Report: Volkswagen interested in Proton again?

Report: Volkswagen interested in Proton again?And here we go again – rumours of Volkswagen being interested in taking up a stake in Proton crops up again. German publication Manager Magazin reports that VW is considering another opportunity to take up a stake in Proton, which will allow it to use Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant as a production base for the region.

The report also says that so far the Malaysian government is not particularly excited about the idea. But then again, Proton is a private company now owned by DRB-Hicom, which is Volkswagen’s assembly partner in Malaysia. Should the government really have any say about it?

A Volkswagen group spokesperson dismissed the report as speculation and did not provide any comments.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Not this sh*t again.

• Nabera Sudabera Basuda on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:26 am

As what they did to Skoda, VW can see the the real potential in Proton and Lotus from the launced of Preve. They are trying to grab the opportunity before other manufacturers make their move.

• Kerepek on Jul 20, 2012 at 12:58 pm

dah basuh berak belom? hahaha

• WatakLama on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Ni watak cerita dongeng lama ni… penah baca buku ni dulu… nak ngorat awek nama dia Nabera Sudabera Basuda …. hahahahaa! diorang pakai VW ke sekarang.. hahaha!

• MycarMylife on Jul 20, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Totally agreed No Action Talk Only !!!!!

• alamak on Jul 20, 2012 at 4:39 pm

look like abang have to lick some balls again, LOL :-D

• VW r very nice to drive,high quality and safety so i hope Protons join VW so M’sian can enjoy cheap but good quality ride :)

• Lim Kopi on Jul 24, 2012 at 1:31 am

THis is just another publicity stunt by UMNO cronies(now in the hands of DRB Hicom) to influence Proton’s share price in the stock market….

These cronies are not serious in any partnership and is ONLY out to protect their own source of income.

Mark my words!

• along on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Flip flop, flip flop

as our NAP = No Automotive Policy… or cynically put policy makers having a NAP…

My comment is this is not good news yet, we should wait until we see the price tag and the real benefit to us, the customer, the biggest stake holder and the boss…

Do what u gonna do, but if the price will not go down until average rakyat can buy this car or other decent car with good safely features for 4-5 years loan, i will not be buying any new car. I will also convince anyone in my circle of influence…

I suggest all of us as consumers should do the same, hold our purchase of new cars until we see a more reasonable price, i.e around 4-5 years loan.
    Lets boycott buying any new cars and when we gain mass and their stocks are not moving, they will succumb to our knees and price will drop.

We should not be expecting others to do this, as we have already given them chances in NAP and NAP2. We should do this ourselves….

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

• kambinganas on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:22 pm

From the thumb down, looks there are people in bolehland who enjoy paying sky high prices for cars.

• Obama on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:22 am

The price won’t drop unless we change the government.

• if vw took over proton… we will have saga priced polo! woohoo… that would be good enuf for me! but then again if there is a saga priced polo, proton would be able to compete all out and render nap moot! win for all! lose for cronies!

• Along2 on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:47 pm

Boooo~~ in ur dreams.

• you wishhhh… until now people cant stop the killings, whaling for example even though activism on it started since early 1920s. and asking malaysian to stop buying cars?… its a joke.

• along on Jul 20, 2012 at 4:49 am

This should answer your pessimism…

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing” -Edmund Burke

Well guys, a question to ask, do you like your fresh grad son/daughter ‘trapped’ into 9 years loan to but a car…
        http://www.financetwitter.com/2012/04/here-are-reasons-why-you-shouldnt-buy-a-new-car-now.html

• Johnny on Jul 20, 2012 at 8:59 am

Agreed. Those rich asses are just gonna make stuff more expensive for even the middle class people.

• Last time there is a user name PoweRrrrrrrrr

He always says that no money no talk la.

I wonder if he will thumbs up you

• Car Driver on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:17 pm

After the increased in price of the POLO GTI to 34k more due to tax for the re-evaluation of the car value, suddenly VW realised how punitive the Malaysian G can be and decided to work with Proton instead? Perhaps VW being punished “Kaw Kaw” for not working with Proton earlier!

