VIDEO: Lexus GS 450h Hybrid – 120 heartbeats

Hybrids may mean eco friendliness and fuel efficiency at the lower end of the market price point, but when it comes to luxury hybrids, carmakers try to engineer them to do anything and everything.

The new Lexus GS has gotten positive reviews from the world motoring press so far in terms of it offering a much better drive feel compared to the model it replaces, and Lexus has been banking on this in all its marketing as well. The same angle is applied to the Lexus GS Hybrid – it’s not just fuel efficient, serene and eco friendly – when you want it to, it can set your heart racing as well. The 4th generation L10 GS 450h is powered by a 3.5 litre Atkinson cycle V6 mated to an electric motor, resulting in a combined power rating of 338 horsepower and 0-100km/h in 5.6 seconds.

Basically a few prospective buyers were taken in a ride around a track to see if they could keep their heart rate below 120bpm. Of course, I think if any rear wheel drive car with decent enough power is taken sideways your heart rate will go up, but the idea makes for good video footage.

Lexus Malaysia currently sells three hybrid models – the popular CT200h, the LS 600h L, and the RX 450h. The GS is available as a GS 250 and a GS 350. The GS 450h is not sold in Malaysia… yet?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sukahati on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:27 pm

That is one hell of fun way to test the car and test the reaction of their potential buyers. Great idea!

• LexusLover on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:36 pm

Haha! love it!

• teelim on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Good initiative by Ford/SDAC to increase the spec of entry level cars.

But I would think they should also consider offering the Fiesta Sport with a manual gearbox. I mean come on, manual gearbox are not only for the poor right.

• teelim on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:58 pm

oops… the above comment was meant for the Fiesta 1.4

• sammy on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Put Mr Bean at that seat. I’m sure he’s going to beat the challenge.
    Seen him rode a roller-coaster and was about to sleep. :P

• HAHAHAHAHA… Guess what, I seriously thought the long hair blonde was going to give the driver a slap in the back/shoulder after he brought the car to a final stop.

• artworks on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:57 pm

test Myvi and tell the passenger this car is without ESP, no side airbag..confirm heartbeat pass 130

• tricycle on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:08 pm

haha sweetttt!!!

• foreverstuffs on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:31 pm

If the new GS450h is indeed as good as its predecessor or even better, I cannot wait to test drive one of those!

• jet_fighter on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:26 pm

how many Gs did they experienced?

• BMW BEST on Jul 21, 2012 at 1:16 am

The part when the car face against the wall…if I was sitting in the car my heartbeat will far far beyond 10000000000000000+++…LOL so scary XDD

• kancil on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:47 am

for lexus, electric motor not just to assist for fuel efficiency but they use benefit of high Torque from electric motor to accelerate the car faster….

• yanes on Jul 22, 2012 at 1:30 pm

1:49. Reminds me of Ken Block and Gymkhana. LOL.