Kia Forte K3 official exterior images released!

The 2013 Kia Forte (called the Kia K3 or Kia Cerato too depending on the country) has been officially unveiled by Kia Motors, and these are the first three studio images of Kia’s new C-segment sedan giving us a clear glimpse at the exterior of the car.

The new Forte will go on sale in Kia’s domestic South Korean market first at the Kia K3, and it will feature a body that’s longer, lower and wider than the current Forte, with an extended wheelbase. Looking at the new Hyundai Elantra’s dimensions, we expect the Forte to get the same 2,700mm wheelbase as its H-badged cousin.

What’s left for us to find out is how the interior looks like, as well as what engine options the new Forte will come with. For the Elantra, the 2.0 litre sees to be gone now, leaving us with a 1.6 litre and a 1.8 litre engine. Will we see the same refreshed engine line-up in the Forte?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SHAMSUL YAHAYA on Jul 29, 2012 at 11:34 am

Wow !

• jenny ping on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:01 pm

T_T gonna sell my current forte for this one………bye2 my oldie forte that just turn out to be 2 years old..

• civfun on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:46 pm

the front grill looks like civic fb

• kiasu no kiasi on Jul 29, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Side copy Mazda 3, front copy beemer, real copy Audi.

Should name it Naza Rojak instead of Forte.

• ReginaShwartz on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:45 am

You do realise that Naza doesn’t make the Forte right?

The car – like all new KIA cars – is designed by Peter Schreyer, the guy who designed the Audi TT.

• rppler on Jul 30, 2012 at 9:39 pm

much better than civic fb and altis!

• junjun on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:47 am

i’ll sell my ugly Altis(my third car)then buy this…..it better than civic,altis,mazda 3,lancer,preve ….

• Gabla on Jul 29, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Orgasm!

• oh no on Jul 29, 2012 at 6:58 pm

power of muncung babi x sunat korea :)

• Side looks very Mazda, Mazda 3

• Ha Gnih on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:19 am

It really does, doesn’t it ?? But still a damn nice looking car.

• Kimi Raikkonen on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Why do people thumbs down a TRUE comment? Korean fanboys can’t take criticism?

• agreed, both with 2 door and a side mirrow right?

• comrade on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:13 am

yeah.. i thought Elantra already good looking… wow.. this new Forte even better!

• WOW…Damn nice…

• Jurutera on Jul 29, 2012 at 11:35 am

not really as masculine as the current forte, but still looks good, more curvy like its cousin elantra, some may like it, some dont.

• Agreed. Looks are really subjective.

And just a quick heads up guys before you scroll down.

Expect to especially find:
      1. maseratits, tony montanoob, and hyundai de lawa bash korean cars like usual.
      2. Johnson rages about Tun Mahathir, cronies, Proton and so on, and how he will be able to afford luxury cars (without regard to anything else) with the “new government”.

Note to No. 1, when you are going against the majority you know you will only attract lots of dislikes. The majority dislikes crap/junk. Therefore you three are the real crap/junk whose comments are always kept hidden due to low rating. Anyway good luck with your lives when not behind the keyboard acting tough.

Note to No. 2, this is an AUTOMOTIVE site. Need I say more?

• maserati on Jul 29, 2012 at 11:37 am

Still a piece of crap

• zaff1984 on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:15 pm

so what’s not crap bro..?

• Leseid Obrut on Jul 29, 2012 at 1:01 pm

a maserati i guess?

• chris on Jul 29, 2012 at 1:55 pm

No need to layan him. Pls don’t feed the troll. He consider himself too high class already.

• He drives a toyota only la.. high class? more like high lad.

• maserati wants to be the best basher in pt

• Ha Gnih on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:21 am

What’s not crap would be the Maserati that he mentally builds in his narrow lill mind. Muahahahahaha

• Ha Gnih on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:23 am

What’s not crap perhaps the dream Maserati that he painstakingly build in his narrow lill mind. And the keyword here in DREAM. hahahahahah. Farnee lah these single tracked minds

• Wah…..Lu champion lor….

• Johnson on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:51 pm

you are a piece of shit.you like proton?
      you know anyhing about cars? you drive maserati?its technology we are talking about.if you need crap go to mahathir house and he will give you free proton mahathir

• grard on Jul 29, 2012 at 6:27 pm

the words identifies the writer – fowl

• burn1892 on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:07 pm

how do u know he’s giving out free proton..u have got one for urself am i rite?

• Kumar on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:06 pm

Still a piece of Junk.

• Ya, this crap is way beter than shitty civic..

• George on Jul 29, 2012 at 11:38 am

This is one sexy beast! I hope by the time it’s released in local shores, naza won’t be too greedy and hike up the price.

• Mario Gomez on Jul 29, 2012 at 11:40 am

K3 nice!!
    Preve and Civic will become rubbish!

• shallow minded. all you’ve just seen is the design and you’ve already started to make assumptions. a car is more than just skin deep.

• To most people when getting a car, 1st impression and emotions rank high in the list.

And to most, the K3 1st impression is good.

• Cosmo Artemis on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Exactly!

You marry a girl based on how pretty or cute she is, or how ‘excellence performance’ she could?

A so damn rich man, why they choose to drive a Ferrari, not Vios? Eventhough he knows the fuel consumption, maintenance etc., between Ferrari and Vios is like ‘langit dengan bumi’?

It is a mental stuff, first impression, satisfaction, lust, you name it. Outer impression is the most important to a buyer at a first glance. Don’t tell me a crap things about performance la, maintenance la, etc. That is BS. I don’t want to drive home this hari raya in an ugly looking car.

