Automated Enforcement System (AES) FAQ by JPJ

JPJ have released an FAQ on the Automated Enforcement System (AES) that was announced earlier this month. The AES system will use around 800 fixed and 500 portable speedtrap cameras from two different manufacturers to ‘monitor’ traffic in 831 “black spot” areas on highways in addition to stretches of state and federal roads. All the cameras – which have a 11MP resolution – will be able to record both still image and video footage of vehicles committing speed-related offences, and are connected via a broadband link to the respective system’s headquarters. Once captured, the photographic evidence is then passed on to the JPJ, which will verify it, and a fine is then issued to traffic offenders.

Continue reading for the full AES FAQ.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AESFAQ on Jul 24, 2012 at 5:27 pm

If the speed limit is 90km/h. Would i get summonce for driving at 93km/h?
    What is the speed tolerance before being captured and get summon?

• Gabla on Jul 24, 2012 at 6:22 pm

This should also be used against those fast lane hoggers. Eventhough the car is driving at the speed limit, the fast lane should only be used for overtaking. People need to learn how to move to the slower lane when there is enough space.

• why cant i drive at the speed limit on the fast lane? if i drive below the speed limit on the fast lane it makes sense to flash or honk me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • sawdust on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:40 pm

i pity your attitude and arrogance. if you are driving, you should ALWAYS either be slow or middle lane. fast lane is for OVERTAKING only. you are the reason why our highways speed always slow down for no reason even though in front there’s no traffic jam,

• Gabla on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Changing lane is so challenging is it? Fast lane is for overtaking, regardless whether you are at the speed limit or faster.

FYI, the legal limit for lorries is 90 kmh on the highway, so can lorries stay on the fast lane doing 90kmh since they are driving at their maximum legal speed?

• Victor Hoh on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Gabla, tell me, if you are driving at 150km/h, are you going to switch from fast lane to mid/left lane for every single car that you overtake? If not, then you are also not overtaking, but cruising on the fast lane.

• Victor Hoh on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Since I cannot further reply on your post, I will respond here.

I totally agree with every point in your post. Especially your last point regarding slowing down. This is something that I notice not many drivers are practising. Most drivers in Malaysia will simply floor the paddle to overtake, in order to change lane, and sometimes follow immediately with a turning. In fact, they can achieve the same by just slowing down the change lane from behind.

Personally, as much as I can, even though I might be driving at 120km/h, I try to move to the left. This is because driving on the left is more relaxing, since I do not need to constantly monitor the rear for approaching cars.

My only gripe is about those arrogant drivers who think that driving at 180km/h makes them the King of the road. Tailgating, flashing non-stop, honking, and neglecting the fact that there is no gap for the car in front to change lane. In fact, if they have kept a safe distance, the car in front will have a chance to slow down, and be able to move left to a much smaller gap.

• JeremyNg on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:59 am

bro are you drunk or wat ??/

• trolol on Jul 27, 2012 at 2:42 am

You are not permitted to go over the speed limit under any circumstances. When overtaking you are only meant to maintain the maximum posted speed and overtake the person who is going less than the posted speed.

You think the law your father write wan ah?

• Victor Hoh on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Same goes for impatient tailgaters. There is no need to follow so closely to intimidate the car in front. Most of the time the car in front is also overtaking a stream of slow cars on the left. Just keep safe distance, put on indicator, and wait for gap to come for the car to move. If still not move, then flash/honk.

• Gabla on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:03 pm

Even at 180 kmh and it is just a two lanes highway, I will always move to the slower lane when there is enough space. This is what I learned when I took my driving license test in Germany. Driving on the Autobahn is a compulsary part of taking a driving license there.

It is not that hard actually, you just need to make viewing the rear view mirrors once in every few seconds a habit. No need to look for so long, just a glimpse every time is enough, you will be aware of your surrounding and soon you will realise that cars around you do not move much in relative to your position.

The car on the left is still there but now slightly further, the car directly behind is now closer and etc. With all this info, it is easier to make decision for a lane change. You will also learn that you are not just driving forward with the accelerator, you can also move backwards relative to others by varying your speed.

• kadajawi on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Not necessarily. A common driving practice in Germany for example is to get off the accelerator when there is a slower car blocking the way and hoping that the car will move out of the way in time. If he doesn’t the brakes are used so that a crash is avoided, just. Because most of the time the slower driver will give way making early braking (to keep a safe distance) unnecessary and a waste of fuel.

