Ford Fiesta 1.4 LX Manual reintroduced in Malaysia – now with 7 airbags for RM69,999!

Good news for fans of the clutch pedal – Ford has reintroduced a manual transmission for the Ford Fiesta in Malaysia. The Fiesta was launched with a 3 variant line-up – one manual hatchback, a twin-clutch hatchback and a twin-clutch sedan, but after that the manual transmission was phased.

Now it has been reintroduced with better specs than before – the Ford Fiesta 1.4 LX Manual now comes with 7 airbags, a big upgrade from the original specs which had 1 airbag.

The pricetag of RM69,999 is only RM111 higher than the original 1.4 manual’s RM69,888 price tag. It also comes with ABS, EBD, ISOFIX child seat mounting points, a 3 years Ford Extended Service Plan free service package and a 3 year warranty.

Look after the jump for an embedded spec sheet and price list.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• don^don on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:36 pm

awesome! how about the twin-clutch version, also 7-airbags?

• yellow on Jul 21, 2012 at 8:44 am

only airbags and twin clutch? No power upgrade? I’d rather have 4 airbags and turbo engine

• myviT on Jul 22, 2012 at 8:31 pm

you get only myvi size car with 7 airbags, not more than that, myvi even better with 1.5l engine lol

• carnoisseur on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:03 am

friend , you have to understand that engine capacity nowadays is not the equation to power , its not a case of the bigger the better , that sort of thinking was in the 70s . today a small engine displacement can whip out greater horsepower and the challenge in todays automotive industry is just to achieve that .its not about size or quantity

• With FORD increasing presence in Malaysia, lets hope SDAC buck up the reliability of their Service Centers…. Confidence level among the cunsumers need to be backed up by good Service support… T&H know that and we can’t blame them for having good followers despite their crap low end cars….

• artworks on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:36 pm

hahaha, wonder how current 1.4 owner feeling

• kambeng on Jul 20, 2012 at 7:40 pm

‘A big upgreade’ of additional of 6 airbag instead of 1.

Not really useful until you crash something.

• rickyll on Jul 22, 2012 at 6:06 pm

It’s the safety that we want just like we bought life insurance for the protection and coverage. Nobody is going to be happy with the insurance compensation one gets in the event of life lost. We always pray that we would never use any of the air bags.

• Costwise on Jul 23, 2012 at 9:05 pm

Your life = ?? No wonder car manufacturers do not offer more than 1 or 2 airbags on mass cars in Malaysia, because they get laughed at by people like you. How about rear seatbelt, must be the joke of the century?

• biglama on Aug 06, 2012 at 7:17 am

you reputation is bad as your nick, goat. how about watching human mash potatoes on the dashboard?

• matsatay on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:51 pm

does it mean they should introduce new lousier car to make current owners feel better? no wonder toyota camry current owners always feel better!

• current 1.4 lx owner on Aug 28, 2012 at 7:39 pm

as a current owner of the first 1.4lx batch, I was hopeful that this would bring MANY things that were stripped out for our market: usb, mp3 player, rear spoiler, front grill, even the interior lamps at the footwell.

But looking at the specs there’s nothing new except for the additional airbags.

So I guess I feel just fine

• kadajawi on Sep 17, 2012 at 12:15 pm

This is the upgrade that makes me want to buy this over the 1.6. Who cares about a MP3 player, really? Go outside, get a nice one for RM 500 to 1000. Maybe invest more if you want to and get something really nice, including speakers and everything. Rear spoiler can get aftermarket, also not useful at all. Only adds weight to the car, slowing it down. Front grill same, can get outside. Interior lamps, go buy some LED strips. Additional airbags you can’t add. And they save your life.

But if you think it is better to look good while dying rather than to not die, then yes, the upgrade isn’t big or important.

• Zeroshift on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:37 pm

great upgrade…other manufactures should follow this…

Not just some bodykit add on or a touchscreen unit…

• aiyo man on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:08 pm

aiyo, u make alza ‘terasa makan cili’

• Indeed.
      It’s a great upgrade.

They added a great feature, but dont add anything to the name…

• MycarMylife on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Becareful , some ‘ authorities ‘ soon will step in and say that there is an error of some half baked genius.

• very worth to buy not like perodua make up here make up there increase the price like a hell!

