SPIED: Nissan Almera found running in Selayang

We’ll have to thank reader Jun Kit for sharing these pictures. He caught the Almera, with the masking tape back on, testing in Selayang this morning.

Not much can be derived from the pictures other than this car is different than the one caught on video. One thing is clear; it looks like Nissan is trying out the Almera in different traffic situations and conditions. We can only wonder what will the final product be like.

We’ve written a few about the Almera, its debut at Guangzhou, the car’s unveiling in Thailand, the unmasked car caught in Melaka and the removal of the inaccurate ad. Be sure to read them if you have not.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• JeremyNg on Aug 02, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Last thursday i saw this car at genting !!!

• suka-suka jer on Aug 02, 2012 at 7:01 pm

wah so ugly and stupidly designed by Nissan..
    they really need to get their designer whom have bigger eyes rather than sepet(s)…
    what a waste :)

• Andy Palmer on Aug 03, 2012 at 8:57 am

It’s ok, please keep driving your mommy’s Proton. The rest of us have a choice.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 03, 2012 at 9:32 am

Why even bother buying a Nissan if Nissan does not give 5 year warranty? After all, if Honda has jumped into the boat of giving 5 year warranty, I don’t see why Toyota and Nissan cannot.

• andre on Aug 02, 2012 at 7:05 pm

why look like not balance

• looks like the saga flx is much nicer.. ermm…

• nissan on Aug 02, 2012 at 8:19 pm

still better than vios

• SuzukiFans on Aug 02, 2012 at 8:23 pm

MT 429,000 Baht
    ?E MT 455,000 Baht
    ?E CVT 489,000 Baht
    ?ES CVT 523,000 Baht
    ?V CVT 563,000 Baht
    ?VL CVT 599,000 Baht

Cant Wait….

• brader_N on Aug 03, 2012 at 2:01 pm

brader please jack up 20% to the pricelist above. 10% to gov + 10% to tan chong kau tim sai

• Well, it is actually a test mule for Saga replacement model. Saga will end its life cycle soon.

• Nissan on Aug 02, 2012 at 9:41 pm

the reader to invest for a better smartphone

• Why people not fighting for abolishment of Rules 78 that give advantages to banks? We, as consumers, should get advantages, rather than banks. In developed countries, NO MORE Rules 78 long long time ago.

Or, because not many of us understand what is Rules 78?

• Australia also baru launched..

• Abit not nice though

• NasUrudin aidid on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:08 pm

I am going for the new sylphy 2012, Thailand is coming next month

• retard on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:42 pm

if the price is right, let say around proton preve, this car will sell like hot cake or even better like layer cake. i meant 1 household can own 2 cars of almera. he he

• WOW~~Seriously ah? I am SO EXICTED!!!

• percayalah on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:20 pm

Nissan ALMARI?!

• Jimmy on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:29 pm

Looks big, like a C-segment car.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:44 pm

This venerable “Sunny” will be “potential killer” to our jaguh kampung’s Preve given the indicative selling price previously “leaked” which is start from RM 70K++. Good luck to Malaysian for getting more choice in the car market!

• you cannot afford preve don’t be jelly, summoure differet class already, why compare?

• Nissan Lover on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:07 am

Sorry, Nissan blew it again, another plain looking and uninspiring model for me.

• BringTheRain on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:14 am

Well, Nissan has a bit of a rep for coming through for consumers; let’s hope they deliver this time.

• apapaje on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:45 am

wow..nice

• yanes on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:45 am

On an unrelated issue.. That pic looks creepy. :)

• Ha Gnih on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:50 am

Saw a fully uncovered one driving out from the port here in Kuching, sarawak this afternoon. Errrr…..find it quite ugly.

• SHAMSUL YAHAYA on Aug 03, 2012 at 5:51 am

I have been looked several time from the yahoo images and for me this car is quite uglyyyyyy.

• hway de Cruz on Aug 03, 2012 at 8:53 am

hv to wait for the specs lor…time being it is all a guessing game. the back lights seems too big for its size, anyway wait for the metal to be at showroom then can judge better. hopefully no excise duty when new G takes over, this car could be around 45k

• ss427 on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Ahhh… don’t need to wait for the specs…

Your Almeras specs should be similar if not identical to Singapore market version.

http://nissan.com.sg/vehicles/Almera/index.cfm

Nissan ah, you really do need to stop this disguise thingy… this Almera really looks awful no matter how you try to market it. No amount of peek a boo nor marketing can hide the fact that the Almera is a POS and was created with extreme cost cutting as top priority…

• Rules 78 make us paying loans, but settlement figures not significantly reduced. The significant portion of our payments go to banks. Why don’t we start demand for abolishment of Rules 78 now? The rules has been abolished in developed countries.

• Anti-Bieber on Aug 03, 2012 at 10:57 am

Great Car for all soon to be retiring uncle and aunty. Look at Nissan Sunny 130Y. Still running on the road after 4 decades. This car will probably last another 4 decades. Better yet, bring back rear-shock absorbers since a lot of mat rempits and drivers fiddling with the smartphones while driving have the tendency to knock your car rear.

• intermilan on Aug 03, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Wey.. Rear bumper absorber lah…

All car got rear shock absorber.

• intermilan on Aug 03, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Or is it absorber bumper, rather than bumper absorber?

• old vios on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:01 am

yesterday i saw it . yes ugly like dugong.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 03, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Still got diehard jaguh kampung blind supporter give pathetic comment!

• kelvin on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:20 am

I bing the car, the car design look old.

• nissan toyota is going backward. lets welcome the new age of koreans. they call korean junk,. they are jelaous hoho

• Nitro on Aug 04, 2012 at 8:08 am

The Dugong Curse continues

• i'mNissanCra2y on Aug 05, 2012 at 11:56 am

Name it Nissan Sunny.

• alamak on Aug 06, 2012 at 4:03 pm

is there a need to spy this car?