Type R not dead yet, hot Civic to be confirmed soon?

The European Honda Civic Type R hatchback based on the FN2 body was discontinued two years ago, following the path of the FD2 Civic Type R sedan, the first and only Type R to be officially sold in Malaysia. The FN2 Type R was a another victim of rising emission standards, but it looks like Honda is planning to resurrect the Euro Civic Type R!

UK’s Autocar says that a new Type R based on the current Civic hatchback will be confirmed for production at the upcoming Paris Motor Show. The mag goes on to predict a preview at next year’s Geneva show, before the hot hatch hits showrooms in the following year.

No news on the new Typer R’s engine yet. Will Honda update its high revving naturally aspirated i-VTEC engine – which has become a Type R trademark – to meet new emission standards, or go the turbocharged route? The European way of turbocharged downsizing is hard to beat in terms of efficiency, but it’ll be sad to see sweet NA engines go the way of the dodo. Becasue of that, I’m rooting for the first solution!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• the surprise would be if honda did the unexpectable – “putting a highly tuned 2.2 Idtec diesel instead on the Type R,….tri turbo? ala bmw Performance M’s diesels”..that would be a shocker ; )

Big performance but will still comply wt emmissions stds

• This is the best new to start off a new week …

• yullo on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:20 pm

boring if preve still can outperform sohc i-vtech

• retdtr on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:30 am

sure why not, hp for bragging, torque wins the race! even ford GDI 2.0l only 202nm, preve gets 205m!

• Love this car. Hopefully they give this baby an upgrade lah.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 23, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Confirm over 200K coz FD2R already 199K therefore new model definitely add few more grand……..so still OVERPRICED!!!

• Alpha on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:29 pm

The car isn’t even out yet and you complained about the price.What kind of mentality la you.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Did I complained? I’m just saying overpriced!
        What you expect? cheap like hybrid?

• jimmy on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:22 pm

overpriced!!! overpriced!!!! overpriced!!!!!

• Steve on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Imo the FD2R is a greatly priced car. for 200k you get something that’s faster, better built car compared to the 86. the amount of work and obsession done to the car is more than the price itself. If you cant afford it then shut up la

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Did I say honda built rubbish car? did I say the car is NOT good? What the HELL u are replying. Steve and Alpha really doesn’t really understand what the actual comments are, pathetic. Like when 86 was launch, everyone say is overpriced!!! Yes indeed overprice because our G’ment still drain us like tap water.
        SHUT UP or what kind of mentality, LET’S other members read these comments & see WHO SHUT UP or “kind of mentality”.

• Alpha on Jul 23, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Well,that IS considered complaining,pal.Even a reconditioned DC5 Type R was in the region of RM170k when it first arrived in our shore by parallel importers.RM199k for FD2 Type R was nicely priced.

You’re one of those guys who keeps complaining and said,”The reason I can’t afford the car is the government.”

The 86 is overpriced compared to the FD2R.Considering the tax and all,the FD2R is nicely priced.

Oh,wait.By overpriced,you mean compared to other countries blablabla. Then,bro.Everything is overpriced la.Coz just a little tax will make EVERYTHING overpriced.

And you keep blaming the government.I’m not much of a government fan anyway,but you really think that IF the opposition wins the election they’re going to make the cars sold here as cheap as in Japan or UK??Dream.On.

And please,fellow Malaysians.This is an automotive website.CAN WE PLEASE TALK ABOUT CARS??About its performances,specs,quality and all??

• that’s the price you have to pay, no money no talk, especially t n h

• bllniar on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:25 pm

make it 300k, that’s the price many people will buy

• Johnny on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Yes you are right. Barisan already Won the War! At least New price for Type R RM260,000++

• alldisc on Jul 23, 2012 at 12:43 pm

simply delicous!!

• menzz on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:23 pm

1. High-revving downsized turbo i-Vtec Type R

Best of two worlds… :)

• JeremyNg on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:31 pm

If you are hardcore Honda Type R fans, you will know that Type r without high-rev engine will not be a pure Type R. Just like Mazda RX without rotary engine ~

Type R with turbo engine ??!! it still will work but it forget the root of Type R

• tokmoh on Jul 23, 2012 at 6:45 pm

BMW M has turbo-ed the latest F10 M5, yet, it received praises for being a better M5.

There’s a limit to preserving heritage. Either downsize/turbo/whatever or stop selling altogether. One way makes profit, the other don’t. Carmakers are profit-making entities, so they’ll always prioritise profitable methods.

• Steve on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:12 pm

I dont mind it having a lower hp-per-litre, all i want is a good car to drive around circuits. and keep it NA. I’d have lower hp than losing it’s roots. A Honda should be like this.

• menzz on Jul 23, 2012 at 6:11 pm

if smoked by Proton car, malu lah.. :P

• Proton race on its own of course smoke la. Civic cruising at 50, lori also can smoke. When Civic at 7,500rpm then you see where is proton?