• wow.. .thats sound great! Now is hard to choose at this price range whether to go for this oversea car or + 3k to get local car (preve) although different segment. Japanese vios is definitely out due to unsafe, lousy car lack of features compare to this 70k Ford Fiesta.

• mad aly on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:58 pm

i like ur phase “although different segment”… nasib baik u mentioned it first… and plz do not compare a tiny car with a bulk preve.. u need a space, u pay more… haha

• Haha ya I knew it is different segment just that ppl like me who just select their car based on their budget instead of segment. Anyway, what I was gonna tell is, why 1.5 Vios is expensive than this. Ford Fiesta 1.4 also imported car, but they can sell it cheaper yet pack with so many nice and safety features…

• alldisc on Jul 22, 2012 at 11:39 am

because they (UMW) provide better after sales service network, 63 service centre nationwide. overhead cost is higher.

ask ford to do the same, you will see changes in price too.

but to sell cheap is a lot better than neither….
          Honda – sell expensive and give free maintenance instead when they can just give discounts.

nor…
          Naza/Kia – sell expensive but later throw discounts kaw-kaw.

at least ford doing it right (why not sime darby do the same for other brands like alfa romeo and hyundai?)

• sirimusa on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:44 pm

This is excellent news! Probably the first car in Malaysia to have 7 airbags at such a price. It even beats cars like the Camry selling for 150k++ with only 4 airbafs. I hope this will pressure other car companies to follow suite and have Malaysians enjoy better safety overall.

I believe that in the next 5 years, with more competition, it’s only a matter of time car makers manage to pull prices down even more.

With all this arsenal coming into Malaysia, all the airbags, quality and security, PROTON and PERODUA are dead in the water. They stand no chance. Ford and all other car makers, thank you and bring more to us!!

• mad aly on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:54 pm

mimpi lah kawan.. the only thing other manufacturer reducing price because to compete with PROTON!! coz Proton is offering a good loaded car with exceptional quality.. if PROTON dead, ur pocket also dead.. no more cheap cars in Malaysia… or they will treat us like Indian market…cheap segment car will be introduce…then u pay 60k for crap cars!!

• teelim on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:10 pm

yeah, I think the ones left behind now are T & H actually

• Scotch on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Hahahaha, PROTON exceptional quality? What do you smoke? Hahahaha. PROTON is the reason why we are deprived when it comes to basic security and cars. This will change soon. My Ramadan and Raya wish!

• odi862 on Jul 20, 2012 at 4:06 pm

“if PROTON dead, ur pocket also dead.. no more cheap cars in Malaysia”

I respectfully disagree with the statement. I think Proton is the one causing the car price in Malaysia skyrocketed.

• Bob Vettel on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Wrong – it’s not Proton, it’s Perodua.

At least Proton cars offer value for money, all Perodua cars have no value for money whatsoever.

• theanswer on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:16 pm

proton came first before perodua. my mom bought nissan march same year as proton saga was launched..at that time march was priced at 30k. after that evrything has change.

• Proton is offering a good loaded car with exceptional quality. Are u crazy ? Think before u comment….

• fatihablack on Jul 20, 2012 at 7:31 pm

i’m owned 1…and for ur information…i always claim the warranty every time I serviced the car…and my friends also facing problems with their proton’s…so where is the quality then?….from dissapointed customer…:(

• Ajo haterz on Jul 21, 2012 at 3:42 pm

That is why they put the name preve that means “to prove that protong have so called improved in their quality”

• Proton should had died long time ago, and we dont hav to pay thru our nose just because of the “protectism policy”..

• Proton is offering a good loaded car with exceptional quality

now this is typical /k reply troll. so you have won 1 internet for the effort!!

• do you what is sarcasm means….

• Geronimo on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Well, 7 airbags is good but family with children needs to be aware about the danger of airbags.

Personally, I think 4 is good for me without worrying about where to put my kids.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:23 pm

How about leaving them at home, even safer?

Please lah, strap your kids in properly and make sure they are sitting on a booster/child seat if needed. Also make sure to place them in the rear passenger seat. Seen too many times, parents holding their child in their arms while driving. Maybe this is the reason Malaysians don’t need airbags and prefer DVD player with navigation instead?

• 4g63tdsm on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Your kids should be in the back seats, preferably in booster or child seats.

