Next generation Kia Forte YD – first sketches released!

Here are the first officially released sketches of the next generation Kia Forte, also known as the Kia Cerato in certain countries. And we say officially released because there was a previous sketch leak, showing the design of the new Forte in better detail.

Kia says the all-new C-segment sedan will be longer, wider and lower than the model it replaces, and in its domestic market of South Korea, it will be known under a new name – the Kia K3.

Kia plans to globally unveil the new Kia Forte by the end of this year, and it will go on sale in its domestic market as the Kia K3 this year as well. The international version will start appearing in other countires by Q1 2013. Given that the Forte is locally assembled here in Malaysia, it could take some time before it’s launched here as Naza’s plant has to prepare for it first.

Since the Elantra and Forte share some underpinings, we can predict the specs of the new car based on the newly launched Elantra. We expect the new Forte’s dimensions to be similiar. The Elantra platform has grown in size and has a longer wheelbase of 2,700mm – up by 100mm over the previous Elantra/Forte platform it replaces. Engine choices might also end up being 1.6 and 1.8 instead of the current 1.6 and 2.0.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• WOW! this gonna be hot! Cant wait! ^__^

• artiz on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Just like other car sketches, in real life the car will be much more muted

• ermm it seems u still not see the spyshot of the car yet. The car looks awesome compared to Corolla n Civic

• mad aly on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:53 pm

its look garang on sketches, BUT in real life itz look comel rather than garang.. :P

http://s1.aecdn.com/images/news/2013-kia-forte-k3-cerato-rendering-41585-7.jpg

http://s1.aecdn.com/images/news/gallery/2013-kia-forte-k3-cerato-rendering_2.jpg

http://www.forteforums.com/forums/attachments/forte-sedan-general-discussion/7915d1331787894-2013-kia-forte-sedan-2013-kia-forte-int.jpg

• Desmond on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:51 pm

the first link isnt the real car either..its just a ..somehow photoshop.

• cocodial on Jul 24, 2012 at 12:13 am

mad aly you’re talking about KIA RIO which is already available on market…

http://www.kiamotors.com/vehicles/rio-4dr/gallery-exterior.aspx

• Mackaroni on Jul 26, 2012 at 10:32 pm

mad…u r really mad….showing us the wrong car…lol…tats rio dude

• hanssen on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:58 pm

TOO CUTE BUT DONT BUY THIS CAR! IT HAS NO SIDE MIRROR!!!

• you need to top-up to get side mirror. rm 89.99/piece exclusive of installation.

• Mario Gomez on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Ya Proton Preve sure will gulung tikar,next will be Honda Civic

• lol yeah preve will gulung tikar (discontinued) coz the replacement would be much nicer than this skecthes!

• ABTguy on Jul 23, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Boring Kia car, due mainly to the subpar engine gearbox combo.

When are they going to the downsize route plus turbocharging ?

• Black Dog on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:09 pm

It looks great but the lines more like it’s sibling the Elantra

• kenny_lim on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:14 pm

i thought it was CBU for this car? i think i’ll just pass given the quality of the assembly of my sis 206.

• Extrimist on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Really hope that this kind of design doesn’t sacrifice boot size.

C-segment Elantra is an example of stylish design with small boot capacity at only 420 liter. Even B-segment Fiesta Sedan has 470 liter.

Many may not be bothered with the boot size. But large boot size is needed for a family who can’t afford to buy MPV that comes with ESP, as a main car used for balik kampung.(the cheapest is RM143k, Citroen C4 Picasso).

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:23 pm

This is how Korean recycle their car, launch Elantra few year later some facelift into Forte, remind me of Ayam Goreng turn Ayam Masak Merah at Mamak Store.

• Pen Is Mighty on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:25 pm

so your beloved toyota recycling 86 from subaru also?

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Stupid that a lagend & the car is from a total different paltform & technology, but Forte is using same engine, same gearbox, same platform, with merely cosmetic different, can’t blame u korean car fanboy are known to stupid anyway.

• Pen Is Mighty on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:39 pm

so you are saying that toyota 86 uses a different “paltform & technology” from the subaru brz?

• Mackaroni on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Pen Is Mighty, you are awesome, i ROFL anyway, thx for making my day. LOL!! btw ur words are reasonable n worth for a think actually

• Im certain that VW group would like to know more about your opinions.

• lokpi on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:33 am

so tell me the best car….

• lokpi on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:33 am

so tell me which car is better???????….

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Stupid GT86 & BRZ launch at same time, not few year apart, like KFC Ori & Spicy Flavour, this stupid Forte is like recycle food, ayam gereng that not laris today add sauce & sell as Ayam masak merah, taht why i said Korean Fanboy are born stupid like mackaroni brain, FFF Fool Fool Fools, ss427 Stupid Stupid 427. Junk car for junk brain people.