• Lim Kopi on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:30 pm

This has nothing to do with Polo GTI incident laa, that one is just another of Kastam Malaysia’s fancy trick…

• sudonano on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:27 pm

i have a feeling we are gonna see the Proton Poga and the Proton Perassat very soon. and probably, the Proton LintasTouran as the Exora successor?! Be independent and you can win Proton. Stop the protection, stop the cronyism stop the relaxed Tidak Apa attitude. CFE engine rattling sound, so many on you tube, Please do something about it la.

• kensomuse on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Funny, I was just talking to a few people today about how much of a threat VW will be to all other automotive players here in Malaysia and will soon acquire a foot hold (read: Proton) production plant within SEA. They have plants in almost every continent in the world …. but nothing on this part so markets such as Australia, Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, Philippines and of course, Malaysia would benefit from not having to ship the cars half way across the globe.

I bet you when the acquisition is complete, politicians will say how well this will benefit local vendors, how it would position Malaysia as an international player and gain from technological transfer and infrastructure improvement.

When that happens, laggards in Proton beware …. VW will chop slackers and there will not be a shortage of enthusiastic workers who wants to be associated with a more established global brand compared to Proton

• Johnny on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:03 am

Yeah, hopefully it’ll turn out like China where a Polo costs only RM40K there.

• Lim Kopi on Jul 23, 2012 at 11:57 am

Thats the whole point isn’t it, Kensomuse?

Its either you buck up or get REPLACED !! Thats life!

• kimikira on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:44 pm

im agree VW joint proton to evaluate the quality and brand name!!!

• Bigger chance for VW now. Then the price of all proton cars will have a sudden increase of price like what happen to the Polo Gti. Increase 25%…. But if things can be like wira/ lancer, maybe we can get cheaper VW. 1.2tsi, 1.4 tsi.

• ShyamPhillipose on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Yeah we may lose that ego of being an independent company, but guys, come on look at the bright side. I mean, we can improve our R&D to a whole new level. The new Preve is said to meet global standards, but honestly to me, it belongs to the very low-grade entry line of the global automotive segment. What we need is a solid back-up -which VW is willing to provide. Besides that, we can probably have rebadged VW cars for an affordable price. Think abt it….

• Jimmy on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Even if one day all cars are tax-free, our D-segment cars’ prices will still be RM150OOO to RM190OOO, thanks to Umw-Hond-Protron. By then, selling one car will give profit of 2 cars, cost 50 ribu, jual 150 ribu, untung 100 ribu, with NO tax.

• Low2215 on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:08 pm

to buy or not to buy , to buy not to buy .. Zzzzz

• if volkswagen did manage to cooperate with proton before, proton might already been as good as skoda..

• im hoping for this as well. i dont want vw presecce (if this happens for real) to really eclipse proton presence and credibilty as a standalone carmaker.

• It should have been worded the other way around.

• Datuk Jack on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:10 pm

u can make 5years loan.. go for 2nd hand merc or bmw.. it come wit good safety..

• anyone wants to say that if there’s no proton, we can buy a vw for 60k? lol

• Jason on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:13 pm

I want Proton Polo, Proton Golf, Proton Passat, Proton Sharan.. wow.
    If the price is less than 100k
    Do you think so? ah ah

• sudonano on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:21 am

If VW rebadges, you will not get Proton Polo, Proton Golf, Proton Passat, Proton Sharan. You get the same shape car but different name la, ie Poga, Perassat and Exoran? the name will be malaysianised, which is gonna be a bit funny.

• Kalun on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Tell u the truth, VW won’t let others to rebadge their cars eventhough VW owns the share. VW will let them to build a brand new car based on the same platform, engine and equipments. And make it better than VW just like what Skoda did. Top Gear are really amaze of Skoda Yeti due to it’s premium quality, descent engines, good insulation at a cheaper price than VW.

