MINI Malaysia releases two limited edition themes for the MINI Cooper and MINI Cooper S

Just in case you’re in the market to buy a MINI Cooper, but think that the car no longer stands out as much, well then you are in luck. Because MINI Malaysia has recently launched two limited edition cars – MINI Cooper Baker Street and MINI Cooper S Bayswater.

Both sport different exterior and interior design elements so there are no changes to the engine, outputs and performance. You can read about its figures here.

We take a look, first, at the MINI Cooper Baker Street, which comes standard in a colour called Rooftop Grey Metallic. There other special colours include Rooftop Grey, Pepper White and Midnight Black. All colours are accompanied with Black roofing.

Other visual cues to make this MINI special are the Baker Street labels at the bonnet stripes, mirror caps and front wings. Also, this small car slips on a set of 16 inch aluminium 6-Star Twin-Spoke rims in Nightfever Black.

Inside, you’ll find the Baker Street signature Cross Check design contrasted with Rooftop Grey Light finishing on the leather, cloth seats, gear lever knob and handbrake gaiter. Other interior décor include Baker Street door sill finishes and seat badges.

Next, is the MINI Cooper S Bayswater and it is coloured in the exclusive Kite Blue Metallic exterior paint. This edition is also available in Eclipse Grey Metallic and Midnight Black Metallic.

To make it stand apart from the run-of-mill Cooper S, Bayswater features special bonnet stripes, wears its nametag on the front wings and runs with a set of 17 inch Sanblast Turned light alloy rims in Jet Black.

Inside, the car gets Punch Rocklike Anthracite leather trims with a choice of Blue or Brown stitching. Interior surfaces are finished in Piano Black to match the bonnet stripes. Like Baker Street, Bayswater’s seat badges and doorsill carry the car’s model name.

The on-the-road without insurance price (with MINI Tender Loving Care service package) for the MINI Cooper Baker Street is RM198,888 while the MINI Cooper S Bayswater goes for RM248,888.

Gallery after the jump.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Having a left hand drive definitely stands out. :)

• wait till you arrive at toll plaza or car park entry where you need to over-stretch to collect ticket…

• Muhammad Noor Firdaus Bin Haji Bashah on Jul 16, 2012 at 4:49 pm

This one are one in the movie, Italian Job?

• Mini Cooper RM198,888 – Top up 10-15k might as well get a Golf GTi.

Mini Cooper S RM248,888 – Might as well get a Scirocco/Megane RS250. Faster and more powerful.

Not being anti MINI or anything. Its a nice car, I just feel that its just way too overpriced IMHO :)

• Josh Ling on Jul 16, 2012 at 6:46 pm

when you have a range of cars that has the supply outstripped by demand, you would really go for a much higher price tag, because you know in the end of the day it will sell. Mini is just never too expensive for some people.

• Papa Baik on Jul 16, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Nice. My 2nd wife next birthday gift.

• anti-vios on Jul 16, 2012 at 7:41 pm

I think this model is too old and have too many version…
    If Proton do this.. everyone will hentam cukup2..

• KillBox1Alpha on Jul 16, 2012 at 9:24 pm

How many limited editions doe they come out with for the mini ? Very stale man…looks the same…only different paint..

anti vios is right…if any local manufacturer did this…sure kena….

• _xXx_ on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:57 pm

So, obstacle cleared. Time to jual mahal…

• boring.

• Kalun on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:33 am

Only for spoilt teenagers!
    Not wise to own this just because of its brand. Mini was always build for housewife. Top gear said it!

Better go for a well spec car. For male, get a 4×4 or a Volkswagen for that price. For female, get a Volkswagen golf gti or BMW 1 series. Worth it!

• 1Mmini on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:06 pm

they should release ‘1Malaysia’ or ‘Janji ditepati’ themes instead ;)

• They took a beautifully designed car that sold millions for decades and ruined it.