I do think after this maneuver one should fall back a bit, but signaling that the person should get out of the way (especially if there is no car in the middle or the gap is so big that the slower driver could easily go to the middle lane, let the faster one go past and then move to the right lane again).

In any case, if you think Malaysian drivers are intimidating, then try German ones. Especially seasoned drivers can have an extremely agressive style when they approach in their company car (usually big Audi or BMW), and they never overtake on the slower lane, so they flash a lot and come closer very fast (braking late). Inexperienced drivers can be so intimidated that they unnecessarily try to avoid a crash and in result crash.

Btw. I will also always move to the slower lane when possible. Some passengers complained my driving would make them seasick (because of the lane changing).

• Gabla on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Kadajawi, your comment shows exactly that you have the experience driving on the Autobahn. Not many here have the experience driving at such speed legally and safely, that’s why here most people will associate speed with reckless driving.

• RedLine on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:17 pm

I fully agree. Turning on your right indicator/signal is a much more polite way to ask other drivers to make way so that you can overtake them. People should refrain from flashing other cars when trying to overtake as it can be regarded as rude.

• there’s only one easy way to settle this. @sawdust n @gabla, go tell that to the cops the next time u get ticketed. let us know if that works.

• kerelbort on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:16 am

why?

a simple English as LIMIT can’t be understood?

Imagine, every car driven at 110kmh speed LIMIT. Technically, everyone on the same speed. while overtaking a car which driven at 110kmh speed LIMIT means you are over that LIMIT and as a traffic offender, you are punishable by the AES.

overtaking does not means that you could drive above the speed limit.

where do u get your license, dude?

• Gabla on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Sorry but when I took my license here, everything is in Malay so I don’t understand “LIMIT” very well. However I was also tought about traffic signages when I took my license here. One of the signages that I learnt has this wordings on it:

“IKUT KIRI KECUALI MEMOTONG”

I’m not sure why they made this signage much bigger than the speed limit sign. Maybe they wanted more people to be able to read and understand the meaning of it since a lot of them still do not understand that the fast lane is only for overtaking.

• redsupra on Oct 21, 2012 at 11:58 pm

I am overtaking car at the 2nd so i did follow the rules after finish overtaking or theres a safe gap i would move in automatically, but sometimes those impatient drivers keep thier highbeams on and tailgate u. If im annoyed by them i would give them a brake light if they are still near to my car i will slam my brakes to show them how annoying they are. U are not a VIP or whatsoever. why shuld i give way to u when im also trying to overtake other cars? u want fast go over to the opposite lane to overtake lah.. make ur own 4th lane

• limit on Jul 27, 2012 at 2:51 am

Agreed on the first point. That’s why it’s called the speed LIMIT. Overtaking cars does not exempt you from following the speed limits!

It’s so damn simple.

• kenasaman on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:03 am

ok guys just to share: 3 days ago i baru je kena saman. driving 126 on highway speed limit 110. tgh kat lane kanan nak overtake kreta lain pulak tu.
          moral of the story: dont try to be funny. memang signboard kata ikut kiri kecuali memotong, tp had laju tetap 110.
          so x kisah la whether u on the left lane ke middle atau right or on the emergency lane ke dh masuk divider atau ravine, jgn sesekali cecah 110. bukan murah nk sedekah rm150 gitu je.

• cutester on Jul 24, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Oh my… Look at that picture. Speed limit is 25kph and the car is going at 92kph. Excess of 67kph. How much would that summon be?
      Sometimes road works will have very slow speed limit. So better be careful and follow the speed limit or else will burn a big hole in the wallet.
      There’s even a 2 lanes road and 3 lanes expressway with 60kph limit. Wide road but speed limits that doesn’t make sense.

• Vincent on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:14 pm

we need JPJ to publish the location of the camera. not hidden behind the road work showing a 25km/h sign. may be they will install the portable camera inside the PATUNG that flashing the yellow/ red flag.

• hairie on Jul 28, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Just to share my expr. Im stay in south korea and drive car almost one year in here. Actually there are a lot of speed trap cameras in here. But, everything are mention in Navigation system (of course they are having warning sign 2km before). No need to worry. Basically it is +- 5 to km/h limit.

• Not possible because the speed will be calculate based on GPS speed (which is always show 2-9km/h lower than actual speed)

• chan kam nam on Jul 24, 2012 at 5:34 pm

I support this system. Pay if you commit the crime rather than the current ‘stupid road blocks’ to cari makan and causing traffic jam.

• carifood on Jul 24, 2012 at 6:00 pm

i like you optimism (naivete?) that there’ll be no stupid road blocks in the future.