• Pen Is Mighty on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:49 pm

wah, really?

poor toyota… have to recycle daihatsu boon into toyota passo, and daihatsu mira into toyota pixis, and scion frs from toyota 86 from subaru brz… not only recycle once but twice and three times! :)

come back and argue when you learn how to type properly.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:59 pm

You deserve to be called idiot, how about Naza Forte, KIA Forte, Hyundai Elantra, Inokom Elantra, Yeudong Elantra, Beijing Elantra, or what ever craps name these Korean using to escape tax, Toyota, Daihatsu & Scion are launching at same time, guess idiot like you don’t undersatand the word recycle, Recycle mean somrthing already reach it end of cycle been “rebound” in to another form, then again i don’t expect kimchee brain like your would ever understand.

• Steve on Jul 23, 2012 at 4:14 pm

you do realise inokom and naza are distributors right?

• hyundai de la junk i support u, u see our no.1 beloved toyota at here, even we hike the price to unreasonable with junk spec, stupid and fool supporter still support us and bash their rubbish national car.

• looks whose talking on Jul 24, 2012 at 12:42 am

so i guess toyota fanboys can only use ayam goreng as examples?

• Frmcititocivic on Jul 24, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Forte & Elantra kete lembek & dayus…
          bodo mcm tuan dia….hahaha

• @Frmcititocivic
          i think civic is more lembek with its sohc engine

• Mackaroni on Jul 26, 2012 at 10:39 pm

cmon guys…i bet this guy is stil under age by looking at his comments..HAHAHAHA…

• BMW BEST on Jul 23, 2012 at 9:35 pm

No,toyota ain’t recycling the 86 from Subaru but keep recycling the current Vios with small changes and then called them “facelited”.This is how Toyota recycle their car.

• looks whose talking on Jul 24, 2012 at 12:43 am

true that.. actually i’m thinking that is more about UMW than toyota though

• im sure u in love with ur 86 from subaru right? eh opps toyota i mean..

• Desmond on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:53 pm

you do realise that VW recycles their cars to Skoda etc etc right? Their platforms are shared even cross segment. So you are sayin that VW sucks too? You mad?

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jul 23, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Is there influx amount of idiot here LOL

VW & Skodas model launching at same time, not 2-3 years apart, Jetta & Octavia, Passat & Superb all launch at same time, unlike recycle Korean Junk launch 3 years apart, trying to prolong their product life cycle by savaging part from out going Hyundai model into KIA.

Understand Stupid !!

• farizY on Jul 24, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Internet tough guys!! LOL…

• Desmond on Jul 24, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Same time? VW’s PQ35 platform is used since the Audi A3 Mk2 to Golf until the recent 2012 VW Beetle..and that isnt SAMT TIME. Just an example for you Mr. Junk <- i presume? Nissan D platform is used from 2008 Nissan Altima/Teana all the way until 2011 Nissan Quest and WHY don't you go to shoot Nissan first?

• NinjaTurtleneck on Jul 25, 2012 at 8:46 am

be quiet dude. this is getting pathetic. don’t you like have some homework to do?

• ronla on Jul 24, 2012 at 5:30 am

toyota using same old 4 speeder, same engines, is that good?

• Honda De La Junk on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Hiaz…..Jealous Japanese who can’t match the Koreans in design are calling foul….

Korean supporters won’t need to bash Japanese products cause we already know before hand which is superior

• ss427 on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Haha that’s a nice nice bro..

Hyundai Junk bro… stop your nonsense please It’s an well established fact that Japs has forgotten how to build highly desirable cars anymore.
      They’re either resting on their laurels believing that their badge alone can sell (like Toyota and now Honda), or that extreme cost cutting is the order of the day and they will do anything to bring the cost of building a car down (like new POS Civic, CRV and the Missan March, Almera)

A great designed and built car requires lots of money to materilize. The Japs will not go along that route for their ‘cheap’ econoboxes these days.

If they do, they won’t be offering craps such as Avanza, Vios and try to pass them off as a Toyota throughbred… :(

• zidane on Jul 24, 2012 at 10:25 am

What la hantam Korea this Japan that…

At the end… you all still live in Malaysia what… Unless you have Japanese blood run in your vein…

• mitzz on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Hiii…..rear looks like BMW 6 series Grand Coupe & VW ‘CC’ laa……

• ss427 on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:56 pm

To those bros who snear at these sketches claiming the actual product will be much boring looking… please be informed that this sketch refers to the final new gen Forte, not a concept model!

Rem how close the Optima sketches were as compared to the final product in the showroom?? :)

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:06 pm

It just works for KIA, worth waiting !!

• Good try for Kia. Hopefully can sell. Exterior and Interior is good. However need to improve on engine performances. (Fuel efficiency and power)

• amuse on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:13 pm

front bumper really look like face lifted vw CC..

• farghmee on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:23 pm

overall profile looks cun!

• DewaSemut on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:39 pm

By looking at this, perhaps can “downsize’ my target of owning a K5 to a K3.. hehe :P

Maintain the price, pleaseee…. :)

• tommyyeoh on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:44 pm

What the point of launching new car without new engine new drivetrain and new platform. Koreans are selling cars like their actors/actress and K Pop singers outside looks good just focus on cosmetic change.

