Mazda BT-50 – ad for the truck found on oto.my

Well, here’s something totally unexpected. The truck you see here is none other than the new, yet-to-launch, Mazda BT-50 and it is spotted on our sister site, oto.my. We last saw the whole herd of BT-50 at Westport.

The ad is complete with details of the truck. It has a 3.2 litre turbodiesel that produces 197 hp at 3,000 rpm and 470 Nm torque at 1,750 rpm. The engine is mated to a six-speed automatic.

The ad goes on to tell you the other vital statistics of the truck, such as its height, width, wheelbase, ground clearance and weight.

The pictures displayed are enough to give you an idea how the BT-50 looks like. While the exterior is decisively Mazda, it is the interior that drops major hints that it shares parts with its Blue-Oval cousin. You’ll notice the buttons on the steering and the audio, the LCD screen in the middle of the centre console and the gear knob are reminiscent of the Ford Ranger.

More importantly, the ad also lists the price. This variant of the BT-50, with the 3.2 litre engine, goes for RM87,328. It is unclear if the price is inclusive of registration and insurance.

In any case, here’s the direct link to the ad. Take a look and tell us what you think.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• DriverLM on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Heh.. well placed marketing to promote oto.my.

• The numbers are impressive. Specs match up to Colorado’s highest spec, but at nearly 20k cheaper price.

• RM107,053 on the road. Quite significant cheaper than Ford Ranger Wildtrak 3.2.

• almostthere on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Wrong info.RM87,328 is for the base 2.2l Manual…pricing structure akin to the New Ranger. Confirmed at Bermaz Federal Highway branch last Sunday

• Maybe the seller didn’t clearly state the price range. But if the 3.2 is at that price, I’ll have 1….

• Jimmy on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Too cheap to be true, especially if it comes with ESP.
    Width 1850mm, exaggerated?
    Face tidak cantiq.
    New Ranger is still the best among all.

• almostthere on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Face maybe tak cantik but interior banyak cantik ooo kawan…too bad couldn’t test drive it on that day

But from what I understand, DSC comes standard across the range together with dual zone climate control. I maybe wrong as there is no proper brochure yet

• It’s on display at the showroom beside federal highway

• I saw one drive by on the opposite side of the LDP this evening

• navara better !!
    bt50 frt ok but rear no ok -_-lll

• Navara back seat not OK. Designed
      to torture the mother in law LOL

• brader_N on Aug 01, 2012 at 7:46 pm

biar betul 3.2 for 88k? wafak??? probably typo there to juice up the ads. however if 2.2 go for 88k on the road means auto connextion facing a price war here. good!

• Typo or intentional to get us all
      exited and eager to contact them
      to find out more LOL

• 1000horses on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:36 pm

Well even if its 107k, its still cheaper than Wildtrak and in case u dun know, the waiting list for Wildtrak is 1year!!! If BT50 3.2 got stock, confirm will sell well…interior is nice but too bad extrerior is not as macho as Ranger

• Jimmy on Aug 01, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Wildtrak is the best at the moment. Best buy, value buy, value for money, or whatever you like to call it.
      Most importantly, the safety features.

Also more macho than HL, TT, D-M and B5.

• The guys politely told me that their Mazda cousin of the Ranger equivalent cheaper than the Blue Oval and the price mentioned is 2.2 variant. Slightly unethical. Having said that, a significant saving for more handsome Ford Wildtrak.

• Fireball on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:52 pm

88k for 3.2L is not right. RM89,841-2.2L(M), RM95,552-2.2L(A) and RM107,483-top range 3.2L(A) is the price(OTR) I got from the sales guy.

One thing significant compare to ranger is the 2.2L(A) where it has all the safety components (TCS, DSC, HDC) while ranger has none. Sales guy told me pricing is still subject to authority approval but I manage to book a unit anyway.

• If the 2.2 got the safety features like TCS ESP then it’s worth more than the Blue Oval. For such a big size, safety come first than look

• Fireball on Aug 02, 2012 at 5:04 pm

ON top of the safety features, Mazda is more generous on the wheel and tyres too for 2.2L. it gives 17″ rim (265/65/R17) against ranger 16″ rim (255/70/R16).

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 01, 2012 at 11:51 pm

Ugh! What’s the deal with Mazda and their stupid faces? This one has the old idiot-grin styling and the new ones look like they have Downes Syndrome.

• You are one moron guy for using this Down syndrome words here..

• Winston on Aug 02, 2012 at 8:43 am

I believe it will come with Sky Activ. So this is a new technology to compare.

• zaff1984 on Aug 02, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Hate the exterior very much especially the front & tail light. Love the interior and price.

• Mr. Biggy on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:10 pm

RM88k for 3.2L truck? IMPOSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSIIIIIIIIBBRRUUUU!!

• Wonder Why on Aug 06, 2012 at 5:40 pm

Sales of Hilux in countries such as Thailand and Australia , maybe as well in Malaysia , are still much much more higher month after month even when other models such as BT 50 or Ranger do existed which are upgraded with ESC and lots more for a significant on-road safety . And yet, thousands chosed Hilux. Why so ?

• yap kelantan on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:37 am

save fuel dmax .rear seat big hilux then navara triton now ranger2.2;back seat.most biggest.off road hilux dmax triton navara’ranger new 2.2.i don`t know