• bear in mind, this AES is under JPJ purview.
        Roadblock normally conducted by traffic police.

• saja nak tambah. lorong paling kanan ialah untuk kereta VVVVIP ber”eskot” dan kereta mahal mencecah RM1juta sahaja. Lorong paling kiri ialah untuk kereta VMP ( Very Miskin Person)macam saya ( Iswara ). So, tepuk dada dan tanyalah poket anda!!!!

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 24, 2012 at 5:36 pm

“Lokasi pemasangan kamera tetap AES bukan rahsia tetapi diwar-warkan sebagai peringatan kepada pengguna jalanraya. Papan tanda amaran akan dipasang sebelum pengguna jalanraya menempuh kawasan yang dilengkapi kamera AES.”

They better not lie about this statement.

• ok then, people obey the rule because police is watching them, not bcoz for safety or self-awareness. sigh.. we need a better education approach in teaching our kids.

better for JPJ put a warning signboards everywhere without putting cameras.

• JeremyNg on Jul 24, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Just wonder do it work during night time ??!!

why don they install this camera at shopping mall car park or black area for robbers ??!!

• Its for speedtrap system..not robbertrap system or carparktrap system

• Off topic, but come to think of it.. What is more severe, speeding or kidnapping/murder/rape?

The G not getting their priority right.

• kadajawi on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Why? Speeding can make money. Catching kidnappers, muderers and rapers, no money in that.

• this camera is mated with image processing tech which specifically for speed trap lah.

• dreaming of maserati on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:09 pm

this project is under JPJ la! they made alot of money from the WWW tender. So now can install more cameras for long term income. JPJ wont give a damn about your robber/rapist etc.!!!

• it works at night..i saw the flash!!!!!!!!!!

• Ricky James on Jul 24, 2012 at 5:47 pm

VOTE FOR PR! 2GATHER WE CHANGE FOR BETTER FUTURE!!!

• carifood on Jul 24, 2012 at 6:01 pm

PR govt no road tax! oil free some more! let’s vote!!

• Come on! This is nothing related to Politic! I support this as long as all the driver is being notified whenever the camera is being installed at black spot. If not, it will only serve as a mean for government to issue summon. The real intention of this should be decreasing the fatal accident rate.

• Its more like “lawless when there is no camera/police/jpj/parent/gf” n “become law abiding driver/citizen/son/bf when there is camera/police/jpj/parent/gf”

• apa ke halnya on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:20 pm

boring…what? u think change gov can change policy easily….it’ people habit laa…pls get urself educated first before say undi pr can change everything…this system is use to educate and discipline people…not related to politics at all!

• kenny_lim on Jul 24, 2012 at 5:50 pm

they spent millions on the itis and what are the use? for the past 2-3 yrs, the camera only shows the federal highway only……

• ITIS is for road/transport information system not speedtrap system maa..

• kzm, don’t respond to these people, they’re obviously ignorant on what they’re talking.

• maajeeedaaa on Jul 24, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Issuing summons to rakyat is more important than catching true criminals!!!

• johndoe on Jul 24, 2012 at 6:04 pm

You don’t understand. catching true criminal does not generate revenue.. This does!

• kerelbort on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:19 am

a good work force died on the road everyday due to accident and is a loss to the nation economy, but reading these comment. I don’t really care about both of you.

• kadajawi on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Workforce cheap in Malaysia. Life is cheap in Malaysia. Am I too cynical? Maybe. But isn’t it this way?

Otherwise there’d be policies to make cars safer and to punish companies like Toyota which prefer to make more profit. They’d try to get kapcais off the road or at least punish some sense into their drivers (very, very bad driving habits). The driving education would be improved (for example by not only using Vivas and Kancils for that, but also to use Personas or better to teach students how to drive on the highway). Proper systems can be adopted from Europe.

Personally I don’t even think a speed limit is necessary in many places, Germany is a good example that a general speed limit doesn’t mean it’s more dangerous (look at the statistics). Rather it makes people concentrate more on the road and generally be more skilled drivers when it comes to observing the traffic and judging speeds.

• The sarcasm is too high in this one LOL

• MoFaz on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:31 am

this system will be paid by those who break the rules. all this while, they have been paying the fines with their own life and also life of other innocence people in accidents.

• MoFaz on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:33 am

this system will be paid by those who break the rules. all this while, they have been paying the ‘fines’ with their own life and also life of other innocence people in accidents.

• dreaming of maserati on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:14 pm

its obvious right? do you think the cops rather face a machete wielding criminal or face you and earn some duit kopi?

