Hyundai MD Elantra: price increase of RM2k for 1.6, RM3k for 1.8 – new Sonata and i10 variants introduced

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has announced that the pricing of the MD Elantra – which was launched in March – has been revised, on the up. The increase is across the model range, by RM2,000 in the case of the 1.6L variants and RM3,000 for the sole 1.8L variant.

The 1.6 MT Standard now goes for RM88,888 (previously RM86,888) and the 1.6 AT Standard for RM93,888 (formerly RM91,888). As for the 1.6 AT High Spec, it’s now RM98,888 (earlier, RM96,888), and the range-topping 1.8 AT Premium now retails for RM114,888. All prices are on-the-road, with insurance.

Elsewhere, new variants of the i10 and Sonata have come about. Joining the existing i10 1.1L High Spec and 1.25L High Spec models are two premium variants called the 1.1L FL Premium and 1.25L Kappa CVVT FL Premium, and they go for RM57,188 and RM61,888 respectively. New kit includes a built-in GPS and leather seats.

Meanwhile, there are now six variants in the Sonata range with the inclusion of the 2.0L Sport and 2.4L Sport versions into the fold, and the new additions go for RM151,388 and RM169,888 respectively; embellishments include a new stylish body kit.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• chua CD on Aug 01, 2012 at 1:59 pm

In boleh land….we only heard about barang naik (BN) !!
    Somemore from today’s news…Whistleblower got arrested! But the doers still free!!
    Feel hopeless of this country!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Ha Gnih on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:12 pm

I second that any time of the day. The good gets punished and the bad gets away with it and becomes worse. Kudos to our ‘beloved’ country

• Mario Gomez on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:38 pm

Go ahead.

• chris on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:50 pm

who cares? who wants to know?

• damage digital on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:19 pm

sakai.

• Badrul on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:35 pm

For those planning to buy this car or even any cars, no point buying lah. Cause, if PKR does take over, car prices will drop, not drastically, but it would drop. This car would be less than RM70k if they follow the gradual drop in price strategy in order for the 2nd hand industry not to collapse.

In the case of if PKR does lose, car prices will still drop. BN now knows the car community are quite pissed recently about high car prices. The recent media and blogs have stirred up people’s awareness about this topic. Everybody is now talking about car prices and how they are pissed with BN’s NEP and automotive policy. All votes are now directed to PKR. Even hardcore BN supporters also have decided to support PKR’s car reduction in prices initiative. You see, even BN people love cars also and want cheaper cars. Most people, even ardent BN supporters pay 1/3 or even 1/2 of their monthly salary to service their car loans and are now starting to feel the pinch.

Anyway, going back on track, even if BN wins also, in the meantime, just before election, to win voters, they will announce a reduction in car prices. So, this car probably would be RM80k and below also.

• suka-suka jer on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:19 pm

apa apa je la dude asal kan bahagia..
          siapa2 yang menang pun kita rakyat tak de dapat apa2..
          unless anak FELDA.. RISDA.. dapat lah wang percuma hasil dari tax/lhdn orang ramai :)

• how true is true?

• suka-suka jer on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:18 pm

haha..
        BM525i? nothing to be should/proud about.
        its only still entry level 6 pot car: 520i, 523i, 525i..

if a tru drivers car is the at least 530i..
        or even better the 545i or the M5..
        u need lots of horse and torque to shout about :)

keep your entry level Beemer silent ya :)

• bugger on Aug 02, 2012 at 12:16 am

apa ke bangang ko ni, kelas berbeza la mangkuk!

• If u are observant, tis guy only appear on korea car page and keep on bashing korean car

• yea, i’ll stick to my ferrari 480 italia…not to mention my lambo gallardo, and oh, the Bently too..

• no one on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:12 pm

come on la..talk automotive..no politics topics here..eg: whether H-SDM make price increase with additional accessories..

• kuriang on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:50 pm

sebab orang ramai sudah bangun dari tido.. ko je masih tido..

• Metroboy2 on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:35 pm

ko je yg tido, talk about car la. This is a car thread. Use your power as voters if youre not satisfy with the govt, jangan pandai cakap je

• Badrul on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Metroboy, your English so bad lah. Did you study in Uitm?

• beeen on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:34 pm

oh yeah, BADRUL. real mature. Which top 5 university IN THE WORLD did you graduate from? kalau UM je jangan nak berlagak. Overseas? Top 5 ke? Oops.

• Badrul, look who’s talking. your english is no better than metroboy though. even if you didnt attend uitm, your english is still below minimum standard.

• Uitm Graduate on Aug 02, 2012 at 9:19 am

Don’t talks bad abouts Uitms Ingeris. We are worlds standards. I was wanting to bought this Elantra too. By the ways, I am Uitm graduate also and prouds of it.

• kerelbort on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:36 pm

what happen when you wake up tomorrow the car price drop 300%. Domino effect will crumble this whole nation down. Forget your saving account today as your ringgit will have no value come tomorrow.

for the sake of buying a car you actually can’t afford in the first place even without the 300% tax, you might loose your job.

Think carefully before you vote.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 01, 2012 at 7:38 pm

@kerelbort

So the only way out of this is, up and up?

ooo… I am shaking in my boots. Everyone will be begging in the streets if car prices were to come down.