• banshe on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:46 pm

top gear are paid?

• Norman on Jul 24, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Ya VW won’t be so dumb to let others rebadge their cars.If VW buys them probably Lotus will get the boot.Then you will see a new era of Proton with a bit of TSI technology.Names will be retain but engine wise there will be no more Campro.You see Exora with 1.4 TSI 140hp/220nm more or less the same with 1.6CFE.Saga FL with 1.2 TSI 105hp/190nm and Inspira with 1.8TSI 170hp/280nm but of course with a bit of pricing.Quality vs Realibility ie in a Way VW Proton competing with Perodua in terms of local cars

• why on earth they let proton using their engines if they don’t allow them to rebadge their cars?

• VW-Proton alliance will benefit us

• jamal on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:20 pm

please sell the stake drb. proton cars are crap beyond all recognition. most succesfully vehicle brands comes from efficient, advance and hardworking countries. but malaysians are laid back, rilek la dulu, tak ape people. cannot be successful in this industry.

• Bob Vettel on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Have you driven the Polo Sedan? Go test drive and then we’ll see.

Having driven it before, it SUCKS to THE MAX!

• zainal abidin on Jul 20, 2012 at 8:01 am

Are you sure it is really that bad?

• really? explain why is it so?

• Norman on Jul 24, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Probably he tried the normal aspirated ones.Japanese are more reliable for NA engines.Euro for turbo and US for supercharge sort of stuff

• Prismo on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Mr. zainal abidin and Mr. deft.. that’s why he asking you to test drive the car then u know how it feel.. everything pun mahu suap ka? org cakap pun lu orang bukan mau percaya…

• zainal abidin on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Well,frankly guys my reply was ‘are you sure it is really that bad?’ for a product that comes from VW even though it’s only an entry level model. Of course we would like to know better. Compared to what car? In terms of what? Reliability? Handling? SFC? After sales service?
          I wish I could give VW’s showroom a visit but since I’m not going to own or even test drive this entry level POLO as at the moment I really am not that privileged to do so . Forgive me for someone who’s only owned FORD’s, HONDA’s(m/cycle) and PROTON’S, at the moment that is. Sorry guys.

• alvin on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:11 pm

I agree with mr jamal here. I’m a polo hatchback driver myself but I can’t find any good reason to get a 100k car such as polo sedan. Outlook looks ok, inside, totally different thing.

• This is our G’a Plan…when there is a potential buyer, willing to pay and transfer technology, very good deal.
    Phase 1, Ask the buyer to wait 1 yr.
    Phase 2: Quickly ask KAWAN to buy cheap cheap with 1000000 reasons, dont care G loss kau kau
    1 yr later, Phase 3: can sell to the initial buyer. Make $ kau kau
    Phase 4: tell kawan, i help u, u help me lo!

• DArkerMarker on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:35 pm

just like kids playing sand……***vomit blood***

• rosdi on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:39 pm

The G has goddamn influence over Proton. Who is Syed Mokhtar to defy the G? You do that and expect no more contract/concession for the rest of your life!

Personally, I am against it unless there is technology transfer that will benefit Proton.

• Hantu on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:08 am

As long as the rakyat benefit from the deal between proton and VW, I am all for it. What’s the point of protecting proton while making the rakyat suffer with high car prices and sub-standard quality in proton cars?

• chuakz on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:39 pm

i really hope this is true…and i hope proton don’t screw the deal up again…everybody knows what happened last time…someone from the gov must’ve intervened in fear that proton might lose it’s “malaysian” identity once VW takes over…..oh c’mon! If Skoda were so worried about their Czech identity they would be nowhere today…I bet Skoda sells more cars in the UK compared to the total sales of exported proton cars globally

• i think it’s not about identity, selling one company to other party is not reversible, once you lose you lose it all, even if you have some share, party who has biggest share will get the authority to do anything

• retard on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:44 pm

ooo wo wo..maybe rebadge vw and with proton low price could be a good idea after all. all current proton models shall be scrap soon and deem obsolete. proton campro enjin too old already, still use tbelt for example and no dcvvt, dsg gbox, etcs etcs and how to compete overseas,- even china made cars r getting more advance..he he.