• Love this. Way too much reckless drivers on the road nowadays. If you are one of them you have all the reasons to be mad. Next this should be implemented for illegal parkers too.

• keluangman on Jul 24, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Make money for u know who lah!

• thebosssedangbercakap on Jul 24, 2012 at 6:05 pm

hOREY!! KRONI kaya lagi…

• Not to mention those garang gunis will be rich as well ^^.. the cameras will be dismantled on the 2nd operational night. LOL.

• Yeah right. You want accident rate to go down? Put real huge-ass cameras at accident prone zones, and huge signs for ‘speed-camera ahead’, just like what they’re doing in Singapore. Not hide cameras around the area, waiting for people to speed into their trap. This is crap, more like generating income for JPJ rather than fixing the situation.

• Jerry Tan on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:48 pm

Totally agree with you. This also what they did in a civilise country like England. Huge & Yellow painted speed camera with sign board “Speed camera ahead”. The “Purpose” is to REDUCED speed which end up with accident.The purpose is not earning money from summons. Don’t be a fooled playing hide & sick or belakang belakang shoot photo. At the end send you a summons and yet no speed & accident were reduced all the way. Our government followed England foot steps by painting school buses to yellow & a special bus lane on the left. Why they don’t followed the huge yellowed camera & signboard? Because they want is OUR money, not our safety

• kerelbort on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:23 am

please read.

Lokasi pemasangan kamera tetap AES bukan rahsia tetapi diwar-warkan sebagai peringatan kepada pengguna jalanraya. Papan tanda amaran akan dipasang sebelum pengguna jalanrayamenempuh kawasan yang dilengkapi kamera AES.

if you can’t read Bahasa Malaysia and is a Malaysian, i pity you.

• car driver on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:31 pm

i take it you haven’t been following the issue from the start.

the gov. and the chief of police have submitted a press statement earlier this year saying there’ll be no more hiding from the police conducting speedtraps.

and yet you can still see the white exora nearly everyday at the side of the Bukit Kayu Hitam-Kuala Perlis highway carrying out speedtraps without proper signage of an impending speedtrap ahead.
          if you happen to travel on the highway do slow down and take a look at the stretch around the Arau exit. he’s there either in the white proton wira or exora or under the flyovers around the stretch (there’s 3). easy to spot, unless you’re blind.

the police is still HIDING. they’re not trying to reduce the accident rate; they’re robbing any money left in your pocket to feed their cronies.

• kerelbort on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:58 pm

donno why i cannot reply to below comment and donno why ppl assume another people nvr follow issue from beginning.

there’s notice board on kawasan pengawasan had laju in KL and southbound PLUS but I also notice there’s hiding police doing speedtrap. but with AES, no more hiding, it is static camera. If the government don’t want to give the notice, somebody will publish it either in GPS or maybe a print out.

• tunguuu on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:21 pm

hahaha..even in singapore some policemen r hiding somewhere to catch u :)

• kerelbort on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:24 am

in singapore, its not only the police that are hiding to catch you, volunteer parent who tried to get their children into good school also out there trying to catch you throwing rubbish wrongly.

• “Sistem penguatkuasaan yang selamat, kerahsiaan, integriti dan kesediaan (24 jam). ”

“Lokasi pemasangan kamera tetap AES bukan rahsia tetapi diwar-warkan sebagai peringatan kepada pengguna jalanraya. Papan tanda amaran akan dipasang sebelum pengguna jalanraya menempuh kawasan yang dilengkapi kamera AES.”

Orly?

• U just give prejugdement that they will not…wait till they implement than bash la

• Ah Chan on Jul 24, 2012 at 11:59 pm

The cameras should be marked and the location of fixed cameras made known. If the purpose of the cameras is to reduce the rate of accidents at high risk areas (as per definition of location), having a semi secret camera location isn’t going to help… It just sounds like it’s another method of getting funds

• so zai on Jul 24, 2012 at 6:39 pm

Install those camera in crime black spot will be better, crime rate is shooting up n they are more concern of sending u summon

• tokmoh on Jul 25, 2012 at 11:57 am

Hisapputing say crime rate is low, those cases are isolated only. Ah jib oso say we’re safest country in ASEAN. Hooray, terima kasih barisan nasional, di bawah pimpinannya, negara kami ke arah kuasa besar dunia!!

/sarcasm

• Expatriate VN on Jul 24, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Another project Barang Naik Gov to enrich cronies!

