Lexus AS150 city car to compete with Audi A1?

Is the world ready for a Lexus smaller than the CT200h? Apparently Lexus seems to think so. According to Magazine X, word through the grapevine is that Lexus is preparing a competitor for the likes of the Audi A1, the MINI Cooper, the Alfa Romeo MiTo and the Citroen DS3. Tentatively we can call it the Lexus AS150, and it will sit on the same platform as the Toyota Prius C.

Two powertrain possibilities are being floated – one is the same 1.5 litre Hybrid Synergy Drive system in the Prius C for the Lexus AS150h, and the other is somewhat more interesting – a 1.2 litre direct injection turbo engine for “Lexus AS150t F Sport” models.

The rendering above by Theophilus Chin shows how a Lexus AS150 could look like.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:28 am

I would prefer the A1 over this at anytime. This one look cheap.

Cheapo Lexus/Toyota at work again.

Sushi still need alot to beef up to compete with sausages.

• idiotyouare on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:22 am

This is theophilus rendering la dah

• This is only RENDERING by Mr. Chin. This is the consequence of didn’t study hard enough at school .. Go check a dictionary when you don’t know the meaning, learn to be humble to yourself…

• Premium brand car should not looks like this !

• miaomiao on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:30 am

I can’t wait for Bentley Mini, Rolls Royce Mini, Lotus SUV, Mini Cooper SUV, and more

• Alpha on Jul 30, 2012 at 5:38 am

Oh gosh…The Prius C is ugly enough and no,Lexus’ new front end does not look good on a small car.It makes it look so…20 years ago.

I do know that is just a rendering,but it’s really ugly in my opinion.

• alldisc on Jul 30, 2012 at 8:17 am

paul, can help to explain what does A, I, G, E and L stands for in Lexus line-up?

letters are from AS, IS, GS, ES and LS (if possible RX, LX and SC too)

appreciate for the answers

• kiddo on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:58 pm

The letter ‘S’ refers to ‘sedan’ or ‘sport’ in Lexus’ lineup; the ‘X’ stands for Utility Vehicle or Crossover and the ‘h’ means ‘hybrid’. As for ‘F’, it’s the performance arm on par with BMW’s M GmbH or M.Benz’s ‘AMG’.

So,
      IS = Intelligent Sport/Sedan
      GS = Grand Sport/Sedan
      ES = Executive Sport/Sedan
      LS = Luxury Sedan/Sport
      SC = Sport Coupe
      RX = Recreational Crossovers.
      LX = Luxury Sport Utility Vehicle (LSUV)
      CT = City Tourer

Not too sure if I’ve listed them correctly.

• Lol. So the Toyota Auris will be the next rebadge victim. I pity those who will buy the suppose Lexus AS150…

• Wait, it could be Myvi that’s being rebadge into Lexus.. OMFGBBQSOS, there will be so many “Lexus” on our roads in the future.

• percayalah on Jul 30, 2012 at 9:19 am

If Pakatan comes into power, this car will probably oust myvi as the bestselling car of “The New Malaysia”.
    Basic model starts at RM29,599/=.

• Made by Toyota on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:02 am

Judging from the very low comments for all the Lexus articles, it can clearly be seen that the Lexus brand is dead in Malaysia. I think, it will meet the same fate as Fiat and Citroen. It will exist but it will be “non-existant”. I think Malaysians are quite pandai compared to the people in the US, who are generally, ignorant. As one poster said in the comments of the Lexus LS, Malaysians know it is a re-branded Toyota. Aiyoo, look closer also, you can see its written all over the car “Made by Toyota Corporation”. So, why pay so much of money for a mere Toyota? It looks, smells, feels like a Toyota also. Might as well just go into the Toyota showroom and buy a Toyota or use the same money to buy a BMW.

Would you pay RM500k for an Infinity knowing it is merely a Nissan? If you do, why don’t you buy a Skoda and feel proud that you have a VW, since it is made by VW or better still, a Porsche, since VW owns Porsche fully now.

• Wow so Proton driver should feel proud and think that they are driving a lotus?since Proton owns lotus according to you…

• That shows how ignorant you are. Have you driven a LS before?

• Josh Ling on Jul 30, 2012 at 1:20 pm

i wonder where your judgement comes from? because from what i can see, even though there is no Lexus showroom in the town i live, i can see more and more Lexus models, in fact a whole range of Lexus models from the cheapest CT200h to LS600hL, are being driven on the road. and the number keeps increasing from month to month. Lexus is dead? I say it’s alive and very much still kicking, instead!

• kiddo on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Come to Sabah or Sarawak and you’ll realise how wrong, naive and ignorant you are!

Sabah is flooded with Lexus, kid! Audi is the dead ‘non-existant’ brand here. BMW, so so~

You are really funny, my friend.

• Totally agree with you ! lexus is everywhere in east malaysia, especially the IS, CT and the Lexus version oh land cruiser.

• West Malaysia is full of Audi,Mercedes and BMW here !

• kiddo on Jul 31, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Dude, where are you staying?! I’ve been in KL for so many years and I’ve seen a lot of Lexus. Wake up!!