• oh yeah? try driving a super-uber cool looking car which takes 20 secs to do the century sprint, then come and tell me you pick your cars solely based on looks. it’s all about the balance man, BALANCE.

• Funzul on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:16 pm

JJ : according to 2012 sales until april, Civic & Altis sales are going down so bad. Hyundai Elantra & Kia Forte beat them. Korean car now is leading.

• i wouldn’t dare say that the koreans are making leading-edge cars, but rather they’ve caught up with the rest and are able to compete, giving us customer the luxury of choice, which in return spreads the market share among more manufacturers.

• heard preve order is increasing good, still rubbish?

• Only in Bolehland. Look at the sales globally, Preve is nowhere to be found. If allow the new Kia Forte to be priced at level terms (without the unfair tax policies), then only you have the right to comment!

• belum eksport memang la takde yang beli, pirahh

• ABU.. Preve sales Globally?? re u an IDIOT!! or just a blind good for nothing basher…

how to look sales globally if export pun belum lagi!! BODOH!!

• how sure are you? i believe some people here would think that a preve is more of a car than the last-gen forte. don’t judge a car solely based on its badge, judge it as a CAR.

• not preve

• thequestion on Jul 29, 2012 at 11:40 am

More into its own design identity than previous civic-audi wanna be…I love this! if naza would bring it here with current like price and spec,I’ll be the first batch buyer

• Ha Gnih on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:27 am

Seems like the Civic has been given a few pace BACKWARDS. Strange but true. Went to test drive just the other day and was quite a let down. The interior has lost it’s sleek appeal unlike in the model before

• agreed, the civic is a letdown…honda lost it plot. Anyway, only the civic hybrid is worth to buy, the other 2…might as well look elsewhere…

• wow! it’s gonna leave buyers speechless AGAIN. just like how the current forte impressed so many people.

• Tony Montana on Jul 29, 2012 at 11:59 am

My eyes are bleeding. This is ugly!

KIA should hire Mazda car designers.

• xander on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:06 pm

you have eyesight problem. pls consult a doctor.

• Ha Gnih on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:28 am

Oh don’t bother. Some people do not have eyesight problem. They are just naturally BLIND

• Troll Yo Duck on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:27 pm

no lah.. he is having PMS.. dont disturb him

• plasma on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:57 pm

this guy is weird. didn’t like forte design, didn’t like preve design. clearly a mazda die-hard-fan.

• Lol.. tell that to Toyota and Honda first k.

• Terminate79 on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Mazda Designers your head… U even not appreciating the design from the previous AUDI designer, but talks about Mazda. Which model makes you impressive enough to compare with the New Forte? Mazda 2 ???

• ‘Previous’ Audi designer as you said it. Looks like he is running out of ideas till getting clues from Mazda, BMW and even Maserati as Peter Schreyer said it himself..

• Johnson on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:53 pm

as long as your arse not bleeding after looking at proton preve.tony montana get a life or go hold mahathir bn/umno flag

• your arse sure get bleeding after looking at preve because you can only afford a honda…

ex5!! lol

• u’re eyes bleeding because u cant stand how beautiful the new forte is. just admit la..

• Jasmine on Jul 29, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Having your “PERIOD”?

• Kumar on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Not only it is ugly, it is FUGLY. Not only eyes bleeding, shit also can came out it you sit inside this car.

• hmm. no more sharp edges design.

• So? If you want sharp edges there’s that crappy Camry. Very sharp my eyes bleed just from a glimpse of it. Thankfully only once have I seen that bloody thing on the road.

• the new camry body kits are cheapo looking, just like it comes from ah beng shop, even ah beng body kits are nicer

• duude i mean no more like the previus forteh. never put these two vehicle at the same level ’cause toyota had just downgraded their camry to the lowest of the lowest level. bdw i like you, ‘sharp till my nose bleed’ HAHA

• Troll Yo Duck on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:34 pm

why want sharp edges? so you can drive around in your backyard to cut grass?

• wolfsburg on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:03 pm

The korean are so impressive!

• alpha999 on Jul 29, 2012 at 5:40 pm

impressive indeed since design head is peter schreyer, a german

• tycoon88 on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:05 pm

civic ady tar pow by this K3

• zaff1984 on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:19 pm

isn’t too early to said that..?

• Suarez on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Not early at all, saw the new civic on the road and it doesn’t give you the new model impression.

• Agree! I parked next to 1 and didn’t realize it’s the new model until I accidentally had to look at it up close!

• vk9545 on Aug 06, 2012 at 2:06 am

haha even my dad thought the new civic as the city..omg so much downgrade for civic..and i looks damn terrible..i dnt hv to say abt camry..its just a car with tires without a passion soul

• one word to describe civic fb= U G L Y!!

• Quattro on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:10 pm

I love it !!

• guyver on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:11 pm

this gonna be the next model that proton gonna copy

• gimme on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:51 pm

no need coz it’s different from proton design language

• Johnson on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:55 pm

common la bro…proton stand no where near kia developement,and you talking about proton.the best proton can do is to rip off the rakyat with crappy cars and useless junks.just look at preve design…looks like coconut scraper and front look like mahathir face…

• rear light on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:12 pm

It is a trend nowadays that new design is uglier than old design..not only kia,happens to civic too..wht happen to this people?

