Next generation Mercedes-Benz S-Class interior spied

Our European spy photographers have managed to snap a photo of the next generation Mercedes-Benz S-Class interior, and it’s exposed here in near full glory, showing lots of juicy details such as a full digital LCD panel, a large COMAND infotainment screen, a two spoke steering wheel, as well as classy circular air conditioning vents embedded in large expanse of wood stretched across the dashboard.

The COMAND controller is an evolution of the current controller in the S-Class, but it’s now been revised with dedicated shortcut keys to access specific areas of the COMAND system. Flanking the rotary knob are the controls for the car’s drive mode (it’s said to get a 9 speed gearbox!), suspension mode, and etc.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Whoa!!! Nine speed gearbox!!! That is a lot!!!

• Liking every bit of that interior so far. Except the steering wheel. I can’t decide if I like it or not. The COMAND shortcut keys looks like a very cool idea.

• U r right bro. This is exactly what I think of it….the steering wheel, in my opinion should be slifhgly more modern and sharp looking..the rest of the interior is really a nice modern classic.

• Black Dog on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:43 pm

The steering is inspired by The Joker.

Notice the wide grinning mouth? Batman finally got hold of him!

• jay8393 on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Two-spoke steering wheel looks totally out of place here.

• Well, perhaps mercedes will do what they always do , put this on a S300 and put a 4-spoke one on the s350

• pomen keto on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:26 pm

dont worry bro sure they will have another look like AMG type or sport type…

• “Our” european spy photographers? employed by PT.org?
    wow, keep up the great work!

• Alpha on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:14 am

Any pics of the exterior yet??

• Cutester on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:17 am

Steering kinda reminds me of the Kancil and Wira.

• Kalun on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:26 am

Very clean design. Buttons are situated only at two specific and reachable areas. Good ergonomics.
    Not like Proton Preve. The buttons are everywhere and out of reach too.

Thumbs up for the new Merc-Benz interior

• Kalun on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Sorry guys. If I can’t differentiate between old and new because never been into a Merc-Benz before.

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:49 am

Abit overdone and too complicated

• U r right. This car is not for “blank” people like u. It’s for people with some brain, so that they know how to use and enjoy the “complicated” interior features and ambience. Different level..totally.

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 28, 2012 at 1:24 am

Those who can afford this will not appreciate those feature too much on the front seat. They would prefer more on the back seat.
        Why you want to give your driver so much feature?
        Even if the boss drive himself, i guess he would prefer a simpler function due to his age.

• Maybe it’s just perception, but I still like 3 or 4 spoke steering wheel..

• alldisc on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:20 am

full LCD panel was already used by Jaguar XJ as early as 2010. not much surprising.

but 9 speed gearbox? in malaysia especially most of S class owners are chaffeur driven, they dont bother how many gears the car have.

• And you are one of those chauffeur?

More gears = better fuel economy. Everyone knows that.

You didn’t comment on the gears being more than that in Jaguar. That didn’t “surprise” you?

• Oh No, is like driving a truck…

• so you’re a truck driver?

either you’re dreaming of having driven an S Class before or you’re just trolling.

• peynof**k on Jul 28, 2012 at 11:27 pm

dude..what he meant is the gear..its like driving a truck..too many gear..

• orange on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:30 am

so Mercedes the using window OS for data acquisition, I wonder what software is that ?

• Vodka on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:54 am

Very informative picture. Mercedes Benz engineers use Windows XP and love to listen to Bob Marley.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:57 am

After PR take over and abolish excise duty, this S-Class selling price can reduce from over RM 1 million to around RM 350K, so maybe I can consider to buy one brand new!

• mitzz on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:06 am

The aircond vent is like mercedes in 1970 very classic and very american. It seems Mercedes interior designers are looking back to the 60 & 70 for design inspiration. Throughout thr years Mercedes are very iconic they inspire the design of cars all over the world. But of late their exterior designers have been a sleep or drunk. The previous ML design(very aggressive & stylish) is better that the 2012 model (very tame & lame) the SL previous model looks better that the 2012 model. Hopefull this new S class 2013-2014 design is better that the previous model….

• keluangman on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:31 am

Looks like truck/semi or pickup dashboard!

• born.in.kluang on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Which part of it? the speedometer? the infotainment screen? the wood panel?

• BMW BEST on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:34 am

Don’t like the air vent and steering…others are nice…especially the command button and “joint stick”…

• orange on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:52 am

Hmm..don’t think placing buttons at middle console are appropriate,…they should removed it back to the center console within driver sight… IMO its critically dangerous for driver to have his/her head dip down to switch on the radio/nav mode while driving…

• The 9 speed ZF torque converter automatics will power this and all the other brands in their next product launches. It’ll be common much like how BMW and the rest are widely using 8 speed autos now. However 9 speed will probably be the limit if not close to the limit for torque converter automatic design achieving the target efficiencies. ZF also has 9 speed automatic in the latest front engine front drive cars.

• Bell&Ross on Jul 27, 2012 at 2:16 pm

the full screen lcd panel. when jaguar launched it was sort of cool. but in real life i actually find it harder to read than real dials.

• Interior is more like a gentlement’s club than a like a Rolls. Beautiful.

But the current gen S-Class is still a benchmark, cannot imagine the replacement which is just around the corner…

unbelievable…

• Whatever on Jul 28, 2012 at 9:21 pm

Cause they cant afford to lose out. typical mercedes. Look how many facelifts they have done to the C class and E class in such a short time just to catch up with their competitors. Already look more outdated than the 7 Series and the A8. And the upcoming launching of the new LS. typical…

• Jimmy on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Messy and complicated.
    My car got a lot of electronic features/devices that I have never used since I bought. I have not even touched some of them.

• seroisly, 2 spoke? feels cheap already. my dad’s 1998 citroen evasion has 2 spoke wheel and it looks totally out of date, same issue here on the sclass.

• CarManiac on Dec 11, 2012 at 12:46 pm

dashboard looks like rolls royce one…

• Proton Lover on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:55 pm

A tuned Satria GTi fitted with quad-turbo, up to 950hp, big rear wing & not forgetting the all important bonnet stripes will smoke any MB Any-Class.

Even the Aventador will be pushed hard to catch a Satria GTi