• 4g63tdsm on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:03 pm

The problem with speed camera is that it’s fine with only one car in the frame. What about if there are several cars in frame?

• Spend those money on fixing cctv in high crime rates area can help thousands of ppl from being raped, snatched, murdered or whatsoever..
    But no choice la.. like what bro above said, this generates revenue, reducing crime doesnt.. haiz.. my beloved country Malaysia is being ruined by $$$suckers..

• Thats currently or already implemented

• kerelbort on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:26 am

crime happen everywhere nowadays,
      cctv. yes that has been implemented but it does not cover every inch of Malaysia.

• u are blind actually. im kuantan, klang valley there are so many cctv to catch shoplifters, robbers and thieves

• u are blind actually. in kuantan, klang valley there are so many cctv to catch shoplifters, robbers and thieves

• ammar on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:09 pm

hayya..nowadays govt so smart to make easy money.more fast,efficient,and more money!!!more shopping for rosmah.

• Paint on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Better start ordering Valentine speed jammers from the US, or the revolving plate number (ala James Bond).

• kimikira on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:18 pm

what? put the camera for decrease accident rate? how about put the camera on the high crime spot to lower the crime rate?
    answer is : INCOME / Safe for them

• Thats we already have…remember bout a lady that had been rob, injured n died but no body help..catch by cctv..one way to show how heartless malaysian r

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 24, 2012 at 11:43 pm

So did they manage to catch the robbers?

Unlike most Malaysians, you are an expert at fighting armed robbers?

• So you mean have already so cannot improve? It’s like you buy a Kancil and you drive that car forever.

• perantau on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:23 pm

I am absolutely support this system if they use the same SOP like in UK and Australia. It is also good to have average speed check camera especially in highways. Just to educate Malaysian to respect the traffic rules and regulations. Make sure there is no exception to the politicians (except for their official car with escort)! also to the “kereta pegawai penyiasat” if they don’t have siren with strobe light!! Since this is an online system which the data can be accessible in real time, make sure the JPJ have traffic history check on singaporean car leaving this country.

• coolape on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:25 am

agreed… like a friend of mine got traffic summon during his stays in Singapore… at Tambak Johor the Singaporean Custom won’t let him drive thru unless he settle the summon first… should be practiced by Malaysian authority as well.

• Insight42 on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Lepas nie banyak keta pakai no.plate palsu/kabur/patah….mcm2 cara nk elak kena saman

• Jerry Tan on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Another project for Government to earn extra income. Anyway i believe at least 10-15 of this device will be “missing” !! Then few hundred thousand lost ….

• so far anywhere has implemented this cam yet??

• MoFaz on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:59 pm

US and UK already using this for ages.. and in the JPJ statement also mentioned 90 other countries…

• Cedyy on Jul 24, 2012 at 7:48 pm

please catch the queue jumpers!

• eMKay on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Good effort, pls ensure efficient enforcement. I live in Saudi Arabia and here when you are caught by speed trap camera message will be sent to your Hand phone within 2 days, and you can immediately make payment via online banking…failure to pay within specified time the amount will be double, we are talking about SR 300 to SR 500 ticket. If u fail to pay, you cannot renew your road tax, and u cannot get out of the country. this is what we call efficient….Kena dua kali and now insaf….

• Just me on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:44 pm

There are plenty of product in US that jammed or absorb or disfuse radar/laser beam. Time to get one.Hahaha

• benlee on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Well, they will just put signboards everywhere regardless the camera are fixed at that locations or not. That’s how they do it how at NS highway now, that’s how they are doing it later. Else where to find all the incomes to finance the cameras.

• THink of it on Jul 24, 2012 at 10:06 pm

I don’t mind if we apply this, but isn’t this the time of the government to raise the speed limit of 110 to slightly higher? its like only 60+ mph :)

• perantau on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:41 am

here in UK the max speed in M6 highway is 70 MPH = to 112 KPH. i did not see any reason to increase the speed limit in Malaysia.

• Overseer on Jul 29, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Do take note in UK before each camera theres a huge bloody ass sign board saying a speed camera ahead. AND u know what happens?? its really there. Unlike here in BOLEHLAND.

On one of my trip to bicester village in the UK on its highway, just before camera got those huge yellow line summore to warn u and if u still speed there its due to ur own sheer stupidity. Compare that to here. Any such thing here?

However im still trying to have faith in my own country that they will implement what they said about the AES having warning beforehand. Only time will tell.

• I just hope this stops some idiotic bus drivers from driving too fast with so many lives at stake. More than once I have been overtaken by fully loaded commercial/school buses when driving at the speed limit!!

