TC Euro Cars delivers 100th Renault Megane RS

We were at Renault distributor TC Euro Cars’ PJ showroom yesterday to witness the key handover to their 100th Renault Megane RS 250 Cup customer in Malaysia. 100 units may not sound like much, but let’s not forget that this is a RM230,000 Renault, sold only with a manual gearbox.

The Megane RS was launched back in November 2010. Presently, Megane RS sales in Malaysia ranks third behind only Japan and Australia in Asia & Oceania. The figure does not include the previous gen Megane R26 (only seven were sold) and units registered for own company use.

The lucky 100th Megane RS owner is Barani Shanmugam. Lucky not only because he now owns a brilliant drivers’ car, but also because he bagged an Oris TT1 Day Date watch and two private driver traning sessons by Kegani Racing along with the key. Sorry Mr. 99th.

“I researched and test drove many performance cars in this segment and nothing came close to the balance of handling and performance of the Megane RS 250. On top of that, the car is great value for money given the high levels of equipment on the car – the RS Monitor, the Brembo brakes, the Recaro seats, the mechanical LSD, Cup chassis – no other competitor offers all of this in this price range. There is nothing anyone can criticize about the car. It’s just that good!” he beamed.

Barani will also get to exercise his car on track. TCEC organises a series of track days (six days in 2012) for Renault Sport owners to fully exploit the limits of their cars. We’ve been to one before, click here to read our experience. More recently, we tried to live with one as a daily driver – click here to read that piece.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ben yap on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:27 am

Whoa! Rich indian…

• Driven on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:16 am

is there a need to specifically indicate that he is indian?i think we can see it for ourselves right.or just cause he is indian u assume he cant afford one?narrow minded

• Ben Yap on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:29 pm

I didn’t criticise any indians. and is there any law that we cannot mention a person’s race? or is it even taboo to mention a race?

you racist and hypocrite!

• Critique on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:32 am

So Ben, what exactly did u mean to say with your post: “Whoa! Rich indian…” ??

• why must use ‘indian’ wordings? cant just say rich malaysian? in fact, there are alot of rich ppl like mr shanmugam.

• why must specify the race…such a narrow minded thought. You ought to go hide yourself for such comments sheesh…potong stim la with your comment

• kelvin on Jul 17, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Hi all, can’t blame ben yap. The truth is we Malaysian are grown up in divided multiracial society policy.

• Bcoz we grown up in a divided multiracial society. thats why we need to try harder to bond together to make a better Malaysia.. not just stay on how we used to be like now..

• kelvin on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:12 pm

All of you are right, no doubt about it. Talk is easier then done, we can only try harder. Ins’t it we are not trully Malaysian after all this years, we are sperated by race, in every document. If we are treated equally, we won’t not have many ben yap.

• ppl like ben yap doesnt matter he is a malay chinese or indian is a parasite to this society.. we dont need these parasite incubate in our society. tats y the first step to be treated equally is vote wisely during the next election.

• e-tique on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:16 pm

lets start with education system then…but cannnoooooot, we cannot do it bcoz it might jeopardize our values bla…bla…bla. so, then, it will be like this forever & ever…hmmmm

• Its people like Ben yap who divides society by his narrow viewpoint….as if only Chinese can buy nice cars

• Pervert on Jul 18, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Must be black money business

• arghhh i missed it!
    i’m gonna be #101

• Budu power on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:22 am

Barani beli barani drive laju laju itu performance car, kalau tidak bagus pakai viva

• ko punya komen bodoh la.. boleh berambus dari sini tak? nak kasi halau?

• bmpower on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:45 am

I doubt this is a great car.

win race = not,
    win rally = not,
    win what?

Focus RS is better.

• lkhoe on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:03 am

So ur definition of great car is must win race and win rally?? Shallow minded.

Focus RS is better as you see it? Wow

• koochai on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:08 am

satria neo win rally.
      u gonna buy 1? huh?