That’s a real lousy reason to doubt airbags.

I think side and curtain airbags are just as important if not more compared to front airbags. You got a 4 ft worth of crumple zone and a seat belt to protect u on a frontal crash, but only 6 inch between u and another car in a side impact. Most head injuries with side impact is due to your head hitting the B pillar or the object that you hit (ie. tree, lamp post….) or hit you.

Good job Ford. Now where is the ESP for the Ranger 2.2

• ben yap on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:51 pm

put them in the graveyard with your 4 airbags.

• trolling proton salesman. got no sales so cruise paultan for a bruising.

• kadajawi on Sep 17, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Camry 2 airbags…

• DewaSemut on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Wow… the additional airbags are very cheap! Only RM111 increase = RM22.20 per airbag…
    Use shopping bag kaa? hehe :P

Honda, Toyota & other, if Ford can do it @ RM111, so can you!!! :) :D

• DewaSemut on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Sorry it’s additional 6 airbags.. so its only RM18.50 per airbag… :D

• wow.. even cheaper than my pillow :D

• fasterpussycat on Jul 21, 2012 at 5:20 pm

yeah this is great… but occupants still need to wear seat belt … so many Malaysian don’t care even some of my friend like that… laugh when I wear seat belt and asking whether there are police around the corner..

• H&T will charge you 10K

• division93 on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:52 pm

if this 1.4 manual actually comes with their variable valve timing,then its a good purchase.cant believe they cant even give VVT for the base model.OR at least drop the 1.4 and sell the 1.6 sport in manual also.VVT is a necessity nowadays.

• Agree with you, awaiting for the 1.6 sport manual version

• benzema on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:08 pm

is there any possibility for 1.6 manual to come out? looking forward for it.

• theanswer on Jul 21, 2012 at 12:22 am

bsed on wiki..duratec 1.4 and 1.6 ti-vct still use belt instead of chain. is it true? any fiesta owner here? demmm~

• OilChange on Jul 21, 2012 at 12:36 pm

yes… so what…

this car uses belt, but has another things that any other chain car doesnt has…

so what?

• theanswer on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:23 pm

no need to feel offended. using chain means lower down the cost of maintenance. not saying belt is inferior. ;)

• kadajawi on Sep 17, 2012 at 12:18 pm

7 airbags is a necessity nowadays. The 1.4 in the Fiesta is stronger than the one in my Xsara, and the Fiesta should be lighter. Should be good enough.

• mad aly on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:55 pm

neway good job from FORD… at least they are offering a car and quality and fully loaded with reasonable price!! shame on u JAPS!!

• teelim on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Good initiative by Ford/SDAC to increase the spec of entry level cars.
    But I would think they should also consider offering the Fiesta Sport with a manual gearbox. I mean come on, manual gearbox are not only for the poor right.

• benzema on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:12 pm

agree with you. but i think due to market feedback, malaysians are more into auto. it’s very hard for us to find new manual car except low grade variant, proton , perodua and high end sport car. sigh.

• teelim on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:35 pm

well, considering that the CR-Z was selling well when only the manual version was available, I think its reasonably safe to say that if the manual version of the Fiesta Sport was introduced, it would do ok too (but of course, it will definitely be selling in lesser amounts than the auto version. Heck , it may even eat into the sales of the 1.4 version)

• current 1.4 lx owner on Aug 28, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Right on! I was very disappointed that they decided to produce a dumb-downed manual version. They couldn’t even include the small stuff like the lamps at the footwell haha.

• Very good.

• myr532 on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Ford’s initiative shows that it doesn’t cost a hefty premium for base-line cars to be safe. Nor should safety equipment be made an ‘option’ or ‘trim-level’.

Give Ford a chance, shall we, and let the skimpy Vios die off with the old Malaysian ‘knock on the door to test that it’s safe’ mentality.

• aiyo man on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:04 pm

the most affordable full safety specs in malaysia!

• cokelatpanda on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:07 pm

I wonder why they don’t want to pair 1.6 with shift stick. Maybe to differentiate poor man fiesta with the expensive one perhaps?