• “no one” must be still riding bicycle.. no wonder car price doesnt bother him… hehehe

obviously this news is about the new car price.. and you want to discuss about specs and performance??? hhehheheh

• theanswer on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:19 pm

hahah agree! demm..61k for such a small car.

• k_man on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Go and migrate somewhere then…nobody’s stopping u…please go….

• division93 on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:59 pm

lets just hope for that rumour of the opposition demolishing the stupid excise duty car tax of 300% away.Hope for the best is what everybody can only do for now.

• zidane on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:58 pm

where you get that 300%?

surely you need to read latest news…

• beeen on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:33 pm

Right, who cares about laws and Bafia or anything like that right. What next, you catch someone stealing from you, cut his hands la right? Save other people from getting robbed what. Police, due process, court procedure, ni semua corrupted right? Typical anwar fanboi. No principles AT ALL.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 01, 2012 at 7:43 pm

What has Bafia got to do with price increase? Are you uneducated or what? Since when unjustified price increases has anything to do with cutting hands off?

Another barang naik toady. See, I also can you accuse you of being someones fanboy.

• Polo Sedan is sill more expensive than this car ! rear is drum brake and the interior is boring if compared with this car !

• theanswer on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:24 pm

yes drum brake mean cheapskate. but if u read enough abt rear brake..u’ll know that the difference between rear disc and drum (given the same size) is very little. unless u’r driving a sports high performance car.

• I mean as a VW great car and expensive than others should have the rear disc brake ‘ at least ‘ even the Polo 1.2 also have the rear disc brake !

• lokpi on Aug 02, 2012 at 8:06 am

x kesah la , kete kecik harga mahal gila pejadah….sebijik saga harga almost 3 times ma…

• alldisc on Aug 02, 2012 at 9:20 am

disc brakes react faster than drum to an extent of locking up, it dissipates heat better and does not contain dust internally like drum brakes.

if really not much difference, lamborghini aventador is using it lah.

• suka-suka jer on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:29 pm

wow didnt notice so many NATO here..
      No Action Talk Only or Keyboard warrior..
      haha claim like so good; but in fact another piece of lozer..
      hahaha.

have fun all bash2.. type2.. provoke2.. show off…
      but.. at the end..
      just another lozer :)

• Obama on Aug 02, 2012 at 9:49 am

This is what they called as “janji ditepati”…full of shit

• MoFaz on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:14 am

few months ago we get USD1=RM3. now USD1=RM3.20.
      Elantra import price was close to RM30000 back then but now maybe around RM32000 due to changes in foreign exchange rate.

• Jurutera on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Bad move…

• suka-suka jer on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:03 am

biar la naik harga.
      bagi dia untung sikit :).
      pada rakyat yang ada extra wang beli la..
      pada yang sangat ada extra wang beli la brand lain yang mampu :)

• Critique on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:07 pm

Hmm, I wonder WHO or WHAT do we have to thank for this increase?

Cheers :)

• daniel on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Nice car, but price not so nice like forte

• Troll Yo Duck on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:10 pm

What the.. whr is the justification?? suka suka barang naik..

• Totally unjustified

• suka-suka jer on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:05 am

its justified la = more profit..

eg 1 elantra can increase $3K..
      imagine if 5000 elantra sold after increase..
      $3000 x 5000 = $15000000..

ok what?
      can use the extra income to pay advertising overhead..
      management/sales/team bonus..
      ok what…

:)

• damage digital on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:18 pm

hahaha…good for Kia/hyudai fanboy..

• hway de Cruz on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:21 pm

wrong move by hsdm, if u think increase price will help u move metal… hah, potential buyers will be pissed off

• hyundai i40 coming soon. look similar to sonata.just saw yesterday when they test drive in Busan. S.Korea

• theanswer on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:39 pm

they should bring in i20 to compete in our growing hatch market (fiesta n mazda 2).

• theanswer on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:40 pm

already saw the wagon version in australia last year.

• Quattro on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Sucks…Kia Forte 2013 (K3) then

• macroman on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:30 pm

How come my salary dun increase geh? :( Looks like everyone in the whole of malaysia of differing industry is gonna up their prices VERY SOON! teh trik, susu, rice, house, pakaian.. guddaluk malaysians!

• The only country with automobile appreciation! Malaysia BOLEH!!! How can i live in a Country with high taxes just to protect the local trashes carmaker?

• ahmad albab on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:31 pm

haha harga kaw-kaw shoot up..
    but second retail value kaw-kaw shoot down..

:)

• suka-suka jer on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:22 pm

correct; price up and what will happen to 2nd hand..
      i doubt it is stable..
      haha..
      lozer..

• vincent on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:33 pm

I am ok if I pay 2-3k more if you upgrade all the specs to 6 airbags. That will let the T&H to rethink about their low safety spec offering.

• Daniel on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:35 pm

I presume the price adjustment relate to the increase booking order/demand after launched in the market for few months, but its totally unacceptable. Inokom did a very successful marketing strategies to bring in the new MD Elantra but it has totally FAILED in the positioning/pricing strategies in Malaysia.