• haddy on Jul 17, 2012 at 12:07 pm

How about fastest lap around the nurburgring for a front wheel drive car? Not good enough for you?

• JeremyNg on Jul 17, 2012 at 12:11 pm

if thats how u define great car so i should you will end up buy Satria Neo instead those RM300k EvoX and Imprezza STI !!! Bcs Satria Neo put these car to shame on rally stage

• BMW BEST on Jul 17, 2012 at 12:52 pm

This car did a better lap time in Nurburgring than your Focus RS.Way way faster than Focus.What can you say?

• So Proton Satria Neo S2000 Won few rally race…mean that Proton is a “Great Car”..? heh heh…

• ayyam on Jul 17, 2012 at 7:31 pm

FAILLL

• bmpower on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:04 pm

So now, you all support and like Renault? Really? the brand once you all hated the most?

Remember Renault in savvy and waja?

prtffhhhh..

Still.. I don’t think this is a very great car.

• BMW BEST on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:41 am

Not really like Renault but I appreciate their effort on this car.It is a quite nice car indeed.

• lkhoe on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:56 am

Nice. Other marquees should learn from these guys on how to provide a unique experience to the customer for owning a performance car. I’m envious coz nobody in VW even welcomed me to collect my GTI and the clerk had to do car check with me coz everyone gone for CNY hols.

• macroman on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:55 am

LOL… poor guy

• miaomiao on Jul 17, 2012 at 1:06 pm

The reason being that coz you are a nobody, if you’re somebody, then you’ll be buying a Bentley.

• NOT REALLI SOMEBODY ONLY BUY BENTLEY. I know a friend his dad is at least a dato but buy bmw only.. how bout u? i bet u are just dust.. golf gti oso cant afford..

• Metroboy on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:21 pm

Which outlet….so we know where to avoid.

• lkhoe on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Its d one in TTDI. But one thing the SA did do was managed to deliver the car on time within a week as promised, few days before CNY hols. Too bad it was a lonely experience for me as he was on leave the same day. Apparently, later I found out from SC many customers complained about him. Too bad.

• Zero Emissions on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:17 am

I am jealous

• Serious Joker on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:28 am

Lucky man. He was a former student at Brickfield’s school those days. Nice & cool car.

• wow.. i can see alot of poor malaysian jealous of ppl can achieve what these moron cant.. lol.. typical malaysian. ppl buy u bash. Renault oso wanna bash. ppl low profile oso kena bashed. Nthg u keyboard warrior wont bash. but come out to the street pengecut pulak.

• jelly to the max…..

• I don’t trust the VW brand in Malaysia after they jacked up the Polo GTI price. Great job Renault Malaysia, can’t wait for the new Clio RS!

• if good please make it cheaper..then more people can buy…at this price only rich man can effort..but rich man always busy at work…no time to enjoy this kind of car…

• NOT REALLI RICH. U SHOULD USE THE WORD ABOVE AVERAGE. I BET MR SHANMUGAN HERE DOESNT WANT TO BE ASSOCIATED WITH ‘RICH’ EITHER.. RICH IS KINDA SESITIVE WORDS IF U KNOW WHAT I MEAN.

• kissmatt on Jul 17, 2012 at 2:06 pm

When you spend lot of thousands, you should get warm welcome when collecting your car..

• mad aly on Jul 17, 2012 at 2:26 pm

lkhoe.. we get it, u driving VW Golf Gti.. :P

• lkhoe on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Sorry about that. But interesting they gave an ORIS watch to him. I was at their roadshow in Subang Empire few weeks ago and saw a sample TW Steel Renault F1 watch on display that apparently would have been given to new owners. Slightly old model but loved its large design. Maybe that ORIS is reserved for only this special occassion.

• confused on Jul 17, 2012 at 2:53 pm

This color makes 250 looks soft. Yellow is better suited me thinks.

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2012 at 2:53 pm

is this the model with torsion beam rear suspension?

