Alfa Romeo MiTo – now with 2-cylinder TwinAir

Alfa Romeo’s sporty supermini, the Alfa MiTo, is now available with an 85hp TwinAir engine. You might be wondering what’s so special about an 85 horsepower engine. See, in this case 85 horses is obtained from an 875cc twin-cylinder turbo engine with electro-hydraulic valve control technology.

Yes, 6 cylinders have been downsized to 4 cylinder turbos, and 4 cylinders have usually become 3 cylinder turbos, but Fiat has chopped an extra cylinder off! The 85hp TwinAir Turbo is the first of a series of two-cylinder engines developed by Fiat Powertrain.

The 875cc TwinAir Turbo engine, mated to a close ratio 6-speed gearbox, delivers a maximum of 85hp at 5,500 rpm and a torque of 145Nm from 2,000 rpm, constant up to 3,500 rpm – between 10% and 25% more torque when compared to the 105 and 78hp petrol engines in the current range.

The DNA drive mode selector (Dynamic, Natural, All-weather) reduces torque to 110Nm in Natural mode for a more fuel economical drive. Full torque is available in Dynamic mode.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• b sensible on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:19 pm

never seen this 2-cylinder machine in the market…so brave that alfa romeo the pioneer using this engine. i hope alfa romeo setting the benchmark the engine for fuel efficiency…just wait and see…

• chris on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:54 pm

hiiih…lose hope already. Whats the point having all the hi tech stuff which the majority Malaysian can’t afford it. The way i see it, 100k above. Wait, must add another 30k coz for tax purposes.
    My wish for 2012 budget, affordable cars other than P1 or P2 choice.
    Power to the people!

• Chris, not everything in this world is designed and made for only Malaysians in mind. And even if the price is brought down to 60-80k, Malaysians will still complain. Ini tak cukup, itu tak bagus, Ini tak reliable, itu tak cantik, tak cukup besar, boot lid lembut/ringan/berat. Always there will be something to complain about.

• 3cyl is like a 1.0 myvi, kenari and kelisa Dan lain lain… But 2cyl, will it be a bit wobbly?.. Then next time, someone will do a 4 stroke1cyl twin turbo 250cc bike engine on a smart for2. Hahaha. Maybe…..

• alldisc on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:35 am

friend, this engine is using new technology that is not having camshafts or valve springs that taxed on the the engine output itself. the result is a free revving engine as it has not timing belt or even timing chain. the engine itself is lighter with technology like electric waterpump (example Golf GTI)

if hard to imagine, just think a 4 stroke engine that is like a 2 stroke (that is minus valve gear mechanism and the timing belt)

• Extrimist on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:52 pm

I think it has timing chain and valve spring.

http://www.fiat500.com.au/default.asp?action=article&ID=21723

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dcp1H5bduE8

To check multiair (which is the tech that twinair uses):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Td9Gz_h7Qpg

The engine has a balancing countershaft reduces vibrations to give the smoothness and refinement of a four-cylinder.

• alldisc on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:56 am

owh, my fault. thank you for correcting me.
          i was thinking it is similar to pneumatic valve system or perhaps, Renault’s electro hydraulic valve actuation system that made do without camshafts.

too bad it is not.

• When it is T-charged, the torque is playing a main role here though, 145 for a little car here, it could be quite fast :)

• Yup, agreed…and 145nm at lowish 2,000rpm all the way to 3,500rpm. For a comparison, a honda city 1.5 ivtec 140nm++ torque only arrived at above 4,000rpm…This alfa should be more relaxing to drive and good for FC (no need to Rev)

• Turboman on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:19 am

A 6 cyl sounds like a turbine.
      A 4 cyl engine sounds a bit rough, but still acceptable.
      A 2 cyl engine: Hmmmm. Wonder how it sounds like. 1 power stroke every 360 degrees revolution. Ain’t gonna sound very nice i would say.

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:52 pm

What is the 0-100km figure?