A behavioral buying intention is defined by the consumer’s belief and/or feeling with respect to the product or service. Sometimes It has nothing to do with the price increment; It’s the negative feelings and perspective toward a corporate product!!

• zam ree on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Hyundai cars are like Cempedak …all look similar..only the sizes are different..haha

• damage digital on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:16 pm

and handling like sampan..

• alpha999 on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:40 pm

dugong vios handling like sampan

• suka-suka jer on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:25 pm

all korean.. japanese and china cars + malaysian car rides like tong sampah..

trust me; u need a conti to get/understand what is a ride and handling is :)

• at least proton inherits lotus rnh

• suka-suka jer on Aug 01, 2012 at 11:49 pm

correction…
          proton not only inherit lotus..

but proton / drb inherit hutang busuk lotus :)

• Troll Yo Duck on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:24 pm

U shud mention VW too

• Kl fatguy on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Ahahha. Totally unacceptable and totally ridicolous. Come on lah, we still alot car can buy insteads of hyundai. Better abolish ap systems then everyone win. Korean car damn high, better switch back to japanese car

• shawal on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:45 pm

lets just wait till its sister car , the next gen forte arrives to our shore, distributed by NAZA, with a fair & attractive price…

• kena tipu on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:47 pm

bought the MD 1.8L…
    got some many issue with the car…
    so now have to spend lots of time coming in out of the SC…

sunroof not function..
    noise/knocking sound from rear..
    braking got click click sound at times..

haish….
    should get a Civic instead or NAZA 408 with similar price..

• damage digital on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:18 pm

u rich ma,got 5 series.haha..

• oh no on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:57 pm

i think he/she said similar price. what car can get RM110-120K brand new.
      u must be jocking for not able to read.
      please focus

• I’m sorry to hear that my friend. I almost bought elantra 1.8 as well booked to b precised until I tested drive the 2.0 civic. Just got my brand new civic today. Handling is awesome

• azhar on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:49 pm

with this price increase..now i know who im gonna vote in GE..this is just too much!

• Addman on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:50 pm

U think this increase will stop people from buying? Elantra waiting list is now 7 months! More than 5000 bookings so far and only 1500 delivered

• NasUrudin aidid on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:52 pm

I will never buy anything from Korea. Their engine are proven to be ….. Overheating, that’s what they good in. Fuel consumption is also another issue. Very heavy car cause heavy fuel consumption. And the worst is the franchise holder. I.e Naza, the stupid Ap king . Useless 2 nd hand value

• LE_buruk on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:20 pm

did u know that kia forte 2.0 has the same engine block from mitsubishi lancer which is considered one of the best in 2.0 class….

• drMpower on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:28 pm

jesus christ
        if this the way u justify the forte then perhaps next time u can tell us why pigs cant fly

• zidane on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Engine block will gives no different la bruder…

Cylinder head and the Valve Train that always plays much role…

• They can only bring their petrol which is average in FC but if they can bring their excellent small 1.6/1.4 Crdi diesels, u would say that their FC will better than vios/city,….not just those, it will be better than those insights hybrid

• you bought early generation of Hyundai right?

Nowadays, even same generation with Avante has improved a lot…esp fuel consumption, features and design..

• We are the consumers. We are the ones who determine the demand or the “death” of the Hyundai Elantra or any cars for that matter! Let us once and for all say enough is enough! We consumers will not be taken for a ride! 2 to 3K increase without any add ons?? BOYCOTT Hyundai Elatra!! BOYCOTT Hyundai cars!! BOYCOTT Sime Darby!! I for one will do my part…. initially I was very interested and close to purchasing the Elantra but after the increase, FORGET IT!! BOYCOTT!! POWER To the COMSUMERS!

• i just bought one.

• Mario Gomez on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:48 pm

VW Polo GTI also increase 30k w/out adding features,so u gonna boycott Volkswagen??

• suka-suka jer on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:26 pm

becoz its a conti maa :)

• Yes, I already BOYCOTT the present government. Don’t forget, the price increase for the Polo GTI is due to the authorities. So for the coming GE, I’m gonna vote for the absurd car taxes to be abolished! Yipee!!

• NasUrudin aidid on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:56 pm

And I don’t see many of these model on the road. Unlike Toyota, 3000 ++ Malaysian will buy a Vios every month even if Toyota were to increase by another rm 15000 more for a Vios

• Mario Gomez on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Where u live?
      I live in Kepong n i already see many Elantra in PJ.
      The first I saw is in 1Utama area in May,the car from Penang(PKN or PKP i forget),then until now i see at least 8 already.

• i live in cheras..drive to office every day by using jln tun razak…i can easily see 5-6 new Elantra every day…delicious!

• ben yap on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:57 pm

I would rather buy the 2012 Honda Civic 1.8 than Hyundai Elantra 1.8. Price about the same but since the increase price without justification, i will not buy their cars. else i wait for the Kia K3.

Hyundai should look at themselves first… you aren’t a jap car nor conti car. you increase price, you dig your own grave.

• The only country in the world car prices always heading north. In USA Hyundai Elantra 1.8 (not ugly “I” badged Inokom) merely RM53,000.