• what HAPPENED to you? Kia is getting uglier?

there is trend now where people like you (especially jap fanboys like maseratits, tony montanoob and hyundai de lawa, to name a few) tend to comment (troll) and attract lots of dislikes.

• have to see it first

• You are making yourself looking stupid by saying this because this just hit back to you as one of those blind supporter. In this case a Korean side..

• Kimi Raikkonen on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:58 pm

I agree. While Koreans may not be junks, by replying in this manner it serves the Korean car fans no justice.

• Karl von Jitry on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Better looking than the sibling, Inokom Elantra. Given the SD Hyundai aftersale service network, warranty and the reputation of the slanted H brand in USA, Forte must be priced lower while offer better equipment to entice decent sale. Safety features is necessary- ESP.

Diesel, is icing on the cake. Really love their potent diesel engine.

• Azydy on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:18 pm

i like kia k5 more

• shaww on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:23 pm

front light look like latest BMW design…

• ixara on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:36 pm

looks like the headroom for rear passenger is the same as HE:- cramp

• AbgTutor.com on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:37 pm

handsome car…

• fitefish on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:41 pm

With like this design sure my current forte resale value will drop when it come. Better sell it now to get at least 5k cash.

• Seem like Kia is copying the Elantra design cue already, but does Malaysia has so much space for two Korean brands fight each other?

• VoidDance on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:43 am

They’re not copying Hyundai. As a matter of fact, they are doing what Perodua is doing, change a bit here and there. That is basically an Elantra with Kia skin.

• cant ask for more if they sell at current forte price in Malaysia

• Tiguan on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Forte useless car not even two years old steering rosak, aircond rosak and shock absorber rosak.

• Johnson on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:57 pm

you otak tak rosak ke?
      kasi your otak repair dulu..cakap pasal kereta you orang semua bodoh la macam mahathir and dia punya proton

• Ha Gnih on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:35 am

Just be happy with your Tiger + Iguana and zip it

• iskhalifah on Jul 29, 2012 at 1:08 pm

Is this car designed by Kia’s Peter Schreyer?
    If yes, then Proton should hire Schreyer and fire Azlano! Deep in my heart, I hope Proton would come up with cool design like this for its Saga replacement (to compete with the latest Rio/Accent of course).

• Johnson on Jul 29, 2012 at 3:04 pm

the next car proton is design is based on a lorry plat form and its going to be named proton mahathir and the sports version to be named proton 3M iaitu mokzani,mukriz,mirzan…the designer is from afganistan this guy design the jamban for the arabs

• heert on Jul 29, 2012 at 4:34 pm

no use to bash , preve already has conti design, not like japs oldies’

• Preve on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Frankly, I dont see any excitement on preve outlook and the interior. Just the turbo engine being shout out loud by those who like it to compare to other non turbo car.. (HAHA, what so big deal) and what did you said? conti design??? base on what?? funny

• heert on Jul 30, 2012 at 5:25 pm

ital design , have you ever heard of it?

• not just turbo engine, got 7 speeder, auto light , wiper, esc, abs ebd, led, internet, s mode, paddle shifter…and the list goes on

• whatever…still better than your junky car

• a.car.fan on Jul 29, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Yes, it’s still designed by the visionary Peter Schreyer! And yes, I also agree that Proton should consider hiring him anytime soon..

• inderaloka on Jul 29, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Smartnya…

• Comparable to the more expensive cousin Elantra…but i love my Elantra….

• Unforgiven on Jul 29, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Anyone like to kill the current G, kill Tun M cronies, P1/P2? Is it true that we will be getting this car for rm 30k? VW Golf to be rm 50k?

• Johnson on Jul 29, 2012 at 3:00 pm

yes bro…if not because of the mad ex pm mahathir and his bn/umno cronies i am sure many malaysians can afford to buy VW,BMW even Posh for cheaper price…BMW for RM60k? yes possible if pakatan take over and mahathir sent to jail for cheating the nation with his cronies.all this bastards in UMNO and mahathir is the cause of automobile industry in malaysia went out of control.the number one arse is mahathir and his cronies

• Syazwan007 on Jul 29, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Seriously.. This is a car blog site. We dont care about your dumbass opinion on the government or mahathir or cronism.. Nobody here takes u seriously anyway so pls, spare our eyes with ur idiotic opinions

• armandd on Jul 29, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Wahh, so easy la like that? ‘Pakatan takes over and suddenly a BMW can be had for RM60k’. Of course you can, find a 11-year old E39 5-series at mudah.com, surely you can find a nice Beemer at that price.

When someday Pakatan becomes goverment, they will fight with each other for power and becomes worse than present day BN. Ibarat kera mendapat bunga. Mark my words.

• malaysia on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:47 pm

ko mmg mangkuk…nama johnson konon…paria mana ntah tk sedar diri hidup kt negara ni..
        ko ingat ko punye mangkuk pkr dap pas berangan nk jaga negara ni dgn free tax kt keta sbb ko nak berangan nk pakai bmw tp tk mampu jd smua cukai tkdela…ko mmg mangkuk hayun …ko nak ape lg..smua cukai tkde la…bru hidup ko senang..minyak keta pn ko nak free…mkn pun ko nak si pkr mangkuk ko tu suapkn ko kn…ko mmg jenis manusia sial yg hidup kt negara ni…

• Johor.will.always.be.BN.stronghold on Jul 29, 2012 at 3:30 pm

I know I won’t. I would rather spend on properties or investment and my kid’s education than a car. It’s a liability not an asset anyway.

