DRIVEN: Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML 350 4MATIC BlueEFFICIENCY previewed – a quick return to KL

There are times that I wish premium carmakers would be less strict with the N portion of NVH. Sound, it seems, has the ability to alter emotion and shift your perception of a vehicle. I found myself again in one of those times, behind the wheel of the just-released third generation W166 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML 350 4MATIC BlueEFFICIENCY.

No, obviously the noise is not coming from the wind – who likes the sound of buffeting air anyway? This noise originates under the bonnet and in front of the firewall. Although muted and soft, the growl is unmistakable and inspires primal instincts.

More to read after the jump.

A 3,498 cubic centimetre furnace orchestrates the bedlam. The explosions within the V-arranged six cylinders generate loud digits like 306 hp at 6,500 rpm and 370 Nm at 3,500 to 5,250 rpm.

Melded with the engine is a 7G-TRONIC Plus seven-speed automatic with torque converter lockup, twin turbine damper and Direct Select gearshift. The stick is fixed to the column but if you want full control, there are always the paddle shifters. Get it all right and the W166 can hammer out figures like 0-100 km/h in 7.6 seconds and 235 km/h for a top speed.

As impressive as the numbers are, none of it matters. The ML 350 feels faster than what is suggested. Step harder on the accelerator and the W166 pays back with a steady stream of power and speed. And the noise coming from the engine is empowering – I want more of it.

If getting away from zero is quick, pushing its speed deep into the hundreds is even more. Effortless is the better word to describe the rapid climb in pace, especially when you take into consideration that this SUV is 2,130 kg. Not exactly featherweight.

So high-speed stability scores full marks; four large 265/40 R21 footprints are only part of an entire system that ensures it is so. The W166 rides on an Airmatic air suspension that can increase the distance between the undercarriage and the road with a push of a button. Completing the set is the Active Damping System that relaxes or tenses the chassis with a push of another button; yes, the one with ‘Comfort’ and ‘Sport’ stickered on it.

To keep the SUV’s roof from getting intimate with the tarmac, the ML 350 comes equipped with the Active Curve System. Briefly, the system uses active anti-roll bars on the front and rear axles that adapts itself to lateral acceleration, road speed and the ADS Comfort/Sport setting to keep the M-Class the right side up.

Unfortunately, I did not get the chance to try the Active Curve System in full. In media drives like this, one normally shares the car with two other journalists. My leg of the journey started from one of the rest stop along the North-South Highway to Glenmarie. It was one, long and straight road devoid of any worthy corners and off-roading opportunities. And no, as much as I wanted to, I couldn’t stray from the set course, because the ML 350 needed to be returned by 6pm.

So I cannot tell you how well the M-Class stitches up corners or how well it devours the rough off-roads. Nor can I tell you how well the ACS works.

I can tell you one thing, this is a vehicle to travel long distances in. Let’s put aside the fact that the ML 350 has the lungs and legs to complete the marathon in shorter time. It’s the well-appointed interior that will have you leaving the car the in same condition you got in five and a half hours ago.

The rear seats are especially comfortable – there’s extra length that cradles long thighs. And the rear gets air-conditioning together with entertainment in the form of a DVD player and screens fixed to the back of the front seats. Leather is the choice trim for the seat and while it may not look the part, you can luxuriate at the back of the M-Class.

Most of the front is covered in skin, too. Dashboard, transmission tunnel and door cards have that unmistakable luxuriousness about it. The highlight here, similar to the B-Class, is the dashboard element that you can either opt for in gloss or matt wood. I’d recommend the matt wood.

Ergonomics are excellent and if it isn’t, you can adjust the seat and steering to fit you like a tailored suit. The control panel on the centre console is closer than one arm’s length (assuming you have the right driving position) and there are steering mounted controls if you prefer to keep both hands on the wheel.

As with all top-range cars, the ML 350 has plenty of interior space. Its wheelbase stops the tape at 2,915 mm. Shoulder room is said to be 34 mm wider in the front and 25 mm in the rear compared to the W164. What the numbers don’t say is how nice and airy the atmosphere is inside. It has all the required room to move around and the plushness that makes you feel exclusive.

This is one good-looking SUV. All of its dimensions – 4,804 mm long, 1,926 wide and 1,758 mm tall with its suspension set on default – carry an attention-demanding presence that is hard to duplicate. The inherited C-pillar, the long proportions with short overhangs, the Mercedes star in the middle of the grille, the 21 inch 5 twin-spoke AMG wheels and the lights all play its part is turning on the M-Class’ rugged charm.