STOP BUYING, the killing will stop too. God willing, I’ll stick to my four year old car. I hate this country senseless attitude towards own citizen.

SD, UMWT, Perodua, all were GLCs. When you allow government running business at the expense of its own people; this is inevitable.

• drMpower on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:36 pm

it is a good thing u stick to your four years old car. perhaps u could stick 2 finger to ur arse as well.

u hate senseless attitude towards own citizen? and 53k elantra in the US? and government running car dealers? jesus christ what u are on about?

i dont know what type of person u are, i just dont bloody care about. but the arguments are weak. and yet you try to champion car prices always go up over here?

care to tell me how much per gallon fuel over there in the US? care to tell me how much they pay for road tax? or u just care to tell what benefits to you and not the others?

care to tell me what the link between GLCs and govenrment? yeah yeah yeah u can only tell me porkies, nothing fact about government ‘running business at the expense of its own people’. of course they are GLC but prove to me government asked them to raise the price? u just couldnt. because there is NO such thing.

have u know how to calculate car prices in malaysia? i hope u do but with these BS coming from you, i am afraid u dont know. or if u have any idea, then its totally ignorant and just stupidity get better of you. every car got taxed. thats a fact. has the govenrment announced tax to the cars has increased recently? NO

so there is NO such thing government ‘running business at the expense of its own people’.

• USA Today news
        USA Today nation
        Ads by Pulse 360
        AdChoices

Like summer temperatures, gasoline prices show few signs of cooling off.

After dipping to $3.33 a gallon and flirting with $3 in the South, the nation’s average gas price climbed 17 cents over 26 consecutive days in July. It was the first monthly gain since March and the biggest July jump since at least 2000, AAA said Tuesday.

Dude:

In USD0.79-0.86 per liter yesterday price. Just slightly more than our RON97. Their Elantra 1.8 mere RM53,000 (even our Myvi more expensive than this car).

• Watchthemburn on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:20 am

Burn…
          Do some research before attempting to flame please.

• Troll Yo Duck on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:37 pm

ya all 3 of them always take advantages and price their s**t above market value for fat margin

• Statistician on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Any sane Malaysian should really stop buying until GE 13 is over. Reasons ?

1) Political uncertainty that PKR might win
      2) Let’s punish the car sellers who really think they are the king of the world. I will stick to me 5 and 7 year old car for at least another year. If everybody can hold their purchase for another 6 months to 1 years the car automobile industry will panic !!!

• ong chin aun on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Price increased!? This is absurb ! what is the rational ? Naik cepat kaya? Congrat to Sime-Darby after all this is a free country. Hope they reap the result. Hope K3 Forte come sooner with the right price. Also, Hope the hybrid or EV come to M`SIA fast.

• Addman on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:06 pm

I’m sick of comments like too expensive too korean not japanese inokom logo bla bla bla just because you can’t afford it.

Well nobody is pointing a gun at your head to buy isn’t it? If you don’t buy it, other people will. If you think it’s overpriced, just don’t buy it. Go ahead and buy a Kancil or a Kelisa. Those who have real money will own one.

• damage digital on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:25 pm

butthurt hyundai fanboy.

• Watchthemburn on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:24 am

Right.. because we are rich we have to pay more for cars which are priced cheaper than japs? K cars are usually cheaper for a reason. You are sick alright, sick in the head.

• Avartar on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Pathetic.. non of hyundai car come with 7 airbags and above. What is going on?? My boss paid RM160K for Santa Fe only come with 2 airbags.

Sime Darby is suck big time. Somemore, latest hyundai model spare-parts are pricey compare to previuos model.

• orange on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:45 am

I tend to agreed with this, even premium model it still came with 2 airbag…and why on earth its sibling KIA can offer better ?

• coolsoldier on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:11 pm

This car is C segment, not B segment. Stop comparing with the likes of City and Vios.

• Troll Yo Duck on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:56 pm

ask around and you will be surprise that majority dont know car got ABCD one.. they only know their gf/wife got only

• Rajaking on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:16 pm

they think they’re in the position as the japs now…
    suka suka hati mau dapat high profit margin with so-so spec..

• Reason on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:25 pm

The only reason hyundai had to increase price is because the demand is too large for them…they cant give everyone their cars on time….haven’t u guys learn kemahiran hidup ????! Demand go up price go up…demand go down price also go down larh

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:09 pm

If demand go up then production should also go up. How does keeping the production low and car price higher and higher help with the brand and value? You should go and learn proper economics and not depend on “kemahiran hidup” from our low class Malaysian syllabus.

If your logic were true, then the pricing of Mondeo would have gone down, not up. In Malaysia it is always up, up and away with our money! Don’t know what you have actually learned in life after all these years being a Malaysian.

• Donex on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:26 pm

i10 RM61.8K , better take Alza after discount also RM61.8K for EZi spec , high 2nd value , 7seats so big , DVVT ….etc.
    Till today new Sonata can see the 2nd value was drop 20% after 1 year + car , new car offer RM10K .

• In before car AP will need to be open bidded. Increase price!

• kolejeon on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:32 pm

So it’s true then. No wonder T&H didn’t lower their price because the Korean will eventually jack up the price.

