Toyota’s total vehicle production tops 200 million units

Toyota Motor Corporation (TMC) recently announced that its worldwide cumulative vehicle production has surpassed 200 million units in June.

This milestone took 76 years and 11 months to reach, and began with production of the Model G1 truck in August 1935 at Toyoda Automatic Loom Works Ltd.’s Automotive Department, which was spun off to later become TMC. As of the end of June 2012, cumulative production in Japan (including kits for overseas production) totaled 145.21 million vehicles and overseas production totaled 55.12 million units.

“I wish to express my heartfelt appreciation to our customers the world over who made it possible for us to reach this milestone. I also have the most profound respect and gratitude for the efforts of all persons who were involved in developing, manufacturing, and marketing Toyota and Lexus vehicles over the years. We are determined to make our cars even better, to continue to give our customers the best possible product. This is the common goal of our 300,000 Toyota staff members worldwide,” said TMC President Akio Toyoda.

The most-produced model among Toyota-brand vehicles is of course the Corolla, of which the 11th generation was launched in Japan in May. Cumulative worldwide Corolla production totaled 39.08 million units as of the end of June.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Heskey on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:32 am

First!

• MycarMylife on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:39 am

Gosh !
    Thats a alot ot trash , pollution ,emissions and waste of resources, better start thinking Green from now on.
    Add in the others ,MY God.

• alldisc on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:05 am

toyota was among the first to think about the green, they introduced the prius in 1997, meaning started to ponder with ideas as early as 1992.

• Quoting the President, “We are determined to make our cars even better, to continue to give our customers the best possible product.”

Nonsense really? The best possible product by giving us the same old engine and tranny in the all NEW camry. Bravo!

• kiddo on Jul 26, 2012 at 12:33 pm

sometimes old doesn’t mean it’s bad.

I, too, expected to see the new Camry equipped with new engine and new gearbox, say, the one on the Altis maybe; but to be honest, the current 2.0L + 4AT is time-proven. It might not be impressive in temrs of technology but is indeed a piece of reliable and fuel-saving machinery.

• brader_N on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:28 pm

is it too much to ask for new engine and new gearbox technology with reliability and fuel saving??? Toyota product development and RnD team should rectify all major/minor reliability issue before officially release a product into the market unless toyota want to reap optimum profit within shortest time possible. hey they did that with GT86 and LFA, why not good old trusty camry?

• Visitor on Jul 26, 2012 at 12:55 pm

And yet, other people may not share the same sentiment as some of us here.

• Motorer on Jul 26, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Well, Toyota thinks the 12 year old engine is their best mah, so they continue producing it lah. Till 2020 they still think it’s their best wut. Goes the same for the 4 speed auto.

• LexusLover on Jul 26, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Have u driven the new Camry? I have, and for the “old” 2.0 engine u claimed, it is very responsive and acceleration was superb. Because it is so reliable, they can put it on the new generation.

• motorer on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Camry 2.0 0-100 in 12.5 secs. Passat 1.8 0-100 in 8.5 secs. Jetta 1.4 0-100 in 8.5 secs. Polo 1.2 0-100 in 9.7 secs. Indian made Polo Sedan non-TSI 1.6 0-100 in 12.3 secs. Let’s talk responsiveness. Alangkah puasnya Toyota!

• Pumpkins on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:50 am

At current rate Proton would take 377 years to achieve 200 million cars sold…

• MycarMylife on Jul 26, 2012 at 12:07 pm

good one

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Dream! This jaguh kampong may not last beyond 2015 when AFTA is coming, or this year if PR win GE 13 – take over Putrajay and abolish excise duty/AP.

• well, if PR did so, they are stupid enuf to killl the brand.

• Anti-Proton on Jul 26, 2012 at 1:18 pm

let the Proton brand die,who cares when we can get better cars for cheaper price

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2012 at 4:57 pm

The Jaguh Kampung cannot survive in open market, don’t blame other kill them. They are the one to blame themselve for cheapskate and inferior product!

• confused on Jul 26, 2012 at 1:32 pm

if if if if if if if if if if if if if
        not sure yet..

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2012 at 4:54 pm

So, which one make you very sure!!!!!!!!!
          IF, and IF and the only IF everything can be pre-determine and very sure, then please give me four digit to strike 1st prize from KTM (Kuda, TOTO and Magnum).

• please go and read about afta again, it’s not like that

• biglama on Aug 06, 2012 at 12:49 am

if you slash down the price overnight after PRU13 winner announcement, then 2nd hand market will crash down so badly that nobody can sell their car without having to suffer heavy losses on their car values. You can buy that dream car cheaper but your current car now is your problem as you got to trade it real cheap. I suggest gradually reduce car price.