• mooki on Jul 23, 2012 at 9:01 pm

GDI engine please

• Machete on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:24 pm

What r u talking, launching new car without new
      engine, new drivetrain and new platform. U think that new civic use new
      engine, new drivetrain and new platform. Honda just recycle from previous gen.. Do you know?

• Faizul on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:48 pm

rear wheel drive please becoz nowadays rear wheel is the domain for luxury car.it will be nice if there is a carmaker out there other than the germans started introduce rwd in their product lineup..after all kia has already got rwd in the form of k9

• underskinned on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:49 pm

I must say, Korean cars look good but they really need to improve engine performances and handling. The current 1.6 Forte is seriously underpowered.

• Forte Owner on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:55 pm

You all can find the real spyshot of this next Forte at this link :

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:1uZcD0Jk_F4J:www.carbuzz.com/news/2011/8/18/Spied-2013-Kia-Forte-7704406/pictures/+&cd=2&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=my&client=firefox-a

At least the shape & design almost like the official sketch.. :)

Personally i really dont feel the current forte design outdated yet but new Civic & Camry seem downgrade then previous.. why huh?

• ss427 on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:12 pm

That’s the real spy shots pple. And if you can see through those damn thick camo, you’d see a great looking car underneath.

This is what progress is about Toyota and Honda! You make the next gen bigger, wider, roomier, more powerful and better built than the last…

Severe cost cutting, shrinking the wheelbase, slow down the steering gear ratio, do an awful cut and paste job and destroy a perfectly great looking generation just to come up with the next generation is totally lame and self destructive..

Yes Honda, I’m talking about your new POS Civic… :D LOL

• confused on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Somehow it become round-er..

• Actually I don’t know why but I prefer the current forte front looks. The next Gen one looks kinda hmm the grill and the headlights design looks weird to me… No offense though. Just my personal opinion. Overall Forte has been a great car and its really value for money! Great job to the Kimchis! :P

• Steve on Jul 23, 2012 at 4:16 pm

i personally prefer the current gen looks too..the new design which looks like the Rio doesnt appeal for me :/

• imran on Jul 23, 2012 at 4:23 pm

too bad korean cars still lacking behind the Japanese… hmmm have they ever won a major championship? F1? WRC?
    they look good but drive sucks…

• BMW BEST on Jul 23, 2012 at 9:40 pm

So tell me did Toyota F1 won any F1 races before?

• Extrimist on Jul 24, 2012 at 12:40 pm

WRC winners (for manufacturers)

1993: Toyota (Toyota Celica Turbo 4WD)
        1994: Toyota (Toyota Celica Turbo 4WD)
        1995: Subaru (Subaru Empreza 555)
        1996: Subaru (Subaru Empreza 555)
        1997: Subaru (Subaru Empreza WRC)
        1998: Mitsubishi (Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution)
        1999: Toyota (Toyota Corolla WRC)

• I like KFC on Jul 24, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Does winning championship = good car or manufacturer?

Proton also got win Championship but does it automatically translate Proton to a great manufacturer?

• mboim on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:42 pm

yes , on the way

• matlimmutu on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:28 pm

the sketches n the real one looks so different. the real one is totally NOT awesome. for me in my own experience, driving a japanese car is way better than korean car. i can say that proton is much better in ride n handling compare to kia.

• Drebar on Jul 23, 2012 at 6:13 pm

Hmmm…What happen if this new Forte priced at RM72K…???

• Reply to mad aly:
    The link u give is just a rendering means a photoshop version not the real one. If u want to see the real spyshot please go to The Korean Car Blog. TQ :)

http://s1.aecdn.com/images/news/2013-kia-forte-k3-cerato-rendering-41585-7.jpg <This is just rendering

• defty on Jul 23, 2012 at 9:10 pm

why it’s getting higher at the back? it’s like mazda2, fiesta sedan which are converted badly from hatch to sedan. ugly.

• The link i give is just a rendering. Rendering means photoshop TQ…

• Looks like Elantra with Kia grill. Beautiful design. If Kia keep this up, they might just overtake big brother Hyundai! :D

• i can forget vios if the real would look like the sketch…

• inderaloka on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:05 am

Hyundai and Kia design are getting better. We have to admit that Honda and Toyota design are now left behind.

• Datuk Jack on Jul 24, 2012 at 11:47 pm

many luv sushi..some like kimci.. majority choose nasi lemak.. becoz ns lemak always affordable.. preve is a new fenomena.. hate it or like it,its reallity.. *nasi lemak lover…

• Liew Chun Seang on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:49 am

Buy car u cn afford.then finish da story

• Affinity_for_football on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Buy the car that you are pleased with :) Korean car bashers are mostly Japanese car salesman

• LOLwut on Jul 26, 2012 at 10:31 am

Same goes to Japanese car bashers, most of them are either korean car salesmen, k-faggots, or idiots.

• saleem on Jul 26, 2012 at 1:02 pm

where is the side mirrors?