• Wussap on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Dont care, as long its not a Japs car with 10 years back technology. Outside and inside interior like the 80’s hahahaaha come on, now 2012 already..still want to buy a dinosor Japs car? Why u want to spend a 115K for the 10 years back technology ? What you can play inside the Japs car is a ugly radio hahaha

• Chow 1 on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Don’t care, don’t want to know, don’t want to buy.

• James on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:42 pm

dont buy the car la.. dont need to complaint at all. lol. was considering the elantra for my next upgrade, but with the price increase.. screw it.. ill take my money elsewhere. thanks.

• smokey on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:45 pm

whats the reason for the increase when the base price already so high? fu

• The price increase has nothing to do with the government at all, frustrated people are pointing fingers just for the sake of pointing it.

Anyway, Sime Darby has a proven track record of increasing their vehicle prices mid-way through, take the ford fiesta for example. One of you mentioned something about the high demand, thus increasing the price to help cope with demand, which to me is an explanation which makes the most sense!

• Caruser on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Yes maybe this price increase is done by SD. But please remember it is the govt who impose high taxes in the first place to push up the price level. And if this increase is caused by our depreciating RM, who do you think is responsible….. you and me meh?

• it could be an increase in tax, like what happened to the VW polo GTI recently, or not, we won’t know unless SD makes an official statement. but judging from their silence, it’s most likely a decision on their part, unlike VW Malaysia which went out to clarify on the price increase.

if you know anything about economics at all, you’ll also know that the government or bank negara has ultimate control on the exchange rate of our currency relative to foreign ones. they could, depreciate our currency to RM10/1USD or vice versa, all by just manipulating the bank interest rate, the amount of currency in the market and etc.

So as long as our economy is driven by export, the government will continue to maintain a preferable exchange rate, in order for Malaysian products to be more competitive in price in the global market. you’d be foolish to think that the government gives a bullocks about you and me who are buying iphones and ipads, as they would rather favor the exporters which employs you and me.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:17 pm

You don’t increase price to cope with demand, you increase production! Don’t know where you guys learn such outa economics. Increasing the price will only kill demand and sell fewer cars. How does selling fewer cars, is good for profits?

SD can do monkey business like this because the govt protects them. Only in Malaysia a few cartels can do what they like with the brands they own! Unfortunately, there are no other distributors to sell these cars, so they can suka-suka increase price and buyers have no choice but look for other limited options.

• SD is not Hyundai. How do they demand Hyundai to increase production? FYI, Hyundai does not solely export to Malaysia, they have even more important market (like the USA) to cater. The only feasible way of “slowing” down the purchase rate is to increase price. The point is that when you have loads of order but no delivery, you think the customer will be happy? Profit is of cause main concern but only with adequate customer service can the business grow. It’s somewhat similar to the Boy who cried Wolf. Amazed whoever thumbed you up didn’t thought it throughly.

I agree on your second part thou, SD still monkeying around coz after sales/service (regarding on parts pricing) still needs to be improved.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 01, 2012 at 11:55 pm

FYI, the i10 and Elantra is manufactured here by Inokom. That is why it is a licensed product with the Inokom logo.

Even most of the parts are manufactured here. The poor quality tail light in the Elantra is proof of that. You can go read about it in the LowYat forums if you want to educate yourself.

Also the demand in US has nothing to do with output from Korea. For goodness sake, we are not even receiving the GDi engines like the US is. Also FYI, Hyundai has its own manufacturing in Alabama, USA. So where is the relation?

Please research to avoid posting baseless comments here. Hyundai has little control over the abuse by an AP king like SD here.

• again, another easy talk, do you actually even realise how long does it take to ramp-up production of a vehicle, it’s not as simple as something which can be done overnight, additional equipments and machineries would be required, as well as employment of staff, which would take months to acquire. with the decision to increase the price, there are actuarists working behind the scences in calculating factors such as losing potential customers, profit and keeping up with current demand, it’s not a one man decision to make. of course, i wouldn’t agree to a price increase mid-way through life of a vehicle, but if that’s what could be done to temporary relieve a situation, than it has to be done.

however, hyundai does have the authority the license for any licensee.

• Increasing the price just to slow down the demand does not make economic sense or any sense for that matter. If the intention is to slow down demand, then why is Hyundai/SD still doing roadshows nationwide? Would it not be more effective to just impose a limited quota that can be sold for every showroom if the intention is to slow down the sales? Just face it, the main reason is none other than $$$$$$!!

• if only things were that simple, the problem with commoners like you and me is, it’s easy for us to talk and criticize, not really knowing what is going behind the scenes.

fyi, sime darby is a public listed company and the board of directors are responsible towards the shareholders of the company, which ultimately comes down to profitability, so tell me which sane director would do something which will turn their businesses topsy-turvy? if there’s something which is not up to par, it’s only because of the implementation, and not the intention.

p/s: “Name” made a very sensible comment, so do give it a read

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 01, 2012 at 11:59 pm

SD has made a lot of blunders, if you google it you’ll find it. Furthermore, since when the Malaysian auto industry about healthy competition. Why is SD the sole distributor? What happened to Kah Bintang?

• RejimDynastyAnwarKarpalLimKitSiang on Aug 02, 2012 at 12:32 pm

When demand is higher than supply..prices go up..economics 101..who’s stupid now??