• if they can give esp, then i will trade my alza for this ford for sure !the taiwanese ford 1.6 sports come with esp http://www.ford.com.tw/cars/fiesta/specifications/spec-data

• sudonano on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:56 pm

time to go to Ford then . Electronic Stability Program (ESP) and Traction Control System (TCS) is standard. http://ford.net.my/fiesta/specs_features.asp

• OilChange on Jul 21, 2012 at 12:40 pm

esp is a standard feature for 1.6 fofi.

at 80k, u can have that

the cheapest car with esp…

and it is brilliant … save me many times, during rains and what not.

• friend, don’t drive like rally hero lah! berhati-hati d jallan raya!

• Extrimist on Jul 23, 2012 at 9:06 am

The cheapest car with is ESP for Malaysian market is Proton Preve Premium.

Preve Premium: RM72990
        Fiesta 1.6 Sedan: RM83888
        Fiesta 1.6 HB: RM84888
        Kia Forte 1.6SX: RM85800
        Honda City 1.5E: RM90980

• Kerepek on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Nice.How about 1.6 ecoboost on stickshift..

• Wayne on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Not a bad news for the upgrade. However, I just very disappointed Manual car always be the lower spec of a car model. Driving a good manual car really fantastic feel. But nowadays if we want to enjoy driving, we have to sacrifice on the spec. And this, some-more with a smaller engine.

• kadajawi on Sep 17, 2012 at 12:23 pm

You are getting a safer car by driving the manual, and it is cheaper too. Only thing you really miss on is the engine. Other than that everything is there, or can be upgraded later.

• wait i don’t understand. is this the sedan (LX) version or the hatchback (S)? it says LX, which to my understanding is the sedan version. but the picture in the brochure is a hatchback. or the LX means manual?

(and of course, i can’t verify it thru ford malaysia page, as they haven’t updated it. paultan should offer services to update car companies’ websites)

• artworks on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:53 pm

LX is means by Trim different. S is sport variant which hv sport tune suspension.
      S-sport ride+sport seat
      LX-comfort ride+comfort seat

• paparazi on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:44 pm

i like it! ah~ha~ha

• F Fiesta on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Step aside, The monster of manual is coming in Malaysia shore.

Proton Preve owners will cry out loud after looking at the price and 7 AIRBAGS!!!

• bobdbilder on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Hello? Monster manual? Where? Its a freaking 90hp engine that can’t do 200 dude. Have you checked the 0 to 100 time?

• Kalun on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:57 am

Just wait Until the Ford Fiesta Sport coming to Malaysia then Proton Preve owner will cry

• yundei on Jul 21, 2012 at 3:40 pm

cannot compare both, coz of different segments, no ecoboost engine, this airbags promotion is to finish the old stock engine

• Maaajeeedaaa on Jul 21, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Preve and fiesta are different class la woi…

• Wallace on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Any update for the price in East Malaysia? I always prefer manual transmission car.

• Good move by Ford. All automotive manufacturers should place active and passive safety first instead of appearance of a vehicle such as shinny alloy rims as standard features. Our country have more rains and slippery roads. So it is a plus that all manufacturers place Electronic Stability Control as a standard feature. Good to hear some improvements are made in making sure that cars are fitted with safety features to be driven on the road. Thumbs up to Ford.

• retard on Jul 20, 2012 at 4:11 pm

uh.. wonderful, wonderful, im speechless..

• I want to wait for manual with ESP . then will trade in alza manual “premium” . at this stage , there are no mpv come with ESP at < 100k .

• i dont understand why proton / perodua dont produce manual transmission for their high end variant. mind to share? thanks.

• arcana on Jul 21, 2012 at 1:04 pm

simple reason….if u look at car models (high end variants) that come with auto and manual options, usually the sales ratio is about 85% or towards 90%+ auto. hence with that limited amount of demand for manual tranny, it doesnt make sense for them to sell it, business wise.

but i do understand that manual drivers deserve equal specs as the auto…..pity.

• haha dugong must be ashamed the j spec increase price 1k+ only add sportrim and dual airbags.this fiesta increase only rm111 7 aibags.lol

• Good job Ford!

• wa….. so fast. 0-100 in blazing 12.2s
    top speed at freaking 175. wow!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Same engine + more airbags = higher kerb weight = lousy performance. Steering wheel still plastic, no fog lamps even, yawn…

• theanswer on Jul 20, 2012 at 8:40 pm

typical msian!
      my main concern is, why 1.6 hatch didnt get 7 airbags?

