ringgit income…..

• artworks on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:40 pm

hope fiesta ST 1.6 ecoboost can bring here! smoke the GTi

• Audi Owner on Jul 14, 2012 at 5:41 pm

Killing them softly with the increase.Just like Audi.That is why Auto Dunia closed down.

• Queue of Polo GTI is at least 6 months, and VM is having too many orders for the Polo GTI, till some dealers don’t even want to take deposit for the pre-order of it.

When you have so many pre-orders in hand, what’s the fastest way to cash more money? Increase the price! 50% might be cancelling the order, but the rest will still continue with the purchase and you still get the extra RM34k per car!

Paul’s speculation of tax issue here is without any solid evidence, and is definitely a defamation to the government. I would rather believe that it is the greedy VM that cause the price hike.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 14, 2012 at 8:08 pm

Unless VGM publishes a press release about this price increase, I agree we should not accept mere speculation. They can be riding their recent popularity to raise prices for all we know!

• And you speculation is sound? Almost all who booked already cancelled order. I was told those still waiting can count with fingers. Do you think VW want to have 100+ cars that cannot be sold?

• Henry on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:12 pm

Accusing VWM of being greedy is not defamation? Is it also not mere speculation without solid evidence?

• crazy!

• Maccroman on Jul 14, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Get a golf gti… Ask for colors which req u to wait 6-9 months, make sure wait will not b affected by price hike, in b&w… Then who kns vim hike up gti to 260k. Wow this is better thn buying stock, unit trust. Amaaaa-wait for it- zing!

• Cant afford it now or before

• DArkerMarker on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:48 pm

I would like to see how this car will be priced like when the car after 15 years old.

Bank loan sure cannot, so buyers would resort to personal loan….

but Personal loan…..will be a killer in the interest rate.

Soon, the secondhand value will drop like nobody business.

just like those Volvo 240, mercs, etc….Even proton cars hold better values than these conti cars…

We’ll see who is having the last laugh then…

• DArkerMarket, you must be driving low cost car, pathetic driver

• Roxas on Jul 15, 2012 at 2:40 am

too much, i rather buy the Elantra. Then i will have some extra pocket money.

• Salleh on Jul 15, 2012 at 8:41 am

Anyway, I doubt that it got to do with the competitors. Else, BMW malaysia already asked gahmen to block grey importers from importing recond bmw/mini

have u ever wonder how come there is no more recond Golf GTI in Malaysia after WALD bring in em last time?

btw resale value of VW is much more worse than Merc and BMW. well at least you still can sell 15 years old W202 or E36 with the right price, but VW?

• Guys.its time to change Gomen.we rakyat dont want to be milking like shit anymore from greedy chronies

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s91N1hufII0&feature=player_embedded

• kelvin on Jul 15, 2012 at 12:35 pm

The real problem is made in Malaysia Proton is not cheap too. About 80k for Preve…

• you think if pakatan wins the tax abolish? hahaha, if they abolish the tax, it will be the last time they win..yu think ppl wh bought car at tax price wil be happy? think about it bro, economy can collapse

• kambinganas on Jul 16, 2012 at 1:54 pm

To cushion the second hand market, they can do it in stages mah. Like this also people will continue to vote them to encourage the tax reduction.

• economy can collapse just because of just reducing car price?? hahaha..i dunno about eco much but it just logic form 6 student can think better than u.off course not all sudden reduce maa.its in Stages.hahaha back to u

• tokmoh on Jul 16, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Refund back the tax lor liddat. One-off payment, then rakyat can enjoy motoring much more fair manner than before.

Economy can collapse? What toking u?

You’d rather current system that’s bankrupting our people?

Current high tax also killing Proton. If lower tax, imagine can get Saga flx for rm20k, Preve turbo for rm45k.

• Wisdom on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:03 am

Rakyat chose to ‘naikkan taraf hidup’ trough branded foreign cars….