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 06, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Please provide a citation if you believe in such bullshit. BN economics not withstanding.

• Desmond on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:08 pm

BMW 525i very good meh?

• damage digital on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:15 pm

now hyundai can compared to conti cars..coz they got peter.

• zidane on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:01 pm

kia got peter… not hyundai…

hyundai have their local designer…

• oh no on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:54 pm

the rejected peter (ex Audi) only design..
        so design is only OK.
        not the ride/handling..
        conti is far superior; go test drive a 10 years old BM or Merc or Volvo.. or Audi..
        its far superior then any present Jap or Korean or China..

• suka-suka jer on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:24 pm

yar rite; go drive conti; see how far (heaven and earth)…
        they audi dude only design sketches and dumb kia go produce it.
        but trust me; ride and handling of the conti they wont and never will have.
        lozer in the making :)

• bmwfans on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:43 pm

So what you think about BMW525i? I m interested to know your answer.

• Go for mercedes and bmw, or vw.

• sudonano on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:14 pm

yet, no ESC for the i10. Not even optional. Why give us a GPS/Leather seat when you can give us ESC and lower cost? ESC alone won’t cost more than 1k+ i think.

• Audi Owner on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Our RM currency value is moving south now SGD1 = RM2.50.Even other imported goods will also increase soon.

• torres on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:28 pm

come on give a chance to korean car, dont always over passion to japan car only . The car quality, technology will improve much better in future if there are competitors comes up.And it will only benefit ourselves. And somemore this elantra is C-segment not B-segment such vios city which are not even global car. For those who think city vios are same level with elantra , please please read more expert automobile forum before give comment.Dont such a small boy complaning here and there.for those anti korean car .Do u appreciate what korean had sacrifice on this car? Do u think this is easy to design such success model in one night? please appreaciate people work.

• zebra on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Dear Torres,

Totally appreciate their effort of placing the technology and refreshing design that they have. I do not appreciate the mentality of hiking the rpice without any sensible reason. As far as I can see, the car is exactly the same and ringgit did not go down against the Won. so what constitutes the price increase? in the end, consumers feel cheated. Just look at the heated debate in this site when VW decide to increase the price of Polo WITHOUT proper reason.

• ...................... on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:47 pm

The reason is because Hyundai is facing problems with the huge demand here in Malaysia that they cant keep up with the orders….they are forced to increase the price

• ...................... on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:49 pm

out of 5000 bookings they only manage to deliver 1750 cars only….thats A LOT more cars left to deliver

• fireball on Aug 02, 2012 at 3:26 pm

If we give every car maker a chance who give us?
      i am appreciable if gov. give us a chance.
      Ya we all have a small boy inside nor matter how big we growth …..

• Just me on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:34 pm

even with old price, car price in malaysia is already more expensive than other coutry. Now this people are talking about further increase!! Malaysian will be getting poorer and poorer.

• drMpower on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:39 pm

no. malaysians ARE NOT about to get poorer and poorer.

unless you buy this elantra.

there was one indian bought a two door sports car few weeks back then. it cost something like over 200k RM.

malaysian getting poorer? what u are on about?

• m assuming u were talking abt the guy who bought renault megane

• Merc=Real Euro on Aug 02, 2012 at 12:22 am

so what one indian bought a car for 200K means that all malaysian got money…. pls go back to school…

• jalan54 on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:43 pm

According to the sales rep, there will never be manual transmission for this model and I don’t know why they are still putting price for that, should remove it from the list.

• Troll Yo Duck on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:42 pm

so that they can play the marketing gimmick “start from $(lowest price)”

• BERSIH 4.0 on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:49 pm

I think the cars price in M’sia getting ridiculous even-do the price already so expensive wanna increased some more :(
    New buyer sure pengsan!!!

• Cybermaster98 on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Well Hyundai keep doing it again and again. They keep their prices sky high without realising that you cant do that in Malaysia especially with the kind of brand loyalty Toyota and Honda have. But then again, we dont know if this price increase is due to Sime Darby themselves or the Gov. But instead of blindly increasing the price, Sime Darby should throw in some goodies to offset this price increase. SD can have 10,000 bookings for all i care but these bookings need to be converted into actual sales for it to count. Many will book but how many are willing to wait 6-7 months for a car especially when Honda is delivering the Civic within 1-2 weeks depending on the color. At least Kia is still maintaining the price but i heard even the Optima price is due to be raised soon. Lets hope common sense prevails at least for Kia.

• My mum and dad ordered a Kia optima k5 in April ….guess how long did it take to receive the car….just 4 days.

• Mario Gomez on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:07 pm

I booked the K5 in May and received in July 9.Now is a happy owner of K5.

• Lo Bang on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:17 am

Know what. My grandfather ordered K5 today.. guess what. He got it delivered yesterday..

• My mum and dad ordered a Kia optima k5 in April ….guess how long did it take to receive the car….just 4 days.

• Stop blaming Hyundai la, you all should blame the stupid Sime Darby instead.

And I believe Tony Montana doesn’t drive a BMW or whatever “high-class” car, I can’t believe someone who owns such a car would have a rubbish thinking brain.