• OilChange on Jul 21, 2012 at 12:44 pm

maybe your car’s steering is made from besi ka?

of kos it is plastik… everything is plastik…

for 70k, show me what car that dont have plastik steering.

go back under your mum’s armpit and isap susu la.. so stupid wan

• Jimmy on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:33 pm

Hope in future, there are more products like this to bring down car prices.
    Ford, please bring in Everest Wildtrack with captain seats and 9 airbags ya. Priced at RM180k it will be competitive if all the features in Wildtrack 3.2 are included. Please also improve your service centres and dealerships.
    BTW, please support Wildtrack 3.2 instead of the empty-spec T-Hil. Life is more important than resale value (one rainy day you will realize this).

• cyberbanana on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:19 pm

I hope the reason SD don’t want to bring in 1.6 manual is not because the Thai plant doesn’t make 1.6 with manual.

Focus 1.6 hatchback manual with 7 air bags would be even better choice!

• lonelyobserve on Jul 21, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Possible. Distributors unlike Australians who cares about cars. They can request car makers to specific import the cars from Europe for the specs they want, even though Thailand does produce the cars, except the specs Aussies want do not have in Thailand plants.

• ben yap on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:43 pm

For RM69,999 they should add in also turbo like VW. else it is another underpowered junk.

• Kambing Gurun on Jul 20, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Still a 69,999 car with steel wheels with wheel caps instead of alloy wheels. Funny…

• kadajawi on Sep 17, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Doesn’t matter. Alloy rims you can get outside, and you can pick the one you like. Airbags you can’t. You get the ones that were installed when the car was delivered, and that’s it. No upgrade. I prefer to get a proper basis and to then upgrade. Especially since looks are subjective and I can pick the rims that I like most.

But of course in Malaysia it is better to look good while dying than to stay alive in something not so pretty.

• Ford for orang xde duit!

• Eh I thought Fiesta have TCS VSC standard ???

• amirad on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:40 pm

This is probably the best manual tranny car currently available in the market. I have driven this car and believe me, the 1.4 litre powerplant is actually more powerful than it seems, with slick gear change and crisp throttle response. Still waiting for that focus st, no matter how long it takes.

• YeapyEvo on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Clearing old stock for the upcoming new Fiesta, anyway better buy than a Vios J (If u dun need space) and Lagi Best Extreme.

• Azydy on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:05 pm

haha worth price..

• ttkeric on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Great news indeed and great price! Been sitting and wondering if the news that P1 is going to offer an Inspira 2.0 Manual is really true or khabar angin only, well, sorry P1. I know where my money is going.

• jet_fighter on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:36 pm

7 airbags
    ABS
    EBD
    ESP
    VDC
    al-cheapo tires…. Safety?!!

• chan kam nam on Jul 22, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Fren, you can always change to better tyres. 185/55/15, many tyre choices, including PS3. Vios 185/60/15, even less tyre choices.

• encikpadil on Jul 21, 2012 at 12:40 am

can it be a highway cruiser? coz i need one and need it fast. the price tag is quite suitable for my budget. is it stable enough? fuel consumption? only for my weekend outing(tg malim-jaybee, roughly 480km++). sorry T/H/P1/P2, just wanna try something new for myself, any fiestas owner here? sharing is caring isn’t it?

• Night Hunter on Jul 21, 2012 at 3:14 am

I booked Fiesta XTR….

After test drive, it changed my mind…. seriously stable…

170 km/h still super stable…. comfortable… NVH is good too… Test drive and u’ll see…

• OilChange on Jul 21, 2012 at 12:50 pm

i’ve own 1.6 fofi and 1.5 swift

fofi win big time… in terms of everything…especially the fuel consumption. maybe my fofi is 6 speeder… but 5 speed manual is expected to perform the same…

now i hate my swift ( just cocky speaking… still wash it every two-three days and put nice perfume in it)

this 1.4 is cheaper than my swift.

• encikpadil on Jul 22, 2012 at 1:04 am

thanks, need more infos please

• OilChange on Jul 22, 2012 at 6:54 pm

http://www.facebook.com/groups/fiestafanclubmy/

go there bro… ask anything you want.

we dont hide anything.
          things that need to be bashed, we bash..
          nothing to hide.

learn more about fiesta, the aftermarket parts. tips and tricks….

fiesta is proven to be a workhorse for everyday errand. yes there are faulty, i’ve claimed my headlight twice due to water vapors, now waiting for new ball joint (or sumthing else) as it is knocked and making sound.. the rest is fun fun fun… value for money.