• vios has 4 gears, new civic only 5 gears, elantra only 6, preve already has 7 (SEVEN) gears, turbocharged summore, still not competitive?

• bavarian on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Sorry bro, the Preve does not have 7 gears. The Preve uses a CVT with 7-speed mode. Perhaps you want to read up about CVT.

• Sirimusa on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Proton is just the champion of bullshit. Talk to Nissan, Mitsubishi, VW, GM over and over again and nothing happen.
    VW just acquire Proton already, move on and spare us more headache and confusion. Aiyoooooo!

• edlop on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:56 am

Can you read properly, VW is the one that has interest.

• Do u seriuosly think the foreigners so dumb as to transfer all the technologies and know how to Proton after spending billions on R&D?? Who is Proton?? Even the japanese wont reveal their engines and gearboxes tech, two of the most critical components..instead they smartly let us syiok sendiri by letting us ” manufacture” the …bumpers…lights….what is Proton capable of?? The best is modify a few facelifts, becoz the platforms are pretty much fixed and nothing major can be changed…tats why u see P1 and P2 champion of facelifts and Advanced versions! Almost all the models were derived from old platforms, the WJa from old Mitsu- volvo platform, the Savvy and Saga from Old French etc

• benzema on Jul 20, 2012 at 12:16 pm

who said saga platform is derived from old french model? how about preve and exora? gen 2?
        actually, the european is willing to share info to their customers compared to japanese. though the info is not much, but still useful. on the other hand, japanese kedekut tahi hidung masin.

• Bro, how bout Inspira? Is same as latest Lancer model. I think Mitsubishi is Japanese car la.

• nothing happen?
      how about rebadging lancer to inspira, that is something

• Possibly after the riots at Maruti-Suzuki VW finally want to sell it’s Suzuki shares and spend the money for Proton?

• Kurt Maes on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:24 am

Volkswagen want to rule the world , build cars on a low budget , make a lot of money on the sholders of hard working – low pay worksmen ……
    Let Proton work with Lotus Engineering to make better cars and let the people who omn Proton – Lotus do their job .

• German publication taking note of Proton and starting a rumour that is later denied by VW? If in Malaysia, kena sue already…… :-b

• berat nanang on Jul 20, 2012 at 8:53 am

dreaming of having proton polo gti at preve price.

• Anti-Proton on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:13 am

Considering Proton is under DRB now,I think that VW has a good chance VW can acquire proton.VW will be definetly benefit with Proton’s under utilised and high production capacity Tanjung Malim plant.its time for proton to die.Yes!!!!

• Hantu on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:35 am

proton should sack their chief designer … that Azlan guy. his design sucks! get someone else.
    look at preve … damn ugly. better to re-badge VW cars!

• roller on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:44 pm

vw dashboard old school one, have triangular shape, can see it on most vw cars, yuck!

• Othman Azlan didn’t design the Preve, so it’s unfair to put the blame on him.

• civicEK on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:40 am

haiyoo jual sajalah itu Proton sama VW. kasi semak saja lah, buat kereta tiada kualti.

• wreft on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:38 pm

you comment could be more epic if you use kerata , not kereta!

• polo saga on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:47 am

again, again, and again…..

• abdul123 on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:54 am

Our bn gorvernment allow one of its crony to make
    a lot of money. Sell Proton to him and he sells it
    to VW at a big profit.
    What the government should do is to call for an
    open tender in the first place.

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:56 am

a JV will be good, platform sharing and all. VW provides technical expertise while proton gives allows use of their infrastructure and other facilities as south east asia’s hub.

(for those not knowing all Beetle comes from VW’s factory in brazil, while Golf 1.4 does not come from Germany but a plant in South Africa)

1. proton reduce cost of R&D, our cars can be cheaper
    2. proton can access modern diesel engines and direct injection FSI technology. – proton cars will be more desirable.

