BREAKING: Honda to produce hybrid cars in Malaysia, starting with the CKD Jazz Hybrid!

Honda Malaysia (HM) today announced that it will be producing hybrid vehicles in Malaysia, starting with the Honda Jazz Hybrid. The announcement was made by Hiroshi Kobayashi, President and CEO of Asian Honda Motor Co Ltd, at the foundation stone laying ceremony of a new “No. 2 Line” to be built at Honda’s Pegoh Plant in Alor Gajah, Melaka.

This means that when the first Honda Jazz Hybrid rolls out of the Melaka plant later this year, Honda will be the first manufacturer to produce hybrid cars in Malaysia. Currently, Honda hybrid vehicles are made only in Japan and the USA.

“We will start local production of the Jazz Hybrid at the Melaka plant by the end of this year. Southeast Asia in particular holds a very important position for Honda’s global business. With a huge population, strong GDP growth and spending power, the demand for passenger vehicles in this region has grown tremendously in the past 10 years. We want to keep on creating products that maximise the joy of our customers, with speed, affordability and low CO2 emissions in these markets,” Kobayashi san said.

HM has been manufacturing vehicles in Malaysia since 2003. It is investing RM350 million for the expansion, which includes building, equipment and facilities. The No.2 Line is scheduled to begin operations by the fourth quarter of 2013 and will be able to produce 100,000 units annually. Hybrid vehicles will roll off the No.1 Line while the No. 2 Line is to increase HM’s ability to meet market demand for compact vehicles. Tech transfer comes in the form of latest General Welding equipment.

Jazz Hybrid aside, the upgraded Melaka plant will also roll out the City, Civic, Accord and CR-V. Currently, HM sources about 40% of CKD vehicle components locally, and plans to further increase local content.

When both the production lines are up and running, HM will be able to produce up to 800 vehicles per day, double its current output. The expanded factory will occupy a total space of 8.48 million square metres when completed, almost double the current 4.32 million square metres. HM also expects to employ 700 new staff.

The expanded factory will be complemented by a RM40 million Pre-Delivery Inspection Centre (PDI) and Vehicle Quality Test Course. The latter is designed with various dynamic testing zones and road conditions, and can test two new vehicles per session. Earlier this year, HM officially opened its new warehouse to provide better support to dealers.

Click here for our launch report of the Honda Jazz Hybrid. As a CBU import from Japan, the IMA-powered B-segment hatchback is priced at RM94,800 OTR including insurance. How much do you think the CKD Jazz Hybrid will cost?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Anti-Bieber on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:29 pm

If price around RM65K, I will book one now. Bye-Bye to Preve,PriusC, Mazda2 and Ford Fiesta.

• Vader on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:56 pm

i not think so the price will reduce that much to RM65k.
      However, hybrid system components cost will reduce as well and this is a good news for the current hybrid car user.

• OMG…if CKD, i expect another RM25K-RM30K lower than current CBU price tag.

• iLoveHondaHybrid on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Hybrid Duty Tax Ememption only up to 2013. then you will se Honda Insight, Jazz selling above RM120k, Civic Hybrid above RM140k. Toyota Prius C above RM120k and Prius Selling back like last time, RM180k!

CKD Hybrid in Malaysia by Honda is to ensure able to provide same price range to Malaysian after the tax exemption for Hybrid be withdraw after 2013!

• hybridrich on Jul 20, 2012 at 4:58 am

then there is no changes in price after 2013

• dream on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:50 pm

i will place booking fee now for +-65k

• _xXx_ on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:58 pm

I bet RM89999.99

• Carl Wong on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:07 pm

LOL, ok but still better than no reduction at all….. I think it should be even lower than that.

• Do u expect that we can get jazz hybrid price same or less than that japan…japan price start from RM65k-85k

• F Fiesta on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:52 am

Ford Fiesta is the best car in 2010, what Jazz got NOTHING. You will regret not having Fiesta while you using underpowered Jazz.

Beside that Jazz design is sucks at max

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:45 am

Nothing new, still reaping the locals…..

MITI should encourage Honda to build hybrid export hub…….then comparable to Indon n Thai…….

instead of import from Japan, u buy CBU assembled in Msia, worse…..