Cheaper car? Is that all you politician-wannabes-on-an-automotive-site are on about? For a higher price and tax on everything else? If not where will the “new government” (pray they will not) get their money from? Don’t deny the logic.

At least be a little grateful, less provocative, work hard and don’t expect to be spoon-fed all the time.

• armandd on Jul 29, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Agreed 100%.

• kambinganas on Jul 30, 2012 at 11:30 am

Dah la sindir orang lain pasal komen politik, diri sendiri dua kali lima jugak.

“At least be a little grateful, less provocative, work hard and don’t expect to be spoon-fed all the time.”
        Hahaha, very funny that this advice does not not apply equally to our govt and Proton. Since when people paying for overpriced cars are spoon-fed? You think everyone in Malaysia is a spoon-fed govt kroni ka? Mana ada logic la wei?

“For a higher price and tax on everything else? If not where will the “new government” (pray they will not) get their money from? Don’t deny the logic.”
        They can start by not spending govt revenue collected from all over the place like their grandfather’s money. If the govt continue to misuse the funds, no amount of money will satisfy their wastage and greed.

• Good car good people on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:32 pm

come on lah… many people know what spoon feed means lah…. and know who is eating that shit lah

• chris on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Nice! I like. If not too much to ask, improve the handling department.

• I agree, Forte handling is really bad. Hope they improve it. *Regrets buying the Inspira after seeing this*

• civicking on Jul 29, 2012 at 3:00 pm

The design, brand prestige and technology of this new K3 cannot match the current Honda Civic. K3 design is good but still uglier compared to civic. Even volkswagen or peugeot still cannot match the popularity of honda civic. KIA? Hyundai? still far…Malaysian people has the best of knowledge to choose which car they want.

• Mario Gomez on Jul 29, 2012 at 4:34 pm

I think you have mental problem..
        Your beloved Civicking is very UGLY compare to the K3,thanks to the Japs retarded mental like you.
        Volks Jetta n Peug 408 maybe not nice,but is still far better than your Civiking.

• come on, give credit to its due
        this k3 is definitely nicer and better looking than civic fb

• That’s what most people didnt realize that a car is more than just the look. The complete package is what we should look at. It’s far more difficult to tune a nice handling with complete pleasant driving experience than just a car design.

• Its such a wonderful car… Kia are moving forward.! If only ceed also will coming to malaysia market.

• Those hoping that this new forte will be priced the same as current forte… forget it! It will be priced the same as current md elantra but it will be better spec! Can see the trend already if you compare K5 vs sonata and sportage vs tucson.

• kambinganas on Jul 30, 2012 at 11:34 am

CBU models are usually priced higher when introduced. However, when Naza rebadge it like the current Forte, the price may drop to current levels.

• Please throw in 1.6 litre Gamma GDI Turbo for the Koup!

• Malcolm Lim on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Did anyone notice three “dots” at the side of the first picture? I wonder if those are front sensors..hmm

• leong on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:40 pm

nice one! cant wait for how is the interior look like… !!!

• AlexLHthis on Jul 29, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Looks good……. But Is it all looks and no go?

• Johnson on Jul 29, 2012 at 3:06 pm

all those idiots who complaint about FORTE…go and drive one then you complaint.Dont just blindly comment with out using your bloody brains,there are even some idiots comparing the crappy shitty proton.proton is a bankcrupt company with no ideas and cronies and mahathir is the damm fucker who did this to t he nation

• ggery on Jul 29, 2012 at 4:39 pm

what did proton do to you? you want to talk about politics there is better place than here

• dino omar on Jul 29, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Johnson,kinda wonder if this is your real name,as i can sense that you re really struggling to build a proper sentence,stop cursing proton as it has better looks and tauter handling than your soggy lowly forte or farteee huhuhu,get alife!!!!

• percayalah on Jul 29, 2012 at 3:11 pm

So many new designs….so cool. Can,t wait for Pakatan to take over so that we can swarm the car showrooms and buy at a third of the price.

• DewaSemut on Jul 29, 2012 at 5:57 pm

Dream on bro…. If PR won the GE… They also need money to run the G… And they money come from the taxpayers… Dream on… Dream on… No G will let such a lucrative tax like this!

• percayalah on Jul 29, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Let the Government collect from people like you……I am sure you won’t mind paying on behalf of others…..you sound so patriotic

• DewaSemut on Jul 30, 2012 at 8:38 am

not patriotic, just realistic… PR does not offer any solutions at all on how they are going to replace the RM5.0 billion of car taxes they want to let go… PR wants to remove fuel subsidy in lieu of this? That will be a self defeating manifesto :)

• kambinganas on Jul 30, 2012 at 11:43 am

@Dewa Semut

You think BN won’t remove the fuel subsidy at the next opportunity they get? They are just waiting their chance after elections to do this and bring back the evil known as GST. Imagine paying extremely high car prices and high fuel prices. How is this much better?

• kambinganas on Jul 30, 2012 at 11:38 am

I think the better question is where is all the current money collected from all govt sources of revenue going? Is all that money really being used by the govt to function or not?

It is not just the question of whether any upcoming govt will reduce taxes, but also effectively prevent the misuse of funds. I for sure don’t want a govt that is only bent on introducing more taxes to make our lives a living hell.

• polo saga on Jul 29, 2012 at 3:43 pm

the design is nice, getting stronger identity, but the rear lamp seems copy from Audi. anyhow, am quite surprise to see their design overshadow jap car design. keep it up.