• Kalun on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:17 am

Not sure about cheap because VW import their engines from Germany. Gov will probably tax it!

• Kalun on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:15 am

A mix feeling right now. VW could change Proton image globally but over stupid gov is the Prob now.
    BMW, VW, and most of the Germans car company import their parts such as engine, instruments from Germany. Gov would probably tax that cause Proton price to skyrocket too!
    Skoda, owned by VW have get all the equipments made from Germany due to their strict quality control.

• they import parts from china too, don’t expect a mer or bmw, all parts are from germany lol

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:46 am

Eh, our still-in-power ex-PM, father of Thailand’s auto industry is OK with this? The Germans colonising Proton is fine with you, Tun?

• The way I see it? Looks like DRB-Hicom is trying to muscle VW into moving beyond the current partnership. Took over Proton at X amount, 1 year later pass over to foreign investor at 3x the price and earn 200%!!! Easy money.

• after 30 years…there is two choices. Either proton stands on its own with very much reduced market protection policies or it can farking go by selling tiself to another manufacturer. Rubbish national car maker that doesnt benefit the nation at all.

• indomee on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:30 am

I prefer not to re-batch any of the VW current car’s model. They should share platform, engine & technology & go in the same direction as skoda! Meaning proton still maintain as independent car brand with their own design DNA in it!

• when will this end? never ending ‘SAGA’.
    i bet the talks will be off in no time.

• ex staff on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:53 am

Advisor would flip if this happens.
    Perhaps DRB spinning to jack up their
    share price.

• tunguuu on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:53 am

let them takeover..at least we can get efficient cars…that the most important…..Malaysia is a funny country..to get efficient cars like new tech diesel n hybrids…minimum price is 110k? diesels all go for minimum 220k? a BMW 5 Series diesel..520d..can achieve 1000km..n this not driving at 90kmh or slow…

then people who r poor have no choice to buy petrol drinkers like protons…i mean does this sound fair? cheap cars should be more efficient right?

image n pride and ego will swallow us all…

• fillb on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:33 pm

let the freshies do the rnd, tell them do it at minimum cost and production

• kerelbort on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:58 am

VW seriously not interested at all in Proton Car.

they are interested in Proton Manufacturing only, all those people who are looking for Proton Polo should just forget it.

camon people wake up and smell the sh1t

• kamaji on Jul 20, 2012 at 12:04 pm

WTF…VW-peoples car interested in P1-peoples nightmare again.Bottom line is P1 & gomen will never agree with the terms set out by VW.Maybe change gomen first then talk again.

• Lol.. later proton will say:’ ok VW, if u wanna joint venture, can, 1st build a mosque. Build a fancy and expensive mosque.” same case happened when Malaysian lame BN G ask Singapore company to help build the MRT project. G ask singaporean company to build mosque and build some enterrinment thing for the sultan. zzz.. cant they be more serious about benefiting the rakyat? building unused mosque will not help this country to thrive.

• teacher on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Please mind your word. These blog not only for u.

• wat word must i mind? im speaking the truth. not creating racial tension here.. u so pantang is the one who creating problem.

• teacher on Jul 24, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Be more sensitive when you are creating a statement. I also agreed with you on how BN try to play with others. No offence. But the problem is coming from your last sentence “building unused mosque will not help this country to thrive”. No need to mention. Hope you will understand. and also sorry for my “word”.

• Mickey on Jul 21, 2012 at 12:08 am

I’m pretty sure that Proton finally will buy VW and put CAMPRO IAFM in Golf.
      Campro CPS will go to Jetta.
      Campro CFE will go to Touran.
      DSG replaced with 7-speed CVT.

But remain using the VW logo. Let see how they gonna compete in global market.