• Fosza on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:05 pm

For those who doubt about its ability, Fiat 2-Cylinder 875cc TwinAir is 2011 International Engine of the year, it is used in Fiat500 with oil consumption about 3.7l/100Km.

• Azydy on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:23 pm

arghh new technology will cause cost raise up.. can’t afford to buy..

• Leonardo on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:20 am

Hats off to Alfa for pulling this off. It will open the eyes for the other manufacturers to follow suit. The cost of fuel savings should offset the initial cost of vehicle purchase, in my opinion. But it depends in which country you purchase the vehicle. I would chose this over a hybrid and fully EV as it gives me more ‘psychological confidence’, i guess. Anyway others might have thier own opinions.

I am just surprised that the Japanese and Koreans were not the first to do it. But I am sure they will follow suit soon, and make it more cheaper and affordable, as usual.

• god_particle on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:12 am

FPT TwinAir Turbo 85HP with lowest CO2 emission of 92g/KM.
    Roadtax annually similar to kancil/kelisa…
    Fuel consumption similar to ultra-modern euro5 Turbo Diesel…
    Do you still think driving a Hybrid is cool?

• DawnMover on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:13 pm

This car is fitted with a “Motocycle” engine, thats how advance engine has become nowadays. How..la Proton going to compete with them ?

• merepek on Jul 18, 2012 at 4:25 pm

another failure product by ALFA..
    ahaha

cant even sell car or support car world wide..

• What do you have against Alfas, Mr Merepek? Clearly you seem to hate Alfas in general judging from your comments in the previous Alfa post. Well, to each his own, you have the rights to voice your thoughts. But let me enlight you a little on Alfa and its’ history.

As we all know (or if you don’t know), Alfa is owned by Fiat, and Fiat owns Ferrari and Maserati. We all knew that Alfas made before Fiat took over were not that reliable (electronics wise), but the engines; the Clover, the 3.2 GTA V6, the Twin-Spark, they are all good engines. Not to mention the handling of some of the models are superb as well. This is traced back to Alfa Romeo’s roots; they were racing before Ferrari was founded, when Enzo Ferrari was still a ‘budak darjah enam’ (he was twelve when Alfa started racing).

After Fiat took over, we witness the release of better, more subtle and reliable cars. When you buy an Alfa, you’re buying a car that’s made with century-old experience. You’re buying a car with characteristics. A car that can go 10-20 years down the line and still look modern. The 156 is a good example. 15-year-old design, and I still can’t help but to gawk at it everytime one passes by. An Alfa fan will argue that even if reliability is an issue, it makes up a part of the experience of owning an Alfa. And with Fiat around, Alfa cars just keep getting better.

The point is, there is not a single car that can trump in every single aspect possible. At least not yet. The Veyron? Good for straight line speeds, but when it comes to corners a GTR can beat the crap out of it. But a GTR can be beaten by a McLaren or Aventador in terms of acceleration, and the both could be beaten by the SLR/Aston DBS in terms of luxurious amenities, and eventually be beaten by a Viva in terms of cost.

So dont hate if you don’t know, have no experience, or can’t afford it.

• what to do on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:23 pm

i think what he means is…

alfa engine still sucks bro..
        their transmission is a failure..

and same go to product of their mother brand FIAT: Fix It Again Tomorrow!

total failure and yes no support world wide.
        why trouble ur self with crap product?

• i agreed….i used to owned super giulia…fantastic

• kancil on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:26 am

huh…japan automaker also on the track of this 2 cyl. engine…but so surprise 145nm @ 2000rpm…this is brilliant…vios only 141nm @4400rpm….pun sudah cukup kuat..

• This is the 85 HP version of the 2 cyl TwinAir engine. There’s another version that is 104HP being currently used in Fiat 500.

• Black BJQ on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:17 pm

My personal perception: Alfa always an exotic creature.. Not hating, but admiring. Cheers!

• lXIKqTrpHS on Nov 13, 2012 at 1:29 am

ambien order online no prescription buy ambien online prescription – ambience mall gurgaon website