• I’ll definitely choose Peter Schmeichel over Peter Schreyer

• Potter on Jul 29, 2012 at 3:48 pm

let’s hope that this time around they will improve on the fuel efficiency.. i heard the rpm of forte 1.6 6-speed goes around 3000 at 110 kmh. not so good for fuel efficiency.. maybe can space out the 6-speed ratios.. we need lower rpm at higher speed

• hope so, the preve runs at lower rpm than forte 2.0

*cabut*

• Kimi Raikkonen on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Cabut for fear of the Korean fanboys’ attack? You better run!

• Bersih 3.0 on Jul 29, 2012 at 4:35 pm

This K3 design is much better looking car than Hyundai Elantra.I believe this car will sell like hot cake once it launch M’sia :D

• Agreed! But interior wise, if any of the leaked photos is the same with the actual, then compared to current HE, K3 interior seems a tad too simple!

• Sgt Scoop on Jul 29, 2012 at 5:22 pm

It looks like the love child of an Optima and a City. Good looking.

• cursefinger on Jul 29, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Current forte : Sporty look
    New forte : Elegant look

• alpha999 on Jul 29, 2012 at 5:48 pm

if they produce fuel efficiency, torquey engine and good handling, slowly but surely, KIA models will outsell the japs. This will improve resale value

• DewaSemut on Jul 29, 2012 at 6:00 pm

If Naza wants to chart a breakthrough sales figures, pls bring this fast and keep the price as close as to the existing model…

VERY NICE KIA!

• oh no on Jul 29, 2012 at 6:59 pm

more passion then BM 3series or Merc C class..

KOREA: real power of building good and reliable machine :)

• Truth on Jul 29, 2012 at 7:07 pm

UK’s Most Reliable Cars:

According to Warranty Direct’s Reliability Index, Honda is the most reliable car brand while the Kia Picanto is the most reliable model.

Rounding up the top five most reliable brands are Suzuki, Toyota, Ford and Kia. At the bottom five are Mercedes-Benz, Alfa Romeo, Jeep, Porsche and Land Rover.

The top five most reliable models are Kia Picanto, Vauxhall Agila, Honda HR-V, Suzuki Alto and Ford Fiesta. The five least reliable cars are Ford Mondeo, BMW 3-series, VW Golf, Citroen Xsara, VW Caravelle and smart fortwo.

In summary, Japanese brands are generally more reliable than European (except for Ford), while luxury German brands are at the bottom half.

• Well.. they have a different price structure, sale and warranty package, distribution and resale structure, etc..
      I dun really think it is an appropriate comparable..

• rickyll on Jul 29, 2012 at 7:31 pm

I read with interest that Forte sucks, has serious handling problems and seriously underpower. I wonder whether those making such comments really own a Forte. I bought one back in December 2009, one of the 500 CBU units Naza imported from Korea and registered as local CKD. I must say that my family and I all like the car very much, even after 2 years 8 months and 50 km, the Forte still have the new car feel. To be honest, Forte picks up quite sluggishly but once it gains momentum it’s smooth sailing all the way. Handling of the car is okay with us. My Forte returns very good FC reading, for long distance it’s 15 to 16 sen per km and for city travel it’s around 18 to 19 sen per km using Ron 95 fuel. It’s all boiled down to individual driving style. I think every car could have good FC if we could try to drive at constant speed for as long as possible and avoid sudden acceleration or braking. As for the new Forte K3, it has nice look but I still prefer my old Forte.

• Ha Gnih on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:13 am

Those who comment (badly) on a Forte are usually those who do not own one or are just one of those who actually bother reading bad reviews somewhere and then parrot the exact same crap here, without even test driving one to get the real feel behind the wheel. Bought the 6 speeder October last year and till today ? Oh yes !!!! I’m lovin’ it !!

• Kimi Raikkonen on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Ricky, kudos to you. A well educated, well said post from a Korean car owner plus an objective review. I like your post and will definitely give the K3 a try if it arrives here although a VW is probably my next car.

Blind defending, like blind bashing only shows how shallow a person can be. And mind you, there are many Korean car ‘fanboys’ that will defend the H/K brands to death. People need to grow up and realize that it is not personal. Reviews should be objective.

• anakayam on Jul 29, 2012 at 8:14 pm

where’s veloster? why wont they bringing that chicks over here? why why? :(

• no market la…
      perception problem(coupe no resale value,not value for $$,BIGGER the better, moreover it’s a korean brand)

financial problem(they who can afford already uncle auntie, you think they like to do break dance every time to get inside a coupe?)

• ss427 on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:16 pm

You wanna make a trip to Sillypore bro? The Veloster is already on sale in SG. We have the 140hp1.6L Gamma GDI model… and a 6 speed twin clutch tranmission :)

The 201hp Turbo model will be here by end of Aug

• jhoon on Jul 30, 2012 at 9:31 pm

i’d rather travel in public trans than car there, much cheaper. why buy a car when you have to save your money for ‘cheap’ condo?

• it doesn’t look that bad afterall after looking at this official pics instead of the leaked photos or skectches

• IMO,
      the reason that the leaked photo look bad is coz of the distortion from wide angle lens used..
      just like those camwhore who use it as advantage to make their eyes look larger but when you saw them in person you cried FU silently in ur heart

• torrent on Jul 29, 2012 at 9:46 pm

i think kia produces brilliant cars,and for those who dislike kia’s vehicle,please dont leave your comment here,go leave your comment in the toilet,and do remember to flush it when you get out.thanks.

