All-new 2012 Seat Leon: new looks, new badge

The new Seat Leon looks like a big contrast from the model it replaces, which was extra curvy in a typical last generation Seat kind of way. The new design language of Seat has alot more straight lines to it, almost Volkswagen-like but with subtle differences, such as a side view with a bit more character (the lines are called Linea Dinamica) instead of the more flatter lines of a Volkswagen.

Seat showcased this design language on concept cars like the Seat IBL Concept before applying it to production cars. The face is of course unique to Seat, and this car debuts Seat’s new slightly tweaked logo with a single split line going through the S instead of the previous double split line design.

The new Seat Leon is built on the MQB platform that also underpins the Audi A3 and the future Mk7 Golf. Wheelbase is up by almost 60mm, but overall length has reduced by about 50mm, which means a bigger interior but more compact exterior dimensions with shorter overhangs. The new MQB platform allows Seat’s engineers to position the front axle 40 millimetres further forward, which contributes to the wheelbase as well as allows a more balanced distribution of axle load, which in turn benefit comfort and handling. In addition, overall weight has been reduced by 90 kilograms compared with the previous version.

It doesn’t just feature LED daytime running lights, but Seat has also given the new Seat Leon full LED headlamps, which is a first in its class.

Engine options include various petrol and diesel engines ranging from 1.2 litres to 2.0 litres in displacement. All engines have direct injection and turbocharging, whether petrol or diesel. The basic oil burner is a 1.6 TDI making 95 PS, and a tuned up version of the 1.6 will do 105 PS and 250Nm. The 2.0 TDI makes 150 PS and 320Nm of torque or 184 PS and 380Nm, depending on tune. For the petrol engines, two 1.2 litre TSI engines will be available, making 86 PS and 105 PS. A 1.4 litre TSI will do 122 PS.

The top of the line petrol engine will be a 1.8 litre TSI putting out 180 PS, and this will combine both direct injection and port injection, which seems to be a new trend in internal combustion engines – Toyota also implements it in certain versions of its D4-S injection technology. From what we hear this new 1.8 litre will have an integrated exhaust manifold and an electric water pump.

The MQB platform allows different rear suspensions to be equipped based on usage. In the Seat Leon’s case, all engines with power outputs up to 150 PS will use a torsion beam rear suspension, while engines more powerful than 150 PS will get a multi-link suspension.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:28 pm

Audi lights. Look good but sad this brand will not gonna be good in bolehland no matter how good the design.

• what to do on Jul 21, 2012 at 2:23 am

of coz audi similar look coz its owned by same company “VW” which owns both Audi and Seat….

:)

• Lim Kopi on Jul 21, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Only good things can happen when you get taken over by a German automotive giant like VW …

Proton cars would have been like this today if those in top management stop taking care of their OWN INTEREST !!

• Nabera Sudabera Basuda on Jul 22, 2012 at 7:58 am

If only Satria Neo is 4-doors like this, I’m sure the sales figure will be higher.

• venven81 on Jul 22, 2012 at 10:22 pm

well bro, i really hope that somehow someday this marque will come to bolehland. i had the opportunity to drive a SEAT LEON diesel turbo (manual somemore) about 2 years back when my brother helped imported one from the UK and was parked at my garage for a few days. it was just awesome! fingers-crossed :D

• droll on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:31 pm

the d4-s system been in use for years in toyota + lexus engines. the europeans are now realizing this problem. VAG group kena complain kau kau by users for carbon build-up issues in direct injection engines. so they now have a dual injection system to solve this issue. the new mk6 golf gti is one of the first engines from VAG to implement this system iirc.

• First direct injection petrol engine in a passenger car: Mercedes 300SL, 1955

First direct injection diesel engine in a passenger car: Fiat Croma 2000 Turbo D i.d. , 1986

So the europeans are NOW realising what the japs built for years? :D

• Good news is that this new Leon is cheaper than Gen2…

• This is what our Proton can be
    if our gomen allow VW latest offer to
    take over national pride and shame
    depending on who you ask.

• Unforgiven on Jul 21, 2012 at 9:11 am

It should be able to do well if price around the vios range…

• sproc45 on Jul 21, 2012 at 9:35 am

Do you want satria neo to have this specs and 4 doors?

• sean zx-10 on Jul 21, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Proton will definitely be like what happened to this seat leon. No identity..all the parts obviously comes from VW vendors. Haha…OMG malaysians are so stupid not seeing the fine lines

• Unforgiven on Jul 21, 2012 at 1:20 pm

M’sian are so stupid to own Proton?

• Celicazz on Jul 21, 2012 at 9:51 pm

at least better than local vendors dat doesnt know.how.to survive when ther is no proton and perodua. those local vendors are under-performing and definitely cronies of current govt who have to live on the streets if proton/perodua are not forced to take them as vendors anyway.

• sean zx-10 on Jul 22, 2012 at 7:19 am

so guys…what is the root cause of the problem? you are all like children. u see only the tip of the iceberg. u see proton not doing good job..kill proton..u see vendors not performing..kill local vendors…Unforgiven: M’sian are so stupid to support current G. that is all…and dont tell me dont talk politic in automotive talks..again, dont be like children unless u are one. we are talking about proton. controlled by a politician. u cant run from that. so dont run from the problem. face it !! what a sore losers u all are

• Unforgiven on Jul 23, 2012 at 11:29 am

It’s free money in the pocket system, by creating unfair advantages for self, less competition. That’s lots of blood money in Tun M and his future generation pockets.

• ahmadfaris93 on Jul 21, 2012 at 12:36 pm

If Proton or Perodua rebadge these cars, then only we can have get it here, provided with good after sales or else it would be Proton Tiara(Citroen AX rebadge) problem all over again again

• Drebar on Jul 22, 2012 at 11:44 am

Well Sean zx-10, between Proton Gen2 and Seat Leon which one you choose?

He He He…lets see how hypocrite your choice is…

• FICOSA on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:36 pm

The “Leon” model from Seat, roars again, equipped with Ficosa’s elements. Proud of it!

• RaxamatsRop on Nov 19, 2012 at 3:27 pm

I really like your forum here. So I decided to be a part of it :)

And here I am saying HELLO EVERYBODY!! :D