My drive with the SUV was cut far too early and there were plenty of things left unexplored. As such, it is hard to find faults with this one. One thing is for sure, this is one vehicle that you’ll want to drive again, after you have just driven it.

As the title clearly says, this is a preview of the M-Class. Once the car is available for a longer term, do know that you’ll be getting the complete tear down of the ML 350.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• protonsucks on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:15 pm

hey guys…would you prefer the porsche cayenne or this ml350 ? like if u prefer cayenne, dislike if u prefer ml350

• Mario Gomez on Jul 27, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Both Cayenne and ML are great.

• Alpha on Jul 28, 2012 at 5:33 am

Well,in my opinion,both rides differently.Having tried the W164 M-Class and the previous generation Cayenne,I’ve to say it feels better to sit in the Merc.However,if comparing both non-Airmatic models of 3.5V6(ML) and 3.6V6(Cayenne),the Cayenne feels a bit faster.

The ML is a great car,but people seems to see from the point of badging where they said the Porsche badge means more than the three pointed star.But in my opinion,if you want a Porsche,then the true DNA lies in their sports cars lineup.The amount of Cayennes on our streets have made me see the Cayenne as less than a Porsche and more to a VW.

If you say the Cayenne is a sports car,then so is the VW Touareg and Audi Q7 since they have similar engine and chassis.The Cayenne Turbo 4.8L V8 is really fast,though.But then again,so is the ML63 AMG.Cheers

• Bell&Ross on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:16 pm

dislike both. toyota land cruiser or range rover anyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Alpha on Jul 28, 2012 at 5:35 am

Damn,the LandCruiser’s awesome.My choice of vehicle during a zombie apocalypse.Providing the zombies doesn’t do anything to cut petrol supplies.

The LandRover on the other hand….meh.No longer feels like a true offroader.

• JeremyNg on Jul 28, 2012 at 2:46 am

Porsche cayenne just too common !!! You can saw it everywhere around Malaysia ….. Get this ML =)

• You can see…..Oh my English!!!

• What we see Porsche Cayenne in the whole Malaysia is the old model one, not the New model. Hard to see new model one in Malaysia. u know what i mean..

• Alpha on Jul 29, 2012 at 5:39 am

Really bro??I can see the new Cayenne almost everywhere.If you drive around KL everyday,you are bound to see some.

• TOO MANY NEW MODELS IN MALAYSIA LA BRO.. DRIVE AROUND BANGSAR OR KL. OR DRIVE AT THE LONG STRETCH OF HIGHWAY..

• tricycle on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Chris,

Really nice SUV.

Where is the car now? Can I get to see it before the launch?

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jul 27, 2012 at 5:02 pm

No, I don’t have information as to where the car is now. I guess you may have to wait till the end of August to see the car.

• I think the M-Class will become the class leader. Here in the UK i have already seen a few on the road and they look amazing.
    The interior is excellent and although engine choices are limited are way ahead of their competitors. Definately deserves to wear the 3 Pointed star!

• Jimmy on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Much better looking than the previous. Why didn’t the designer make the width 2000mm so that it is bigger than Ninja King.
    MB M A L A Y S I A please be more generous in airbags, or offer us to buy as optional, RM10OOO per airbag is also okay.

• MB Malaysia should bring in the ML250 CDI 4Matic. It has enough punch from its 2.2L twin turbodiesel engine and the road tax will be wallet friendly than the ML350. The ML250 just beaten the X5 30d in a local car magazine. Problem is whether MB is confident with the local diesel fuel quality. If BMW can sell the X3 20d and X5 30d, don’t see why not. A pity that the price of such vehicle is so expensive locally. Over here, it is on sale for $81,400 which is cheaper than an E Class.

• rear and front overhang is a bit weird from the profile view.

• FootyRoom on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Porsche Cayyene GTS anytime!

• FootyRoom on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:52 pm

And i wonder how much is the price?

• Hmm..at a glance, the rear lights remind me of SsangYong cars.

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 28, 2012 at 1:34 am

I guess the 3.5l engine will be thirsty.

But wait! We need feed the gov with roadtax first before feeding this baby!

• That is some huge rims, 20 inches? Looks great but does it make the ride less comfy?

• Beemer on Jul 28, 2012 at 12:13 pm

To me if BMW can bring in their diesel variants despite low quality diesel in Msia that means their engines are better than Merc. Walk the talk, don’t just say Merc is better etc. Bring the diesel in if you dare. My 2 cents.

• Sam Loo on Jul 28, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Looks like the Ssangyong Stavic

• damage digital on Aug 02, 2012 at 1:53 pm

look odd with 21″ wheels.need fat tire perhaps.