• Black Dog on Jul 24, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Look carefully at the readings on top of the photo.

It’s stated: Speed Limit: 25kph, Vehicle Speed: 92kph! Lane: 2

Sure everyone kena saman! That’s what we’re talking about. Setting such a ridiculous low speed limit sure can catch lot’s of culprits!

Niamah!

• the above photo for testing only maa.. see location:–> Speed City.

• farizY on Jul 24, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Revamp the bloody driving school curriculum!! Follow the Germans!!
    The don’t have speed limit, but their average death per year is lower than us, consider also the fact that they have more cars on the road than us..shiissh..
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_traffic-related_death_rate

• blackbox on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:11 am

Maybe because German do not drive milo tin car.

• farizY on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Attitude is the keyword my friend, attitude…one example, even if you tail gate somebody at 40km/h, there’s bound to be collision..
        kat simpang takda guna signal,lampu merah, langgar, pandu 70km/h, duduk di lane memotong..attitude..not speed, alone…

• perantau on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:43 am

then implement also car health check every year, modification check. Can you afford that? or by other Malaysians?

• farizY on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:08 pm

??? That’s something the gov has to think about, no harm done in losing money and improving overall safety, speed camera but same rubbish attitude? nothing will ever change…

• MoFaz on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:24 am

no speed limit in german? have u been there or are u dreaming?

• farizY on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:05 pm

It’s not hard to use wikipedia….

• farizY on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Oh yeah, when I say no speed limit, that applies to the Autobahn, you don’t drive at 200km/h on kampung, if you value your life, that is…

• Malaysian on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:58 am

German got merc, BMW, Audi VW bla bla and good quality road

But in Malaysia, proton, even other manufacture car with no airbag, hmmm road quality hole here n there even not balance…

That’s is the main reason accident occur,

Driving fast is not main root cause,

Driver attitude, road condition , car maintainant, all need to be focus properly

• car driver on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:38 pm

german lives are important to their goverment.
      malaysian goverment don’t give a shit about your life unless you’re some kerabat diraja, politician’s son (UMNO/BN only) or some crony to some politician or kerabat diraja.

they just don’t give a shit about your well being.

• Audi Owner on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:42 am

Can agree with the cameras installation.But are they going to spend on real cost or inflated cost?

• Nothing to worry. It just temporary. As usual, once the machine breaks down, it will be left there.

• dennishart on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:08 am

After this, if I see an express bus honking me at middle lane asking me to go over the speed limit, i’m gonna punch the drivers face..

• cokelatpanda on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:28 am

Too hard to maintain maximum speed 110km/h or below with your current car? Let us to change our overpower car to perodua viva 660. Sure can punya. Do you want?

• ahmadfaris93 on Jul 25, 2012 at 10:02 am

Still absurd. What’s the need for 4th and 5th gear anymore. By the way, they should let us know where the cameras are. I remember the police saying ‘no hiding’ about the speed traps and stuff. However, the loophole to that statement is now that there are no police at the area

• sunny on Jul 25, 2012 at 11:10 am

why don;t they put this camera on our streets, car park, …to stop robbers, thief, murderers ….? Catch a thief or robber don’t earn them money ~@#%!@
    Using our money to get more money fr us.~@#%!@

• tokmoh on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Songlap, songlap everywhere~

• Timothy Dalton on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:26 pm

gomen need money ler, easy way to fill up the empty piggy bank is thru traffic summons leh.

• Extrimist on Jul 25, 2012 at 11:36 am

“A doctor in Japan faces charges for speeding after allegedly posting a video of himself on YouTube driving a £170,000 Ferrari at nearly 80mph in a 30mph zone.

The video shows a man wearing red gloves driving a Ferrari 458 with a camera positioned behind the driver, who at one point appears to race with a white Porsche.

The driver could face a six month jail sentence and an £800 fine if he is convicted.”

• 11 Megapixel image (if 32-bit), is about 4.4MB of space to store it. Movie clip with that high defination 20 frame per second is about 88MB. The system need really a big hard drive for movie clip storage, and sending images to headquarters may need lightning speed wifi.

Apparently the system need high maintenance cost (for fixed unit) else if it ables to capture vandalism. After all, the phenomenon of tailgating would be more hectic, because the tailgater need to avoid from those camera. Thus, they raise the potential of road accident.

Law enforcement is only the effective way? Or not producing high speed car? Or grade/tag each driver for their own speed category (how fast you can drive) while implement all car with the speed limiter which able detect the speed category?