• kerelbort on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:52 am

new corrolla does look like something design by china car… BYD perhaps.

• The design could be literal translation from ??? (kào y?o l?, sounds similar to Corrolla) which means see ghost/wtf/bs, etc…

• Motorer on Jul 26, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Yeah, at first glance I thought it was BYD.

• William on Jul 26, 2012 at 4:32 pm

I have a Camry and a latest Yaris. They might not be the best looking or has the latest engine or gear box but they are reliable cars that are fun to drive. A Camry cost around A$30k and a Yaris < A$20k and they won't punch a hole in your wallet like those German made.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:14 pm

This is strong evident on the ground from consumer about T car! Now we should understand why Toyota can become world class player.

• MycarMylife on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Reliable car yes ,Fun !!! no nver heard before.

• William on Jul 28, 2012 at 6:11 am

It is undoubtful the Toyota cars are fun to drive for average drivers who commute daily to work, do their shopping and sending children to school. They are very comfortable too if used in interstate highway travel which I believe will not score below any German made. I do agree for serious drivers, they have to sought other more exotic made. Toyota cars are not made neither for sprinting nor drag. It is definitely not a fun car to drive in that context.

• japs cars are not really fun to drive on highways, handling like sampan

• brader_N on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:39 pm

sir,if you have bought them(Camry&Yaris) in RM instead of AUD, im sure you say going to say otherwise

• William on Jul 28, 2012 at 6:20 am

My take is that Malaysians shall not be penalised for having a descent cars by the Government. I don’t think Asutralian cars are cheap. They are just reasonably taxed. Malaysians shall also put more emphasis on the safety aspect of cars and pay more attention to Ancap/ Ncap rating. A similar Toyota model will have different ANCAP rating in Australia and Malaysia due to the safety features. A base Yaris in Australia will have seven airbags and all safety features and is ANCAP rated 5 stars. In a similar collision, an ANCAP rated one star vehicle might have a serious fatality but ANCAP five stars will only have minor injury. Australians will generally less concern on the luxury features like SAT navigation etc. A A$100 SAT nav or even a tablet loaded with map is equally good.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Taniah to Toyota, credit should be given where it is due! Why there are people up there complaint on other aspect, old-thispold-that tech or engine?

• ss427 on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:30 pm

My God Danny, do you have to put a pic of that superbly awful Gen11 JDM Corolla up there?:(

Compared to the dashing new Forte shown above, the Corolla looks so 1980s… and it sure drives like one too.

• Modesto on Jul 26, 2012 at 6:57 pm

I am a Toyota owner, it may not be the best in design or having sophisticated technology. It is more on the total toyota experience, cheaper to maintain, and when it has an issue, u know there is a technical support for it to bring you back on the road in the shortest timeframe. Imagine u drive a car with best design and sophisticated engine, when issue hits, the garage people only say sorry to you coz they can’t find a solution for u. Like a doctor asking a forth stage cancer patient to go home, wait and see.

• learn from hyundai and kia la, design still like shiat.

• Compilor on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:47 am

Toyota Motor Corp regained the lead in global car sales over General Motors Co in the first half, with Volkswagen AG poised to move past GM and push the U.S. automaker into third place for the full year.

1. Toyota with 4.97 million vehicles
      2. GM with 4.67 million vehicles
      3. VW with 4.45 million vehicles

I don’t see any reason, or in what terms that Toyota should learn from Koreans.

• NISSpengAN on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:35 pm

The new 11th generation toyota corolla/altis was so ugly than my cock lah, toyota really moving backward.WTF!!!

• 1jzx100 on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:21 pm

I own few toyotas..1996 markII 1jz, crown athlete grs180, corona premio at210, lexus ls400 1uz and toyota celsior 3uz(ls430) and I swear to god this is the best and reliable machine on the road…I can take any of these toyotas over merc or bm any day…you drive one then you know…

• 1jzx100 on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:23 pm

I own few toyotas..1996 markII 1jz, crown athlete grs180, corona premio at210, lexus ls400 1uz and toyota celsior 3uz(ls430) and I swear to god this is the best and reliable machine on the road…I can take any of these toyotas over merc or bm any day…you drive one then you know…

• yanes on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Ok. Now give every Toyota owners the GT86. Please.. :)

• dreaming of maserati on Jul 27, 2012 at 1:26 pm

give credit where its due…even saga FL looks much better than the fugly corolla pic up there.