• Tangkak Taiko on Jul 17, 2012 at 3:29 pm

This car turbo charged meh? Preve is turbo charged but way cheaper!!

• PREVE IS TURBOCHARGED.. BUT CHECK THE POWER AND TORQUE OUTPUT.. PLUS, U WANNA COMPARE PREVE WITH RENAULT? ITS LIKE COMPARING OUR PDRM WITH FRENCH GENDARMAIRE.(GOOGLE IT IF U DUNNO WHATS IT?)

• of course cfe has lesser torque and output, single turbo charger not twin like prince, anyway power and torque already like common 2.0l engine so it’s worth it

• Your caps lock and spell check are not working.

• PLS READ BEFORE GIVING COMMENT.. THANKS.

• drMpower on Jul 17, 2012 at 3:53 pm

one guy just spend 230 grand on a car. not to mention the amount RON97 fuel he gonna spend.

financial crisis? what u people on about?

• alpine9 on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:02 pm

He’s been eyeing this car for last one year finally made it with hard work and being discipline in his financial. Anyone with right attitude can achieve their goal. Congratulations buddy…!

• jolly_idiot on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Barani have the balls. Berani to drive such a speedy car.

• sudonano on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Congrats to the owner! :D

• KillBox1Alpha on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:03 pm

This is a car forum….and the news is about the the lucky 100th buy of a superb car…talk about the car, not comment on the persons ethnicity or money. Is up to him on how he is going to spend his money..

• bravo ^^ i m not jelly but very envy n that drove myself more 2 work even harder now so that i can buy more than 200k sports car 4 myself 1 day ^^

• John Chong on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Congrats buddy! Happy for you! :)

• mantoi on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:30 pm

die beli renault…dpt hadiah sbb jadi 100th buyer…pastu lagi best nama dah famous kat blog Paultan…tidak ternilai hehehe

• Metroboy on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:29 pm

100 x RM230k = RM230 mln. That’s a fair bit for one model and still counting. But of course a big chunk of it goes to Gov’t.

• 1000horses on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Hello 230k x 100 = 23mil la….matematik fail ke??

• maganeRS on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:57 pm

the car is great but Oris watches sucks to the max..overpriced piece of shit

• IRB please take note and kindly ensure a file is open for this gentlemen – ton ensure he pays tax

• mantoi on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:32 pm

shame on you…how about if he is already a taxpayer and u just only a ‘BR1M’ beggar?

• f%$@er, ppl use their hardearned money to buy doesnt mater he buy cash or loan. its up to him. who are u to ask IRB to check on him. i have an uncle who buys ferrari with cash.. no jokes. and he is a legal businessman. so how? IRB come and open file? bsides, u think they are that efficient?

• cr forum turned out to be personal or racial assaulting forum.. c’mon malaysian.. when ppl can buy a nice car.. u all have to congrats and be inspired and work hard. not starting to judge whether the gentleman pay his tax or he is rich or wat.. besides, malaysia is getting more and more rich ppl everyyear. but most of them start from poor. so what’s up with u guys who bashing here and there? car price is reasonable in malaysia except those few cases where they increase the price again after the car has launched like polo gti. otherwise, everything is fine to most of the malaysian.. peace.

• Pervert on Jul 18, 2012 at 4:23 pm

This mahcha will cry the moment he sell this french car a few years down the road.

Govt will says….suckers.

• Alpine9 on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Dei mappilai , do you think he never thought abt it before buying it..! Furthermore by the time he is selling it out he would have enjoyed the thrill. If you jealous just say it…:)

• Tho I think that what Ben yap said was unnecessary, I too was thinking the same thing. Let’s face it, our Chinese population generally spends cash on performance hot hatches. Most Malaysian Indians with that kinda cash would rather invest in a 3 series… And I’m an Indian, just my two cents.. Before you all go bashing, do note that I said, “most”….

• IloveProton on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Come on guys, stick to constructive comments rather than racial and political bashing left right centre.