Audi R8 facelift – now with S tronic dual clutch

The Audi R8 range has been revised with a major technical change – the R tronic single clutch automated manual gearbox has been replaced by an S tronic dual clutch transmission. Most of you will be familiar with how dual clutch transmissions work now – the S tronic transmission’s two multi-plate clutches are positioned behind one another and serve two mutually independent sub-transmissions. Gears are shifted directly as the clutches open and close alternatively within hundredths of a second.

Thanks to S tronic providing virtually uninterrupted power to the wheels, 0 to 100km/h acceleration is quicker by three-tenths of a second, and CO2 emissions have been reduced by up to 22g/km. The Audi R8 V8 S tronic does the sprint to 100km/h in 4.3 seconds, while the V10 car does it in 3.8 seconds.

Other updates for the 2013 model year include revised steel discs with a “wave” design. The wave-like exterior contour lowers the weight overall by about two kilograms compared with round discs of the same dimensions. The aluminium brake callipers operate at the front wheels with eight pistons each, and at the rear wheels with four pistons each.

Audi will also make full LED headlamps standard on all models of the Audi R8. The headlamps are complemented by new strip-shaped daytime running lights that form a ‘clasp’ around the lens. The light-emitting diodes for the high and low beam headlights have been placed above and below the daytime running lights, which are specially actuated to serve as indicators.

The tail lamps have also been updated – they include new indicators which appear to perform a ‘sweeping’ movement from the inside outwards, making them more noticeable.

Look after the jump for a big gallery of the updated R8.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• When it comes to designing headlights and taillights, Audi wins hands down.

• hdafn on Jul 31, 2012 at 6:31 am

civic fb can smoke this car anytime

• kington on Jul 31, 2012 at 9:48 am

Indeed. I recently saw an A8 upclose and was amazed with its full LED headlights. This car is sold below RM2M in Malaysia if prices in the website are accurate which certainly makes it the best value for money supercar, next to the GT-R.

• I BET IT WILL MAINTAIN AT RM1.25 MILLION FOR V10. WHICH IS VERY REASONABLE COMPARED TO FERRARI AND LAMBO. HOWEVER, IF EUROMOBIL WERE TO LAUNCH V8. I THINK TAT WILL BE TOP SELLING R8 AS IT WILL SELL AT BELOW RM900K MARK.

• Vodka on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:29 am

Love the way the new signal lights work. Another lighting innovation from Audi. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6YbPHymEtIw

• venven81 on Jul 31, 2012 at 12:44 pm

so far we have seen quite a number of innovation in the lighting segment coming from Audi and hopefully more new exciting things will be coming.

• DewaSemut on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:56 am

Only can afford to look at the pictures.. :P

• GOOD, WORK HARD AND SAVE MONEY. GO CLUBBING LESS AND MINUM TEH LESSER. LIVE A TYPICAL MALAYSIAN TAK APA LIFESTYLE AINT GETTING U CLOSE TO ON A BMW OR MERC. WAT BOUT THIS?

• ChrisLai75 on Jul 31, 2012 at 5:39 pm

I GUESS THE RULE IS NO BIG CAP WHEN COMMENT?

• r8spider on Jul 31, 2012 at 9:00 pm

if you are happy with all you caps lock, please read this:
      en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netiquette

• Bell&Ross on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:52 pm

manual rocks. not s-tronic.

• no malaysia can aford this if u r about live tak apa typical malaysian lifestyles..