• Wilson on Jul 29, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Somehow I prefer the current american muscle type design… especially the KOUP…
    Should market as two different cars…

• Desmond on Jul 29, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Im waiting Hyundai de La Junk for his comment again..

• Expatriate VN on Jul 29, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Good looking Kia car, let Proton export it so call small global Preve and fight with this car in the international market. See who emerge as world class player and/or jaguh kampung! The predicted result I think is very obvious!!!!!!!!!

• ss427 on Jul 30, 2012 at 11:13 am

Haha Proton has yet to sell the Preve here in SG. I heard from some SG forums that Proton SG is delaying the sale as long as possible because the Preve is going to cost MORE than the current Elantra 1.6 GLS Elite here in SG!

Already the Persona cost more than the current gen Forte 1.6SX in SG. The Preve will surely push the prices even higher… haha :D

That’s international market reality for you Proton. Your cars are anything BUT cheap! Your cars looked cheap in Bolehland ONLY becos your gov slapped heavy taxes on other brands and imports.

As I’ve always said b4, leave the silly and unfair protectionism of Bolehland, and you will find that Proton is totally outta their league, esp in segments where it is supposed to compete and ‘win’.

Yes we have super high COE prices. So even a Chery QQ cost almost SGD$90k here in SG. However the super high COE prices applies to all vehicles in SG. When you pay $60k COE for the Persona, you will pay the same $60k COE for the new Elantra as well. And the Elantra is still cheaper than the Persona after all.

Tell me, who will buy Proton in this case? World class product indeed… LOL

• i don’t know if singapore has ever built a car? still 3rd world country i guess lol

• if you don’t want to buy then don’t buy, Singapore market is not as big and their currency is not as high other countries like Australia. don’t bother with them

• wwwii on Jul 30, 2012 at 9:15 pm

expat vn = loser

• owner on Jul 29, 2012 at 10:51 pm

kia is the best technology compare to toyot..Go for 3rd KIA car!!

• iLoveKia on Jul 29, 2012 at 11:15 pm

Not Impressed.
    I expect 1: Price increased to RM90k range just like the Hyundai Elantra.

• I like KFC on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:12 pm

You are not impress based on you assumption on the price increase? Funny how anti Korean warrior comment.

• iLoveKia on Jul 30, 2012 at 6:40 pm

iLoveKia.
        Persona SE to Preve 1.6Iafm+.. same price range, yet more size, more features, more handsome.
        Hyundai Sonata/Kia Optima: was 120k range. now reaches 140k+.
        Hyundai Elantra: RM80k range now up to 110k range.
        Spectra – Forte:RM69999 to RM80k range.. and soon like Elantra RM85k+++RM110k!

• if you are right then again no fight for preve in term of price!!!

• On sale already? I saw one today with Johor plate!

• Troll Yo Duck on Jul 30, 2012 at 4:26 pm

hi bro, welcome to the past. can i borrow you time machine?!

• Hillarious on Jul 29, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Seriously look at you all kimchi kia fanatics, honestly id rather get the hyundai elantra than this! When a korean pops up, look at all your comments! Seriously whats up with you malaysia?

• Suffering rakyat on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:38 am

You don’t own a single car at all? And talking about spending money on properties and education. You don’t see it that every dollar saved from paying exorbitant sales tax on car can be used to support yr kids education or pay off your housing loan. It’s okay to impose tax on car but not the kind of level we see now. I’m glad the Pakatan MPs is taking it up. I will certainly do my bit to help them by voting for them in the coming election. Reduce by 5% is better than seeing it up by maybe another 10% under BN?

• kambinganas on Jul 30, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Not only is a increase under the present govt possible, expect a hike in petrol prices as well. Barang Naik is waiting to live up to its name after GE.

• Ha Gnih on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:07 am

A somewhat Mazda-ish side profile but still a damn dashing looking piece of kimchii. Love it !!!

• kiasu no kiasi on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:37 am

Missed my comments ? no point commenting a recycle car, took Mazda 3 body fixed a beemer front light & kidney grill, Audi break lamp, there u have ur self a new junk Forte.
    Anyway all those epic failed mangkuk here can’t afford one after giving all the heavenly comments,.ask I said earlier pointless.

• Mario Gomez on Jul 30, 2012 at 7:00 am

Can you affort to modified it??
      I think the cost to modified your junk car will enough to buy a Bimmer or Audi.

• Troll Yo Duck on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:21 pm

how bout u mangkuk besi hardcore basher? look like bmw kidney grill ? i think ur eyes kena mangkuk tahi..

• Ponorogo on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:11 am

Come on….this is an automotive blog guys! No need to talk about politics. Comment about the car, not whining about the tax. Please stop it…you want to earn this car…you have to work for it…as simple as that…duh..

• Niveaz on Jul 30, 2012 at 6:40 am

Eh why The rear new Forte look like Ford. No creativity on designing the car lorh Forte.

• Wow that car looks beautiful!
    With the way the current Civic looks, im sure Kia will be able to tempt a few buyers from Honda.
    Looks even better than the Elantra imo

• Pumpkins on Jul 30, 2012 at 8:23 am

Dr M said buying Preve “The extra Ringgit you have to spend will be worth it”…He He He

Why buy Preve when you can afford this new Forte soon…only RM3K difference…worth every penny…

• Pumpkins on Jul 30, 2012 at 8:37 am

Proton urgently need to hire new designer

Design is Proton’s big problem since day one

With impressive design anything underneath can be fixed later (like what Kia Hyundai did)

Great design = Big sales volume = More funds for next line-ups

But Proton make it difficult for themselves by going backward wasting more funds instead of solving design problem first

Yes Proton is putting the cart before the horse (wrong planning)

What Kia Hyundai did now exactly the opposite of Proton

Otherwise 9/10 cars sold here all are Protons like what Korean roads now 9/10 cars are Kia Hyundai only

PROTON NO.1 PROBLEM = CRAPPY DESIGN

• WOW… I wanna buy ….