• Nornal car prices on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:37 am

Hybrid car in Malaysia is over pricing. You can search from internet, Hybrid car like this will be sales below USD 20k = RM6+k only. Who get the balance??? if exempted from tax!!!

• Mario Gomez on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Will cost much cheaper when CKD.

• Gabla on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Come 2013, duty exemption for hybrids will only be given to locally produced models.

• Smart because knowing that thai floods and jap quakes. But I expect only a few thousands lesser than the current price.

• Bimmer on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Good move to avoid the batteries from being submerged in case of another flood in Thailand…

• Sirimusa on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Quick, buy the Jazz Hybrid before it’s localized, stripped of 4 airbags, and other security features and lower assembly quality. The extra $$$ to pay is worth it for a Japan made vehicle with all the security and reliability of Honda.

• What? U want car maker make car here rite…but??..demonize the effort…for sure car maker think if built in malaysia malaysian think the car has no quality..so why the heck they(the car maker) need to open manufacturing plant here..is it NAP fail or u guys fail?

• donadoni on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Free! RT …How much do you think the CKD Jazz Hybrid will cost?

• disappointed on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:34 pm

There goes the quality…

• These car meant to export oso..i dont think they will built low quality…spec maybe but not quality…u all still ok buying thai make honda/toyota without much fuss…

• Anti_Fuel_Price on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:36 pm

I guess the asking price would be 84K, only 10K cheaper!!!
    So as a Malaysian I don’t dare to dream to own Jap/Kor/Ger cars for less than 80K FORGET IT :(

• Henry Ford the XII on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:40 pm

RM10k cheaper?

• Victor Hoh on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Price the Jazz Hybrid at RM80K, and I will be more than happy.

• price on rm80k ………GOOOOOOD

• Matthew on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Shouldn’t be that much cheaper given that hybrids already have no duty on them, the only savings should be shipping and labor.

• braderG on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:05 pm

langkawi price + 10% = CKD hybrid

THIS! i have created a formula to evaluate none national CKD hybrid car. hope ppl in NAP are not sleeping during work.

• 10k cheaper? impossible but i hope honda prove to us that honda can do it…haha

• polo saga on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:08 pm

below RM70k please!!

• mitzz on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:15 pm

I would hope it will b RM70K laa……but RM 80k would be ok though

• wendy on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:21 pm

72k if same spec, 6airbags and all..

• Black BJQ on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:25 pm

I just dont like the color..yes, its a green car but no need to be that green.

Any other color option?

• jonnie on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:26 pm

My Jazz Hybrid doors are rattling like a screw loose inside. Sent twice to SC still no help. Also the windscreen cost RM5k yet no stock. Wonder how is the quality if assemble in Malaysia.

• Need not rush to buy the current CBU unit… just wait for the CKD otherwise you will regret.

• albag on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:30 pm

hybrid… lynas… i see some shit going on there..

• Insight kaki on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Once again I have to reiterate that Honda is the only car mfg that has its own batt recycling plant…..

• Max also 10k cheaper

• honda ckd quality to me is bad, using city last time, new car also got rattling in dashboard. sent twice to SC but still not resolve. So, no more honda for me….

• Insight kaki on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:52 pm

My Pekan assembled 16yr old W210 is squeaking and rattles more than my 30 yr old cbu W123….enough said about local assembly lah…

• 1curiosity on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Curious. Many said Korean car got bad resale value, how bout Hybrid then?

• I think just 5k cheaper since the tax for hybrid cbu now is already low.

• kerelbort on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:51 pm

85k like they said it earlier.

or

the price remained but with more features like sunroof or blue-tooth handsfree…. the government would not allow the price to be too low as it will effect the market and HM also would not want to price it that it will effect the current jazz hybrid owner

or

the price hike-up to ensure that the current jazz hybrid owner will not feel so sad as they bought it earlier.

• kerelbort on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:58 pm

whatever it is… Honda should improve their hybrid to enable the aircond to still working even when the engine shut down. coz that is mainly my deal breaker while shopping for hybrid.

since Prius C having bootsize of a kancil, jazz would be the better bet.

• although the parts are localized.. but our local suppliers also sold their products quite high as they know malaysia car maker look into localization expansion

• ckdcbu on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:52 pm

jazz hybrid ckd or cbu both dont hv even a spare tyre.how come if d car tyre got major puncture in d middle of d road?? d owner of d jazz must b a fully competent when deal wit puncture tyre.hahhaha

• kerelbort on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:01 pm

do u know how the tire repair kit work?

it is quite easy actually, unless you ripped the tyre wall, then u will be stranded.