• Reason on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:45 pm

He drives a kancil xD

• suka-suka jer on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:27 pm

keyboard warrior only maa..
      can type and claim the heaven also; like who cars or who verify back..
      type here what ever u want..
      say HYundai sucks; like they care :)

NATO semua sini..
      No Action Type Only

• Troll Yo Duck on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:44 pm

he drives kereta lembu-kini

• Mario Gomez on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Oh ya,why i don’t see Tony Montana’s friends…maserati and Hyundai de la junk who like to bash,bash and bash Korean cars???

• suka-suka jer on Aug 01, 2012 at 11:52 pm

becoz those lozer uses and owns korean crap..
        ahhahaha

thats why silent; lozer :)

• zidane on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:39 pm

later SDH will say…

Price up due to AUTHORITY…

Hahaha…

• zebra on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:40 pm

this is too much. at least if increase price must also give a good reason. increase without any reason at all. the longer the waiting list (high demand), they shhould decrease the price as there is more mass! disappointed. if they want to compete in terms of quality with the Japs, then they are digging their own grave.

• Cybermaster98 on Aug 01, 2012 at 7:23 pm

44 awards for this car. American car of the year 2012. Asean car of the year 2012. So stop comparing with the Japanese. Elantra > Civic or Altis. Nuff said.

• Hey Cybermaster98, wat happen to your K5 ?
      Unable to change your dreams to reality isit?
      One thing i hate the most is people who lie & post what not lies in blogs,facebook etc but in real life they own zit. Keep dreaming Cybermaster98…

• Watchthemburn on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:33 am

Was any of the reviews done on Local assembled models? Last time i checked the QC here was EPIC.

• CYBERMASTER LIAR on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:29 pm

Coming from a person who claims he owns a K5 but when it comes for teh tarik session, last minute confirm will come out with so many excuses.
    Hello, we dont need more keyboard liars such as yourself, i dont think u can even afford a K5 in the 1st place. Its good know you are still sticking with your vios but whats up with your crap comparison…

• DKBOSS on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:30 pm

It’s far better to buy a wonderful car at a fair price than a fair car at a wonderful price.

• kiasu no kiasi on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Day light robbery ! price increase with no upgrade, so this is the reason behind the supply shortage,
    Padan muka to all those Korean car fanboy/fandog.
    100K for a korean lc logo 1.6ltr damn Korean pirate.

• retard on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:44 pm

adooi….hyundai increase price…good, no need to buy hyundai. good for the museum show only.

• ah_lock on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:14 pm

better buy ford fiesta sedan.. got 7 airbag.. ok what.. haha..

• Inspira better buy.. Lol.. Locally asemble, but engine from japan..

• I read paultan posting several times, still can’t I see any words mentioned about the price increment is due to tax or because of greedy distributor, but many just blame the government for whatever they don’t like. Hahaa…pity…

• Those who thumbs down I don’t know why…maybe they can read “tax” in the posting…or they are in the pity category… :D

• percayalah on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Gua sudah check…..Hyundai Elantra 1.8L harga cuma 16,695 ke 20,945 USD……lebihkurang 53- 67 ribu ringgit sahaja.Tapi kat Malaysia….. 114 ribu!
    Anggap saja duit lebih yang kita bayar kat sini “rasuah” atau “protection money” yang depa peras dari kita.Bangsat betul!

• alldisc on Aug 02, 2012 at 2:04 pm

yang sebenarnya, tambang naik kapal tu mahal… ha ha ha…

• sime darby engineering on Aug 01, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Sime Darby made loses 1.6 billion in 2010 at their Energy Division. It’s time for them to start recovering process through Motor Division. Well, actually through wang rakyat……

• MoFaz on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:25 am

2010 is too far behind already. and despite the loses in E&U division, the group still register pre-tax profit of RM1.7b that year and their Motors Devision register 116% increase in profit. in 2011 they get net profit of RM3.7bil compared to RM700m in 2010.

• nabill on Aug 02, 2012 at 12:28 am

the only reason why this thread is getting attention is NOT bcos ppl care abt hyundai prices..its bcos ppl get a sence this topic in a way or another,wil get political…!

• brader_N on Aug 02, 2012 at 8:57 am

bro what do you expect? everything in malaysia is a political agenda i.e
      water
      public transport
      food price
      toll
      religion
      race
      petrol price
      sport
      sexual orientation
      lembu
      police force/corruption
      ticket price for a friendly football match in bukit jalil
      lee chong wei
      harimau malaya
      TNB
      diamond ring
      PATI-fast channel for to obtain malaysia I.C.
      and many more if you can continue the list by copy paste

• apa susah….boikot saja hyundai. kalau mereka boleh naik harga suka2, kita pon boleh boikot serta merta. tunjukkan kuasa pembeli.

• beatnik on Aug 02, 2012 at 7:54 am

Sime Darby becoming too confident Hyundai cars will sell well? good luck then..

• seriousdude on Aug 02, 2012 at 9:13 am

i smell more car brand prices will revised up soon…

• vwian on Aug 02, 2012 at 9:53 am

Price increased for the new bodykit install?
    .. or ..
    Price increased as gov tax readjustment?