• The Man Who on Jul 30, 2012 at 9:55 am

i dont think this car will be selling for 85k as the current forte.

• tyrespare on Jul 30, 2012 at 11:01 am

sppechless..no coment coz i don’t know which part to coment..all are ugly..

• ss427 on Jul 30, 2012 at 11:02 am

Ahhh… what a beauty :) Man I thought the Elantra looks great already, the new Forte looks even better.

Both have their own strong points. The Elantra is superbly round round shaped and looks more American.. :) The Forte looks more European although its far from being just a carbon copy :)

Maserati Bro, how does your beloved Vios compare to the new Forte??

• Henry on Jul 30, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Chun!

It is going to take away a lot of sales from the traditional market leaders. Anxiously waiting for the Koup version to be unveiled.

• Zero Emissions on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Design is good,hope the drive is not as bad as the current one

• matlimmutu on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:24 pm

a nice looking car. copy mazda a little bit here n there but it is ok coz copycat thing in designing a car is normal.

• mohd khairuddin on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Saya plan nak beli kereta baru menjelang hari raya nanti. then dgr kata PR nak rombak struktur cukai kereta kalau menang PRU, then saya rasa ada baiknya saya tunggu. lagipun kebarangkalian PR menang skrg tinggi.

Jadi, persoalannya, kalau PR menang, berapa lama masa diperlukan untuk cukai tersebut dihapuskan supaya harga kereta jadi murah. adakah immediate or need grace period 2-3 years?

Kalau benda ni take time, baik saya teruskan niat beli kereta skrg. kalau immediate, baik saya tunggu.

• Kimi Raikkonen on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Cantik betul komen anda. Saya pun sokong bahawa cukai diabaikan dan biarkanlah kualiti/harga sebenar kereta dikembalikan.

Sokong sokong.

• Jason on Aug 16, 2012 at 1:20 am

Saya pun sokong.Selagi proton diberi perlindungan, kita tak akan dapat kereta yang berkualiti dengan harga yang berpatutan.

So, pls open up the market and have fair play….

• kambinganas on Jul 30, 2012 at 5:42 pm

Kemungkinan besar, penurunan harga kereta akan berlaku secara beransur-ansur jika PR menang. Tapi lagi baik kalo sodara boleh tunggu sehingga selepas pilihanraya selesai. Jika BN menang, harga minyak akan melambung naik akibat subsidi dikurangkan dan sodara mungkin lebih berminat membeli kereta hybrid atau diesel. Kalo sodara membeli sekarang, mungkin sodara akan menyesal apabila harga minyak melambung naik dan sodara tidak mampu mengguna kerete yg dibeli.

• Han Solo on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Wow lovely…I like the overall design, Superb side profile and beautiful rear End…buyt I think the Headlights are too close to it’s twin brother the Hyundai Elantra. They should be more aggressive I think.

• Peter on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Wow ~ superb! Prey hard: 6-speed, lighter, VSC, less than 90k in M’sia.

• damage digital on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:20 pm

only korean faggot will stimulate to see this.

• Good car good people on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Kia outlook is getting nicer, sportage is one of it.
    But the interior is abit out. Hope they improve it..

• farid sabri on Jul 30, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Dulu punyalah promote kat member beli Forte, diaorg beli, aku pulak yg tak beli. Mungkin ini hikmahnya tunggu K3..Am so exited…yeah!!!

• totti on Jul 30, 2012 at 4:44 pm

I don’t mind to try out the Korean car if the forte price maintain as what had priced between 78K to 85K.

This one look better than Elantra.

• critic_A on Jul 30, 2012 at 4:48 pm

every buddy’s a critic~~ ==”

• Good car good people on Jul 30, 2012 at 5:21 pm

I doubt their price will be as low as previous model. since proton preve is near that price. Our G sure doing something to force this forte price to increase. Else really a big hit to preve….

• dino omar on Jul 30, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Korean cars are meant for those who has no passion in driving.slow and sluggish and very flaky.any man who developed liking for this car must then being a gay or as we may put it nicely….. manufacturer defect !!!!

• what a car…..my current Forte is already awesome…..this is just phenominal….and it will now feature those cool DRL lights…..Awesome

• Preve have it first on its class… Forte is 2nd.. haha…. current Forte awesome in looks but handle like Kereta Lembu Melaka… hahahahah

• damage digital on Aug 01, 2012 at 1:47 pm

well…some korean cars may looks good,but handling sucks…

• Drebar on Jul 30, 2012 at 6:58 pm

New Forte – Drive it to enjoy it…

Preve – Drive it to repair it..???

• Kambing Gurun on Jul 30, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Hopefully there will be manual option just like Elantra.

• orange on Jul 31, 2012 at 9:36 am

Love the exterior but saw the interior concept shot some where in the internet, and i don’t really like it (especially the center vent)..hope its only a concept..

• civicEK on Jul 31, 2012 at 9:49 am

preve’s famous prob:

– over crank engine
    – owv
    – bad noise insulation
    – rattling dashboard
    – sluggish pickup
    – engine leaking

and yet their fans are still praising the damn car.wtf.