Driver behavior is the root cause and the factor to reduce accident. “Slow” do kill also.

• nurburgring on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:49 pm

AES = Anti extreme speed..how do i drive my 340hp car in the fast lane..sure i will get my summon after 5sec floor the pedal!!

• what happen if all motorist IKUT UNDANG-UNDANG, the contractors sure pokai…

• So all the problems are back to the same point, due to lazyness…lazy to give way, lazy to break, lazy to keep alert on the roads condition from every single corner, all in all is lazy to think for others.
    There are some epic case though, such like care too much about their car and unwilling to “suffer” the engine but still want to overtake from fast lane……
    Why cant malaysian practice the culture of trying to put themselves in others’ shoes???
    Btw, the speedlimits in certain areas should be reconsider before install this AES system, we are in 20s century now and driving modern vehicles, not something like the 1st gen saga.

• It seems that 1 of the camera system (Redflex) has been proven to be unreliable. Look at the amount of court cases being brought to various municipals in the US. Over there got chance to sue… Here, bayar saja, no argument! http://www.fireredflex.com/

• daniel on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:39 am

People gonna start installing “Remote Control Car License Frame” & “Remote Control Electronic Licence Plate Flipper”, the AES will juz encourage more crimes and rebellion among road users once the summon rates start climbing.

• paije on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:11 am

Gov should review the speed limit at certain area..its ridiculous to go to 60kmh from 120kmh in short distance… AND accident always happen on federal roads…not highway….~

• hey most of the people who die in accidents are motorcyclist. I really think they should install something or come up with new rules to reduce that.
    This system is good but i really think it should be also used to capture picture of those drivers who are driving really slow on the middle and the fast line. ITS REALLY ANNOYING TO BREAK ALWAYS WHERE THERE WILL BE AN IDIOT DRIVING SLOW ON FAST LINE.

• racer on Jul 27, 2012 at 2:16 am

110kmj?sure boring for driving.no fun driving anymore.drive+boring+slow=accident…speeding+fun+>eta=no accident…1year always pay 10 ticket for speeding…150 / 160kmj is normal for nowadays car.every years got better car.but y speed limit using old school law..better dont make car higher HP if using old school law..haizz..make ferari car but engine only have 50hp,max speed 110kmj.its more better then gov collect ticket for speeding!

• Common Driver on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:03 pm

This will not solve the issue. To stop ppl from speeding and drive safely, I propose that JPJ/PDRM use the same system enforced in the USA. You must stop the driver in order to issue a summon.

10MPH above limit, you get a ticket.
    25MPH above limit, your driving license will be confiscated and suspended immediately on the spot, and you’d need to attend court to prove your innocence/guilt. If innocent, you get your license back, if not, you’d be suspended, and required to do community services.

35MPH over limit, jail lockup immediately for booking, but released without bond, appear for court date, do the same thing as 25MPH.

But this is Malaysia, what’s going to happen is that the police will see this as another source of extra income through means of corruption.

Anyway, the RM150 is nothing for rich people, just like the above picture, a person driving a Merc C, RM150 is nothing. I’m not claiming I’m rich, but if necessary, I’d speed and take the risk of getting the RM150 summon, because in today’s world, RM150 is nothing to a car owner. Make the summon RM800-1000, and be very persistent at suspending licenses if they don’t pay their summons. And drivers without license should be jailed up and released without bond.

• Common Driver on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Speed doesn’t kill, it is the sudden stopping that actually kills you.

• scania380 on Jul 29, 2012 at 1:24 am

I dont understand why talking about road safety enforcement topic, these PR agent guys will put useless points of stupid politic bashing? Hello.. is this also can’t make PR win in coming election? Anything happen even monkey died falling from tree also worth to these PR minded guys? they will SWEEP OUT everything as a politics.. damaged head of PR devotees.. Don’t u think if (hopefully no) Malaysia ruled by PR, no more summons, no more law enforcement.. peoples can do anything what they want to do.. can speed up to 200kmh, zigzaging, bullying small cars.. then we a going to happy with so called ‘rakyats right’?? pR will give free petrols, free cars for every citizen, no need to get licence, do you want to do.. this is RAKYATs Country.. damm it!!
    Road safety camera is enforcement tools for road user, of course summon is a type of punishment.. then if not work, the next stage will come.. go to jail lah!! Other crime, robbery, rapes, do you think can we track them using cctv or tracking camera? is that worth?

• Samuel on Sep 27, 2012 at 2:08 am

Exactly, I was reading those PR agents’ comments and thinking why nobody counter-argues those points with something that makes logical sense.
      And then I saw your comment, it covers everything that I want to say. Nicely answered, thanks.