• gdertt on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:10 am

so funny, even not yet built you know already it’s been used

joke of the year

• what to do on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:05 pm

wish VW just buy DRB and even PROTON.
    case cloze.
    just like when they bought SKODA..
    after 2 years of buying SKODA; the company (SKODA) makes their profit.
    it shows how good business is run buy excellent management.

VW already own:
    Supercar: Lambo, Porsche, Bugatti
    Super luxury: Bentley
    Luxury: Audi
    Standard brand: VW, Seat
    Entry brand: Skoda
    Super bike: Ducatti
    Heavy vehicle: Scania, MAN
    Other brand: Suzuki, VW commercial

mmmm so if they buy PROTON/DRB.. this would be 2nd asia brand into the company..

awesome good job; so we here can enjoy awesome tech & awesome build quality at entry level price

please buy PROTON…

• Gurmit on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:06 pm

shud i accumulate proton shares now?

• Effort to bring up share prices again as usual.

• Kalun on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:00 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volkswagen_Group

Check this out. If VW owns Proton, Lotus is still belongs to Proton but VW will manage the finance.
    Just like what VW did to Audi. Audi owns Lamborghini and Ducati but VW manage the finance.

• As what I understand, Wikipedia sources can be amend by everyone. Correct me if i’m wrong.

• Kalun on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Sorry bro. I am lazy to get other sources. But you can Google it yourself. Audi do owns Lamborghini and plus Audi R8 has the same engine as Lamborgini Murc. Top gear too says that Lamborghini Aventador quality is from Audi, not VW.
        Porsche and VW merge but Porsche still maintains its own unique quality.

• libralcl on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:55 pm

This probably a strategy from VW works with Sime Darby to take over Proton, since Proton were not allowed to be sold to VW last time when it was in Khazanah ownership.

• libralcl on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Ooops wrong company mention. Correction is DRB-Hicom not Sime Darby.

• Wisdom on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:47 pm

VW eating Proton. You can be sad. You can be happy.

• sean zx-10 on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:36 pm

after reading all your comments…no wonder la our beloved country Malaysia racing to drain faster than the shit itself. PROTON is a good thing for our nation. Generate income, expertise, R&D, engineers, human capital, vendors, jobs for local, your children, your uncle, your spouse(s) =D , technology transfer and etc. If PROTON sell to VW..what’s the point G claim PROTON as national car. We have no national car anymore. Other negative effects.. No chance to have our own local to be at high position. You will not see another Dato Syed Zainal who protects Malaysians, his fellow staff etc. All big positions will be mat salleh. Our rakyat will be kuli..U think it is easy ke to ask for salary raise from foreign boss? Check Honda under Japan CEO..that CEO only knows spending giler2 for arak and KTV. See? Even DRB with shares in Honda Malaysia..it’s like tunggul u know..cannot help the locals working in Honda. Other negative effect is G will definitely scrutinize other income areas to stabilize the losses if G to reduce taxes imposed on imported cars. then we all eat the most expensive sugar and flour and etc in the world. The best way is throw out the PROTON “advisor”! Done!!

• Salleh on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:45 pm

sean zx-10

Good day sir! Just in case you stuck in the 80s, today is 20th July 2012!

• sean zx-10 on Jul 21, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Good day to you too sir…last time i check,malaysia is a country for muslim not a country to be turned like a prostitute by foreigners. If you are really in july 2012, do check what indonesia is doing now and effects it does to malaysia. Maids for example.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 21, 2012 at 6:55 pm

Some more, with low quality local un-employ graduate, we can export them to overseas to work as maids, shop helper, factory worker, construction, etc and etc to send back billions and billions of $$$$$$$ …… Why only choose jaguh kampong P1 in the first place???????

We can make tonne of monies in thousand way, like me earn good income oversea, send back bolehland to spend …….

• Expatriate VN on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:48 am

sean zx-10, by your 80s mentally challenge mind-set, so we need “National” in everything, not only the jaguh kampong P1. We need national this and that for computer, tablet, smartphone, shoes, cloths, bicycle, aeroplane for AirAsia and MAS, sub-marine for tentera laut (scorpene useless), fighter jet for tentera udara, etc & etc. More job will create and there is no out-flow of a single sen from our bolehland!