*Read those fingers are poiting to SimeDarby.

• MoFaz on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:16 am

few months ago USD1=RM3, now USD1=RM3.20
    it’s possible that the price increase was due to the changes in foreign exchange rate. open market value for Elantra was RM30,000 then but now become RM32,000.

• Garfield on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:41 am

Guys, just wise up to these car companies tactics will you all. They introduce a car, they put up a price they think people will buy. Govt get what they want (duties and taxes), and the rest the car companies pocket.

Car sells well, either they keep the sales up; or in this case, profit even more with the risk of sales going down. The thing is, with the prohibitive taxes, the foreign car companies could not sell the numbers they would like to in the first place (I’m talking in general sense, protected national cars vs others).

Bearing that in mind, they make X% of profit per car. Any increase will add to that hugely because if there are no reasons like currency fluctuation, every single sen is translated into extra profit. That increase will anytime supplement the offset resulting from lesser sales anyway i.e. less work but same money!

And as I had said previously, they don’t really lose that much if the car sales drop and some stocks are hanging around. Just pass some discounts. With the bank loans calculated from list price, they could later move the stocks at even zero downpayment!

So how do you get the prices down? Just don’t buy them if you don’t need them, yet. If more and more people think alike we can even restructure the whole industry! Well….. wishful thinking for Bolehland…..

• Elantra is the best selling C segment car in Malaysia now, with order pending for months to deliver.

Maybe that’s why they want to to raise the price…more profit.

• inderaloka on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:27 am

Car price in Malaysia = Car price + excise duty + import duty + sales tax. Janji ditepati. Selamat membayar.

• Muhammad Najibur Rehman bin Sohibul Saleemin Ali Nasrallah on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:28 am

Pls dont purchases this car. Better go purchase Cambry coz the car is so very the better than hyunday. This is made in korea. Thye only educate how to build cars latest time only. Jepunese already educate building cars longest time already.

Thats why Cambry is good car. Cannot callenge the looks and solid. Very hard when knock knock. Very pretty and beutifil. Cannot go mistake if purchasing one. Satisfied heart for sure.

Hyunday can go back to koreya. Summore want to climb the price. Better go for new Cambry. Better purchasing than this not good value car. Long life Cambry…

• David D on Aug 02, 2012 at 1:17 pm

What a long name you have, and what an insanely long and stupid comment and mentality you have. This is a C-Segment car, not a bloody D-Segment car. And your comparisons with the Camry had absolutely no grounds at all. Seriously, what’s so great about the Camry now? Apart from a price increase, a new 2.5 engine, and improved handling, nothing else. The Camry has gone from the standard bearer, to somewhat mid pack right to the bottom.

Lastly, we sane minded people here has a simple warning for you:- Dont’t try to be a pointless hero here, as you’ll face our brunt instead of gaining brownie points for your stupidity. And gosh, given the chance, if you were a real life person, you really deserve a beating!!

• Kia/Hyundai on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:32 am

Why are you guys so upset ? As if you all are affected by this price increase ? Don’t buy ..la pergi beli proton/myvi..la Jap/Korean cars are too good for you all here. Mind you the dont simply increase prices for ntg ok they gave you more e.g bodykits etc. No way Malaysia going to have cheaper cars even you change Govt. dont be naive !

• orange on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:48 am

Totally wrong move by HSDM…they seem didn’t notice Hyundai is still regarded low class brand in this country no matter how success it is oversea…they should reconsider the price strategy..

• Merc=Real Euro on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:55 am

everyone know the car prices are very very high…but why keep complaining….go and educate the public….how we are getting ripped off…

CHANGE START WITH YOU…

If the price will not come …we will force it by not buying….
    Dont start with people in the car industry will suffer blah blah…. That can be easily fixed.. so it is lame excuse…to allow the vulture(s) preying on us hardworking tax paying citizen…

• very simple, just change this corrupted government in this coming election, void the AP system n high tax!!!

• i wish toyota also increase price to not so many people can buy, at least can show toyota supporter is 1 level higher than others

• Whynot on Aug 02, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Is time these people start rocketing their price to the sky hoping to skin of Malaysian and blaming the govt for high tax or whatever they can before the AFTA come in action. The only way to get the price down is not to buy any new car for now. I guarantee if we are cooperate, they will sure go down or bankrupt. I won’t pity this rich crony!

• DArkerMarker on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:18 am

Buy if can pay…
    dont buy if cannot pay lor….

Nobody forcing anyone buying this car.

• nighttrain on Aug 04, 2012 at 4:21 pm

In the mid-nineties, if you wanna make money, go buy 15 new wira and sell back at 10K markup. You’ll sell out in two days. That time, waiting list is 5 months. So, why don’t you bozos do the same with vw or hyundai. Chinese say, there is no word for probem. Everything is an opportunity.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 06, 2012 at 5:58 pm

It is because of bozos such as yourself, we have a greedy and morally corrupt government.

Is there a Chinese word for greed?

• VOTE PKR TO ELIMINATE CAR A.P AND CAR TAXES~~~!!!

• So many people booking Hyundai enlentra even the price is higher then Kia Forte with some spec??? Because people prefer the letest tech and the great design. :)