Penang and Ipoh are also full of Lexus recently. Don’t argue for the sake of arguing!

• kiddo on Jul 31, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Dude, where are you staying?! I’ve been in KL and Penang for so many years and I’ve seen a lot of Lexus running around!

With the opening of the new showrooms in Penang and Johor, the number of Lexus in these two states are rising rapidly.

• kerelbort on Jul 30, 2012 at 4:10 pm

we don’t see a lots of ferrari, lambo or bentley.. so those are dead too?

• People who say the same old “Lexus is Toyota ” thing again and again are those stuck in a time which they never progress in terms of their mentality, and Lexus and or Toyota or any other car companies are the exact opposite of that. Car engineers and designers keep on improving, so as car technology.
      And the amusing parts is : people like you who don’t even have the balls to walk into the Lexus showroom (and jaguar, merz, BMW etc) to touch and see the cars on your own , to say such comment on Lexus…….3 words: shallow and outdated.

• youreBlockingMyWay on Jul 31, 2012 at 12:24 am

or maybe because lexus owners dun hav time to hog paultan site with brand bigotry comments like audi or bmw fan boys…..

• Dude, just because of low comments the brand is dead? Man, you gotta wake up. Lexus Malaysia is doing a ROARING business!!! How I know? Coz my office is next to it and I pass by Lexus a few times a day. I can see lots of RX, LS and GS coming in to service their cars. CT200 obviously have tons of them now but I’m talking about the upper range Lexus that are above RM350k. There are so many of them. Lexus are mostly bought by listed companies coz their MD or CEO prefer comfort above all else. My ex-boss’ Tan Sri father was so impressed with the LS400 1st generation that it replaced his S500 and have been using Lexus ever since. Mind you, this is a filthy rich family with Ferrari, Porsche, SL, CLK, E class, S class, Range Rover, Lexus LS, RX, etc. Lexus not doing well? They outsell Merc and BMW in the US. Think again.

• underskinned on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:28 am

This is a terrible impression. Looks like a China ripoff.

• Lex Luthor on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:34 am

Comparing Lexus to Toyota is like comparing Audi to Volkswagen. Made by Toyota Corporation doesn’t mean that it is inferior. iPhones, Samsung Galaxy SIII and Nokias are all Made by Foxconn in China, sharing certain level of components. Are they the same? I doubt so. Even Rolls Royce Ghost is based on the BMW 7 Series platform, do they look, smell and feel the same? Go figure.

The competitive edge of Lexus in the US is largely due to its after-sales service. You get treated like a Rolls-Royce buyer for the price of a Lexus. You probably don’t get such services in Malaysia, making the premium you pay for the CBU Lexus less justifiable than the slightly cheaper CKD BMW / Merc.

Don’t be mistaken, I’m a hardcore BMW F01/F10/F30 fan, but I do respect Lexus for what they try to accomplish.

• softly on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:50 am

Very simple comment, how come so many articles lately about the most boring car company of all – as mentioned by Top Gear? That car company is Lexus.

• NewCarPrice on Jul 30, 2012 at 10:58 am

Car prices is falling down, falling down, falling down, Car prices is falling down, when Pakatan wins it.

• ben yap on Jul 30, 2012 at 11:02 am

What’s wrong with Toyota? their cars serves millions of people for many many miles. a trusty and reliable car. what more to ask?

• hanifhamzah on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:07 pm

compressed version of CT200h…but with a cheap-look…

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:39 pm

I’m just curious if there are people complaining that the CT200 is too big.

I would think Lexus might have more credence in this issue if they release a hybridized version of the iQ. At least that has a niche, much like the Smart for2.

• silver on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:40 pm

at least its more reliable then audi benz or bmw ..
    everynoe has their own taste and need. People that like a realiable car tends to buy a lexus .. If all car makers aim for the same market all cars would feel the sme which would not be good at all. the difference between a toyota and lexus is quite remarkable. its just funny how you can compare both. most cars now a days share certain parts doesn’t mean they are the same. if not you would be saying onwing a lambo is like owning and audi or hack WV

• a.car.fan on Jul 30, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Why not? I don’t see why Lexus shouldn’t broaden it’s horizons, as long as they meet the customer’s needs and prices their vehicles accordingly.

For this design, however, I’m sorry Theo, but it could’ve taken a bolder look and form but I understand that it’s difficult to manipulate cars just like that. Thank you for your effort!

• BeemerFreak on Jul 30, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Lexus will never have a turbocharged gasoline or diesel engine as long as they retain the same bunch of engineers. They are just too hard headed and fanatic to change.

They make good, or rather great quality cars but besides their hybrid drivetrains and the V10 of the LFA, the rest of the petrol engines suck big time, they are not clean, neither are they economical. IT time to change or be left behind.

• leong on Jul 30, 2012 at 11:48 pm

looks cute! ;)

• got-rice on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:09 am

As long as they keep it away from the US, Toyota can do whatever they want. It just won’t sell to those in the States…if my Asian mentality is correct, it will sell likely to young Asian women who love to fill their cars with Hello Kitty seat covers and dolls in the back window.

• I actually thought that it looked like a compressed CT200h too… doesn’t look as pretty, that’s for sure.