VIDEO: Volkswagen releases Fast vs Fast TVCs

It’s Friday; time to let your hair down. So let’s kick off the weekend (never too early to start) with four videos by Volkswagen. All four are TVCs and as we all know, Volkswagen don’t do boring ads, so this will prove interesting.

The concept is simple – pit a fast Volkswagen against a talent that has to perform one task before the car completes a lap around a track. The take back message here is that you cannot beat the speed and agility of a Volkswagen.

In the first video, you’ll see the Golf R go against Speed Rubik’s Anthony Brooks. The second pits the Jetta GLI against speed guitarist John Taylor. A Golf GTI thumps to the beat with speed beat boxer J-FLO. And lastly, we see if the Jetta GLI can ‘out-chat’ speed talker Fran Capo.

Enjoy.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Name (required) on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:55 am

LOL

• Pls lah VW M’sia bring the Jetta GLI here and remove the boring 1.4 Jetta ! not buy but at least can test drive the beautiful GLI lolx

• polo saga on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:01 am

awesome commercials!

• smart advertisement… VW achieved exactly what they are aiming for….for their brand to be talked about in every houdsehold…that is how to build up interest among the public, in a very effective and damn cheap way too……..

• Statistician on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:10 am

I am going to get a golf after the general election. I heard that the price of GOLF will be RM 56k after they abolish the duty. Go Go Go

• oh no on Jul 27, 2012 at 5:14 pm

new mk6 cbu golf gti price is rm49K as atated in AP cert..

magic comes malaysia hit over rm209k

• carnut on Jul 28, 2012 at 5:52 pm

how did you come up with a cbu golf gti price at RM49k?? a DSG spec mk6 gti in the UK is around 27,000 pounds. thats more like RM130,000.

• Simon Ng on Jul 27, 2012 at 5:17 pm

I sure hope so too. My car is nearly 27 years old now.

But someone in the banking sector told me that we should not celebrate so soon. Banks tend to have limited amount of fund to loan out. So when there is a huge demand for car loan, it drives up the interest rates. So cars prices may drop but interest rates might go up. We would ended up paying a lot on interest. Australia car loan is nearly 10% a year.

Of course, unless you can pay cash for the car…. Sigh.. once again it is the rich that gets the benefit. Low and medium income will get left behind.

• Statistician on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:20 pm

You have an option to save for a few years before you put your booking at least.
        Really appreciate if Paul Tan and member can open a new tread for paultan.org fans to discuss about this matter. Even if that is not happening, we hope the pressure we put on the authority will eventually. 2.4 litre full spec Corolla is only RM 56k OTR. BMW 328 is supposed to priced at RM 103k instead of above 300k.

• Yes, but only if we vote wisely..all car nuts in paul tan should support this..if you dont support cheaper cars, then certainly you are not a car nut!

• Things dont change over night.. As far as I want a fairer car price, hoping a system reform after the election, but abolishing car tax overnight can be catastrophic

There are millions of cars sold in msia for the last 3 years averaging 600,000 cars perannum.. existing owners will have to bare a resale lost of more than 50%, maybe 70%.. Even the best resale car Vios only worth RM30k if Tax is abolished.. Millions of car owners will be screaming instead of rejoicing (ask yourself who just bought a car last few years). The resale value most likely cant even cover the remaining debt as most are extending their loan beyond 5 years.. those who like to change car every 5 yrs and resale value is important to you, ya, keep shouting on the tax reform..

2nd hand cars dealers will be out of business with their existing stock, trust me..

and our beloved P1 n P2 (although I dont like them) will be out of business, close shop and retrench all their staff as their product couldn’t go lower even with the Tax abolished. (mind u Gen2 is selling more expensive than Vios in Taiwan, how can proton lower their price summore). P1 n P2 are only strong in local market and if their local market collapse, just hav to say good bye..

The whole “AP, Tax abolish” only benefit 1st time buyer, those who doesnt care their current car resale value and those who are buying new car on top of their existing one, which made up of minority of the consumer..

The abolish is not a bad thing, but it has to be done with careful strategy, or doing it gradually like for the hybrid cars..

tick as much as “thumsdown”, we are just syok sendiri with the “Tax abolish slogan”.. For those who just bought an expensive new car and support the slogan at the same time, think twice..

• Unforgiven on Jul 29, 2012 at 1:48 pm

I don’t mind to loose rm 100k for my car now. As long as the future generation do not need to go through this (free money in the pocket system, aka AP). It’s for M’sia future where I’ll support a clean business. If you can’t enjoy buying a BMW now, make sure your children get the chance. Unless if you are u member or crony.

• I fully support the ideas of changing the tax structure, this AP & execesive tax got to go away for the sake if implementation GST, disposable income and percentage to car HP is chocking the lower income group. The current gov has lost economic planning direction , can’t find other way of raising income.

• Kalun on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:24 am

Nice videos! But still not fair. You wobble around the car and couldn’t concentrate well

• smart advertisement…. by the fact we are all talking bout it, VW achieved thay are aiming for i.e.for VW cars to be talked bout in every household…. thats how you build up interest among the public in the most effective and damn cheap way too……

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:28 am

Something new. But vw keep emphazing on the speed. How bout others like safety?

• Jolly_maniac on Jul 27, 2012 at 2:55 pm

They do have commercials emphasizing on safety already

• oh no on Jul 27, 2012 at 5:17 pm

their safety among best in class…
        5 star ncap..
        7-11 airbags…
        abs… ebd…ba…
        esp… tc/asr… xdl… xds…
        torque drag control..
        tire pressure..
        park assist/self park..
        driver rest assist..
        many many more :)

• Matkota on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:29 am

why the heck they all doing it in the car? if they doing outside the car..they can have the chance and much fairer..

• Zippy Polo on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:44 am

Love it….. wheeee haaaa

• vincent on Jul 27, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Jolly Idiot: VW cars are famous with its’ safety in general. You can refer to Euroncap.com website. They give full safety features like 6 airbags, TCS to most of their car sold in Malaysia. Not like some lousy Japs car that gives dual airbags, and thinner chassis not to mention Traction Control.

• What the heck is this? Can’t believe VW can come out with such silly commercial.

• mystvearn on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:31 pm

lol

• amirad on Jul 27, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Notice that the driver took it easy on the jetta gli. On the golf r and gti, he really whacked them. I wish I had that driving skills and the cars to match.

• RyanL. on Jul 27, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Please bring the Jetta GLI in!

• Unforgiven on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Yes they should, but not many people can afford it as they are not u member or crony.

• vwdriver on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:56 pm

because they can

• Simon Ng on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Based on how much time that the Rubik’s cube guy lost out to the Golf R. There could be a possibility that he might be able to beat the Golf GTI.

• Unforgiven on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Is or did PKR promised to abolish the AP (free money in the pocket system)? VW Golf to be 60k and BMW F30 to be 100k if they won?

• full of bulsheet kind of adevrtisement.

• Man, all the videos are now taken offline ! Sucks !!!