• rosdi on Jul 21, 2012 at 6:03 am

The engine power is less than Saga FL 1.3. Anyone tried to pit this car against Saga?

• theanswer on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:18 pm

power is just a number..epecialy a few single digit number. weight must also taken into consideration.

• kancil on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:41 am

no valve control….kancil better than this…

• Extrimist on Jul 21, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Paul, seems that engine configurations from the brochure in your article are different with the info from Ford Malaysia website.

Paultan’s article:

Maximum output PS/rpm: 96 / 6000
    Max Torque (Nm/rpm): 128 / 4050

Ford Malaysia website:

Maximum output PS/rpm: 91 / 5500
    Max Torque (Nm/rpm): 128 / 4300

Which one is the exact data?

• thunder cats on Jul 21, 2012 at 1:17 pm

time for vios to have 7 airbags too,,,

• kancil on Jul 21, 2012 at 1:31 pm

no need 7 airbag la..high speed crash still die…but from outside no major injuries…face still handsome also..but died already…

• In your dream only la bro. Japanese only sucks blood without taking car owner safety. No to T&H….

• In your dream only la bro. Japanese only sucks blood without taking care owner safety. No to T&H….

• MBX Boy on Jul 21, 2012 at 2:55 pm

USB? Tak dak?

• Ajo haterz on Jul 21, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Dear perodua,

This is what upgrade mean….. Not just change the bodykit and radio to touchscreen

• 4g63tdsm on Jul 21, 2012 at 7:25 pm

I don’t know why there are so many people harping that there is no manual for the top spec 1.6.

The reason there isn’t one is because the 6 speed powershift gearbox is a twin clutch automated “manual” gearbox. Its not a traditional automatic with a torque converter.

I’ll give it to u if you guys start harping that it don’t come with paddle shifters, something that will complement the powershift gearbox, especially when cars with CVT has them to shift “fake” gears…..

• Extrimist on Jul 22, 2012 at 9:44 am

In US, Fiesta 1.6 Duratec comes with 5MT a standards, and PowerShift 6-Speed Automatic (optional).

This means that 5MT Fiesta 1.6 does exist.

http://www.ford.com/cars/fiesta/2012/specifications/

• auto-guy-but-not-quite on Jul 23, 2012 at 10:57 pm

that because this poor-mans dual clutch isnt as smooth as a basic 4 speed from japan. pls dont compared with DSG as it a different league. its one of the most disappointing auto transmissions.
      poor fuel economy. jerky 1st to 2nd shift quality are among its key weakness.
      the worst part for an enthusiast is it doesnt even have manual over ride (+/-), thus i who have the chance to teste both transmission back to back feel the 1.6 deserves a 5speed manual. probably most keen drivers feeling this way too..

• eason47 on Jul 22, 2012 at 1:57 am

Great news!!!Always looking to buy manual car…
    Tempting to buy one :p

How’s the service of this car?
    Is it expensive?
    Is the part expensive?

Thanks!

• _xXx_ on Jul 22, 2012 at 1:12 pm

yeah, nice spec but timing belt puts me off
    is the comp ratio 11:1? then the govt likes the buyers of this 1.4m very much coz they dun need fuel subsidy…

• color on Jul 23, 2012 at 10:34 am

Does anyone know is there any downgrade on the interior trim quality on this variant?

• Garfield on Jul 23, 2012 at 12:22 pm

I have a nagging question in my mind since I saw a 1 year old + Fiesta 1.6Sport (hatchback) last week. The engine sounded really harsh for that kind of age. Is the quality of the car not good in the first place, or is it the servicing from SDAC?

I have actually recommended the car to my better half last year but it did not came through due to her wanting an MPV instead. It still nagged me though because I have heard in the past for models that Mazda & Ford shared (e.g. 323 and Lynx), the resale value for Ford is lower. That implies quality, but what about servicing currently?

• daniel ks on Jul 28, 2012 at 1:09 pm

this only wise if it was 1.6 manual ,

if not i stick to local car