• rakyatMalaysia on Aug 09, 2012 at 1:16 pm

this is how government cari makan..more summon more money..

• Regina Shwartz on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:26 pm

I wonder if this will work on those superbikers who just zip along on the speed lane at PLUS and MEX.

#speeddemon

• HCPANG on Sep 26, 2012 at 1:21 pm

I just read the first few top comments regarding fast lane for overtaking only,i guess it must be the three lanes that we are talking about,generally the increasing number of vehicles on the road today requires an urgent expansion to four lanes even five lanes before 2020 then talking about fast lane allowed for overtaking only make sense. In every town that i went,even in the city,there is always congestion,the authority concern should look into solution of widening and traffic lights need readjustment to meet with the present time.

• Lori dan bas ada hadlaju tersendiri. Kalau mereka melebihi hadlaju mereka, tapi tak melebihi hadlaju lebuhraya(110km/j), adakah mereka terlepas dari kamera AES atau tidak?

• The main point is WHY OUTSOURCE it to private company? This is a very ‘profitable’ business.

• slrahim on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:18 am

Saya ingin memberi Pendapat mengenai Sistem AES.
    1. Matlamatnya baik untuk mengurangkan kadar kemalangan dan kematian. Tetapi AES mestilah mendidik dan bukannya untuk menyaman pengguna jalanraya.
    2. Untuk mendidik dan menyelamat jiwa – bukan denda atau saman diutamakan tetapi dikategorikan kepada 3 warna lampu isyarat.
    Contoh: HIJAU = Hadlaju dibenarkan 90/110km/j
    KUNING = Hadlaju amaran 90-100km/j,
    110-120km/j Melebehi kelajuan5-10km/j Tidak
    disaman. SENSOR LAMPU KUNING DINYALAKAN UNTUK BERI AMARAN KELAJUAN DIKURANGKAN
    MERAH = MELEBIHI HAD LAJU 100KM/J< (90KM/J), 120KM/J <(110KM/J) SAMAN DIKENAKAN.
    Teknologi automotif hari ini mempunyai ciri keselamatan yang tinggi. DAN Pemanduan Melebehi kelajuan 90-100km/j, 110-120km/j Tidak disaman. Cadangan ini harap diperhalusi supaya pengguna tidak dibebankan hadlaju ditetapkan tetapi diberikan sedikit kelonggaran. Harap timbang-
    timbangkankan.Tk

• Kalau polis banyak duit, banyak la peruntukan untuk benda lain contohnya menghukum perompak dan perogol. Dan dengan sistem automatik sebegini tak perlulah ramai-ramai polis nak duduk perhatikan pemandu-pemandu tak reti bahasa; lebih ramai polis boleh pergi tangkap perogol dan perompak.

Tapi kalau tak suka bagi duit kat polis, kroni mahupun Rosmah utk shopping; ikut peraturan, tak kena saman. Suka peraturan Jerman, Singapura dan mana-mana lagi tempat lain, pergi mohon untuk duduk Jerman, Singapura dan lain-lain. Kemudian kalau permohonan berjaya, ikut lah peraturan negara baru anda. Tak payah cakap banyak tentang kayakan kroni, nak hukum perogol dan sebagainya. Tak payah gunakan ayat-ayat sebagai senjata atau perisai nak lindungi diri sendiri kalau buat salah.

Kalau buat salah, sedialah untuk dihukum. Jangan politikkan, dan jangan popularkan aktiviti melanggar peraturan. Salah tetap salah.

Satu lagi; banyak negara maju dah lalui pelbagai zaman susah payah dan diktator maka dalam diri rakyatnya memang ada disiplin dan ‘kepatuhan’ yang tertanam sejak sekian lama. Nak didik rakyat Malaysia tanpa melibatkan hukuman dan denda? Mungkin kurang sesuai. Lebih-lebih lagi bila ada terlalu ramai yang sudi jadi jurucakap untuk golongan melanggar peraturan.

Kesimpulan: Jangan langgar peraturan. Kalau langgar, jangan cakap banyak.

• aliff on Jun 17, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Hmm, i just wondering, how the camera work.?that speed trap aes on the highways, wilk have 2 or more lane, so how the speed is detected..? Let say aes on the 2 lanes, so two car passing on different speed which, one below speed limit, the other exceeded, when exceed, the camera will snap photo, both car inside the photo right..? So how it will recognize which car that are exceeding the limit..?