• mad aly on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:55 pm

guys we are talking about Honda here… no less only hike!! haha..

• Tks for the breaking news, Danny. Is there a small typo between Para 3 & 4 – in 3, it says “will start local production by the end of this year” but in 4, “it says Line No.2 will begin operations in Q4, 2013. “

• Paul Tan on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:19 pm

That’s because the Jazz Hybrid will roll off Line 1, not Line 2.

So Jazz Hybrid off Line 1 end of this year, Line 2 goes up in Q4 2013.

• Kokoi on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Buy car with the intention of selling. Might as well buy house.

• Black Dog on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:02 pm

My guess…Rm88,888.88!

• jamal on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:03 pm

good news. please anyone who can afford please support honda hybrid so that they will continue to build hybrid here. hope there will be better hybrid from honda in years to come.

• polo saga on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:05 pm

what i foresee is government will remove hybrid tax incentive while Potong is going launch its EV. So honda is using low-cost CKD which assemble locally to maintain the same price of RM95k while the removal of tax exception occurs.

• Machi on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Guess the biggest saving come from waive of AP for CKD..an AP could cost up to RM2xK. If that is the case, the HJH price could go down to Rm69.9K…then it will be a big hooray for malaysia honda salesmen & buyers !!

• Which AP u talking bout? Franchise AP(free-official distro/maker) or Open AP(RM20k-gray importer)?

• jalan54 on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:42 pm

If they price it to RM50k to RM60k, a lot of people will go hybrid in Malaysia and in fact this should be the way to push people to go hybrid for environment protection and also help people save money on fuel. But sadly, it seems like our G doesn’t have the heart to protect our environment… :(

• Until now atleast 50% of malaysia land still forest….that means something

• Hope so they will CKD the CR-Z

• Omnipotent on Jul 19, 2012 at 7:47 pm

Not likely….cr-z not a volume seller so not justifiable to invest in it

• I don’t know but it looks like the sale figure for CRZ is higher than Jazz Hybrid fro July 2012.

• retard on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:51 pm

the only thing to worry is the hybrid battery, how much is the cost to replace the battery? can use water battery ka???? think about it. maybe use nuclear battery will last forever. our climate is hot, battery lifespan normally the shortest is 2 years every day charging. dis is my teori only.

• I just bought prius c today and the car is awesome…. when people talk about hybrid car the have the mentality of battery kong problems….

The first generation toyota still running strong and without battery problems. So i brave my heart get one.

Well one car have issues is honda civic hybrid. But the car still can run even the battery failed.

• jayve on Jul 19, 2012 at 3:59 pm

cost reduced is a must for CKD, what i am concern if the specs also will cut down also ?

• kambinganas on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Sure or not you all will buy? I think most people will wait and see whether any of the locally assembled ones catch fire or not. Dah lah Honda is has begun using Lithium Ion batteries, if poor assembly sure some Malaysian going to get burned when the battery catches fire.

• Terry on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:08 pm

Will they also start to produce Civic Hybrid this year? Coz planning to book a Civic Hybrid now. This news will surely hit those who plans to buy a Civic Hybrid now. Gosh.

• 70K To 79K Will Be Affordable Price For All Malaysians =)

• Julian Lee on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:23 pm

RM50k is a good price, better than stupid Mayvee

• hang tuah on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Due to the protection of P1 and P2, Malaysia government will no allow Honda put the price lower than rm80k. Malaysia Boleh…..!

• Possibly 10-20% cheaper than the current price (hence, RM75k – RM85k) would be expected, as this will put smile faces not only to elated consumers but also to government who does not want the price of any non-national cars to be lower than RM70k.

If the price is within the range, I don’t mind to forgo some accessories (e.g. reducing 6 airbags to 4 airbags; changing the rims to a better-looking wheel caps etc). I would be happy if at the same time Honda will add some unconventional accessories to enhance its appearance (e.g. moon roof, modulo sporty kit etc).

• Ckd model will be around 75k..color will the same options as the petrol powered model…the specifications will be almost the same as cbu

• i bet price not much difference but will give u better spec.