• JamesL on Jul 15, 2012 at 11:07 pm

I also order this car and just cancel it. Kindly teach these %@@%@^!*&* a lesson and boycott it so that they know this behaviour will not be tolerated in future. There is a long list of alternatives at the 140K-150K price point. 2nd hand Mk5 GTI, 159 Alfa, E90 325i, Subaru, Mk6 Golf Tsi etc. etc. It is just a tarted up Polo Sport.

• You just cancelled like that not taking any legal action towards them? I’m also another victim here.. booked since Sept last year.. Why no one taking any legal action here??

• Tho I couldn’t afford to buy expensive cars but I could feel the rakyats will get suffer this coming years especially these blood suckers start milk the money before the GE 13 kicks off.

• haha !!!! the reason for this is very obvious.. most VW cars dealers are who? haha.. !!! sad to see this happening.. was aiming for the polo gti but now? haha… sad sad case.. wat to do.. our G is so good especially the one who says he is malaysian second.. haha.. now they want to catch me for saying bout he is malaysian second.. haih.. wat is happening.. wat is happening.. nooo….

• haha…34k price hike to 166k is just absolutely ridiculous. Way to expensive for a polo gti. thats like 60k more then the standard TSI…meaning in UK, the gti is GBP13k more expensive which is so impossible. haha…dumb arse VW.

• oko028 on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:24 am

RM168kfor a POLO? kidding me.

Guys VGM did not put a gun on your head, so its really up to your call.

Put a side resale value, for 170K – Alfa Romeo Giulietta is way way better car than Polo in all aspect!

http://paultan.org/2010/03/22/video-new-alfa-romeo-giulietta-promo-released/

• Sexy Back on Jul 16, 2012 at 11:53 am

Must well get the recond audi TT is a sportscar.

• carnoisseur on Jul 16, 2012 at 12:08 pm

if you are ok with the price then buy it ,if you are not ok with it just leave it ……but im disappointed with VWM so I will not consider buying any of their cars anymore as i was going to buy one soon

• Medic on Jul 16, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Like you said,then don’t buy lor,why have to announce it here?

• haha ! kebebasan bersuara ?? haha.. must be one of the putras.. haha.. oh no… gonna go to jail.. oh no…….

• Estimosis on Jul 16, 2012 at 12:26 pm

This is what we get when robbers and thieves doing automotive business..

• Sean Lim on Jul 16, 2012 at 12:44 pm

r vw malaysia going to local assembly this car? so they can still sell with ex price…

• Das Auto KL on Jul 16, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Polo GTi is not a volumn seller so ppl who buy don’t mind paying, if you want to drive conti you have to pay premium…la if not go for the more affordable cars e.g korean, japanese or the Made in Malaysia punya. Welcome to test drive VW then you know the diferrences.

• difference need not necessarily means ripping people off too … and yes, i’m a PGTi owner.

• Hey Das Auto KL, I am a VW owner and I dont agree with your statement. Those who bought a Conti with a premium price tag doesn’t mean they can stretch their wallet all the way.. We are talking about 30k difference here..

• RM34K price increase could buy me an additional Viva or SAGA. Damn…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jul 16, 2012 at 3:40 pm

This is most curious and does not make sense. Euro zone is in a slump, the currency is weak, surely they want to sell more cars to rest of the world. Two possible scenarios:
    1) VW under-declared the docket prices and have been found out.
    2) They want you to buy a different model, not the Polo GTI.

• Maserati on Jul 17, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Its not like if it was priced at the old price you guys could afford it. So stop complaining here .

Even if you had the money, you would have to wait 1 year for the car.

• Darius on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Lol, never liked Volks but I kinda expected the price increase really. Enter cheap, and once u got traction, start to hike.

Premium conti konon…common as muck car the standard of Viva and Myvi in Europe lahh

GTI = Gue Tak Ingat :)

• Mike Dude on Jul 23, 2012 at 6:10 pm

In some countries, Polo is regarded as a very basic & ordinary car. Here, people think they drive something luxury. No pun intended for Polo owners out there but that’s the way things are.

• HeyDude on Jul 24, 2012 at 12:09 am

vw same like BN government, licensed robber

• James on Aug 24, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Some lucky owners are selling their polo gti for Rm 155k……When bought it only Rm 138k…..too much …