• sean zx-10 on Jul 21, 2012 at 12:11 pm

I dont see you as an EXPATRIATE to understand nation and helping malaysians. More like watching malaysia submitting to foreign power.grow up!

• Expatriate VN on Jul 21, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Patriotic konon – your real face is crap-triotic!!!!!! Me Expatriate, concurr oversea market and bring back good monies to Bolehland, can you do that???? die hard protonian submit to blind supporter to enrich cronies ……

• Kalun on Jul 21, 2012 at 11:02 am

Haha! You ask Chech Republic haw they still maintain Skoda as a national car but still owns by VW

• Fuck NO! on Oct 03, 2012 at 5:59 pm

tl;dr. sorry.

• Drebar on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:16 pm

What is the tagline again?

Drive it to repair it..?

• Julian Lee on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:54 pm

BMW better

• Do your research, current Saga is derived from the Savvy platform, which was derived from old French manufacturer model…last time Potong baosted the Waja is the first all new car fully developed by them, but the platform was from old Volvo S40!! Look closer and u will notice the similiar looks…sad seeing some people claiming Potong providing thousands of jobs…without Potong, we could have being manufaturing hub and hundreds of thousands of jobs, instead of thousands of mostly incompetent overpaid workers and cronies

• sean zx-10 on Jul 22, 2012 at 7:12 am

True Bob..we could be like thailand as manufacturing hub. but what will happen to Malaysia in a wholesome context? Unless the government can be strict and wise..open in malaysia and after 10 ++ yrs..hand the company over to locals. and to Expatriate…living overseas and sending home moneys.. come on..who are you kidding here? can u guarantee 90% of all like you would invest back in malaysia? dont think so…
    I dont like seeing foreigners/outsiders coming into malaysia acting all big and powerful etc taking all what is ours even the girls..and it is sick seeing malaysians bow and lick their arses. Malaysia gotta change. But again nothing good will come from our current G.

• Salleh on Jul 24, 2012 at 11:00 am

Agree with Bob. We should been “Detroit of the east” instead of Thailand.

Ever wonder why Thailand and Singapore never want to initiate their own local car industry?

This local car industry is killing all of us in terms of taxes in the long term. Can’t you see? Our salary, instead of using it for our own education or house for example, we paid so much for the car taxes.

• Salleh on Jul 24, 2012 at 11:04 am

sean zx-10

open your eyes bro. we need them. otherwise we should closed our border and mind our own business then. Dr M asked Mitsu to JV with MY back in early 80s for Proton. Arent they foreigners too?

The law is there, but lack of implementations. Right now our country are infested with low life from Africa and whats not. Got nothing to do with these foreign company actually. Only that those low life come to make some illegal business here and there.

But come to think of it, who welcome them at the first place?

• Norman on Jul 24, 2012 at 4:52 pm

I agree if VW takes over Proton and still retain Proton as Malaysia No 1 local cars like Skoda to Czech.Proton can still use their own platform but utilise TSI engine with local pricing.They can make Saga 1.2TSI under RM45k Preve 1.4TSI under RM65k Exora 1.4TSI under RM80k and Inspira 1.8TSI under RM105k.Im sure rakyat dun mind with the kind of pricing given the TSI technology inside the hood.Sacked those half hearted big headed staff and sales advisors whom all this while giving Proton a big headache.Im sure Proton will survive.Nvm VW only let Proton use their 2010 or 2011 engines as long it’s quality and save fuel.

• Norman on Jul 24, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Not boasting here but currently I’m an owner of Volkswagen Polo 1.2TSI,Proton Exora 1.6 CFE and a Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec F-I

• jlkbn on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:18 am

Not boasting here but currently I’m an owner of Volkswagen Jetta 1.4TSI, Honda FD2R, vellfire and an R1.

*fixed*