• haha, no more made in japan.

• New hybrid owner on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:05 pm

Damn. Just got my new jazz hybrid this month and this is what honda do? If i knew it’ll be localized, wont buy it now. Furthermore, does anyone realise that the rear fog lamp only lights up on the rught side? Left side don’t even have bulb. Honda claims it’s designed that way. Next, silly me to buy their spoiler. Totally different fr their brichure. Feels cheated.

• Insight kaki on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:48 pm

My W124 also has rear fog lights on one side only lah, not necessary rear fog lamps must come in pairs….

• Donttalkifdonocars on Jul 20, 2012 at 8:07 am

please study in detail before you purchase the car. get the sales advisor to have your doubt solve bfore doing any purchase. I think there is nth wrong with honda but you. Im a proud Jazz hybrid owner indeed!

• Hope HM will roll out ACCORD 2013 2.0 Hybird too (expected to launch in Japan and US this Oct). Then UMW will wakeup from their over confident and over priced, but outdated spec CAMRY. Cheer!

• Hope HM will roll out ACCORD 2013 2.0 Hybird too (expected to launch in Japan and US this Oct).

Then UMW will wakeup from their over confident and over priced, but outdated spec CAMRY. Cheer!

• Anti-Bieber on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:11 pm

I have this bad feeling that the price will be maintained eventhough it is CKD. I am expecting the boss of Honda-DRB to announce, “The price is the same as CBU as advised by the authorities “. DEJAVU…

Then UMW will wakeup from their over confident and over priced, but outdated spec CAMRY.

• Hope HM will roll out ACCORD 2013 Hybird too (expected to launch in Japan and US this Oct).
    Then UMW will wakeup from their over confident and over priced, but outdated spec CAMRY.

• Samlyn on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Sure…let down one.
    Rm 90k :)

• Rakyat biasa on Jul 20, 2012 at 12:04 am

Expecting them to lower the price?

Dream on!!

U can only expect lower in quality@@@

• david on Jul 20, 2012 at 4:02 am

Can’t agree more.

I bet the price will remain the same (if not more!)

• Audi Owner on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:21 am

The very truth is with 40% local content makes the price even more expensive.Because this parts are imported by the CM cronies.So don’t be fooled guys.

• biggie on Jul 20, 2012 at 8:33 am

ok, come Jan 2013, I will be buying one. Wish for fat bonus this year…

• MadofCar on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:02 am

I think Jazz hybrid will cost less that 5k or 10k. Currently Excise Duty and Import duty is exempted. Only Cost 10k for AP

• Heard this car got issues with the air cond.
    Air Cond stops working when the engine stops and running on battery power. Dunno if it’s true or not…

• xenogearz™ on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:33 am

Honda Malaysia is the first automotive manufacturer to produce hybrid vehicles in Malaysia. This move may make Honda eligible for a 100% fiscal deduction based on either Pioneer Status (PS) or Investment Tax Allowance (ITA), to be granted for 10 and five years respectively. Therefore, I believe that the OTR price should come down more than RM10k I believe. I’m taking a guess that the CKD Jazz Hybrid will be priced at RM79,990 OTR.

• matlimmutu on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:52 am

currently not interested on any Honda cars.

• tupakamaru on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:23 am

dear friends, don’t put your hopes too high…

• tunguuu on Jul 20, 2012 at 12:12 pm

ya ya…they say CKD…but end up 60% local content or more….same as the new Civic…but the price will remain the same…n all of us will be saying,,MY CAR IS KERETA MADE IN JEPUN WOHH .. :D..n i pay 137k for 2.0 CIVIC is worth it!! :P….this civic hybrid will sell for like 110k confirm…

• Terry on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:40 pm

The article say Jazz Hybrid (for now). No confirmation on other models…

• Monda Blues on Jul 21, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Seems like you don’t know what the h*ll is CKD..

• what to do on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:11 pm

buy POLO Sports TSI..
    better..
    power… safety… tech… made in south africa..

RM113k…
    buy buy buy…

• Leon Loke on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Honda Malaysia still need to buy AP from DRB, and that cost them RM30k at least . If can be CKD, means savings on AP.

• hybridjazz on Oct 16, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Just bought jazz hybrid today..

Well quite environment friendly..but the price is not money friendly..