• jameshugh on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:33 am

i dun understand, this thread is about forte
      how ‘famous’ is it? one car can tell like 100 cars, summore most problems solved, already old news

• civicEK on Jul 31, 2012 at 12:06 pm

it’s not yet solved bro, latest batch still have d prob :)

*proton fanboi detected*

• jameshugh on Jul 31, 2012 at 2:11 pm

wrong, most of it solved, next time please read more rather you spread wrong info here

*proton basher detected*

• Good car good people on Jul 31, 2012 at 2:20 pm

let him be, may be he himself also dont dare to buy it.

• let him be, may be he doesn’t want other to buy it.

-fixed-

• civicfd on Jul 31, 2012 at 2:44 pm

another butthurt guy lol

• like u loo… still brave enuff to use civicEK as u nick name… but Civic nowadays is peace of junk!! u are not paying high tax for civic but high Profit margin to cronies/dealership.. but u still buy it i guess…wtf..

• Ponorogo on Aug 02, 2012 at 1:18 am

That’s why he used the civic ek nickname..that’s the golden era of japanese automotive industry i must said. Not the civic fb with the weird design.

• SAIFUL on Jul 31, 2012 at 1:51 pm

http://blog.naver.com/tnkfree/130143580550
    more pic

video – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNSkm3VyCDc&feature=share

• the side view look like mazda 2 a bit… only a bit la.. but K3 looks better.. hehe

• wow so happening here, k3 forte becomes preve bashing thread

• 100% Naza will increase the price from the current FORTE… hmmm…

• Han Solo on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:52 am

OK…but I feel the Headlights looks like a cross between the current Hyundai Elantra and the BMW 3 Series F30 Headlights….I feel KIA should have done a better job on the Headlights…it’s a little too Hyundai-BMWish…and I dont think that’s a good Idea…Why, because since both the KIA Forte K3 and the Hundai Elantra shares the same platform, they should atleast look as distinctly different to each other on the Exterior so that they dont’t cannibalize each others sales…The difference between the current Hyundais and Kia are quite distinct…which automatically attracts different sets of people with totally contrasting taste…but now it’s a little blurred…I’m just saying you know…

• Was browsing videos for the K3 and saw this K9 promotional video.

Literally blew my mind. So feature packed that it’s kind of mindboggling.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UVAFL7Phuw&feature=related

• I’d be optimistic that the ride and feature will be almost/on par with the European Kia Cee’D.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&NR=1&v=SSvPs0tqxJI

• Quattro on Aug 02, 2012 at 12:23 pm

I will buy this. Confirm.

• Good car good people on Aug 02, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Base on this video, I personally think Kia forte wow effect is over since previous model. Not much excitement. Buyer will be more rational on pricing and quality. (May be 2nd Value too)

• AKU LOLA KE? on Aug 02, 2012 at 5:06 pm

amazing one..!!

• scott on Aug 05, 2012 at 3:18 am

from the pictures release, it is a bit difficult to imagine how the real car would look like, but i was expecting something more, with the WOW effect already taken by K5, this forte has big shoes to fill. still thinks that it is not that great enough to steal the lime light from Elantra. if i had comment, it would be it is too rounded, and soft which elantra is already very sweet to look at. difficult to differentiate from elantra, especialy from rear. very nice looking car but could be better like K5 which is angular and muscular.

hyundai-curvy and sexy
    kia – angular muscular and sporty..

• honda salesman on Aug 06, 2012 at 4:02 pm

wow, looks like honda civic 2012.

• audio on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:33 am

Damn! I’ll definitely buy this!

• Sam Loo on Aug 12, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Poor Resale Value Car

• Dato' Jack on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:13 pm

hmm… looks like Kia want to be Mazda.. anyway its still KIAH.. never heard they win or participate in any really or race.. have u?… is a car for pretty face guys.. KPOP!!!! or half man and gay in mind..

• TaroPearl on Aug 16, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Will the Koup be refreshed together with this in 2014?

• looking for new car on Aug 20, 2012 at 8:26 am

suddenly, kia wakeup for better…starting line-up with forte 5 speed, then optima k5, forte koup, then forte 6 speeed, now k3….superb new line-up…gonna test drive for kia soon..

• forte fan on Aug 26, 2012 at 7:31 pm

when will this be available in malaysia?

• Carson on Aug 27, 2012 at 12:11 am

There is a movie clip called “K3 Chaser” on Youtube in regards to the KIA K3 and seems like there is technology called UVO on this model (You can notice that at the end of the clip and we might able to get more detail on 2012-09-17).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WrKdYdiG4jQ

• Aidil Azhar on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:16 pm

because of this model.. i took back my 500 deposit of current forte.. will definately wait till nex year to get this car

• K5 and K7 works, K3 just doesn’t appeal to me. Elantra has the upper hand on this.

• Rozita Che Wan on Sep 21, 2012 at 3:37 pm

it’s like Rozita Che Wan…
    attractive at the 1st sight… for the next sight…hrrrrmmmmmmmm…..

• Kia K3 only come with 1.6cc version~~

• Rgshow2k on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:03 pm

Damn cool car ! thumbs up .

• can’t wait for this model to be in msia..

• Schreyer grill, owsome

• lelouch on Mar 28, 2013 at 12:01 am

Andddddddddddddddd….. umw is still giving us the legendary 4 speed auto???? wakakakaka.. ;-)