• push civic until redline, still cannot catch that proton, of course cannot see, it’s in front…far away lol

• scratching head on Jul 24, 2012 at 1:53 am

Proton always bising lebih. Let’s put in REAL track racing:’Old’1992 Honda Civic EG6 vs. ‘New’ 2012 Satria Neo R3 whateverlah latest edition…20 year technology gap…but see who smokes who…No need to use Honda DC2 or EK9 Type R lah, little brother EG6 is enough…

• honda pernah menang rally ke?

• Luigi on Jul 24, 2012 at 10:51 pm

@byer they never won rally. But they did win the formula one world championship from 1986 to 1991. Not to mention the British Touring Car Championship multiple times. So screw rallying

• mboim on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:25 am

winning formula one world championship nor bt car championship neither makes a car maker to be great

just look at the massive recalls, where are their quality?

• v-power on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:42 pm

Well…going the turbo route will probably address Honda’s achilles heel – low-end torque. However, turbocharging also means sacrificing the Type-R’s high compression ratio to cope with the demands of forced induction…

So it’s probably a mixed blessing for Honda fans. Personally, I would like to see the Type-R’s manic, free-revving lump be around for a long, long time…it’s arguably still the best NA performance engine by far…but in this age of downsizing, emissions control, efficiency, etc…even the great Type-R would be forced to adapt eventually…although Honda could spring us a surprise, who knows…

• menzz on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Turbo+High compression+Direct injection = Possible?

• gti-r on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:23 pm

yes, possible if the logo is honda, it can smoke ferrari and stable at 500km/h!!

• surprise us with the pricey price too, isn’t that honda name?

• droll on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:35 pm

why don’t they do a high revving turbo charged engine? :P

*runs away*

• qsdww on Jul 23, 2012 at 8:19 pm

because they also have limitation of their gearbox, same as what they poke against virtual cvt

poor honda

• MrChocoHazelnut on Jul 23, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Hmm.. For me, b18c-r is the best engine honda’s has ever built. Sweet high revving, the rush when vtec opened.. Ha.. Those day are the best.. Now they even bought the halfcut and sumbat into civic Eg.. Honda bullet they call it, but with b18c, it should be faster than bullet? Right? :)

• ttirim on Jul 23, 2012 at 8:22 pm

old tech already, it pollutes environment more than modern engines. even proton has complied euro 3/4 at that time, japs engine leaves behind

• Extrimist on Jul 23, 2012 at 8:53 pm

B18C Integra Type-R is launched at 1995. Yeah, old technology indeed. But 1800cc NA engine with 180PS + that red engine’s vtec sound is unforgettable. Even different with ordinary vtec.

What engine does Proton got at 1995 that you meant? Please share with us..Thanks

• kuilm on Jul 24, 2012 at 5:38 am

japs engines like old vtech once was higher output but more pollutive, camro and cps lesser output but less pollutive

old japs engines may have higher output but less in emission standard, now want to try to catch up with other engines like contis/proton

• James on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:47 pm

dear proton supporter dont bash other car brands because .. really .. proton has no real racing dna built in.. none.. zero.. kosong.. and proton did is buy lotus, put lotus badge on their cars and claim tuned by lotus.. pergh.. i can guarantee no engine proton engine today matches up to an old engine like B16A.. and no im not a honda supporter as well.. just stating the facts.

• I still think the Euro version looks better. True to the Civic’s roots, a proper hatchback. I can still remember how nice it was to throw the mk1 civic round corners. Honda make awesome engines. But the current series of cars are too sedated, due to fuel economy tuning. My wife’s Accord just can’t move.

• kancil on Jul 23, 2012 at 8:12 pm

hope this latest na could rev up to 12k rpm..huhu. this is real racing DNA.

• armandd on Jul 23, 2012 at 8:28 pm

The previous Civic hatch looks better than the new one. What happpened Honda?

• Liew Chun Seang on Jul 24, 2012 at 1:14 am

Honda ex5 jela yg aku mampu

• DArkerMarker on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:49 pm

why these ppl always smoke this, smoke that…..

Just like kids comparing who got the better toy. Just like guys comparing their c**k size.

Grow up la…..

• rkike on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:35 am

there was times when honda gets chance to smoke this, smoke that, and this time deemed not

just accept it, no car would stay ahead all time, honda is still honda, won’t run like a ferrari, even it’s engine changed, doubt it’d be safe with its sampan handling

• Liew Chun Seang on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:18 am

Agree with darkerMarker…hehe

• queen on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:26 am

susah-susah sangat tutup je la honda “tak guna” ni…hehe

• aboy1106 on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:44 am

hye all..juz wanna ask u guys…how much is a 2nd hand type r will usually cost and what about the other cost like the insurance etc.is it fuel efficiency?